(2008/10) Oct 2008

Enya
I agree with forest that I'm so going to miss your encouragements and advice when you're busy with your own nb. Sigh, bfeeding is sounding more and more difficult.

forest: oh yes! Conrad is home! he was in time to celebrate his sister's 3rd birthday! wonderful. His jaundice from 15 to 8.9 and his PD called me up to pick him. PD still at work on SUNDAY!!! OMG! really "bad" life for gynae and PDs.

my 2nd day pump is 100ml... very happy with that number. i think i sat on the pump 4 times. 4am this morning i started to leakz. kick my hb to take the pump and bottles.. kekekke.. managed another 30ml! shiok... kekeke

JIAYOU!!!!

i am sure all mummies will Jia you!!!

<font color="#151B54"> Juz Us,
bb Tanya is cute!!! she look sweet!!!

beary, Jenny, Juz Us,
i'm havin the same problem as u gals. i BF Erin. i tot she had finish drinkin. so i express it out but aft i finish expressin. she cried n wan for milk again. so i check n see whether i still hve milk ant. aft checkin, i let her latch again. but she was like veri frustratin leh... i oso dunno wat to do leh.. so juz let her suck n suck until she happy lor.nw my nipple is really sufferin. haiz...

<font color="aa00aa">Vanilla
Jiayou and have a smooth delivery!

Soudez
Welcome!

Jollyhappy
Congrats again! Seems like your labour was quite an easy one! Rest well!

Carole
Glad to hear that Conrad has been discharged le!

Enya
Your gal is very cute leh!
!

Juz Us
Bb Tanya is very sweet!

Morning Mummies

How is everyone?

Carole Congrates on the arrival of Conrad! Seems that most mummies here do not suffer from the side effect of the spinal block for the csection. Guess me the unlucky one. Hahaha!

Rebecca, me kinda of sick of confinement food already. Lolz! since i am not bf, drinking my COFFEE everyday... miss it since 9 mths ago. Lolz! Now busy looking at those full mth cakes packages and arranging for full mth celebration. How are u managing with 3 kids?

Juz Us, Tanya so cute and chubby!! *can pinch?*

Wah... this thread also becomes a nite owl thread... keke.. mummies who are waiting, got to really make full use of the time now and rest and sleep. Cos when NB here, no chance to have a peaceful nite of sleep anymore until a few mths later.

<font color="#151B54"> Purebliss,
LOL!!! u temptatin me ur COFFEE ar... =P

i'm oso sick n tired of confinement food. keep buggin my hubby to bring me out. hehe....
anyway, dis will be the 3rd week of my confinement. still got 1 more week to go n~~ DA DA!!! i can go back to my normal life again!!! n my hubby promise to bring me to Kushin Bo. hehe....

but anyway, hw many hours of slp u hve nw? u copin wif 2 NB leh... muz be really tirin for u. even if u'r nt BF, but u still need to wake up to bottle feed ur gals? n i'm sure that ur gals will both wake up together rite?</font>

Thanks mousebb.

Last night was the 2nd night without a CL and am proud to say that I managed to handle bb myself.

My system was to feed Victoria EBM for her night feeds as she tends to get v anxious and impatient when milk flows slow fr the breast. For me when I see her rooting but getting nothing much, I get damn anxious too and I think this reduces my BM.

So I prepare my EBM in bottles with the correct amount of EBM and store in fridge. She feeds every 3hrly, so at 2.5hr or thereabouts, HB or me warm the EBM for her and feed her BEFORE she cries for milk (Enya's suggestion - thanks Enya for yr tips!!). The sys works like a dream for us cos she is satisfied and dun cry during the night. In the day, I latch on directly. After each feed, I also pump (day &amp; night) to remove remaining BM and to encourage milk supply.

To ensure breasts and nipples are clean and free from infection, I also wash them and clean them with a clean towel after ea feed / pump.

Had done away with my CL after 3 days becos:
1) She does not check if bb has dirtied her diapers, and always shoves bb to me saying she is hungry
- this results in a screaming bb, frustrated mum cos I duno why bb dun want my bm
- this happened 2x

2) She bathes bb in hot water
- My bb LOVES to bathe and always smile when bathing. I was shocked when I touchd the water cos it was hot even to my touch! yelled at CL.

3) She insists that I feed bb first before bathing
- This causes bb to puke the milk out naturally

4) She lazy to go check bb in cot at night, and put bb next to her on the queen bed WITHOUT any support behind or ard bb.
- It is well known that it is SUPEr dangerous to do that cos when we adults zz, we sometimes move ard.
- I only saw this once, and it was a strange maternal premonition cos that night I strangely asked HB to go see bb before we zz. He came back with the news that the bb was on the bed with CL.
- I rushed to the room and saw bb with her on the bed and she was snoring. Took bb away and placed in cot, and CL wakes claiming she was not sleeping; she almost fell on a chair when saying that.

5) Inhygenic food preparation
- Leaves raw meat out in the open to thaw.

6) Claims no food in fridge
- Say we have no food in the fridge when it was full. SO I told her if dun have the things she want, no prob, HB will bring her to bring when back fr work that afternoon. She complain to my MIL and Mom abt the same thing in the pm. My Mom then went to get her the stuff she needed. I realised later that even after buying the stuff, she still told my maid there is no food and even asked maid what to cook ah?

6) Told me to eat cereal for breakfast when she shd be cooking some nutritious food for me like mee sua!

7) Ate the expensive cod fish my mom bot for me
- Saw her thaw the fish, but never saw light of the big slice of fish. Casually asked maid in the evening, n maid told me she ate it!

Ok the long and short of my 3day saga. SOrry so long. I was almost at the verge of a nervous breakdown!!! I was supposed to be resting while she helped, but I was doing all the bb changing, cleaning, feedings!! So fired her.

She came highly recommended by a fren ... maybe am super particular.

Glad the episode is over. I take it that I start early without a CL lor.

i'm selling away my Medela PIS-Shoulder Bag that purchased on 1/7/08 from First Few Year (paragon)
. Warranty till 1/10/09. Reason to sell, and when the babies arrived in end Sept 08, decided to stop breast feeding completely after a few days.

For more info, please email me at [email protected] or sms 93664880

I will also be giving away my - :
-breast milk storage bags (75pcs)
-a pair of 30mm medela breast pump funnels
-disposable breast pads 6 boxes

<font color="aa00aa">Ruffles
Well done! Am sure you are able to handle well without a CL!

Purebliss
Thought your hubby want a "dragon"?

Rebecca
Me still drinking coffee even though I'm pumping leh.</font>

mousebb, want a dragon but that is 4 yrs later... now i dun want anything. He can say all he wants.. regret not ligating during that time. Now economic down... who dares to think of another bb. sell the pump off first, if not wasted.

Thanks for the well wishes.
Am discharging from Mt A today. Bb's jaundice level drop so can go home but need to do sun tanning. Then mummy also can wear bikini and suntan too... Must ask hubby bring us go resort. Hahaha!

My breasts started to engorge and have been pumping milk out to ease the engorgement. Think I will go and get the medela purelan. My sore nipples making me cry each time I breastfeed.

Ruffles,
Wah your CL is really terrible leh. Why your friend recommend you this type of CL? Anyway, since you have a maid, can ask your maid to help you more during this time then you give her an ang bao after that.

Will be meeting my CL for the first time today. Praying hard that she will be a nice CL. If not I'll die man. Got no maid, mum working and MIL cmi. But hubby met her yesterday and hubby told me that she seems very knowledgeable about bfeeding. I guess it's now a plus point for her cos at least I know she's pro bfeeding. *cross fingers*.

Will come in and chat again when I have time. Photos will post when I'm back home. Didn't bring cable with me to the hospital.

<font color="0077aa">Morning all,

Morning blue, somemore new work keep coming in...sianzzz

My legs &amp; feets start to hurt quite bad this weekends after only a little shopping after lunch/dinner. Wah...dunno later stage, how m i gng to manage @_o

So decided to start my ML early, gng to stop work at the end of this mth 31.10.08. DH also confirmed with his co. his 1 mth leave. He will start from the 3rd week of my confinement to learn from the CL &amp; then help me till 40days after CL leaves. At least I feel more relieved tat he confirmed he is here to help when CL leaves.

Vy glad tat we settled on this but still have somemore stuff to buy &amp; bb's rm to clear...tired!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Ruffles, sorry abt your bad experience with your Ex-CL
At least, u r coping well with bb yourself now, well done gd job

I agree with u tat if CL is not helping us, really have to fire her immediately rather than dragging it &amp; giving ourselves more problems.</font>

hi mummies..
Hw's yr morn? Hehe...today is the 1st day of my ML..gd to b at hm!!! Juz started raining..am gog to hubby's fren hse to see her bb soon.

<font color="0077aa">Congrats on all new mommies who have juz given birth

Mint, glad tat your bb can discharge with u today
Best of luck with your CL too

Morning mummies..
I got running nose and abit of cough today.. so on mc...

Update from Vanilla...
Bb Jayden, weight 3.18kg and 52 cm.. congrats to her...

Ruffles,
Sorry to hear abt yr experience...glad dat u r coping on fine, u always gv me the impression of being strong! Juz like yr gal...keep it up...

I m still in the waiting game...sianz...reading so much abt breastfeeding..i starts to worry too...keep thinking will i hv ample bm for my gal??? Haiz...

jjmom,
Dun envy, we went thru dat before too..mi n forest really cant endure dats y on ML nw...my pelvis still v pain tho...haiz

I m hopiing tmr chkup, doc will advse mi to delivery suite..hahahaha

I am in 39 weeks today, but still no sighs of labour. I have c-sect for my 1st pregrancy and was hoping to have natural birth (VBAC) this round. But after gynea's appt last friday, he advice me to go for c-sect as my baby is to big (3.6kg at 38weeks++) to try. I was a bit disappointed to hear that and feel like crying cos won't have the chance to feel the natural labour pain.

After disscussing with hubby and for the safely of both mother and baby, we schedule to have c-sect on 16 Oct 08 (morning).

Congrats to Lian, Mit and Gwen...

Jess.. don be sad ya.. as long bb is healthy ad safe... Jia you...

Trace.. start yr ML liao hor??? so good..

Thanks mummies

Looking forward to Victoria's 1st paed check-up tmr! Hope she has grown! My parents and in-laws all say she is fatter ..hee. I can't tell cos I see her 24-7! Bb's 1st outing .... and mommy &amp; daddy's 1st outing with bb too ... now need to pack diaper bag.

Experienced mommies - what shd I put in the diaper bag for TBF bb? I have diapers (4pcs), bb wipes to clean bb ass, changing mat, bb birth cert for registration, diaper rash cream. Anything else I missed out?

Trace,
Same, same, cant help to worry abt BF. Wonder when will my milk supply will kicks in, enuf for my bb? U know my case, i need the BM very much to fatten up my boy lo! Sigh...also worry abt engorgement, sore nipples etc.

Ruffles,
Congrats! Can tell u r coping very well with ur NB, update us the PD's check-up of bb victoria ya! Any photo to share?

Trace - dun u worry abt bf. Drink lotsa soups and water now, and start pumping once you can in the hosp. The LC might suggest you syringe out your colustrum to feed baby or direct latch on cos will be vv lil. Milk only comes later.

Phtanus - for some reason, I cant upload her pics here leh. Will upload onto facebook and you gals go check it out ok? Later....

Dun worry abt BM too!

phtanus/ruffles,
Yeah..cant help worrying abt it. Am worried abt sore nipples etc too..haha m i worrying too much? R

Ruffles,
Enjoy yr 1st outing wif Victoria... Do take care, its raining wor..

Tweety,
U ok today. Drink more water, take mc if needed...take care wor..mi finally can rest at hm!!

<font color="119911">good luck to all mums moving into delivery ward soon

rebecca, mousebb>> thanks!

Purebliss>> can pinch, but if she wakes then u gotta soothe her!! lolx hey how is it with the twins?? when i look after tanya, i keep wondering how you twins mummies manage!! really my idol man!

ok me gonna sleep liao. its been 11-3am crying 4 nights liao... out of her 2 week life!! pls help me maintain my sanity!! hope this is not gonna be a norm!

<font color="#151B54"> mousebb,
i oso drink coffee. but weekend cannot drink. coz hubby will nag nag nag. but recently finish my coffee liao. dun tink hubby will get it for me lor...

<font color="0077aa">Tweety, how abt u? When u starting your ML?

Trace, yah loh, ppl said to walk more when near delivery but my legs &amp; feets hurt even thou we juz go out for meal nia, not even really shopping leh...argh!

I also starts to worry abt bb crying during the 1st few days when our BM is not in yet. If bb still crying after we finish BF, r we suppose to juz let bb cry?</font>

<font color="0077aa">Carole, how r u coping
*wave*
Conrad is so cute &amp; he is sleeping so soundly

Better to bring along the bb health booklet and an extra set of clothes to put in the diaper bag.

Carole
Bb Conrad is so adorable!

jj: coping ok.. CL doing the job.. kekeke.. i just be cow and rest.. and surfing for plc to hold the full mth. :p

Pure: ic ic.. i use GA.. the effect is frm the spaim pain i had on the nerves.. other tt that.. i am walking but the difficult part is getting up n gng down onto the bed

I used this CL before.. so i dun hv problems with her. just orientate her on the plc. .and she is on her own.

Hey mommies

In case you need a list, found this:

CENTRAL

DEPARTMENTAL STORES

BHG (previously Seiyu)
Bugis
Level 3, children’s department

Isetan
Scotts Road
Level 4, children's department

Takashimaya
Level 3, Children’s Department

Other Services:
Children’s toilets at Level 3
Shopping Bag Deposits at Customer Service Centre at Level 2
Free rental of baby prams by depositing of identity card at Customer Service Centre at
Level 2

Tangs
Baby Care Room at Level 3, next to washrooms

SHOPPING MALLS

Centrepoint
Family Rooms on Level 3 and Level 6
Diaper-changing stations at Level 2 Ladies' washroom and Levels 2, 3, &amp; 4 Men's washrooms

City Link Mall
Near Godiva shop

Funan DigitaLife Mall
Baby Rooms on Levels 1, 2, 3, 4 &amp; 5

Other Services:

Urinals for little boys in the Gents and children toilet bowls in the ladies. Both with sinks at
kids' height. Facilities can be found in all levels.
Baby strollers at Customer Service Counter on level 1 for loan free of charge

Forum The Shopping Mall
Level 1 (next to Watsons &amp; washrooms)

Great World City
Level 1 and 2

Junction 8
Basement 1, next to washroom

Liang Court
Nursing Room located on Level B1, equipped with a changing station, wash basin and power
point in the room

Marina Square
9 family rooms equipped with a baby changing station and a small couch to provide parents with
an area to make diaper changes and feed their babies

Paragon
Level 3, near Metro

Plaza Singapura
Nursing room on Level 3 complete with nappy-changing facilities and water supply

Other services:
Free pram service for children below two - no deposit and available from 11am-8pm daily

Raffles City Shopping Centre
Baby's Room located at Level 3 (next to Lift Lobby B)

Other Services:
Baby strollers available for loan at concierge

Robertson Walk
Diaper-changing stations are available at male &amp; female washrooms

Suntec City Mall
Level 3 Family Link (besides Kids Mall)
#02-006 Les Enphant

Other Services:
Free buggy rides provided on Level 3
Loan of prams and strollers at Entertainment Centre Service Desk

Tanglin Mall
Level 3

Tiong Bahru Plaza
Nursing Room at Level 5 equipped with is a changing station, wash basin and power point

Other Services:
Rental of baby strollers, subject to availability
Rental of umbrellas with a fee of $3, refundable upon return within 3 days

United Square
Nursing room at #01-52A (next to carpark lifts)

Valley Point
Diaper-changing station available at Level 1washroom

Velocity @ Novena
Nursery at Level 3

OTHERS

Borders (Wheelock's Place)
near Office Tower entrance

Westin Stamford and Westin Plaza
F&amp;B and Convention Services
Milk storage services available upon request; private room subject to availability

EAST

DEPARTMENTAL STORES

Isetan
Katong
Level 2, children's department

Isetan
Tampines
Level 2, near the washrooms

SHOPPING MALLS

Century Square
Nursing Rooms on Levels 2 and 3, each equipped with changing station, a wash basin and power
point

Other Services:
Rental of baby strollers, subject to availability

Parkway Parade
Basement: Two nursing rooms located near Hello! Singtel and Gramophone.
Level 1: Located near Topshop/Topman and Dorothy Perkins (new fashion precinct)
Level 2: Within the ladies washroom, near Jean Yip Hub
Level 3: Within the ladies washroom, near Robert Piano

Other Services:
Kiddy cab, stroller or pram available for hire at $3 per hour

Tampines Mall
All levels next to washrooms

Other Services:
Baby strollers available for loan for free at Customer Service Counter on Level 3 (Outside
Toys 'R' Us)

WEST

SHOPPING MALLS

Anchor Point
Diaper-changing stations are available at male &amp; female washrooms

Vivo City
Nursing rooms in restrooms in Lobby A and Lobby G

OTHERS

Ikea (Alexandra)
Nursing room opposite Level 2, opposite the Cafeteria
Diaper-dispensing machines are available in some of the ladies' washrooms

NORTH

SHOPPING MALLS

Causeway Point
Parents Rooms on every floor (next to the washrooms)
Nursing room on Level 3

North Point
Diaper changing room located on Basement 1 (near washroom)

NORTH-EAST

SHOPPING MALLS

Compass Point
Nursing Room on Level 4 (near Kopitiam)

Hougang Mall
Nursing Room at Level 5, furnished with a changing station and two nursing stations

Other Services:
Free use of strollers &amp; kiddy cabs, subject to availability
Kids’ Area - Seating area at Level 4 where the kids can doodle with Hougang Mall Fun
Book obtainable at the Customer Service Counter at Level 3

<font color="aa00aa">Dimpletot
Bb Kate looks so sweet
!

Vanilla
Congrats on the arrival of bb Jayden!

Jess
Dont feed sad. Better listen to your gynae's advice. I also hope to try for natural for this time but am glad that I din insist cos my gal was very big and if I had insisted, I guess I would most probably ended up in emergency c-sect with double pain!

Trace, Phtanus
Dont worry so much about breastfeeding. You gals will be doing fine when your turn comes. In the meanwhile, better have lots of rest cos once bb comes, you will not have so much luxury to rest le. </font>

hi all mummies

bfeeding
I felt low cos milk supply vy low too when i got discharged from hospital. Nipple sore and bleed too. Now, i can pump w avent manual pump 100-125ml. Dont be discourage or give up yet if milk supply is low now for some mummies. I also feel like giving up but w the mummies here encouragement, i make it till today.
When sore and bleed, i use hand express and took 1hr too. When heal, i use pump again and it works. 20ml, and slowly 25ml, increase bit by bit. I gave up to latch cos fear nipple sore again cos wrong position so i pump instead. Think not necessary to get bond thru latch only, by other means, also can get bond.
So, dun give up bfeeding.

<font color="aa00aa">Carole
Your c-sect wound still painful? Take care and do let your gynae know if the pain continues and see if she can offer any solution to relieve you pain. I know it is difficult when trying to get down the bed and somemore can only sleep on our back and not sideway. </font>

Juz Us
when baby is drinking milk, the cheeks should puff up and you can tell. make sure the mouth covers the entire of the aereola. it's like us drinking water. (look in the mirror and drink a cup of water)

pacifier is the opposite, if it's difficult to imagine, ask hubby to suck one to show you and you can tell the difference :p it's called comfort sucking. i allowed my gal to do that after she finished her milk and if my nipple did not hurt.

sometimes babies keep crying cuz she/he is not latching well on the breast, hence, becomes frustrated cuz he/she is not getting milk or if your baby is having difficult to breath. check baby's position, and latching.

do not latch baby on breast if your breast is heavily engorged, try to remove about 1/2 or 1 oz milk off before you bf baby.

Thanks for the list. Din know there is a nursing room at Compass Point until I saw your post! The list is very useful! </font>

<font color="ff6000">congratz to all those mummies who hve popped!!!</font>

<font color="#151B54">Carole,
BB Conrad is cute n handsome!!!!

Trace, Dimpletot,
BB Kate is so cute!!!!!</font>

finally, my bb full mth celebration will be this sunday. Been waiting for this day.

What time should bb be home during night time? As, every wkend we will go in law pl for dinner and worry bb cant stay too late outside. 9pm?

And today my 1st lesson, just started to learn from aunty. Been bottle feed my bb w BM and clean bb when she poo. I am glad that my CL is good. Thank God.
I hope i can cope when she leaves.

Bathing
I have been bathing daily and wash hair alternate days, anyone like me? Now then i begin to worry about getting aching and headache next time.. Ha

<font color="aa00aa">Forest
Where are you??? Still around? Any signs of giving birth?
I remember someone mentioned in the thread here that bad heartburn = lots of hairs! Seems like quite true leh! My gal has lots of hair! </font>

juz came back from ctg. the nurses said my baby is very active. he kept trying to kick the equipment off the stomach. took about 20 mins to put it up...

hope all mummies hv a good day. i've to go and prepare lunch and do housework now.
;-)