allo karen!
glad to see you're finally resting~ heheheh i think we deserve it lah. Monitor the diarrhoea k, i remember some of the mommies have symptoms of diarrhoea prior to labour. weather is not warm, it's bleeding hot! i was sitting in the car just now going on the ecp and i swear, temp outside of car read 37 degrees.
Juz Us,
abby goes on avent bottle for her unearthly hour feeds and the breast during the day. she seems to prefer the breast but no confusion lor, maybe because she's working hard to get to the milk. takes some time to negotiate the avent teat though but takes some time for her to latch on properly for the nipple as well. my CL say must tease the lips abit with the bottle teat with abit of milk, wait for her to open up, curl her tongue the correct way and latch onto the teat, once latch, she doesn't let go.
the kid wakes up every 2.5 to 3 hours, pd say that's a good guideline that she's getting enough if she can sleep through for 3 hours and added that we shouldn't let them sleep past 4 hours without a feed but i think it depends on individual parents. i'ld let her sleep if she wants to sleep and let her feed if she wants to feed, i only have 4 months to be this indulgent anyway and i gather, maybe about 2-3 months to work her into a routine for easier care with ebm and supplemented formula when i get back to work.
i'ld unlatch her and let her snooze on the bed for awhile then see if she wants the breast again if not will continue with burp and check diapers then put her down in her bed.
Freya,
i sun the kid in the morning (indirect sunlight) between 7.30 to 8.30 a.m., i'ld just put her on the bed (because my window catches the morning sun) after a feed and undress her making sure that the room is at a comfortable temperature and cover her eyes with a hanky. That's the front then for the back, i sit her up to burp her and face her back to abit of sunlight. the nurse recommended 10 min front, 10 min back but i do about 5 min front and back dependent on how game the kid is that morning. so far today at day 12, jaundice has gone down to 3. something.
cheezel,
my bb's full month is in two weeks and i've booked 3 tables of 8 at a chinese restaurant(also small lunch for family), they're providing the eggs but i'ld rather they give me the sou pao.. hehe. not applicable but lotus paste pao nicer to eat than eggs.
did any mommies go for the full month ang ku kueh, red eggs, pretty boxes thing? i'm wondering what to get for colleagues, neighbours and friends, my mom say get bengawan solo vouchers but i'm going to buy my close friends lunch at a nice place instead.
Trace,
i know the shiok feeling. i sneaked back to my in-laws place with my husband and had cold diet coke, hot fudge sundae and ice cold dao huey jiu the other day! hahahah.. but when i got home, i felt so guilty, i guzzled down lots of longan red date water. hehe my mom-in-law not disapproving, she say actually cold stuff is bad for me now but just pray before eating and hope for the best. ahahahhaahhaha
Purebliss,
seems that we can share CL woes but mine cooks like a dream just that she was abit bossy at the beginning, she always wants to overfeed the kid so she'ld sleep longer, rushes through the cleaning, diapering and stresses out the kid alot, i had to tell her to relax.
Also she told me that if babies do one poo or one pee, no need to change!!!!! i think i'ld be alot more forgiving on myself but since i'm paying good money for someone to do the work and it's not like she's paying for the diapers, i insist she change the diapers after each soil and clean the kid up, also i'm particular about hygiene practices, i scrub the changing mat with antibac liquid every morning and night and remind her to do a antibac handwash after diapering before she swaddle or dress, also have to remind her to clean the little girl's genitalia gently but thoroughly (she can be very rough with the rubbing), pd reminded me to clean between the folds of the labia minora and majora because shit particles can get in there and cause UTI.
The CL is trying lah, giving her more rest during the day and sometimes i let the kid sleep with me, all in all she cooks like a dream and her attitude is adaptable, of course she tried to do the 'i've done this for decades so i can tell u what to do' like telling me it's not good to be so clean at the beginning so i also told her the 'i've read many research articles, my degree is in early childhood, my work is based on children and while i've not looked after infants, i've looked after tods so don't tell me you know better until i ask for it' thing nicely by sharing with her what my teacher and therapist friends share professionally.
Actually the worst was the first week when she tried to overfeed the kid with 80 ml of milk at day 5 and fed semi-cold formula at day 6 because she tested the temperature on the back of her hand, i tested it, she didn't swirl the contents, some of the milk in the middle dripped out cold!!! First week i monitored everything, woke up everytime she changed or fed, now abit relaxed but i think you've got it tougher. i told my mom that having the CL became more stressful but now i'm taking a backseat and resting more, monitoring the ml and temp personally but leaving her with the cleaning, cannot control everything i guess. It's still stressful, i feel like if it's not your own kid or grandchild or relative, you're less obliged to be conscientious about it.
So i say get your hb and maids to monitor her cleanliness and care of the babies and remind her when she doesn't practice basic hygiene and let her cook and clean up after you.
Diane,
hehehe Ethan is not girlie, my girl is chor lor.
Gwen,
i suspect our daughters have taken on our nocturnal habits. kekeke... if the kid could crawl over to the fridge to rummage for late night snacks, she most prob will do so.
xinying,
marcus is officially the dai gor dai for october babies. reSpect.