(2008/10) Oct 2008

Whitepaper,
I took Cha mee - Instant noodle then put chili oil into it. My hubby cook for me one. Think he only put a bit but in fact i find it rather spicy.

Littlebluey,
thanks for the advice. Now she sleeping on the bouncer which is a bit inclinedand she sleeps quite well. Yah, did not turn on air con last nite, wait till she's better 1st then we see how. If she's getting worst, will bring her to see PD.

karen,
wat a birth story. Congrats to u!! Wah, still can have orgasm during labour, so funny.

soudezne,
I always had the fan blowing directly at me coz with that during my confinement, i was still sweaty. I always do tat when no one is watching. shhh.....

dimpletot
Thanks for the encouragement. My chin is up, and hope it stays up
actually in the day is still ok, except sometimes don't even have time to eat. The worse is at night. Baby will usually sleep from 10+pm to 2+am, and then wake up for milk and refuse to sleep, wants to be entertained!!! My hubby is having a hard time coping with this night thingy and waking up in time for work. I just hope baby can sleep through the night ASAP.

Pinny
icic... maybe I try and see how... now I swaddle him and he sleeps longer when swaddled, coz it prevents jerky hand/leg movements. Thanks for sharing

xinying
Giant is so chubby! My Ch also starting to have double chin leh! HOW???!!! going to be fat fat boy... who ask him drink so much...
Marcus is 4.9kg when you went for your 1 month PD check right? Tomorrow we'll be going PD... wonder how much he weighs...

Whitepaper, yup, he was 4.9 at week 5. Got double chin too. When i bath and clean him, need to pay special attention to his neck, make sure i get the dirt in between the folds. Haha... i tell my hubby, Marcus got the fat boy dirt traps.

He's super strong, can give very power kicks. And can lift his head up for long period of time looking ard. He likes being on his belly.

Me now also taking care of baby myself. MIL went back KL. Sigh... when he sleep, i faster go bath. i bath with bathroom door open so i can see him and in case he cry, i can faster dash out. Stressful man. Then carry him downstairs tapao lunch. Sigh...think later i'll order pizza. Wat else can be ordered leh?

xinying

hahaha... I also strive to remove the dirt around his double chin!!! hahaha... and yes, mine got powerful kicks and can lift his head for a long time too!!! So similar, our babies!

Yah I agree it's stressful, wanna go poo poo also stress that he'll cry or vomit milk when I'm not done yet.. alamak.

You can order Mac's and KFC too mah

Today, first day I was on my own with bb cos hubby went back to work and CL already left yesterday. Managed to survive. Phew! Cooked simple lunch for myself...Mee suah soup. Heehee! Then when I was bfeeding bb halfway, my aircon leak. So one hand carry bb while she's still sucking, and the other hand go and take pail to put under the aircon.

Karen,
Ya I also had that orgasm feeling when I was put on the catheter. Haha! Anywayz, congrats on being a new mommy.

Talking about orgasms, anyone here resumed sex life yet? Hubby and I thinking about it but so nervous... as if our first time like that. haha!

Oh ya, before my CL left, she told me cannot take dang gui cos will reduce bm supply.

Haha... whitepaper, think all mummies thnk alike. Mac and KFC boring... i shd really learn how to cook. so "tiew lian" my hubby is chef, but i can only cook maggi mee!

did u mummies shave your babies hair yet?
is it a must? go where and shave har?
i scared leh, baby so young

xinying>> 1 person order pizza sure a lot leftover ba? i think da bao easiest :p

hi pinny, mousebb, whitepaper,
read that best to hv baby sleep on back to minimise risk of sids (sudden infant death syndrome). i'm also quite worried about baby suffocating, so i let baby sleep on tummy when using the netted bouncer for afternoon naps. i tie the bouncer down so that it doesnt incline, like a mini bed.

Can i check with all of u, wat brand is the formula milk you give to your baby as to supplement his feed if breast milk is not sufficient?

beary,

the gp is at chaichee but very close to mainroad and about 10-15 min walk from bedok mrt and interchange.

ya 5 in 1 doesn't include hep b but i think your bb's vacc schedule would depend on when bb has taken the jab, the gp will be able to give u a schedule but if you'ld like, i can give u the number to call. u call and enquire with the nurse?

personally, i don't know the doc that well yet but she seems professional enough. Her name is Dr Neeta Khemani.

Almond,
hahaha i see we've gone back to the topic of armpit whitening. The pigmentation at the insides of the groin area was the first to fade off. I've been exfoliating and toning the pigmented areas, seems to be fading abit. Same with the linea nagra down the belly.. (or at least i try to tell myself)

whitepaper,
abby has those days when she seems to be playing hungry hungry hippo with me but i find that as long as she gets adequate rest and i time her feeds, usually 2.5 - 3 hours, i just give her the breast, she seems to be quite happy to interact, play and sleep.

At night, she has one feed of formula usually then two feeds of ebm to last her till 7ish in the morning (or formula the whole night if i have no milk) I'm trying to diminish number of feeds at night to max 2 feeds by the end of her 2nd month. Once again, anal me trying to work infant daughter into a routine. Have you tried giving him a pacifier? It works for me.. sometimes.

You're not the only one feeling like that although on most days, i feel blessed. some days, i wish.. nah, better not wish these things. babies will grow up i guess and they grow up fast, very soon he'ld deem u too uncool to hang out with. hehe.. one mommy shared with me that her babies grew up so fast, the most fun was when they were learning how to talk and walk and the least fun was when they start school. hugs. you have us. nameless, faceless, commiserating us who are going through more or less the same things..

i was missing my friends and thinking of those really late wild nights of punishing our livers.. c'mon mommies, let's meet up when our babies turn 6 months without the babies, hubby can take one evening and let's go for a drink. hahaha...

p.s. whitepaper, your bb is such a sweetheart! hahaha... i love babies with standing up hair!

bbgoh,
i read that if u see greenish stools, that means she might be allergic to something she or yourself might have taken. My kid has those days and as long as she doesn't go into an epileptic fit or lau sai non stop, i just continue eating the foods that i do.

why? because i believe in tough love and training the stomach with variety for her greater good. imagine having a kid who lives on mcdonalds and cheese toasties like one of my aussie friends. damn sad man.. ahahahah

Karen~
Congratulations my dear, how many of us here can say yes, we experienced labour, contractions, birth and delivery with an orgasm thrown in. :D heheh

p.s. not possible for you to put anyone off because you're one of the last few on the list. ahhahahahaha alot of us eating red eggs, shave bb's head make hairbrush liao.. kekekekekek

Ruffles,
how was theline!!

RibenaLi,
there's this sponge thing you clip to the door when it slams, it bounces off the other end. hahaha.. and you don't hear the slam but to close the door, u have to remove the sponge lor and hang it ard the doorknob.

jill,
can take a pic of your netted bouncer and show how you let bb sleep on tummy? i'm tempted but the kid doesn't seem to take to it unless she's leaning on mommy's boobies or daddy's dondi.

karen, congrats!
me n hb had a gd laugh at ur "orgasm" & "curly hair"
whitepaper, ur CL really very nice.. my hb now worrying how i cope alone when CL leaves n he goes back to work..
but lucky i got 2 wks trial starting next wk cos hb leave ends n he b going back to work next wk *sobx*
mint, u finish confinement n thinking my hb i still in confinement oredi asking *sweat*
i tell him when i go back for my 1 mth follow up with gynae he ask my gynae lah..
but accordingly to my fren gynae will advise to take contraceptives else very easily get preg again cos they say after birth women very fertile one

Mummies was just wondering if any have checked on prices for the 6 in 1 jab..
i went to the Peadiatric & Family Clinic in Tampines stree 11 and it cost $115 + $3 ( Fever Medicine )

karen, mint

I was put on the catheter too when I could not pee in the bedpan...eh why got orgasm feeling??? I even shouted in pain and the nurse had to shhh me to shut up...but once the pee is out, its heaven for me....

Pildough

yea tell me abt it..i was already missing drinking sessions and gals night out with my pals the 2nd day after i gave birth lor...let's meet up for drinks when babies are much older!! Hopefully i can fit into my normal clothes by then...

oh.. i def cannot fit into my prepreg clothes..

ah well.

ladies, to the shops we go!

haahah... sigh. need to get my doc to ok the c-section recovery then maybe start slow jogging. yes, we must most definitely go out and have drinks and we'ld all understand the 3 hour (1 feed) - 5-6 hour (2 feed) window and curfew we are all bound to.

any mummies who did c-sec start massage before 4 wks? My massage lady says its safe after 2 wks. But my gynae advises that 6 wks is better.. 6 wks so long leh! still effective meh?

Drinks:
omg.. i miss alcohol!!.. im even thinkin of going out straight after confinement! to leave bb home wif hubby for a nite out wif my gfs!

karen
congrats!!! you're welcome. :)

pildough
i stopped drinking for a long time. I miss gals nite out...all dressed up, makeup/perfume, high heels, dancing and latin music. ;-)

i didn't get the orgasm feeling but i was real mad that the nurse shoved the thing to clear the bowel up my ass. it was so damn painful. i was cursing and swearing.

Jen
it took me more than a year to squeeze in my prepreg clothes for my no 1. i was so happy for a while until i was pregnant again with no 2.
this time will take longer/ or maybe never, to wear those clothes again.

hi essanna, my breasts still engorged.
tried to feed bb as much as i can but when i move to the next breast bb doesn't want to wake up. how did the lactation consultant wake your bb up? i tried unwrapping her and then touching chest, hands and feet. even touching her cheeks and mouth but still no use.
when i change her diaper she wakes up but when i hold her again she goes back to sleep.

babe99
me no. only sling and pouch when i go out.

joanne
my baby the same. always fall asleep before he can make it to the 2nd. tried many ways, but couldnt wake him up. so i juz let him sleep. when he's hungry, he will wake up.

*OMG*
1 yr then can wear back?
siao liao when i go back work must change my whole wardrobe *sobx*
gonna spend lotsa $$ to buy again provided can find clothes for myself cos i oredi so fat n plus size..
now after preg lagi fat *faint*
oh i miss chilling out at pubs n sipping on my martinis n vodkas n wine wine wine!!!

hoot hoot @@ owls, are hereee..

dunno man, dieting seems really tough, i suppose we have to do it the bmc way. when i was in sec school, i had this P.E. teacher who put the skinnehs and fattehs into a group called the 'beautiful me club'. The poor sods had to run rounds around the field during reading time.

me suspects that i cannot be arsed to diet.

RibenaLi,

sorry.. couldn't remember where i saw it, i don't have the spongies at my in-law's place, i've googled it. it's called finger pinch guards. Maybe ikea or one of those child safety gadget corners at shops?

here's a link
http://perfectlysafe.stores.yahoo.net/doormouse2pk.html

i like it because at my mom's place, the wind gets in from the bathrooms, slam the room doors and scare the bejeezus out of the poor dog.

i don't think u can use it on the gates though, mostly indoor use.

xinying,

hannor but i was telling the mommies maybe at 6 months avg, that's prob when the kiddies have settled in and we have time to find adequate childcare options

Haha... else we'll just meet up with babies in our arms. Sure we can handle. Meet at some open air place like botanic gardens lah. Keke... fresh air, nice scenery and our babies can cry and no one will care much.

oh no mummies... I wokeup 2 hours late of my usualy pump time and I couldnt get the milk out of me..boo hoo...has been massaging in between and still I think let down cannot occur..

pildough
Thanks for encouragement. Can feel your hug

Jen
at least your hubby got 2 weeks leave. My hubby can't take any leave at all! He was only on leave while I was in the hospital after delivering.

whitepaper
I suppose it's normal for you to feel this wayay this point of time but motherhood is really a rewarding experience. I still miss my freedom days.. like some mums here I have my fair share - 6 yrs before bb comes along, I wish I started earlier tho. I missed those day that I go for TGIF, overnite at friend plc, for MJ, nites out, drinking session...
But I have never regretted having babies.. thos are just joy of total difference. esp when u see your bb grow, when he called out mummy, it's really rewarding. hang in there ok.
when the kids get older, the dirnking session can come back, MJ session for me still can carry on. Abit of hard work now.. but it's worth it

P/s: since the bb arrived, for couple time, my hb and I will take leave on work day to go for movie and dinner or lunch since we probably dun have time on weekends now. it;s great.. less crowded and movie tic are cheaper on weekday.kekek

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

Juz Us
I din shave my gal's hair cos she is still so young and her neck so fragile. For my son, we din do so for him until he was 8 months old then I brought him to my hairdresser to trim the hair for him.

So many posts yesterday. Havent read all the posts yet. Going to pump milk now. Will catch up with all the posts later.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Babe99
I din let my elder kid sleep in sarong cos that time we were sending him to infant care and scared if he get used to sarong, he would suffer at infant care center cos there no sarong. Now we are considering whether to let our gal sleep in the sarong anot cos this gal likes to be pat to sleep. When we go out, I put her in the sarong sling and she could actually sleep for 3-4hrs in the sling.

Whitepaper
Hope you are feeling better today.
When wenmin just came home, I found myself couldnt bond with her and found her very strange to me too. I even told hubby that I found her a nuisance and tao yan her... During that time I guess I just couldnt use to having 2 kids... With her we also cannot go out as and when we like cos so troublesome mah hence I actually vent a lot of my frustration on poor wenmin. My hubby was so worried that I would slip into depression.
As days go by, I start to find her becoming adorable and sweet each day liao... Also I told myself since we fought so hard to keep her during my pregnancy stage, I have to love her as best as I can...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Enya
Wow! You were once so happening huh! Till now, I have never been to a pub before leh....

dumbo
I din have any massage cos I have c-sect and gynae told me not to do so. Forgot to ask him again. Heard from other mummies that their gynaes said can do it at a later stage. Now busy looking after 2 kids liao where got time to get massage
!</font>

enya - do you have any ready stock of calendula baby cream? if yes, how much are you selling for? I nd 1 bottle / tube. thks

<font color="ff6000">morning mummies!

I'm so glad it's the weekend, and my hubs is home.

ruffles,

how did The Line go? hubs and i celebrating anniversary, also thinking of where to go. Initially thought of Botan (jap place at far east sq) but might be quite out of the way... gals, any suggestions? Was also thinking of Amber... but dunno whether food there is still good.

hubs asked abt where i want flowers from... any suggestions? i was thinking of Poppy which is this florist that did my church wedding flowers, but her hand bouquets are too pricey liao.
anyone likes flowers here?</font>

mousebb
yeah, indeed. i love dancing...:)

Ruffles
no, i dun hv any now. new ones will arrive in 1.5 weeks time. i hv no figures yet for the vpost shipping. should be around $20-22 inclusive of normal postage.

Otherwise, you can purchase from a shop at united square. they are selling around $30.

Hello mummies! I was down with high fever yesterday and one of my breast is infected. So sad.... and bb full mth celebration is tmr. Hope I will be ok by then. Feeling giddy too.

Btw, does GP check the development of bb when we go for vacinnation? The GP at my place does vacinnation for bb and the 6-in-1 is $105. Somemore within walking distance from home, no need to travel with bb...

Dimpletot - The Line had an extensive variety of food. Could be age catching up with me ... I no longer can pig out... and in fact, out of the 100 dishes there, I probably ate only 5?! Gd quality food and variety .. but ex. Think on Tues &amp; Thurs, it's S$88+++ / pax with free flow of wine and juices. Other days it's S$68+++ / pax. Good lah... but my heart was w my gal .. cos last minute hb din wanna bring her.. end up, I was missing her lots. Talk abt wanting freedom ..sigh.

Ember at 1929 is one of my fav! Go for the set lunches at S$36++ for 3-course. Value for money and superb quality of food! The cod fish, steak, and choc cakes are to die for. Botan is no longer at Far East Sq ... moved to Capital Sq. You can also do Il Lido.... tell them you are celeb your anni.. and they will present you with a nice cake ... good food and svc too. Or you can do 1 Rochester or 1 Twenty Six at East Coast. How about Prive at Keppel? Majestic also gd - fine chinese fusion cuisine.....

Dunno about flowers cos I rather be surprised ...

Enya - ok thanks.... I prob look ard as I need it now. My ger's face is like flaking a lil bit at her brows.

Hello mummies! I was down with high fever yesterday and one of my breast is infected. So sad.... and bb full mth celebration is tmr. Hope I will be ok by then. Feeling giddy too.

Btw, does GP check the development of bb when we go for vacinnation? The GP at my place does vacinnation for bb and the 6-in-1 is $105. Somemore within walking distance from home, no need to travel with bb...

Hi all. I am also an Oct mummy. I have a Medela PIS for sale. Bought it online from US for $500. Willing to sell it at $400. Price negotiable. Used it once only. Giving it up coz deciding not to breastfeed. PM me if you are interested....