(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="#D16587"> Ruffles,
glad that bb Victoria can go hme liao wor~~

lili,
dun get too sad. no good wor. noe it's nt a simple life for u. but m sure that u can cope it n enjoy ur motherhood de.

if u need to vent out ur temper. come here.

mousebb,
jiayou in ur feedin!!!

JJmom,
Sanitary Pads:
i hve been usin the maternity pad. since the day i deliver. even up till nw. coz i dunno whn my heavy flow might come back again. like todday, my mense is like goin to end liao(that was in the afternoon time). but nw got the heavy flow again. still dun dare to change my pad to normal mthly mense used type.

mayb diff ppl diff encounter ba.

<font color="#D16587"> mousebb,
can go out ar?! i wish i can go out too leh.. haiz.. *sob* *sob*

hubby dun allow me to go out. MIL oso dun allow me to go out. my mum n grandma oso dun allow me to go out.

HELP!!!!!!!!! I'M GOIN NUTS SOON!!!!!! BEEN 'CAGE' AT HME AFT I WENT TO KKH FOR ERIN'S CHECK-UP!!!!!

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
This time, my lochia is super super light as compared to last time. It only started to get heavier from yesterday but still not as heavy as normal menses but still need to use sanitary pads.

As for the red dates and the rest, I brought those packed in boxes ones from hock hua. I guess it depends on how much you want to drink. When I was at the hospital, everyday my hubby will bring a flask around 1.6litres for me. Now at home, 1.6litres not enough. Need 2 flasks liao. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Rebecca
Yes. I will jiayou! Thanks!

My hubby allows me to go out. But this round bcos we have 2 kids liao, it is a bit difficult lah. My hubby said as long as doctor says ok, then he will let me go out lor. Usually the elder pple will say it is not wise to go out but I dont care lor. </font>

Hi mummies who delivered at Mt A, do we need to bring our own diapers? I was told that the hospital will charge us for diapers too.

Going out during confinement? I think it depends on how strict we wanna follow the rules of confinements bah.

<font color="#D16587">mousebb,
IC. but i'm stayin in-laws. hard for me to go out. sum more my hubby oso worried that my body immune is weak. coz i got flu frm my boy. only got better dis few days. sum more my hubby is goin out to celebrate his fren's bday on 10. i wan to go. but he dun allow. sum more if really go out. wa.. need to bring all my kids out together. so, hmm.... aft tinkin abt it. better dun lor. coz afraid that Erin body immune is nt that srtong yet. haiz...

<font color="#D16587"> Almond,
to wat i noe. actually all the hospital charge all the diapers n those stuff they gve us. it's depend on hw much they charge u. ex or cheap.</font>

need some advice... if I am at my 39+ weeks (edd 11 Oct)but baby's head still low but NOT engaged, do i still have a chance of natural delivery? i seem to have no signs of labour at all! no brown discharge, no tummy pain, nothing! And i am just 5 days away from my EDD...starting to panick. Baby is big, and i am worried the longer he stayed inside my tummy, the bigger he grows.. alamak! me getting very vexed...

btw, anyone noe where to get the forms for medisave claims? or the nurses will give to us when we deliver at TMC?

last qn, any mummies got a recent bill for delivery at TMC single bedded rm? Natural with epi? Payable by nets or visa? Hope to have a rough gauge

bluey and whitepaper,
jia you jia you! Hope u gals have a super smooth delivery!

Nickypower,
when i went for TMC hosp tour, they had given me the form to indicate my preference and I had oreadi submitted directly to the admission counter on the spot. As for Dr Koh's letter, its to be submitted only when we admit

nitemares
Talking abt this, I am oso having lotsa nitemares these few nites n cant sleep well! Hope this is just a passing phase

ya. coz my fren's mum deliver her youngest bro at MT A. n my MIL deliver my hubby at MT A too. both of them tell me that they charge all the items they gve us. so no point bringin it ovr ba. sum more ur hubby poor tin leh. :p

anyway, Mt A is Mount Alvernia rite? (ask juz in case i got the wrong hospital) :p</font>

hehehe... rebecca, my hubby the one who asked me to pack leh... somemore said my hospital bag very small. I only bring my night gown, panties, pads, some toileties and the necessary for admission.

<font color="#D16587"> beary,
dun panick. whitepaper oso dun hve any labour signs. diff ppl hve diff encounter. as for me. few days b4 my actual day, i already hve those signs liao. but nw whitepaper oso go deliver liao ma.

dun worry la... everytin will be fine.

LOL!! since he 'enjoy' carry a heavy bag. dne u take lor.. hehe.... :p
as for me, i only take my own n BB Erin's clothes. for discharge de. as for night gown. i'm wearin the KKH 'uniform' ma. i oso cnt share wif u too much coz i din been to private hospital b4. no exp. sry. cnt help much.

haha.... even ask if wanna bring the pump a not. So I also confuse. Seems like nowsaday din really wanna think. Hubby said last time I would think twice b4 buying anything, now sometimes I just grab and go. Din even bother to think if I need the thing a not

haha... if u wan to bring pump den bring lor. or u can call down the hospital n check hw they charge for all the usage? sumtime preggie mummies tend to be a little bit lazy to 'use' the brain. LOL!!! i'm oso like dis... grap n go. but dis kind of attitude iis learn frm guys de. if u notice it ar.. guys will hve such attitude whn they go shoppin. hehe.... :p</font>

period
I didnt get much flow .. .. The 40.5cm is of no use for me and am using 20-22cm normal flow only. Heard when BF will have flow coming later

<font color="#D16587"> lili,
actually i heard frm the older ppl that aft each BF the flow will come coz BF can cause our uterus to contract. n oso coz of that, it actually clear out our blood clot. hw true, i dunno. all dif i heard frm grandma. hehe...

<font color="aa00aa">Hmmm...in tat case, I better don't buy too many of those sanitary pads for heavy flow 1st, already bought like 2 packs - 8 pads . Guess if really need to then ask DH to run errand bah =P</font>

<font color="aa00aa">mousebb,</font>
<font color="aa00aa">so u ended up buying a lot of boxes of red dates?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Think Bluey shd b quite fast de coz she c-sect, shd b resting now le.

Wonder how is Whitepaper? Hope she managed to go thru natural birth without epi smoothly as she wished.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
I only bought 2 big boxes of red dates, 2 boxes of longans and 1 box of black dates.</font>

Littlebluey should be resting and on drip now. She and her hubby must be enjoying their bb boy now
. </font>

u mean u oso got put in black dates whn u boil the red dates drink ar? wat is the purpose of black dates?</font>

I also cannot remember what is the purpose of black dates. That time when I went to buy those stuff, the sales person kept telling me it is good lor so I just bought a box to try nia.</font>

LOL!! ok. coz durin my last 2 confinement, my grandma only boil wif red dates. cnt rmb did she add in black dates ant. den nw my MIL oso boil the same tin. din see her add in black dates too. so i juz kaypo la.. ask lor.. hehe... </font>

congrats bluey!!
rest well

jus got my herbs also..
my aunt got for me the red dates/ longan/ dangshen/ gou qi zi/ black fungus..

she say the red dates/ longan/ dangshen/ gou qi zi is for the tea for cleasing the blood/ improve blood circulation and bu qi n must take for 40days suppose must put ginger but if bb jaundice then don put also was told if BF cannot take dang gui..
so complicated..

lili_fc
going for a stroll is okay, in my opinion.

i will settle with angku kuen, red eggs and cake to relatives and bengawang solo vouchers to relatives.

Ruffles
good to hear that baby victoria is discharged. :)

Beary
dun worry....relax. your baby may be engaged at the last moment. there is nothing we can do except to wait patiently and enjoy the last few days of your baby's stay in your stomach.

fenegreek not only boost milk supply but also contraction of uterus. it's a good supplement for mummies.

you can buy it from GNC (29.90 per bttl for 100capsules). it's taken only after delivery to boost bm supply. no taste leh. :)
otherwise, you can try Mother's Nursing Tea, also to boost bm supply. Can buy from the organic store at Paragon. 9.90 per box.

Thanks Enya. Which is better? I'm fine. Been sleeping the whole weekend. Wanna do some work but too lazy. Next week will be my last working week... or I hope

i got this recipe from another mummy's post in another forum

Heard it's quite useful for breastmilk supply
<font color="0000ff">
Papaya and Fish Soup

Ingredients:
Green (unripe) or semi-ripe papaya 700g
Fish, can b snakehead, carp, seabream, pomfret... 300g
Fish bones
Red dates 12 pcs
Dang Shen 2 pcs
Yuzhu 5g
Ginger 6 slices
huiji waist tonic 40-80ml

Instructions:

* Put fish bones, ginger, dang shen, red dates, yuzhu in water and boil for half an hour

* Add papaya and when papaya softens, add fish and simmer till fish is cooked

* Add 40-80 ml of waist tonic (i think u can get it at most supermarkets)

* Serve immediately. heard it's gd for breastfeeding mums to drink as much piping hot soup as possible as it helps lactation

(I think the waist tonic’s Chinese name is huiji bu yao jing. Can get at NTUC fairprice)</font>

Enya, tot Jen said dangshen cannot eat if we bf?

I was telling hubby abt this soup but dun know the ingredients, then he told me got fish huh.... then he cun help me to finish it if I cun.... hehehe....

Little Almond
I took 2...not at the same time. initially, i took the milktea (then ran out of supply) so no choice swopped to fenugreek. it's up to individual actually.

So many mummies poped already...so excited.

littlealmond:
I got my fenegreek and nursing milk tea from drugstore. tink 1 of the mummies here is consolidating order here. Mayb u can ask ard. Its cheaper from Drugstore. Tink i got it at $20 incl shipping. Its oso GNC one ( 100 cap/bttle)

<font color="ff0000">congratz to Littlebluey!!!</font>

but too much 'bu' will be too heaty?

Jen,
do u noe the reason y cannot take 'dang gui' ma?

Enya,
u metion abt the nursin tea $9.90ea. hw many teabags/box?

the huiji bu yao jing contains dang gui leh... hw? nursin cannot take dang gui leh...

RibenaLi,
whr is the location of Drugstore? tot of shoppin for the 'milk' stuff aft confinement period</font>

littlealmond
mine is end of oct, but i'm going for csection on 25 oct. :)

<font color="0000ff">Ribenali/ little almond
i'm the one consolidating order.. :p going to place order coming week.

can email me [email protected] or 94525107 andlet me know what you need (prefer if you can email me with url of the product you want, to be sure). it's much cheaper to buy from drugstore than here but will take 2.5 to 3 weeks delivery time.

scroll up and you will see some common items that mummies lobang me to buy are toothpaste, calendula cream, shampoo, soaps, desitin, fenugreek, raspberry/ nursing tea/ vitamins, massage oil for cold/flu etc etc.</font>

Hi Cheer Bear, I did pack shampoo &amp; shower form in.

Rebecca, heard that mummies on confinement can take a lot of such heaty stuff leh. I was told not to drink plain water too... just drink that logan drink