(2008/10) Oct 2008

My MIL bathing Marcus for me. She smart, put the bb bathtub on top of toilet bowl, then she sit on a plastic chair to bath bb. Smart!

Lili, maybe u can try this method.

lili,
yeah... BB Clare got v nice features.. pretty girl!!

Carole,

not pain lah.. haiya mousey, u are scaring the mommies! ok it's uncomfortable but are we talking about the high pressure bandage or the stitches? the high pressure bandage feels like it's ripping your skin out (like a plaster with heavy adhesive on dry skin) but it actually sits on top of a waterproof bandage so doesn't touch the stitched line. the gynae cut out the two ends of the stitch after a week, no feeling, very neat line and changed the waterproof bandage. i can take it out the bandage next week by myself. because your pubes will grow out, the bottom of the waterproof bandage will be susceptible to water going in if you bathe everyday (like me) so i douse the area with powder and sometimes use hair dryer on cold to dry the bandage. looks awful like i'm drying out my down there but when it's wet, it becomes itchier.

don't be scared lah.. think of bb, think of bb, think of bb.

but to be honest, when they wheeled me outside the theatre, my legs were trembling so much from excitement and fear i almost crapped in my pants had i not had an enema before. it was the most exciting thing like the moment before you got deflowered but being deflowered usually was disappointing and giving birth the end product made everything so worth it.

of course then you stay awake at 1 a.m. to cry and like what Enya said, your hb think you went siao. emo moments these.. heheheheheh

Harlow mummies!

All the babies look so cute! haha

Today so happi! Finally my mum allows me to bathe after a week of tahaning! I reallie missed shampooig my hair!

Enya,
U mentioned abt taking Fenugreek to increase BM flow. May I know where can I get it? And its capsule form?

Mousebb,
U wet thru c-sect right? U mention that ur gynae will check the wound and remove the bandage for u one week later? May i noe is it one week after we dscharge from TMC or one week after we gave birth?
I am worried that if i drag too long to make appt with my gynae, it will be bad for the wound. My wound is starting to feel itchy at the sides of the bandage...

To those mummies who have more than a baby to handle, I am totally impressed how u ladies can cope! Super mummies!
For me, 1 baby is enough to turn the whole household upside down! :p My baby always cry non-stop at nite... then my mum, dad, hubbie and myself all paced up and down...all in a loss! its like 4 adults serving one baby! Even this morning my neighbour told me.." waa! ur baby very fierce hor? cry so loud, dun give chance for pple to sleep..." I very paiseh, but no choice.. i cant control his emotions

soudez,
dun worrie abt going for c-section. Initially i was oso like u.. i think my case was totally a shock! Dr Koh says that baby is too big, ask me to go c-section the next day! And it was aready 9pm at his clinic, wans me to quik quik make decision. waa! I can ustd, tat moment is reallie stressful! Esp when all the while i tot i am going to have natural brth, but last min baby too big and the head is low, but not low enuf...
Actually hor, in the end, my baby comes out... hahaha
its not wat Dr Koh says... baby is 3.445kg instead of the 4kg that he predicts
So its oni an estimation, thou its a bit far off... hahaha
But nmind, most imptly, baby i healthy and we minimise all risks! Think of the baby, n u will have more courage! And like wat the mummies say here, C-setion is reallie not so terrible after all when I go thru it myself
The mummies were right, its fast, painless during the process if u opt for epi, just some movements felt, but u won noe whats dr koh is doing.
Hes very experienced, and he will still joke in the operating theatre and re-assure u
so dun worrie, u are in good hands!

And yah, i oso wish to thank the mummies here who gave me so much encouragement before my delivery to go thru my c-section! Ur words reallie help me a great deal!
Thank you thank you!

Purebliss, so glad to hear that double eyelids wont go away!
my baby have them, but its a bit vague, i definitely hope they will stay!
Dimple wont go away rite? My boy got one on his left cheek!
so happi!

Gwen,
I tried to use the Avent manual pump like wat u say
It does work slightly better, but maybe its me, my nipple are sore n hurts... so in the end i still went back to direct expressing. Hopefully when my breasts are "stronger" from all the pinching n squeezing and become immune to pain, I will be able to use the pump
My baby is also like urs, hes a nite terror...wont sleep! and even in the day oso mini terror...until sometimes i see him, i abit scared, although hes cute looking! hahaha
its gd that Marissa at least sleeps well in the day

btw, any mummies know whether we can eat fruits during confinement? My mum is not sure, so i tell her dun worrie, let me check with my forum frens! haha

Carole,
My c-sec wound not pain after 2 days. And when gynae remove bandage and stitches, also not pain.
So dun worry so much. Now, the c-sec area numb numb de...gynae say will only regain feeling after 6mths or so.

Beary,

My gynae remove my bandage and stitches 1 week after i delivered. Healing nicely now.

As for eating fruits, i've been eating papayas, honeydew, rock melon and apples. But MIL say cannot eat cold fruits like Watermelon, pear.
Anyone have other comments on eating fruits??

Xinying
You win already!! If it were my case, my MIL would faint on the spot! LOL! Heee, I'm going to tell my hb this. Hee.

Beary
I also agree. I can't imagine myself looking after a toddler and a NB.

Papaya leh?? If can drink papaya fish soup, eating papayas should be ok right?

My MIL never say anything leh. Anyway... she see all liao mah. I BF in front of her also. Think after give birth, i dun care abt privacy. Haha... in hospital, when my girlfriends come visit, and bb need to feed, i'll just flash my boobs. Haha... too tired to think. But of coz, if guys around, i'll ask them to leave the room lah.

sorry for MIA so long,
i have been suffer fever for 3days
took panadol from TMC prescribe by gynae, its so strong made me keep sweating whole day whole night. yst night start to recover the temperature start to remain betw 36.8-37
but my milk supply seem kenna effected, left side still can remain 100ml but right side so poor only can pump 40ml sigh..
i thk i de-hydrated, tdy keep feel giddy after express the milk. tdy i suddenly cry out, i feel so tired of sweating whole days & no bath no hair wash. the sweat just nvr stop.
mummies, anyone of u got drink plain water? will it effect the milk supply?

BBgoh... poor thing. Glad u are feeling better. So far, i never drink plain water leh. Only abit when i'm taking my medicines. Is ur right side engorged? Normally my both sides almost same amount.
Ur gals is chubby. Her cheeks... aww...

Thanks all.

Littlebluey, ur update so fast. Btw, I delivered on 12 Oct, natural with epi. bb is 3.03kg and 50cm.

Hi forest, think I was still chatting with u on Sat night.

Here's my story:

Been going to the toilet more than usual on Sat night. Think almost every hour wanna go pee until hubby ask me wat happened.

Sun morning, tot of holding my urge but feel a bit wet and saw show but din feel much contractions. Waited a while and still go show so call emergency line for gynae to call back. He told me to go monitor 1st but dun check-in.

still have a shower before going hospital. Reached Mt A abt 8.30 am... waited a while before being monitored.

Confirmed that I'm having contractions and was admitted. Being put on drip and was abt 3 -4 cm dilated at abt 10 am. Dr said my treshhold for pain was gd and I'm not even need anything epi but he was wrong. By 11 plus, I was in great pain until I scolded my hubby who is encouraging me. Requested for epidural and was give by 12 plus and by then was more than half way thru at 6cm. Dr said I was very fast for 1st child and by 2pm, was told that I can deliver.

I was shocked cos by then I dun feel anything. But my pushing was bad and bb went into distress. Dr was called in immediately to help me to deliver using vacumm. When bb's head is out, the umbilical cord wind round his neck twice! This shock me and I was very worry. Luckily everything went well and my little bundle of joy is out at 2.50 pm.

xinying,

yah b4 got fever i get same amt for both sides too. right side not engorge ler, and i feel tat after i got fever huh the breast nvr feel full & hard as b4 but left side will leaking if i miss out the pump timing.
nw my girl drink abt 100ml every 2hr le, and i only can get abt 120-140ml in every 3hr if nvr increase so worry i cant meet her demand

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">mummies</font>

i might not be able to catch ur post here for this moment.
dun mind send email to [email protected] or sms me at 81137959 if u need me heehee =P</font>

Lili..

I started bathing the BB after the cord dropped of after 5 days... before that i will only wipe her body with a warm towel... now my mum baths her daily as im not allowed to touch any water....
Mum will put the tub on the toilet bowl and sit on a stool and bath her... like expert leh...

<font color="aa00aa">Beary
My c-sect was done on a Wed and before I discharge on Sat, my gynae told me to go back to see him on the following Thur or Fri for review and remove stitches. Actually more than a week lah.
I guess it would be better if you can go see your gynae early cos after he removed the plaster and stitches, you can bathe better. With the plaster, I was so scared to bath but no choice still have to bath..

bbgoh
Hope you are feeling better.
Seline looks so adorable leh!
Since I delivered till now, I only take red dates tea everyday, about 3 litres a day. Cant help it cos I always feel thirsty. I bathe and wash hair everyday cos I cannot tahan the hot weather leh. </font>

xinying,

ya i saw pictures of you breastfeeding! i was thinking now that's one liberal mom.

but it's true lor, after a while, you just don't care about modesty anymore when you have a hungry infant to feed.

bbgoh,
go take a shower. all of us are going to suffer from some form of rheumatism anyway but close your bathroom mini window. you'ld feel better. i went into depression after having to check on the confinement lady, having no sleep and not feeling fresh so now i bathe with the herbs everyday, wash my hair once or twice a week (esp when visitors drop by), i breastfeed with the air conditioning on and i drink lots of warm/hot plain water because bfing makes me very thirsty leh.

Haha... the pic are not RA mah. It covers the parts that is meant to be covered. Haha... i thin it's quite well taken. Shows the Chia Trio bonding. Hehe... My friend took it and PS the wordings. I love this pic. Keke...
1794933.jpg

bbgoh,
aiyo.. glad that ur fever went down le... do take care ya!! bb Seline is so fair!! she has porcelain looking skin wor..

littlealmond,
yaya... now i also recall.. cos' for u and tweety, u 2 were still chatting with me and "consoling" me to keep waiting... and then all of a sudden, the 2 of u pop already!!! *faint* and the best part is, i'm still waiting lahhh... hahahah..

seems ur labour went very smoothly too... great job gal!! do post bb's photos when u can ya! take care and keep posting!!

Littlebluey, Xinying
then i better stick to fruits thats not too cooling
apples seems to be a good choice!

Xinying,
I oso think i dun care much abt privacy after i delivered. I oso took off my shirt n bra in front of my mum when i attempt to bf my baby. mum will try to help guide baby to my breast, but too bad, we nber succeed. coz baby just cant wait, very frustated.

BM volume
sigh... after a week, my volume is still max max 40ml from both breasts after 1 hour of hard squeezing!
Reallie envy mummies who have a good supply. Dunno wats wrong with me, but reallie hope the flow will come in soon!

bbgoh,
me oso try to tahan not to bathe for a week. then today i start bathing for the 1st time. I think its okie if u take extra care. Bathe with hot herbal water, bathe quickly, close all windows, dry urself thoroughly and use hairdryer to blow dry ur hair completely
If u are still worried, maybe can bathe 2 to 3 times a week instead of everyday

Pacifier
Anyone start giving babies pacifier? does it help to stop their screaming n crying?

mousebb,
i just called up my gynae clinic.

I told them i delivered on wed, discharged on Sat and they asked me to go on Fri, but i cant make it coz hubbie working. So changed to following Mon instead. Its almost like 2 weeks after i delivered! but nurse says its alrite... Hope its not painful

Hi Mummies!!!

So many given birth le. Congrats to all!

I'm so busy catching up with my high demand feed girl that I don't have time to log in. She is latching on almost every hr! If given EBM, she needs about 100ml every 2.5 to 3 hrs. Sometimes, latch for 30 mins already, she still need to supplement another 70ml of EBM. So I've been latching and pumping, latching and pumping! My supply is coming in, but not enough to meet her demand! That is my life now. Haaa..

Anyway here a pic is my gal taken at Day 3

Will catch up with the postings when I got more time at hand!

1794954.jpg

Hello all proud mummies of adorable babies,
I have been following this thread faithfully. I din join in cause worried that being a civil servant, I am not allowed to post my opinions here. But now I simply have too much to share and ask. Hence, I am here. Hope not intruding to your website.
I delivered my baby, Clarissa on 08 Oct at KKH, week 37. I am supposed to due on 29 Oct. I went through 12 hours of labour, with induction, epidural and in the end got to vacuum my baby out. Luckily dun have to go through emergency c-section.
My baby was in Special Care Nursery since birth. Thanks god that she discharged well on 13 Oct, the day when my milk supply start to kick in.
Went checkup at polyclinic, doctor says her jaundine is 200. Cant do total breastfeeding so I have been bottle feeding her. I expressed about 70ml every 3 hours. At night, my mum fed her formula milk. I wish to ask you all experienced mum, is my milk supply too low? Also, I am worried that if I latch her on, she will have nipple confusion. I got to feed her formula milk as instructed by doctor.
Sorry for this long message. 1st time posting so dunno how to control. Pardon me, please.
Also, see so many cute babies, cant resist posting my Clarissa pix.
1795086.jpg

xinying,
i know what your husband is doing, he's pushing your boob down so it doesn't block your boy's nostrils! hahahaha.... well at least that's what my man does. irritating. he'ld go 'oi cannot breathe, cannot breathe' then take the opportunity to prod at a boob.

Jasminetea,
i'm starting to experience the hourly feed thing after trying to establish a routine (to no avail), i'm going to supplement with friso if not enough. not going to stress out so much.. sigh. i don't know how much she nurses out of my boobs so i give her 80 ml per session night feeds. has any mom been successful in establishing a routine in increasing fed amount week by week?

beary,
for some reason my mom is against using pacifier, i think i might start on it when CL leaves but currently it might be because CL uses it as an excuse to shut the girl up and get more sleep.

Welcome YPG.
I think 70ml every 3 hours is good. Try to latch bb on lah. My BB is ok with i switch between bottle with EBM and BF.

Clarrisa looks alert and happy. Sharp chin.

xinying,
tats a heartwarming pic of ur family!!

Jasminetea,
ur gal sleeps on her side eh... cute!!! kekeke..

Trace,
same... im sooooooooo HOT... my living rm no aircon, but i have 2 fans blowing full blast at me.. but i still feel hot... think i gonna coop myself up in my bedroom instead.. cos can on aircon!!! grrrr...

ypg,
welcome!!

Clarissa looks sooo alert!! kekeke...

pildough, xinying, forest

Thanks for welcoming me in! Feel so blissed to be able to join you all. It is not an easy pregnancy for me. Even got threatened pre-term delivery at week 32.

I will try to latch her on soon. I stay with my mum, feel so fortunate to have her helping me or else I really dunno what to do. Last time my mum say I only good at studies and teaching other ppl children, others I dunno. Even since my marriage last year, I never do any housework except for cooking occasionally. Serious right!

Today my massage lady reported to work. Really enjoyed the massage though it is super painful. She said water retention and cellulite that being accumulated over years will cause the pain. So no choice got to bear with it. I thought of taking painkillers tmr b4 she comes. Haha... But she is really good! Feel like doing free "advertisement" for her.

<font color="#151B54"> pildough,
y envious? u oso can de..

xinying,
haha.. my #2 really look like doll ar? both of them love my #3 alot. esp the #1.

Diane,
so hw u find the tweezer useful? actually i bought the tweezer oso like wasted. coz my #1 will help my #2 to dig out her nose shit. n is usin his OWN hand... yuck!!!

lili,
BB Clare is so pretty!!! i love her pair of eyes!!!

bbgoh,
BB Seline look cute!!!

jasminetea,
ur BB look so sweet n chubby!!

YPG,
ur BB look so sweet n alert!!!

xinying,
a hapy family pic wor~~</font>

Many mummies went thru diff nightmares but then when the BB is born the nightmare just moves away from our minds...Now its time to enjoy motherhood

gwen,
Dunno when will i start n enjoy my motherhood...
i m still waiting n waiting..everyday got ppl calling n sms mi asking mi where m i now?? Haha...

Hey mummies, those that pop, when will we rec the baby bonus huh? And for the CDA acc, when must open for 1st child? Has the legisaltion been passed? When i delivered Marcus, the baby bonus package given at Mt Al was still the old one.

Trace... it'll happen when u least expect it. Haha... get ready for the surprise. Meanwhile, eat all that u want before confinement.

I miss ice-cream.

xinying,
these i hv drank bubble tea n some cold stuff..haha except my crab bee hoon! My hubby planning to do tom yum steamboat this fri..his fren's wife had spicy steamboat then nxt day popped..so he wants mi to try..he hope bb can pop this sat..

ypg,
wow.. ur massage lady sounds good wor... wats her pkg like?? kekek.. :p

gwen,
like Trace, im also wondering when i can start enjoying motherhood... :S

Trace,
serious not? if the tomyum steamboat helps, i also wanna do lehhhh... hahahaha... :p

forest,
Haha...dun think there's any logic..but anyway i feel like havin spicy stuff..so might as well hv it this fri..haha..i will tell u if i really pop on sat..

xinying

ya lor. The baby bonus package given by TMC also the old version leh....then how ah? call MCYS and ask for new forms ah?