(2008/10) Oct 2008

lili,
If you pump, you will need to keep the milk in a cooler box. Then how to heat up when need to feed?

LittleALmond, have to change your setting. Hmm, u give me your email and I send you the contact? I dont feel comfortable giving out her hp; wait she come after me... ;p

lili, hmm could be challenging then. Coz have to think of storage like mint says. Otherwise u have to predict beforehand and pump just in time for bb's feed!

At room temperature, 19 to 22°C, EBM can keep for 10hrs. Maybe can adjust for our kind of temperatures, so whatever u pump out can be given to bb within half a day??

I'm bringing bb to Genting during CNY, so for sure, will latch on until then.. dun want to bring along breast pump, FM, bottles etc!!

Essanna, I have pm u my email addy. Thanks for the contact.

Is it exp to call Sis Kang on housecall? I din get to see her when at Mt A. Heard she is very good. Thought I would be taught by her on how to latch bb.

Hey mommies - anyone bot any baby slings to carry your babies? Am wondering which is a gd one. Pupsik or MIM? Or any other recommendations. Wanted to get the Baby Bjorn, but I understand it is very costly and lasts only till the child is 11kg or so I think?!

mint, essandra
I would likely have some EBM on hand. Else, i would likely feed w FM if not enough.
I worried about where to pump.. Sigh

i have the MIM sling. I read about slings in a separate forum thread and it seems that BayB sling is quite recommended.

MIM sling is not bad. But I find that sometimes it is not so easy to pull the sarong through the 2 rings and it sometimes slips so i have to keep adjusting. and my shoulder aches after a while (that was when my first one was about 6mths old).

LittleAlmond,
I met Sis Kang when I was at Mt. A and she's really good. She came to see me to teach me correct latching etc and also follow up to check that I was doing it correctly.

Essanna,
I didn't know Sis Kang will make housecalls. She's always so busy and even going back to see her at the hospital must make appt. And she will never fail to mention that she's very busy. Heehee!

Sorry to interrupt. I've 1 can of Nan Ha 1 (unopened - expiry date is 2/2/2010) which I would like to sell as I've juz found out that my baby is lactose intolerant. I'm letting it go at $30. Collection at either Raffles Place (weekdays) or Somerset area (weekdays 12 - 2pm). Pls PM me. Thnks!

Mint, she is so good to come back and follow up. I was taught by another lactation consultant and she din follow-up with me. When I go home, I have problem latching. Call also no reply. Luckily now manage to latch bb but I seldom latch cos bb sometimes seems to be treating my breast as pacifier.

Hi mousebb,

How much EBM did u give to ur son? I was giving him about 180ml per feed and 3 times a day but he seem to have diahorra after tat.

Jess,
180ml is alot leh... My gal drinks only about 90ml per feed.

Littlealmond,
My gal also treats my breasts as pacifier. Sigh! I'm seriously thinking of giving her the pacifier to save my nipples.

<font color="aa00aa">Jess
I give my son 80ml ebm with 120ml fm. Initially my son also had diahorra but now his system is getting use to the ebm le. He needs to drink about 5 times (he takes very little solid food) a day. I din give him solely ebm is bcos I scare if later my milk supply reduced, if he doesnt want to drink fm then I cham lor! </font>

Me too Mint! :p

Sometimes I dun even know if he is drinking or just sucking for fun. But when latching, he will want to drink like every hour. Then my nipples feel very sore cos being abused so many times in a day.... haha... that's why I always expressed out and also can see how much he is drinking.

Jess, ur baby sure drink a lot. But only 3 feeds a day?

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies
I'm being tortured by my gal! She is asking to be fed every 1.5hrs (some times 1 hr)! Tried to increase her milk intake but she cannot finish. She is already more than 1 month old and her milk intake still remains at 70ml. Some times she only drink about 50ml. Very headache wor! </font>

i think most of us are all affected by the new maternity&amp;parenthood package.. all the while i thought we are getting 4 months leave.. even applied for the 16 weeks b4 i left for my maternity leave.. now apparently (according to yesterday Sunday Times), the new scheme will only apply to babies born on and after 31st October..

am i the only one who misunderstood the fact that there was a mention that mummies of babies born after the National Day Rally message made in AUGUST will enjoy the new scheme?

very depressed.......... sighz!

mousebb, ur boy still drinking bm? That's very good.... ur supply is really good. Can feed two. I'm always trying to keep up with my boy. At most only 1 bottle of ebm ahead of him only. Still not able to produce enuff. Haiz... esp my left breast. Production only half of right.

<font color="aa00aa">LttleAlmond
Since there are extra packets of ebm in the freezer, I just added some for my son each time he drinks his milk. My supply not good lah. Have been reducing for the past few days. Think my body too tired to produce milk le.</font>

mint, yea when i saw Sister Kang, she also said she is very busy AND she looked very busy. The phone and her hp kept ringing like every 10mins in the hour that I was there! We happened to hear her talk abt baby massage and asked her abt that; then she brought up that she can go to the house to teach, but must make appt at her convenience lah!

my lactation consultant during my hospital stay also din follow up. think she take it for granted that i am all right since i am a second time mum!

I have attended a briefing with regards to the new maternity &amp; parenthood in Sept. Employers are encouraged to grant the additional 4 weeks of maternity leave before the law legislate i.e. now the law has legislated and effective 31 Oct, employers has to grant the 16 weeks maternity leave.

Babies born b4 31 Oct will depend on companies' policy liao.

<font color="aa00aa">Jess
I'm not worry. I only feeling very tired of her feeding schedule. It is like non-stop one.</font>

<font color="ff6000">hi everyone,

just wondering, how much are you guys paying for vaccination packages? my PD charges $550 for a package including the 6-in-1 and MMR, with jabs at 2, 4, 6, 12 and 18 months.

abt the maternity leave, it is legislated for all employers for babies born after 31 Oct. however, employers who are willing to give for babies born between 17 aug to 31 oct, govt will pay for the third and fourth months of ML. Those working for govt ministries and stat boards should be getting the 4 months if baby is born after 17 aug.

where has pildough disappeared to?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Dimpletot
My gal's 6-in-1 package is $440. Chicken pox, MMR and another jab taking at 18mth will be another package but I cannot remember the price.</font>

Just went for a pedicure.. Heehee! So shiok to leave house for a while.

dimpletot,
Thanks for the info. Glad to know that civil svc and stat boards have the 4 mths.

mousebb,
Ya, think gals drink lesser. My gal sometimes drink from one breast only and she's full liao. Heehee!

I was affected by this effective 4th mth maternity leave since my company only acknowlege effective delivery date of 31stOct08 lo.My baby EDD was initially 1st Nov but due to some blood observed on 29Oct, i was asked to induce on that day.My baby was born on 30Oct08.Feel disappointed by this sudden release.Very suai!!!!

yuppie

so confirmed ur company can only give wef 31 Oct? U checked with ur HR?

Mint

Polyclinics only have 5 in 1 and dun have 6 in 1 right?

Dimpletot

yea those working with govt confirmed have 4 mths. I working in stat board and they gave me.

Littlealmond

u same as me. Left side produce lesser than right side...haahaa

Littlealmond

you can buy from guardian
Ridwind is the the brand.
otherwise, can also buy feishai shui

yuppie1,
Can appeal or not? Since your EDD is 1st Nov. Maybe your HR will be kind enough to give you.

Diane,
Din ask about the 6 in 1. They only mentioned 5 in 1.

littlealmond,
Mine also one side got more than other. My hubby said that he remembered Mrs Wong saying that it's normal. Heehee! So surprised that he paid attention in class. Hahaha!

mousebb
I think kidsclinic charge,chicken pox, mmr n booster jab at $330 if they never increase price.

my gal is also similar to yours le... she is taking 70ml but she is only 11 days old. her timing is hard to gauge.. sometimes 2.5 hrs, rarely 3 hrs, can also be at 1,5 hr or even 1 hrs.. she will scream her head off.
MIL always say she no full, but usually I will or rather my hb will try to pacify her first like carry her, change diaper, see if she wanna poopoo.. if really no choice ( which usually is the case) we will feed her.
So hard to know her timing.. and dunno when exactly she is hungry..cos every time we feed her she can finish her milk.
and same.. If I increase to more.. sometimes she cannot finish then fall asleep. Seems like 70ml is the optimum at the moment.

Hang in there.. perhaps it's phase only. Our baby will get better

<font color="0000ff">yuppie1, I think as long as your EDD stated on 31st Oct or after this date, govt said must give 4 mths liao. Check with your HR again, don't lugi.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Cookie
Yup, I think is $330 for the 3 jabs which you have mentioned. My son is going for his MMR next month. You also bring your kids to the kid's clinic? </font>

Mint, now one breast looks much bigger than the other leh.... hahaha

mousebb, where is kid's clinic?

Enya, gripewater can only be taken for 1 mth and above (written on the btle). Hubby just now bought one bottle liao. MIL told me not to feed bb with ebm, so now I try latching him liao. said could be the milk too cold. If not try to feed bb with fm.

Just now, he vomitted again like a merlion. Then after that still have a bit of vomit.