(2008/10) Oct 2008

mousebb>> me too! now wish we had gotten married earlier instead of date so long :p

Anyone going for this? Motherhood Baby Fair 2008 at United Square : 14 -16 Nov

whitepaper>> i felt that way b4 too! then sometimes when feeding her or what i will feel so guilty for having such thots. my frends who been through this assured me is normal. and dun worry about taking care of the baby all your life. they only need thismuch care from us for first 6 weeks. after that things will get better (so i'm told) i think is juz that we are so emotional this period lor. dun worry too much ok? i heard that post natal depression is more when u start to think of harming yourself or the baby

My boy at Day 14...
1859518.jpg

He's Day 17 today...

I'm back!!! No time to write my birth story which was a horror story and a long one at that.

Anyway, I'm extremely tired because of lack of sleep in hospital (just couldn't sleep!!) and now back home, I'm even more tired because my girl just latched on for 10 minutes, go back to sleep for 15 minutes and want to latch on again. Is this normal?!?! Anyway, I read on kellymom website this is normal and so I'm going to stick with it until she comes up with her own (more normal) pattern.

By the way, how much urine does your babies excrete at one time? Mine's so little I don't even know it's urine.

I'm still learning to cope. Really so glad husband took 3 weeks leave to help me. I really salute mums whose husbands are not around, like Enya.

oops, she's making noise again!

mousebb
Yes I understand there's satisfaction in seeing him grow... but I think there's more satisfaction if I can have my freedom back. Now I can no longer do what I want, go anywhere I please.

dimpletot
You must be having the same thoughts as me?

Jus Us
Looking at how demanding my baby is... I think I have to suffer for more than 6 weeks... I'll be very happy is I can have a better life after 3 months le...
How are you? Long time no talk! I'm actually coping well with baby but can't help to have all these thoughts as I used to be a carefree person, having all the freedom in the world.

hi mommies
how is everyone?
my ger turned one month today! but she is still vommitting like a merlion occassionally n had been throwing tantrums at me n my mom recently that both of us had no rest during the day

wanted to ask if any moms here had used fridge to go... isit any good?

Karen,
My boy also like behaves like your girl during feeding! He latches on for 10mins and falls asleep. When I get back to my room and about to fall asleep I hear him crying and hungry for milk...this happens real often...

halo mummies

hows everyone?

Anyone let bb sleep in sarong? My bb wans to be carried all the time. I m so tired and abt to surrender liao... considering to let him sleep in sarong.

whitepaper,
Thanks! Your boy's cute too! Smiling in his sleep! His neck's very strong huh! Can lift up his head when being put tummy down...I love seeing babies in rompers! I still don't dare to let my boy wear rompers as he still looks 'fragile'...he's still wearing open front tops...hee...

elchwong, u're not alone. When im at my mum's plc for confinement, i also cannot tahan the way she handle my boy and the food eat until sian. Thats not all, her constant naggings drives me mad and i begged my sis to talk to her!

Was quite upset yesterday as my co. has announced that only babies born on 31st Oct onwards then will enjoy 4th mth ML. Dunno y the govt had to hv such loop holes for employers!! Nw some get, some dun lor! so frustrated! and my evil boss muz b secretly laughing and quickly sms me and ask me when im gog bk to work! She even told my colleague that i will return earlier since there's no 4th mth for me.

PrincessEmma
I only take 4 cap fenugreek a day. didn't want to get engorged breasts.

thanks. yeah, he isn't. he is italian.

It already has 4 locks!!! plus videocam. Wahahahaha ;-p And I've registered your hub's plus Diana's pic with the nearest NPP.

Cookie
hv sent out the valves

I cant touch yam even not in confinement too cuz i'm allergic to it.

whitepaper
you are so lucky..your cl is really so good.

whitepaper
i understand what you are going thru.

Jen
It's normal to hv rollercoaster mood. :)
i always hv that depending of time of the day and how tired i am.

JuzUs
yeah...we dated 8 years before we got married. Sometimes i wish we hv kids earlier, but on the other hand, it's good. I had my fair share of freedom before I tied myself down to motherhood.
Couldn't regret in any way that i hv not hv enough of good free life though i do miss those old days of working fulltime, movies, holidays, discos and pubs, salon, makeup etc etc.

Whitepaper - I know what you mean abt the lack of freedom! Even my going to the wc also gotta see her timing. Sometimes, gotta run out half-way manz... looking forward to dining at The Line this evening with HB ... and BABY!! Yeah... although I enjoy my freedom, I cant bear to leave her at home ....

bbgoh,
My bb's poo is oso green colour at times. My dad says because something might have scared bb. Quickly let ur bb take JFS. It works and the poo will return to yellow colour.

My family members are all " door slammers", they dun like to close doors but rather slammed door. And poor Claudia is the one suffering. She will jump up from her sleep and cry none stop. I got to scold them times over and over again that i gave up. Now i kept bb in my room with me so as to avoid the " slammers" . FYI, my main gate of the house, the toilets doors, my parents' room's door are all spolit. Need to use special technique to open one.

elchwong
yah his neck quite strong. he was alsoin open front tops until 2 weeks ago, when he outgrew them! all too short and became midriffs. hahaha

everafter
your company's quite evil to only allow 4 mth ML from 31 oct onwards! my sympathies! meanwhile, enjoy whatever you can b4 gg back to work! you considering taking annual leave instead?
Bryan's a big boy now!

enya
i totally hate what i'm going through!

gwen:
My bb has got running nose. tis morning her mucus flow out from her nose. I dint on air con. Dunno how come like that.

When we are b/fing our bb, can we take chilli?

Ribenali...
My BB mucus not flowing out.. thats the worse part and i even tried the nose pump its not coming out... but when she breaths you can hear her blocked nose

Ruffles!
wah enjoy your dinner tonight!!! am sure it will be fun

If baby is eat-sleep-eat-sleep kind, I suppose I'll be ok coz still can do alot of things at home mah... like online shopping etc etc... kekeke... but mine is super attention seeking. Needs to be carried all the time! And don't want to sleep!!! alamak...

gwen,
My bb's mucus only comes out a bit and i believe stil got some stuck inside coz when she breathe i can hear that.

Can someone help us? I told doc abt it but she says so long she's drinking, pooing and urinating, it is fine coz it is not recommended to let bbs up to 4 mths old to take medications.

whitepaper,
last nite 2am my bb has been crying and crying. She is hungry but the moment i gave her milk, she will cry. I suspect its the chilli tingy that i took earlier on that's causing her to be like tat.

<font color="0000ff">Whitepaper,

U are so lucky to have a gd CL

Parenthood really means giving up and sacrificing alot of things but it oso means another chapter in life. Think it will take some time for reality to sink in.

Sometimes, when my DH tells my son, "Bb, Your Mummy is doing tis and that" I still can't get used to the fact that I'm already a Mummy and hearing the term! ;p

Seems like I'm still adjusting to it *bleh* feels so weird at times lolx...

Gwen/Ribena,

Tried to alleviate your bb's pillow to about 60 degrees when they are sleeping.

My PD prescribe the sea spray for my boy when he was down with a flu, was supposed to spray it into his nostrils and after a few mins use the nasal aspirator to suck the mucus out.

But now becos the mucus are lodge so deeply inside that I can't get it out on the surface, I even bought the catherer from the PD and do the suction for him myself.

Although very gek sim to see him cry so hard but then it relieve him quite a fair bit!

Ribena,

As long as bb is still feeding/sleeping well w/o any obstruction it shd be ok. Dun let bb sleep aircon for the time being. My PD did told me if the bb is not sucking/sleeping well or having a fever then I will hv to admit him for which they will do a suction every 3-4 hrs before a feed. Becos they are too young, they can't take strong medication for the time being...

<font color="0000ff">BBgoh,

Do u notice that btwn yr baby's brow (center) there's any blueish black spot?

If there's, it will mean that the bb has the tendency to get scared easily so we muz be more careful not to startle them.

<font color="0000ff">For babies who tend to vomit out milk

Try to turn your baby to the side and burp them instead, it will actually reduce their vomitting.

jill

Is it safe to let baby sleep on tummy? Coz my baby can lift his head and turn from side to side... what if he "jam" in the middle? Then will be faced down!!! quite scary leh...

Does your baby kick and move abt alot in the cot? Mine was kicking so much that there's few occasions we found him in vertical position!

<font color="aa00aa">elch, Whitepaper, everafter
Your boy very cute and adorable!

Whitepaper
My hubby kept telling me to let wenmin sleep on her tummy but I dont dare cos I have the same fear as you.

everafter
It is normal. Wenmin also kicks and moves alot in the cot.</font>

And here's my birth story (err, a little long)

On Sunday (2nd Nov?) evening, I was already having contractions but I didn't pay much attention to it because they were quite far apart and not so painful.

However, when it comes to bedtime at around 11pm, I was having very painful contractions that occurred every 3 - 5 minutes and lasted for 45 minutes. There was no relief. I was getting annoyed and not a very pleasant person to sleep beside. I asked the husband if I was feverish because that's how I felt. And he said no. In the end, at 2.30am, I decided to go to the hospital (which was really a mistake I found out).

The nurses checked my cervix and told me that I was merely 1 -2 cm dilated. I was fine with that. However, they also put me on the CTG machine and disallowed me to me in any position except a certain one, which caused me backpain. Even with the position the nurse recommended, I wasn't getting any relief. I wanted to turn to my side but was told not to, as it affected the readings of the CTG. I was in misery, and once again, was very very grouchy and gave the nurse hell. She kept on insisting that backpain is part of labour pain and insisted that I take gas. I didn't want to. Before she put in that silly position, I wasn't having backpain at all! Finally, someone allowed me to semi-sit and I was able to fall on and off sleep (off when contractions came). I wasn't able to be taken off the CTG because baby's heart was ranging from 160 to 180 which was on the high side.

At around 8ish am, the head nurse came in and told me that the high temperature could be due to my fever. I was having a fever at the same time! She allowed me off the bed because I needed to do a urine test and she also allowed me off the CTG machine. I found that the contractions were more bearable when I'm seated down vs lying down.

At around 9ish am, the doctor came. He checked my cervix and said that the baby's head was still very high. Sigh. 7 hours of labour pain and no progress. Still, I bore with it. He said that he didn't see a point of induction for me if there was still no progress by noon. He would suggest I go for C-section. So we were going for a wait-and-see attitude. I was still fine with that. Because I was given penicillin for my fever. Fever gone, just contractions - still can take it.

3pm: Doctor came. Fever came back too. Checked cervix. Still no progress. Going for C-section. Was feeling so so so so miserable and lousy. I was put on the catheter and I didn't like the feeling. I only found out later that I should not feel my urine coming out, but I did, with the catheter. And the feeling was like an orgasm. That's the only highpoint out of this whole experience. Other than that, I was feeling soreish, cold, and still having contractions in between. Contractions were fine for me because there were moments of respite. But now, I had none. The fever was killing me in between the painful contractions, which were sometimes more intense than other times. Was told that I would not be going for Epidural C-section but GA. Was initially disappointed. This was turning out to be worse than I thought.

5.30pm: The 1.5 hours turn out to be like eternity. Finally, I was wheeled into the OT. By then, I was glad that it was going to be GA. I hate to say this but I really couldn't wait for this to be over. I was feeling really lousy. Very unbearable. Many medical staff in the OT were asking me why I was so sleepy. I couldn't help it! In between contractions, I was feeling cold, and muscles were aching so badly. Whenever finally the mask was put over me, I was so so glad.

7.15pm: Remembered someone calling my name. I also remembered thinking it was finally over and I was still alive! My next thought was, 'How was she?' I woke up and was wheeled back to my room. Still very groggy and sleepy and couldn't open my eyes for long. Saw the husband and I remembered he leaned over and whispered, "... curly hair." I was too weak to touch my hair, but I did wonder why my hair was curly. Then I realised that he was talking about our daughter!

Back in my room, a nurse came to ask me if I wanted to breastfeed my baby, and I had to foster my strength to say a yes. I thought it wasn't possible to be able to nurse her right after the operation but was so so happy I could.

I hope I didn't put off anyone giving birth, but I sure put myself off!

Karen

Congratulations

I was laughing when reading your birth story! Why did you think your hubby said you had curly hair? hahaha... you are so cute!!!

Karen

Wow what an ordeal! But it's over and u made it, well done! Now try and get as much rest as possible. U have c l and hubby on leave? Wanna see pix of yr bb's curly hair!

Everafter
wah that is really mean of yr coy. Thought of changing jobs?

Whitepaper
yup similar thots. Underestimated irreversible extent of motherhood's extreme demands. Really total change in lifestyle and freedom to lead own life. But u must have it really tough cos alone at home... Chin up yah? It should get better when bb more responsive . At least yr bf ss is gd. I'm still trying to catch up and dunno when can latch without bb crying for more thereafter.

Gwen
think just take doc's advice? Safer.

I have been feeling so tired and legarthic ever since delivery.. time is running so fast, my cl will be leaving in 1.5weeks time, i’m gg to have a “good” time coping liao…

my milk supply had been low, whenever i have 40ml per pump, i have to give myself a pat on the shoulder le... my cl had been cooking fish bone + green papaya soup for mi to drink but it doesn’t really helps… I wasn’t considering fenugreek as I have been thinking of stopping breastmilk… my nipples are sore from expressing the breastmilk, I do not know how much longer I can last…

Does any mommies know if we can have the fan directly blowing at us between day 30 to 40? i have been feeling so warm and sweaty everyday...

Mousebb &amp; Whitepaper,

I let my boy sleep on his tummy once CL left. My elder boy also sleep on his tummy since 1 month old last time (even now!). Helps them to sleep better cos got more sense for security (their chest is on the mattress lor), and also they won't be so easily woken up if their hands and legs suddenly move involuntarily. Now my elder boy's head is round round behind cos of his prone sleeping position, hee.

Of cos depends on your comfort level. We started with day time sleeping on the chest and observe to see if bb can turn his head. Now extended to night time sleeping on chest, so bb now sleeps through the night on and off liao.

Gwendolyn
we used to suck our mouth to suck out the mucus.
or you can get seawater spray. spray up the nostril to clear it a few mins before feeding.