(2008/10) Oct 2008

I am back. My boy still no name yet though. Anyway, he is 50cm, not 54cm so long.

I am trying to TBF my boy. But now still colustrum only, no milk yet. I try to latch every 3hours, but sometimes the baby fuss then will latch him earlier. Should I pump to stimulate the flow? Don't know when the milk will come in. Then the CL kept pushing the boy to me to feed whenever he cries, even when only 1+hour. Then asked me to supplement with formula but I didn't want to. How to get milk faster huh?

mint.. haha.. i dunno which works better leh.. well.. for me fenugreek will be better cos pills are easier to swallow.. but then again.. if u drink enough nursing tea, which is warm water.. ur supply will definately increase right? kkeekek... shall we juz try both? haha..

cookie.. me cannot match ah... so the two night feeds we will give him FM lohz... and preparing FM is quicker also.. haha.. so he wont cry too much and wake up his bro..

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Since Bryan can only drink 60ml now, then you just feed him on demand and slowly increase his intake if you find him crying for milk more often.
Wenmin's poo is quite soft but not watery type. Nowadays she still poo very often, sometimes she poo after every feed lor. Did you check with Dr Lilian Lim why Bryan vomit a lot? Could it be bcos there's wind in his tummy? We use "Ru yee" oil for wenmin to rub on her tummy. Maybe you can try it also?
We increased wenmin's intake to 80ml le cos she kept crying for milk every 2 hours.</font>

Halo mummies

Hows everyone?

Me super busy with number 1 and 2. Especially when my munber 2 dun wan to sleep at nite and keep wan pp to carry. Haiz... dunnoe wat to do. Now me v scared of nite time.... every nite is a battle... haa haa
How do ur newborns get to sleep at nite? Do they jus sleep on their own or need to carry and pat to sleep?
Also, i hv been latching my boy since day 1 but starting 2 days ago, i hv pump out and bottle feed him with EBM. Like to know if this will cause nipple confusion?
Any mummies doing this also? Does ur bb hv nipple confusion? They can still latch correctly after tat?

<font color="aa00aa">Pinkimum
On day 3 after I gave birth to my gal, I also used breastpump to help stimulate milk flow. Before the milk finally come in on day 4, I fed my gal fm cos I dont want to starve her.</font>

everafter.. PD told me b4 that if baby vomits, means drink too much liaoz.. maybe he realli has wind? that's y cannot stomach anymore milk.. u got try breaking up his feed? like feed 20 burp then feed 20 burp again... or like what mousebb said.. put ru yi oil and see.. if not muz go guardian get ridwind to add in his milk...

everafter

if bb always vomit after feeding, it might means he is hving reflux. U can check wif ur PD. If so, this cant be helped. Jus burp him after every feed and hold him in sitting position for a while b4 putting him down to sleep.
My boy is hving reflux as well. Tis is wat the PD advise us to do. She says normally condition will become beta when bb grows to 4 to 5 mths. But still depends on individual.

my bb also vomit ... projectile type one somemore...

picture of bb rebekah at 10 days old
1807974.jpg

mousebb
thank you.
BTW, do you know how to over come block milk ducts problem?
hiaz, my breasts, one is hardworking, the other lazy due to this problem ...

<font color="0077aa">hi, mummies

Diane
how was ur full mth party? any feedback abt the caterer YLS?

mousebb
ask u huh.. u still take the fenugreek everyday? wat dosage u taking? my supply on right side still very low ler, i m still thking should i take fenugreek or not. nw pumping really tired take longer time as the flow is slower than b4

next week my CL auntie ll leave le, dunno i can cope alone or not.. sigh</font>

<font color="aa00aa">jellypurin
Use a hot towel to massage on your breast. I would massage it real hard lor.

bbgoh
Yup. Still taking 2 capsules everyday. My left and right also cannot balance wor. Sometimes, right side only produce half the amount of left side nia. Dont worry. Am sure you can cope when your CL left.

Jen
Better get ready hor! </font>

jelly purin.. i also have a lazy breast!! hahaha.. but mine is cos of the different shape of the nipple so the pump's suction feels different on that boob.. dun think i can fix that.. ur baby looks so alert!!!

mousebb.. mine is left side half the capacity of the right.. keke... 2 capsules enough ah.. i remember taking like 2 after every meal leh.. did u see a considerable increase in ur milk supply?

<font color="0077aa">mousebb
yah loh same same.. my right side also only can get half the amt of left. i thk must ask hb go &amp; buy fenugreek le.
queit worry ler, as have to pump then feed again, hope after full mth baby no need to feed in the midnight</font>

<font color="aa00aa">PrincessEmma, bbgoh
I take 2 capsules every morning cos the instruction said take 1-2 capsules daily. Besides fenugreek, I also drink a lot of red dates tea (about 3litres) and drink soup everyday. Initially was like 50-60ml per pump, now is like 130-150ml, hoping to increase more. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jen
Since your EDD is drawing near and you encountered strong contraction, better to get prepared
Oh yes! What xinying said is correct. Go eat whatever you want cos during confinment, you will start to miss all these food leh!</font>

<font color="0077aa">mousebb
3litres of red dats tea?? wow u so power ler.. i thk i only drink abt 2ltr then ll have a big bowl of soup every dinner only. b4 got sick i can have 160-200ml per pump, nw only can get 100-140ml. </font>

Wah,,, ur ss all very good. I now 3 weeks plus liao. Max i can get is only 60ml. Most of the time only 50ml. Only once i got 80ml. Sigh... I need more BM!!!

mousebb.. wah.. 3 litres!!!! i cant even get thru 3 cups a day.. me drinking water alr.. haha... as adviced by woody.. short of drinking coke only..

anyone here not following confinement at all??

xinying.. are u drinking enough water??? how often are u expressing? but if u're latching ur bb.. then that amt is normal lahz.. cos bb alr took most of it le..
Jia YOU!!

I only pump once or twice a day. Most of the time BB latch on. Hehe...

bbgoh and PrincessEmma, u are right. BF is tiring. We must jia you!!

mousebb
thanks for the tip. shall do this when i go shower later

princessemma
my lazy breast just yield only 20mls! compared to the other, which is double ... sigh ... hope my block duct open lah ...

xinying
eat more fish, drink more water and perservere! oso, u wanna pump, pump in the morning... u will get more milk!

jellypurin.. muz try what mousebb suggest.. massage hard hard with super hot towel.. jia you!

xinying.. at least u latch.. i always envy mommies who latch.. cos go out no need to bring anything... juz put bb to breast can liao.. so convenient...

Hi mousebb, just came back from pd. Told him abt the nursing tea and he said never heard of and dun encourage. Luckily pd said his jaundice is not so bad liao and he is also putting on weight. He is now heavier than birth. Phew, I was so worried these few days over this, scare he is not eating enuff but pd said he is putting on weight and he check bb and everything is ok.

Anyway, bought a small tin of formual liao since i cun keep up with bb's demand. Intend to give him during night time. Day time will try to keep pumping and ask cl to feed him.

Btw, any mummies got any gd pd around Tiong Bahru/Redhill areas to recommend. Current pd in Mt A and find it a distance to bring bb there.

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh, PrincessEmma
No choice leh cos I always feel thirsty. I heard pple said cannot drink plain water during confinement so I drink red dates tea lor. </font>

<font color="0077aa">littlealmond
tat is past thg le, after suffer the fever it drop liao ler.. sob sob

mousebb
i drink abt 2ltr my mil always said i m over intake liao ler</font>

<font color="aa00aa">LittleAlmond
Glad to know that your bb is doing well. My kids' PD said it is normal that nb lost some weight on the first 10 days (if I remember correctly). My gal's birth weight was 3.43kg and when she was discharged, she only weighed 3.2kg. Few days later when we brought her to the PD, her weight picked up to 3.4kg. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh
I heard pple said when we are breastfeeding, we must drink lots of fluid wor. At times when I wake up to pump in the middle of the night, I was super thirsty! Eversince the 2nd pregnancy, I have been feeling thirsty all the time leh.</font>

Wah...mousebb, ur water intake power leh. I feel thirsty too. but the more date tea i drink, the more thirsty i get. So i keep gurgling my mouth with water and spit out.

mousebb.. realli ah.. u're my ou xiang liaoz.. hahahha.. but i drank sparkling ribena too!!! hahahahha.. :p shhhhhh.. juz hope my mommy doesnt read this forum!!! hahahahhaha

Anyone seen Forest here today? She popped?

More updates from Buffy!!

She has been on drip since 8am and still nt very dilated. Contractions more regular. She took epidural coz she dun wanna go into GA in case need to c-sect. She has been thru 14 hrs of drug free labour but really boh bian tat she got to take epi.

Mummies, let give her our support that she will have a smooth delivery.

mousebb:
I've completed my 30days of confinement, can i drink plain water from now onwards? will i have water retention (swelling)?

Buffy Ganbatte!!!!

Ribena.. i've been drinking lotsa water since thurs.. so far not water retention wor..

actualli dun get the no plain water thingy leh.. red dates water also water mah.. soup also water right... hmmm......

yo i am using manual pump, heard supply will not be good. So far, still pump around 80ml. My bb alr drink 100ml liao. What to do? Heard electric pump can stimulate milk supply. Is it true?

Buffy...endure. Can see ur little one soon... Jia You!

Coke!! Soarkling Ribena!! cold ah?? not cold nice to drink meh?

Where is Trace? Popped liao??

yo i am using manual pump, heard supply will not be good. So far, still pump around 80ml. My bb alr drink 100ml liao. What to do? Heard electric pump can stimulate milk supply. Is it true?

<font color="aa00aa">PrincessEmma
I dont have a CL but Cd (Confinement daddy) mah. My hubby said as long as dr woody said can drink, he will let me drink. I drank a lot during my last confinement but this time, I guai liao. I only drink a few times nia.

Ribena
After confinement should be able to drink water le bah. I also have no idea leh. Any mummies know about this?

Thought I still saw Forest and Trace's post this morning/afternoon?

Buffy
Jiayou! Very soon you will be able to see your precious one le! </font>