(2008/10) Oct 2008

beary.. wah.. how come so long then go see gynae?? hehe.. no wonder the opsite got water go in liaoz.. its only supposed to last u 1 week mah.. i c sect on friday, i removed dressing and stitches the following thurs lehz... btw, is ur womb area still hurting? actualli, by the 6th or 7th day, ur wound would have dried and recovered.. so it should be ok even though some water has seeped in.. but best to keep that area dry.. faster go see gynae.. hehe

mint.. normal ah.. then i'll hold bringing him to the PD.. lotsa kids with lotsa germs there.. not a good place for a NB also..

nickypower.. no lahz.. nothing to do with that F1 driver.. hehe.. his brother is called Enzo.. so i found Alonzo when i was looking at thru those baby name sites for a name that ends with ZO.. keke..

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

<font color="aa00aa">PrincessEmma
Woody said last for more than a week also no problem as long as the wound doesnt hurt. But at any time if we suspect there's an infection, we will have to go back to him immediately leh. That's what he told me. </font>

mousebb.. woody never say how long i can keep the opsite.. he juz removed it when i saw him a week after the op lohz.. and he's so funny lahz... cos after the op.. i kenna UTI... so he said i muz drink lotsa water.. ask me faster go buy 1 litre of Coke and down it!!! hahahaa.. so i said if i drank 1 litre of coke, my BM will come out brown boy!!! haha.. had a good laff lahz.. he's a cool gynae..

<font color="0000ff">Morning all,
Went for my 36weeks checkup on sat, bb is vy small size. Only abt 2.3kg nia, gynae est. she will b abt 2.8kg at birth. But gynae said she is healthy &amp; there is still a lot of water, condition is gd.
Think DH a bit worried when he heard tat but I m vy small frame &amp; bbs in my family all small size 1

jjmom.. since u're small, its better ur baby be small also.. so it wouldnt be tough on u during childbirth.. hehe.. 4 more weeks to go for u.. hehe.. anxious?

jjmom, dont worry about bb size. as long as she is healthy, nothing more matters.

forest, hopefully your boy cooperate with you and make his appearance these few days. happy waiting!

<font color="0000ff">PrincessEmma, dreamyjo,
Yupz, I m not really overly worried abt my gal being small size coz my niece also only 2.6kg when birth. So I think it's in the family lah
All ladies in my family r small sized

Dreamyjo, r u still waiting too or u give birth liao huh? Sorry I lost count liao =P</font>

jjmom, am also in the the waiting game. today got gynae appointment, maybe will decide whether to continue waiting or go for induction. dilemma, see what the gynae advise. Hehehe..

cookie,
my boy is estimated to weigh at 3.4 to 3.5kg as of last sat.. gynae says still average size.. even head circumference is average size.. so, we'll still try for natural birth bah.. he says if u dont try, u'll never know!!! i also hope i can deliver him smoothly! kekeke... :p

nickypower,
ya.. actually im glad i wasnt checked too, cos' it is not comfortable leh.. hahaha.. even my gynae tells me it wont be comfortable, so he'll check me only when its time.. kekeke. :p

how's ur tum tum now? feeling better?

JJmom,
so long as bb is still growing, it's ok if bb is small.. so, ur family is all petite sized.. ekekek..

dreamyjo,
thanks!! i'll just let my boy decide now... kekek..

do keep us posted on ur checkup later ya!

hello all!
This morn just started to bath bb. She knew is not aunty who bath her when i clean her mouth inside and kana bite. So far, since day 1 till today, never hear her cry, bb enjoy bathing. Haha. Worried when i took over she will cry but she didnt.

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
Wow! You are in your 36 weeks liao. Will be full term in another week's time! 2.8kg for bb is a very good weight for natural birth
Not too small lah.</font>

lili.. me also bathed my boy for the first time today.. cos my CL, my mom decided to go galivanting with my dad to JB today.. haha.. sianz.. today muz do everything myself.. but i thoroughly enjoyed bathing alonzo today..
so fun! been so long since i bathed a NB.. keke..

heres my birth story..
15th oct-
1215am reach Mt A
1 plus start to induce.
5 plus contraction starts
8 plus nurse measure is 2cm dilated.
9 plus cannot stand it, ask for epidural
11 plus 4cm dilated, very happy thought got chances of natural birth.
3 plus still 4cm
9 plus pm still 4cm doctor advise to c-sect
10 plus baby is out. finally after a long day

baby weight 3580 length 51cm..

Check with those who had c-sect. how long did u wait to start on massage? my gynae say after 2 weeks but my massage lady say 3 weeks. but some say at least a month. i only lose baby's weight. still have extra 15kg on me.. very sad leh..

ms_pi.. c-sect best to wait for at least 20 days before massage.. although my gynae said to be safe, better wait for a month.. but me gonna start me at abt 21 days after op..

ur birth story quite similar to my first... i induced and waited 28 hrs but still 2 cm dilated.. ended up with emergency c sect too..

How much ebm should I feed bb? I fed her 60ml but she like still not enuf... I'm also afraid of overfeeding her.

<font color="aa00aa">Mint
There's no fixed amount to give. For me, I fix my bb on demand. From 60ml, I increased to 70ml and only this morning, to 80ml. If you think 60ml is not enough for your bb abd she kept asking to be fed, maybe you can increase another 10ml for her.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">PricessEmma
Wow! 28hrs! REally no joke! Woody delivered your 1st child also? For me, I think I would have long surrendered and ask for c-sect le.</font>

I am bak! How is everyone? Miss u all...

Baby Isaac has returned home after 1 extra day stay in hospital due to Jaundice. Glad that he is with me now! Hee...Now trying my best to fatten him up. Besides BF, his PD recommended premature formula with high calories to boost the weight gain. Anyway I still BF-ing him 40%, coz PD said as long as my volume is enuf for him, it will be fine. My milk supply kicks in on day 3, and I manage to pump out 70ml this morning (day 5), am happy with the progress. Really thanksto TMC's nurse, they helped me a lot in BF-ing!

Btw, I met pinkimum and her baby boy at TMC, hee...her boy is very chubby as compared to my little baby, both mommy and baby are doing fine and discharged yesterday.

Here is my labour story:
630am – Reached Thomson Medical Centre and checked in into labour ward No. 7. After changing into the hospital gown, was strapped to the CTG machine.

650am – I was shaved and given anema to clear the bowel.

715am - Strapped to the CTG machine again and put on the drip for induction.

725am – Antibiotic given through the drip.

735am – Gynae came, did the VE for me and broke my water bag. I was about 1.5-2cm dilated, expected to deliver by 3-4pm. Requested for epidural as suggested by Dr. YC earlier on due to the “complication” of my pregnancy. Frequent contraction started, but the nurse was shocked by my pain threshold as I did not feel any pain at all.

810am – Anesthetist came and Epidural given. The “long” waiting game started.

910am – Breakfast served. Haha…finally can eat as I have starved from the midnight before.

1152am - Nurse did VE again and commented that I was progressing well with 5cm dilated already.

1200pm – Felt very hungry but my request for lunch was rejected. Started to encourage and psycho my baby to come out asap, as mommy going to faint from hunger soon! Haha…

110pm – Gynae came to do VE again. To my surprise, she said it is time to push! Doc and nurse went ahead to prepare for the arrival of my baby Isaac. I shivered non-stop after that (side-effect of epidural), probably too excited to meet my boy! Hee…My bottom was numb due to epidural, but with guidance and helps of nurses, we did some practice on pushing. Gynae and nurses commented I pushed very well. Hubby kept encouraging me, asked me not to worry and do my best, he was with me!

120pm – Gyane and nurses ready, and the real battle started. After quite a number of unsuccessful pushes, my baby was distress and heartbeat dropped below 100. Gynae decided and arranged to suck out baby Isaac.

127pm – Finally baby Isaac was out after two pushes with the help of kiwi vacuum!!!

After delivery, we finally found out the reason/answer for my small baby. My placenta and baby’s umbilical cord’s diameter is very small, only half the size of those in “normal” pregnancy! My gynae said my placenta looks like a toy to her! Aiyo! She is glad that we can come so far for my pregnancy, and my baby Isaac was born healthy with natural delivery! Really thank god!

Baby Isaac say hi to all aunties here:

1807054.jpg

mint.. ya.. like mousebb said, every bb is different.. baby alonzo is 11 days old and drinking up to 100ml... so u juz increase if bb keeps finishing her milk loh.. keke..

mousebb.. ya.. by woody too.. aiyo.. my no1's birth was terror sia.. somemore i endured like 20 hrs of contractions w/o epidural can!!! haha... he juz kept coming to cx on me but dialation like nothing one lohz.. think finally he also gave up lahz..

mousebb, PrincessEmma,
I just went to feed her another 40ml. Now she's contented. Wah piang! Means I have to express about 100ml each time now... *faintz*

mint.. ya lohz.. when i brought alonzo for his 1 week cx up, pd says they drink from 60-90ml.. so now should be abt 100ml there abt liaoz.. me also express buay hu.. hahahha.. juz finished expressing.. not enough!!! lol.. think i realli need fenugreek!!!

mommies on fenugreek.. how much does ur SS up after u take the pills?

Phtanus.. bb Isaac is cute!!! wah.. ur labour seems painless and ez hor.. envious leh!!

Hello mummies! Thanks for all the congras.

Congratulaions Phatunas! Welcome to motherhood.

Wow, PrincessEmma, bb alonzo can drink so much so envy. Think I cun produce enuff to meet my bb ethan's demand. He wakes up every hr last night to drink. After that he will throw out some milk.

Beary, I'm like u, having the same problem in latching. Then bb is screaming away.... my nipples are so sore and red.

Nicky, u r right. Dr Koh alway give the same ans to all of us :p Make me so worry.

littlealmond.. u latching him on or bottle feeding? how come he's waking up every hr.. hmm... alonzo drinks 100ml and zzz for 4 hrs till his next feed.. so technically he doesnt drink alot.. cos he drags v long b4 next feed... but right now, i'm also lacking behind in the production line.. haha.. cant meet his demand.. wonders when then i can wor..

littlealmond,
did you burp bb ethan after the feed?

PrincessEmma,
Ya think I also need fenugreek or nursing tea le. Which one will give more milk supply? Heehee! *ks*

<font color="0000ff">ms_pi, Phtanus,
Congrats

Phtanus, bb Isaac don't look small size to me lei. He is so alert &amp; handsome with big eyes

I have c-sect on 16 Oct morning, my boy weight 3.73kg and 51cm in height.

Mousebb,

I have problem latching my son too, he suck well in the hospital but when he was home yesterday, he refuse to latch on. He cry for milk from 1am to 5am last night, both my hubby n me were very stress.

How much milk do we need to give to a 4 days old baby? Anyone know how to calculate the amount to give?

princessEmma, I bottlefeed with bm but not much, abt 30 ml per bottle. So last night not enuff, then latch. Even with latching, he also wake up almost every hr. Few dasy back, he sleep thru out with latching.

Mint, got burp him leh but he very notti, whenever feed him, he will suck a few mouthful then sleep liao. Burp him also the same. So when u put him back to bed, he will wake up again... haiz.

My sil gave me some nursing tea. Going to drink one cup and see how. Feel like giving bb ethan formula liao. Scare he not taking in enuff.

Later going to see pd and see if he will say anything a not. Scare when out, he will look for milk again... then dun know how to handle.

Give birth only pain at most hours but taking care of them is so handful

Btw, can we drink plain water? I have been told not to drink plain water cos cooling leh

jjmom,

so r u resting at hm tdy? meanwhile try to drink more milk
but dun worry so much..i think yr bb weight is juz nice...

Phtanus,

COngrats!! Issac is so cute!!!!...have a gd rest yah

mousebb
how often do you pump?

my ger has v short guts ... after a heavy feed, she will puke even if we burp her... until today, she is still on 50ml, 2hr feed frequency

getting worried as she lost alot of her birth weight, almost 500g and managed to put on some after we started her with formula. still the puking makes me worry...

phantus
Baby so cute and alert lei.. Well done lei after reading ur birth story.

Is ur milk thick like yellowish? Or white? Mine was yellowish and now white. My CL said white diluted, BM have to be yellowish is consider thick, so bb will be full. What about u?

lili
dun think so ... i think it has to do with the hindmilk n foremilk theory...

chk w an LC beta... smtimes CL say things, we hv 2 chk against science lah ...

my milk is smtimes white or yellow. bb okie ... she seemed full

Jellypurin, same as u. worry abt bb's weight. Thinking of giving him formula in the night so that he can sleep well.

Think a lot of kids also grow up on formula yet doing very well.

Lili, mine is a bit yellowish white. But can see the milk quite thin.

hi mommies
guess wat:) i am in labour ward now. gynae induced me at 1030 but till now contraction still not kick in hmmm a bit worry y so long still no sign.dunno is it too mild cannot feel.

nickypower
yes same spelling :)

<font color="0000ff">Trace, no
not resting at home, still coming into office till end of this mth...sianz

Been settling my ML stuff with HR since morning...the admin stuff so confusing @_o''

How r u doing so far? Any more signs? R u overdue yet?</font>

Phtanus,
Baby Isaac looks really alert. the eye open so big.
My son's eye so far only open half way. He is still feeling very sleepy. even at night, we have to wake him up for his milk..
I have been pumping regularly every 3 hrly but supply still very low. not even 10 ml after pumping 10 mins on each side..

princess emma
wow your bb can drink 100ml is a lot wor.you r bf your bb rite? your supply must be v good ! how many hr you pump ?

cookie!

Dr Ho induce u? i am gog to see him tmr morn...my EDD is 25th ...so am gog to ask him if he is gog to induce me then too..

Wah... all the babies so cute. Ahh... Congrats to those that popped.

Fenugreek
I also smell something diff when i started eating. Think i smell like the pill. Haha... and my BM also have smell. But BB seems to be enjoying it still. So... ok lah. Still too early to tell if my ss has increased. Hope so lah.

Mummies:

Updates from Buffy!!
She went into Mt A 2359Hr last nite to induce her bb.

After administrating the pill,
3am her waterbag burst but only 1cm dilated.
She was telling me, the next few rooms got 2 women compete in screaming and they were so loud that she couldn't sleep.

She currently on drip. Will keep u gals updated again. Stay tune.

<font color="aa00aa">Jess

Did you try to pump out the milk. My bb also has the same problem so I stopped latching her and pump out the milk for her instead. When my gal was 4 days old, we gave her about 30-40ml and then slowly increased her intake.

Jellypurin
I pump every 3-3.5hrs.
In that case you have to feed her more frequently. No point wasting your bm and she cannot take it also.

LittleAlmond
We also give fm to our gal during night feed so that it can last her longer and she can sleep better! We can sleep better too!

Mousebb, surprisingly bryan drinks lesser now. He can only finish 60ml and sometimes cant finish also. What kind of poo should they be passing now? Watery type? I hope its not diarrhea? he vomits alot leh..dunno wats wrong, we did burp him b4 putting him back to cot leh