(2008/10) Oct 2008

mspiggy,
I got my pearl powder at neighbourhood medical hall. I gave Claudia coz of jaudice. So far took twice and she poo really a lot and i read that pooing is good for bb wif jaudice. Can push out d heatiness in their body.

mint:
pearl powder is for consumption. Dun give too much. If u got CL or old folks at home, they will noe how to feed bb wif that.

bb too small, better dun give pearl powder. wait for a few months. pearl powder can mix with chuan bei for bb phelgm...to be used when baby is older. heat rashes is common..dun need medication or beer unless it's serious. if it's serious, good to bring to pd to confirm if it's really heat rash.

<font face="tahoma"> Ribenali,
i see... maybe will ask my mum to check with those neighbourhood ones. </font>

<font color="0000ff">Tweety, I m the last on our chart lei, what u think? hahaha...not possible to take ML so early loh but I m juz sianzzz to work lah =P Complain + lazy queen =P
Think can only take 1 week earlier than my EDD bah which is still long long mid Nov...sigh @_o</font>

Enya,

i oso did ask her, but she din reply me

JJmom... don worry lah.. time passes v fast one.. u c we are popping one by one alr.. hee...

Me also no mood to work liao wor.. but try to finish my job lor...

Enya
Hmm, I checked and you're right. Duh. Anyway, just did the transfer. Should have this time.

Everafter
That's what I'm worried. HB asked me for a list of things to get should I not be able to get myself during confinement. And I didn't mention any FM. He was asking no need ah, what happens if I cannot bf. I told him for sure I would be able to bf. I just don't want to get any FM. Period. I have a feeling he's going to be like your hb. When I have problems, he will panic and ask me to feed bb FM. Sigh.

Babies Galore
So many have popped. And it's not even half month yet.

Anyone need babysitter to help look after their kids/bb whilst away at work? I have this very, very good and experienced bbsitter to recommend. She is currently looking after my son who will be going to childcare in January. She stays at Simei blk 163. Anyone need one, please email me : [email protected]

Enya
Hmm, you go marketing. That means you also do cooking, right? Care to share some recipes? I have been home for the last 2 weeks, and my dishes are getting repetitive. Not that they're not nice, but within 2 weeks, same dishes. So sian.

Wow, so many babies popped today!
Heartiest congrats to Dimpletot, jollyhoppy and jasminetea! Guess the next one will be carole, jiayou and have a smooth delivery!

Whitepaper &amp; littlebluey,
Glad to hear that ur bb can discharge today with you. Happy for u both!

<font color="aa00aa">Brought bb for checkup this morning. PD said she is still having mild jaundice and told her to let her sun bathe for the next 2-3 days. Din do blood test as PD said her jaundice is still under control. PD said bm has helped a lot to reduce jaundice and encourage us to continue tbf.

lili
I din sleep well too. Woke up at 1.30am to pump milk and fed my gal at 2am. She woke up to drink at 5.30am again and then refused to go back to sleep anymore. Sigh
!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jasminetea, Jollyhappy
Congrats on the arrival of your bb!

Littlebluey, Whitepaper, Everafter
Glad to know that you gals are discharged from the hospital today
!

Everafter
My gal also have a hard time suckle on my nipples and she would always cry until very cham. In the end, I pumped out the milk and my milk supply is improving le, able to put her on total bm. So, pls dun give up on breastfeeding. If bb doesnt like to latch on, then you pump the milk out. Bm really helps the bb a lot esp in building up their immune system. I always regret not giving my boy enough bm and that's why he always fall sick easily. Just hang in there! Dont give up!

My hubby always say no fm can compare to the nutrients that is in the bm. So if you want the beat for your bb, please continue to give bm to your bb, be it latch on or expressed out. Jiayou!!!

<font color="aa00aa">Dimpletot
Congrats on the arrival of bb Kate
!

Wow! So many are babies born today!

pearl powder: oops! haha! I didn't know it's for consumption. :p I have no knowledge when it comes to these traditional herbs and remedies.

FM vs BM
Now, first, let me say that I'm a great supporter of BM. I will only give my bb BM, unless really really no choice.

What I type below is for mummies who really try hard but just can't BM. Don't stress. FM has its advantages. And this comes from a PD, not from me. I was told that the new FMs now have the nutrients of BM, like DHA, etc. What FM cannot provide are two main things: - psychological effect of bonding with BB and the antibodies that the mummies pass to BB during BFeeding. For example, if the mum has got measles before, her body will have the antibodies against measles and these could be passed to the BB.

Eventually whether it's BM or FM, it's still goodness for the bb. If mummies are not stressed, babies won't be stressed and that's good psychologically for the baby too, right?

I mean BM is not the be-all and end-all of feeding the baby.

Having said that, I am going BM all the way. And I'm going to try my darnest to BM. But that's me.

<font color="0000ff">Bee,</font>

<font color="0000ff">your labour really sounds scary but luckily u put thru...phew! Really happy for u &amp; your family.

Make me a little worried abt my age leh, think I will go check with my gynae abt this too.

Thanks for sharing with us
U take care &amp; rest well ok *hugz*</font>

mousebb.. glad to hear that yr bb jaundice getting better...

Rebecca.. agree that this thread getting quieter as more mummies are busy with their NB..

Any mummies getting sterilizing tablet?? which brand is good??

Wanna to check with mummy delilered @tmc, any toothpaste n toothbrush provided by tmc or we got to bring ourself?

<font color="#D16587"> Tweety,
coz most of the active mummies delivered liao ma... nw left a few active mummies in the 'waitin list' hehe... guess sooner or later the waitin list will be cleared n most of the mummies will be really busy liao...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ppp
TMC does provide toiletries like shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste and toothbrush. So dun need to bring unless you prefer to use your preferred brands, then you may want to bring your own ones.</font>

JJmom, i think will be active again once mummies had settle down their bbs routine.
How are u ladies???

Yesterday PD check up, my gers both 2.7kg already. YAHOO!! Happiness!!

carole, beary, today is the day. Jiayou!!!

jasminetea... congrats. hope to hear your birth story soon. thought yesterday still see your post in forum and today you given birth liao. Or did i make a mistake. too many people, old liao, confused le.

bring breastpump to hospital : if already sterilised, need to sterilised again? i sterilised by steaming. put in ziploc bag? or in the hosp, just soak in hot water together, same with the bottle?

i dont think i will be getting the sterilising tablet. i preferred natural way.

<font color="aa00aa">Purebliss
Glad to hear that your gals' weight has increased rapidly!
Must be the mummy who has put in lots of efforts! Well done!

My gal now weighing 3.4kg, about the same as her birth weight.

I find this confinement super busy wor! The daily routine is like feeding the NB and my boy, washing and sterilising of milk bottles and breast pump and pumping of milk! It's like no ending lor! Sigh
! Super tired! Really deprived of sleep now. Last night managed to sleep about 4-4.5hrs. Consider no too bad le.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies who are breastfeeding
Do you find yourself like super thirsty? I do. This morning brought bb for checkup and was so thirsty until I drank 2 cups of ice milo from McDonald. Have tried not to take cold drinks during the confinement but bo bian. </font>

Breastpump to hospital:
For those delivering at Mt A. U may bring along ur pump only. Coz the funnel to collect d milk and d storage bottle to store d milk, can get from nursery at no cost.so can no need to sterilise. Juz bring along d pump and d tube can le. d nursery will do d steriising for their bottle and its FOC. Renting of pump is $20 flat thru' out d stay.

Hi Karen
:) i'll check later thanks.

You manage to find the nursing tea?

yeah, most people will panic. I did too and heart so painful to see my gal crying non-stop the first 2 days cuz she was hungry and no milk, except colostrum. The only thing we did was to carry her walk up and down the corridor and let her suck on the breast.

Most people will be tempted to give formula during this period. :)

mousebb, hahaha.. i think because we have another one more toddler on hand, thats y this confinement super busy... now i more eng, can come online since no need pump milk. My PD says the FM i giving is good so he dun mind i dun bf them even though he is very supportive in bf.
Hubby also sees me more relax and more time to sleep. hahahah!! Now i can sleep 10 hrs thru... feel much fresher.

purebliss, seems like you enjoying motherhood. your bb is growing very well, you must be so thrilled. Keep up with the good work. Very soon, your girls will be 1 month le. Jiayou...

Pearl powder: My mom and my SIL's mom used pearl powder to apply on my nephew's face leh. Say its good for the heat rash. Dont think its that effective leh. got improve a bit but not totally. Eventually still need cream from doctore to get rid of the rash.

Karen
yeah, i cook :) western and eastern..which one you prefer? I'm better at roasting meat, salad, italian dishes for my husband...chinese good at making soup, and some very simple dishes for myself and my gal.

<font color="aa00aa">dreamyjo
I only sterilised the breastpump once before I bring it to the hospital. After sterilised it, I put it into a ziploc bag. When I was in the hospital, I washed the pump with hot water. At first thought of asking my hubby to bring the pump home to sterilise it but I also need the pump during night time to stimulate milk flow so bo bian lor.</font>

dreamyjo, i never dare to apply anything else on my gers for now... i only use sebamed lotion and apply on their faces and bodies... cos scared cause skin allergy or other reaction.

Ribenali, i'm delivering in TMC leh. Anyone had any idea about breastpump in TMC, is it the same? do they help us to sterilised funnels and the storage bottle?

dreamyjo, TMC dun help u sterilize, u got to bring ur own container and sterilizing tablets and do it in ur ward. That is what happen to me that time. very sian one... MT A more friendly... TMC everything charge charge charge.

Ribenali,
Think I will just rent the pump from Mt A when I'm there. Easier and no need carry so much barang barang. Travel light... Haha! like go for holiday...

purebliss, yeah i understand. That time when i saw them apply the pearl powder on my nephew's face, i was quite worried. but since SIL's mom is also a CL, i dare not say much. I think bb skin is really sensitive. The pd once prescribe a cream which my nephew is allergic to, and his face turn dark red almost like sun burnt like that. After my mom bring to normal gp and change the cream, his face recover. Had a scare.

i didn't bring pump the last time i delivered. my lactation nurse said it's not advisable during the first few days cus the bb will hv nipple confusion later.

<font color="aa00aa">Purebliss
Then hor, to make the situation worse, my hubby has gone back to office for a meeting this afternoon, leaving me with 2 kids again. Feel like taking a nap but when one sleeps, the other one refuses to sleep, then me also cannot sleep lor.

Going for my post delivery checkup tomorrow.</font>

dreamyjo
i know. my friend's cl applied the bb's urine on the rashes of the baby as my friend looked with horror in the face. she kept quiet cuz the cl was very nagging and can nag up a day.