(2008/10) Oct 2008

Lilbluey - Actually I wanna get milkbags, desitin creamy, those storage baby cubes for pureed food, first teeth, and maybe the calendula baby cream.

pildough.. I think no need to bring cooler bag lah.. I heard first few days won hv alot of milk.. even hv, yr bb need it too... else too many things to bring liao leh...

Pildough... milk bag is more convenience in storage... while btls can be re-use...
If yr friedge got alot of fish and food, maybe it's good to get a plastic tupperware to store yr milk inside then put in freezer...

hello mommies

congrats purebliss

today i am v slow ...pardon me...

just came bk from chk up. exactly 37w today. bb rebekah is 2.7kg .. only put on 200g since 3 weeks ago. Dr say okay wor. think she will be an average size bb.

die, i'm tipping 70kg v soon from 52kg before pregnancy ...

Bluey... wow... yr DH so good bring u for lunch wor... so u must be enjoying yr lunch huh...

Ruffles.. there is alot of brands for milk storage bag.. choose one u feel ok de lor... if me, i find cheap one only.. hee...

u haven got all of them yet???

Thanks for all your well wishes Little Bluey, Jolly and Forest!
Yeah, can go for natural already!
Just hope that like Borat says in the movie, down there won't "Hang like sleeve of wizard" after birth hahha!

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ruffles</font>,
I've extra desitin creamy, first teeth and California baby calendula cream if u need.

<font color="0000ff">Hi mspiggy</font>,
Any idea which milk bag is thicker? Blue egg ones or Playtex ones? Have nvr used these b4 as previously I was using the Avent ones.

Yah lor my hubby go picnic when I'm in labour lor. He super funny one... but come to think of it, I feel like eating cheezels once I pop, maybe I bring one big pkt also

Ruffles
Not sure if the milk bags fit the pump, but I plan to pump using the medela bottles, then transfer to the bags for freezing. For normal regrigeration, I have alot of hand-me-down bottles from my SIL (with caps) that fits the pump.

<font color="0000ff">Ruffles,

If u keen in the milk bags, will see how's the demand to conduct another spree, for desitin creamy I've in stock

<font color="0000ff">Lennie,

Gd to know that Rebekah is doing well !

Dun worry abt the weight gain...surely can shed after delivery!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Tweety,

Yeah...lunch is not too bad after all given the bad start in the morning hahahaha...</font>

eh..mummies, for the milk bag...

i tot i hv to express the milk to the bottles then pour into the bag, is dat the way to do it? cos my mindset is meant to b this way though..or muz fix to the pump?

<font color="0000ff">Forest</font>,
Calendula is good to soothe and heal eczema, combat dermatitis and other skin conditions. Is of french lavendar scent. I used it on my boy cos he had eczema. It helps will eczema get appear but will need PD medication if it get worse.

blur,

yes! she on confinement..steady hor..she said she eating wad kim chi ramen or wad..steady!!! she oso gog to KKH to do the birth registration

So Rach'smummy is near my office lor.. me at tiong bahru now.. hee... she really super leh.. confinement can come out eat sakae..

blur,
oh i see... thanks for info!!

Trace,
tell Rach's Mummy, shd bring some over to tg pagar to me lahh... she power leh.. kekeke... but good lah, less restrictions. kekeke..

<font face="tahoma"> Ruffles,
I dont attached the milkbags to the pump. After we pumped, we will pour into the milkbags from the Medela bottles for storage. You can use those Ikea airtight clip to secure the bags.</font>

mspiggy,
the Playtex one is disposable bottle liners right? how does it different from storage milk bags? I think i've got 2 boxes of 10 bags each... FOC from my sis's fren.. but i tot its different and not the same as storage bags wor.. :p

bigflamingo,
i loved that phrase! Borat rocks.
hahahahahahahahahahah
she whose vagine hangs like sleeve on wizard.

confinement:
I'm so envious of mommies on confinement now, friend told me during confinement, must go out with hubby and friends more because got confinement lady to look after bb. When confinement lady leaves then it's panda eyes and boo hoo hoo time.

milkbags:
wondering if i should get some or wait and see milk supply first. whats the storage life for freezed milk and fridged milk, will the nutrients be gone?

desitin creamy:
it's a barrier cream right? i'm intending on putting bb in disposables after CL leaves so how much does it retail for? I heard that they have them at TMC pharmacy..

where's mousebb ah, she's awfully quiet

<font face="tahoma"> forest,
they are the same... all meant to store our expressed milk in the fridge or freezer.

i like to use disposable bags/liners coz it saved the space in our fridge and i dont need to wash the bottles :p</font>

mspiggy,
oh i see... yeah, so far i only bot the storage milk bags since those are ziplock bags.. easier to use also! and saves space!!

<font color="0000ff">Hi pildough</font>,
Yes, desitin is a barrier cream. There are many brands in the market but desitin works wonder. My boy nappy rash recover overnight. You can get them in most Singapore pharmacy. But they are selling 2 oz for the price of 4 oz when u get them from drugstore (the oversea spree).

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ruffles</font>,
Guess the name tell the differences. One is liner, the other one is bag. But the liner are much cheaper than bags cos there are less convenient. When I used Avent ones previously, I tie them up with rubber band.

<font face="tahoma"> Ruffles,
For playtex, they dont have the ziplock function. Hence we need to use our own clips.

Previously when I was using Avent liners, the same thing too. Hence I bought a big bag of Ikea clips, very secure... dont worry

Forest,
those with ziplock function more exp mah... it's disposable hence use and throw hence must save abit.

<font color="ff6000">Trace,</font>
<font color="ff6000">Wah...this rachelmom ready 'tok gong' 1 leh, come out to eat sushi during confinement somemore on a rainy day wor. She sure is a real strong mom ^_^b</font>

Mommies

When you give your baby EBM, do you give them the fresh ones of the frozen ones or the fridged ones first? Was thinking of giving the freshest ones, but worried that the frozen/ fridged ones will spoil down the road... how to coordinate huh?

<font color="ff6000">Bluey,</font>
<font color="ff6000">oh dear, forgot abt the F1 human traffic at cityhall! No wonder, I can get the waxing booking for tonite lah =P Sigh...got to go squeeze with ppl liao =P</font>

how does one unfreeze frozen breastmilk?

like what we do with frozen food, put bottle or bag in hot water until it defreezes then how to warm up?

will frozen breastmilk lose its nutrients then like what whitepaper say, if fridged bm is fresher but cannot keep as long, use fridged ones first then frozen save for a rainy day?

pildough.. I think Freezed milk can keep up to 3 mths while fridged milk abt 3 days...

Whitepaper.. I think give bb fresh one ba.. those freezed one can give them when we are back to work or while we need to go out with bb at home...

whitepaper,
you should be giving the earliest frozen ones, since they do have storage life.. think best is within 3 months.. but if u use a deep freezer, u can actually store it up to 6months..

pildough,
to defeeze frozen milk... do transfer the frozen milk bags from the freezer to the fridge compartments the night before use... to let it thaw.. when you want to heat it.. u can:

1) either pour into the bottle and use a bottle warmer

or

2) put the milk bag into a container of hot water to warm it up...

maybe other experienced mummies have better advise? since i learnt the above thru the workshops n reading materials i have.. :p

oh whitepaper, but of cos.. if u are expressing exclusively... then u can give the freshest milk when u r home w baby.. n the frozen ones when u are away as well...

<font color="ff6000">EBM :</font>
<font color="ff6000">I also think to give the freshest possible bah.

If really those frozen 1 turn bad also bobian loh but at least u know u have ample supply &amp; bb is getting the best

Better to give the best than to save on this? Anyway Mrs Wong said if frozen EBM turn bad then use as foot spa loh so it's not wasted too mah

<font color="ff6000">pildough,</font>
<font color="ff6000">what Forest said abt the way to thaw &amp; warm EBM is the way tat I was taught too

<font color="ff6000">forest,</font>
<font color="ff6000">i thou i remember EBM store in fridge can only last 24hrs? correct boh or i remember wrongly? 3 days seems too long lei...</font>

<font color="ff6000">Trace,</font>
<font color="ff6000">aiyah...she juz missed rebecca who discharge this morning hor

<font color="0000ff">mspiggy</font>,
ok let me know on the playtex liner when ur frenz reply. If she doesn't have, then I order thru the oversea spree. Maybe I'll can conduct one drugstore spree.

<font color="ff6000">Hey mommies,
Any1 planning to set a daily schedule for bb? Like what is shown on last nite bb programme? Feeding time, sleeping time etc?

I have always think it's impt to have a more or less fixed meal &amp; sleeping time for kids. What u mommies think leh?</font>

JJmom.. Is 3 days too long?? I remb I saw it from the packaging of milk storage bag... I guess 24 hrs might be safer.. any mummies can clarify this???

Trace.. Rachel's mummy so cute leh... hahaha... I think Rebecca discharge yesterday or this morning alr... hee...

Whitepaper... remb to store not too much onz in 1 bag, If bb cant finish the milk, u can't keep it again, got to throw liao hor...