(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies
From tomorrow onwards will be my "Independence" Days le cos hubby is going back to work liao. Think I'm going to have more frequent headaches le

LittleAlmond.. now lah.. not so exact one.. but i'll split after each pump and to put in the fridge lohz.. keke...

Enya.. haha.. ur fren's hub so funnie... my BM seems to be v sweet leh.. we once left the hanky used when feeding bb out on the couch, and the whole thing was attacked by ants.. almost used it on bb the next feed... luckily the ants crawled all over my hands first... so scary!!! there were like a hundred of them!

mousebb
my hub flying off tomorrow for 3 weeks. I'll be alone with 2...lol. seems we are always on the same boat.

princessemma
yeah...bm is sweet

<font color="aa00aa">Enya
I'm very scared leh. Dont know can 'survive' the 'war' alone anot.

Also good for you to give birth earlier at least your hubby can spend more time with you and your family before he fly.</font>

Good day to all mummies!

Guess most babies here going to have their full month or already done. I just delivered on 29th Oct only... 6 days overdue. When in to induce on 28th Oct but suffer for 33 hours dan finally deliver my boy... it's really a traumatic and memorable experience.

Today is the 5th day already and i have no milk at all till today dan my breast quite engorge... i try to pump but only 5ml from left side, right side totally no milk. I really desperate already cos have been crying and getting stress that i have no milk for my baby.. i eat fish everyday and yesterday started to take fenufreek le... anybody can advise me how do i increase my supply? I thought breast engorge already shld have milk but how come i pump so long also that pathetic few drops only

1844660.jpg

lynn
u got get ur bb to latch? fastest way to get milk is hv bb latch you. i know maybe u think u got no milk, but bb's suckling will stimulate supply. if not, massage with hot towl and then try and pump again.

essanna, where got so power 100ml each side.
per pump both side 100ml lah..

cookie, i got 100ml i also surprise.
cos usually i manage ard 80mls.
but today not bad every 2-3 hrs pump got abt 60-80ml

Enya,
I use the calendula cream on Marcus cradle too. Phew... seems to have cleared uo quite a bit. But still have lah. When will he have baby smooth skin leh?? Sob sob...

Princessemma,
envy u! waaa! if oni i can store so much in the fridge
sigh... i had more or less give up hope that my ss will nber match my baby's drinking. I now pumping lesser n lesser, sometimes oni manage get 40ml from both breasts!
n its like more than 3 weeks already

btw, abt baby 1st mth celebration, anyone noes where to get those decoration like nice balloons stating "Its a boy!" or party decor? was thinking of adding some colours to make things more interesting

beary.. me also juz nice meet baby's demand only leh... its ok lahz.. dun get so upset over SS... FM is also perfectly fine for bb too..
as for decor.. there's a shop at raffles place.. think 3rd floor.. selling party supplies.. Parkway parade, outside mothercare also have..

Lynnzee
Was your bb engaged before you were induced?

Enya
I think I'll hold onto the nursing shawl first. I want to give birth and see how things are, before ordering so many things which I may not use. Sorry for the delay in reply!

there is a party supplies shop at the corner of Middle Road too. I have never gone into it, but always see it when I drive past.

Lynnzee,

think you might have to massage your breasts before pumping. And have to use a lot of strength when you massage. The lactation consultant when massaging my breasts used a lot of strength, as did the massage lady!

to reduce engorgement, best is to get bb to latch on. But if your breasts are too engorged, may be difficult for bb to latch properly, so you need to massage and soften the aerola area. Otherwise you might get sore nipples and bb cannot get the milk also. if your breasts are very engorged, with regular bb latching on, should be able to clear in a day or two. a fully engorged breast cannot be totally "softened" in 1 feed (think this applies when the milk first comes only).

<font color="ff6000">hi mummies!

We celebrated Kate's first month yesterday. Had to have two sessions cos too many relatives, abt 40-50 each time and function room could only accommodate 50 max.

Kate was very well behaved and let everyone carry her and just slept through most of it!

i was very engorged at the end of it though - had to go back and pump immediately. then also got headache cos i think too much activity after being home and quiet most of the time.

essanna

yah always SO PAINFUL when other ppl massage breasts! i cannot bear to inflict that much pain on myself. so i suspect i have a clogged duct on one side. have been massaging constantly, firmly but gently. still a bit pain. praying that i don't get mastisis.

these days when i take out bra, will start dripping milk immediately! but doesn't mean ss increased. still only 60-100 each pump... gotta buy bigger tin of mamil gold liao...</font>

I feel so discouraged failing to latch on baby after bottle feeding him for a few days due to sore and bleeding nipples...now that I've recovered I tried latching him back but he refuses...tried this morning for an hour plus before he latch on successfully and got fed but he did not drink to his fill and has to be fed another 20ml of ebm...tried latching again for subsequent feeds but he refuses and started crying furiously...any solution to get him used to my breasts again?

mommies
anyone read the straits times today? i'm totally confused with the maternity/paternity leave package by the government!

so frustrated!

haha, i am thinking of the days when i could pumped out 200ML+ for my firstborn. I think that was about 2 - 3 mths onwards; i hope the same thing will happen this time round too.. *fingers crossed*

i massage a bit, but will stop once BM comes out of the nipple and quickly latch bb on/ start pumping. feel very wasted if massage until the BM keeps flowing out leh.. heh..

princesemma, essana
thanks! will sneak out 2ml to take a look! Told my mum need to go buy some party supplies, finally can take a breather outside,thou oni allowed a few hrs max

jellypurin,
i got no time to read papers these days
Wat is mentioned? tot its fixed 4 mths ML and 3 days pro rate CL, 4k cash gift, 6k dollar for dollar matching? Theres changes again?

dimpletot,
i oso having ard 120 guests, excluding children for baby's upcoming 1st mth celebration this sat. I nber split into 2 sessions! now i pray hard my function room can fit in all the guests! haha
Btw, did u prepare any card tat writes "happy 1st month celebration" or anything?

massaging breasts
well, I oso agree when the lactation consultant massage for me at TMC, my tears reallie wan to roll down, it is so so so painful! I nber noe pple can be so rough to 2 pieces of meat!
but till now, i still not much ss... hahaha, dunno is he pain worth it or not

elch, oops, sorry to hear that. i dont have experience with what you are facing, maybe keep trying? might be a case of nipple confusion after continuous bottle feed.

essanna
yah, i think to the lactation consultant, its just meat, coz i dun think they have any feelings for our poor breasts. haha

talk abt feeling un-sexy, i difinitely feel that way now! loose tmmy falling out, linear nigra still running down my stomach, armpits still black, drooping breasts, sticky hair..the list goes on!

Btw, someone mention abt whitening cream for armpits earlier? May I know what brand to get? Is darkened armpits common and will they go away?

elch, lucky me i don have this prob but i always have problem latching my bb long enuff even in hospital with nurses help.
so i tell myself latch for 10-20mins n after that jus continue with FM or EBM.
but my BM cannot supplement my monster's needs..
every 2-3hrs she feeds 80ml or sometimes 100ml so i gave up n jus pump as much as i can.

How's your weekend?

I managed to pump out 160ml this morning. Woohoo! Hopefully this can continue.

Last night quarrelled with hubby cos bb was fussing and didn't want to sleep so he said that maybe I dun have enough milk. Wah lau. So insulted lor. As if it's my fault. Bb was latching on and off from 9pm till 12.30pm until I was quite frustrated. Sigh! Then this morning, when he saw my 160ml, he pretend nothing happen and say wow got so much milk and I replied ya, I have enough milk. Heehee!

mousebb
we can do it lah...mummies the strongest~!!!

yeah..was so glad he didn't leave before my son came out. otherwise, he wouldnt get to see him when he first came out.

so tired...been out the whole day today buying things and grocery. milk supply also went low.

Lynneez
you've to massage your breasts...press hard where they are knots...and apply hot towel on your breast for like 5 mins before you breastfeed.

Xinying
it will go away...my son also hv milia on his nose...waiting for them to clear by itself.

Karen
no problem :)

Dimpletot
me too..no strength and energy.

Jellypurin, essanna, Enya,
Thanks for ur advice. I did try to latch my bb on but knowing that i got no milk and he is hungry i will give up after awhile and give him fm. Have been pumping away these few days and just now got 45ml after 1 hour of pumping. But still feel my breast very bloated and pain... will massage them hard hopefully can get more supply.

Karen,
My cervix not open and bb not engage when i went in to induce thus takes so long.. almost wanna give up..

dimpletot,
haha, me oso think i wont have energy n time

xinying,
u read this in the papers? My HR sent out an email in Sep saying that staff entitled to 4 mths, now wondering will they change policy again?

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

Lynnzee
Congrats! Your labour process is super long and I really peifu you that you can tahan for so long. I guess for me, I would have given up long ago and asked for c-sect le.</font>

morn all!

I need advise, i have kept those milk some in fridge and some extra milk in frozen compartment. And have been using the milk from fridge but When to use frozen milk? Frozen milk can keep for how long?

How long are u going to bfeed ur bb? I am getting tired, pump wash feed. Is 3mth enough or at least 6mth?

<font color="aa00aa">lili
Most probably will bfeed my gal until she is 1 yr old. I'm also adding some bm to my son's fm to strengthen his immmune system hence for the sake of my kids, I have to tong as long as possible.

I'm not sure how long you can keep those bm stored in the frozen compartment. I only know if bm is stored in the deep freezer, they can be kept up to 6 months.</font>

mousebb

wat do u mean by frozen compartment and deep freezer. I am confused. I am keeping mine in the compartment when the ice are. Is tat frozen compartment?

Lynzee
you need to take alot of fluid, about 3l a day, rest alot.

Lili_fc
fridge 48 hours
freezer 3 months
deep freezer 6 months

babe99
that's the freezer

deep freezer is standalone. those you see they keep ice cream, ice...frozen food in 7 eleven or shops.

morning mommies
RE: ML for working moms
am going to call MCYS. utterly confused by the advert they placed on sunday. creating so many problems for me and other moms i know as well

wow! all your babies have put on such good weight. i hope my ger is almost 4kg this week as she lost a lot of her birth weight when we had latching issues during the first few days of her life.

brb ... going to express my milk le...

Hey mummies

i got 22 glass bottles of S26 from hospital.
I dont need anymore because i has switch her to similac. Please call me as i seldom online.
Interested to exchange please call me 90685177.

Gd morning mummies.

Does any one face baby who crys at a specific timing? My Ethan crys every morning at ard 6 pluc to 7 plus. It is really hard crying, screaming.... nothing I can do to pacify him. when the CL took over to carry him, he will stop for a while. Sometimes he falls asleep but it is only for a short while then the act will continue again.

My concern is when the CL leave then I dun know how to pacify him down. Haiz.... change diaper, feed him also no use. Wanna burp him, he cretch himself so hard and kicking abt make it so difficult to burp him.

Just now when he vomit, the vomit is yellowish compare to the normal white one. Is this normal?

That time someone mention bringing baby for massage.... any place to recommend?

LittleALmond
it sounds like colic that your baby is having.
there is nothing you can do, except to hug him...
or try to let him rest on his stomach, and try to give him ridwind, or Feizhai shui

deep freezer? Where would that be?
I hope to preserve till 6mth bfeed but think of the CNY visitation, i turn off , wanting to end early Jan

Hi Enya, where can I get ridwind? Any brand? Can baby take it so young?

He dun want to be hug leh... keep kicking. This happen only in the morning....

LittleALmond, sounds like colic.. my firstborn had it when she was abt 2 months old, it went on for about 1 mth or so. but it happened in the evening time.

baby massage would help. You can get Sister Kang from Mt Alvernia to come to your house to teach you how to do baby massage, then you can do it daily. It will help the baby alot. I am going to do that when Isabel is > 6 weeks old..

lili, by the time CNY comes ard, you will be a breastfeeding expert and can latch her on and off anytime anywhere?? *grinz*

Essanna, how much does it cost to get Sister Kang on housecall? Last time I have problem latching baby, call the breastfeeding helpline, leave a message also no one call me back.