(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Both babies are so cute!!!

hi mommies!

congrats to Xinying and curioxete! hahaha

and gambatte to Purebliss and her girls!

nickypower, JJmom,
i saw long nipples on a 50+ year old woman before, at an onsen. Looked almost 3/4 inch long!
Check out this breastfeeding video here, the whole brown bit of our breast goes into the baby's mouth when they latch.

http://video.about.com/breastfeeding/Breast-Feeding-Positions.htm

go and see the 'more' videos' section of the website is quite informative, got videos on how to relieve engorgement, blocked ducts, positions, pumping and storing..

p.s. issit ok not to handle the sterilised bottles and teats with tongs if your hands are washed?

i feel your hunger, nickypower. i wake up at 5, hungry but have to pop an iron tablet then wait about an hour to 2 before having dairy but all i want is really dairy.. i want my cheese on toast, my anmum, cream cheese sandwich, cereal... argh.

mousebb,
recently even not eating anything heaty causes me to stay up with heartburn. so far, i'm doing a mylanta dose, cold coconut juice/canned bird nest drink/yakult but the mommies are saying too much coconut too liang so i don't take the whole thing. i pour out the coconut juice, can keep in tupperware drink container in fridge overnight, preferably consumed within the day but i take abit abit to help soothe the heartburn. hope it helps.. not long to go for you!

mommies,
does anyone have low iron levels? i've been on supplements for a month and today got tested, it only went up .5 leh from 9.3 to 9.8. i'm not big on beef or liver and don't eat it everyday but i do have it. gynae say amt of iron absorbed from spinach is not enough, recommend red meat and red dates (drink or to snack on). does anyone have suggestions to boost iron levels? she's going to match blood for me next week before my c-section to standby, scared i'ld bleed more than expected.

Not scaring the other mommies lah, it's just me. My last op on my back three years back, my body went into shock because i started losing too much blood, blood also difficulty clotting. sian ah.

but the good thing is bb is gaining weight and she's full term and i'm done with work. so nice to stay home and just sleep and sleep and sleep..

Congratulations to the mummies! Handsome babies!! Feel like carrying them.

Hi pildough, wat kinda of coconut you buy? I heard must drink green coconut?

almond,
i buy the small thai coconuts (already pre-cut at the top) from ntuc. i dunno the difference between big green ones or small white ones leh but i know if you ask me to carry the big green ones home, i sure peng san. ahahha.. small white ones easier to carry.

<font color="aa00aa">pildough
Same here. Me too, have heartburn even when I din eat anything. Last night one was so terrible. I wanted to vomit but nothing come out and the acid was like kept burning my throat which made me cried.
I already started drinking coconut water a few weeks back cos my body belongs to the heaty type. At times when I was troubled by heartburn, my hubby would chop a coconut for me. At times it helps but not all the times. Currently I'm on medication cos bo bian. Anyway, just need to endure for a few more days
!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">pildough
Most probably I would contact either Forest or Littlebluey. Already had their contact numbers keyed into my HP contact list le.</font>

Haha...pildougn.. agree that the big coconuts are heavy.

mousebb, I have kinda of heartburn feeling too two wks back. Then Dr gave a some pills to loosen the womb to prevent me from early delivery. Then when I finish the pills this morning, I have kinda of gastric pain again. Feel Like vomiting.... hate the feeling. Cun eat much and feel very uncomfortable

Thanks Enya
i've texted you.

almond, i swing between nausea and heartburn but i think yours is the side effects of the drugs right. pls take care, eat small meals, nutritious small meals.. reminds me of the first 3-4 months of morning sickness urgh.

mousebb,
must take care also, i think body will go back to normal after delivery right? yeay.. cannot wait for normal nights of no heartburn. i usually eat like a horse and i digest my food fairly quickly for round 2 but this is far better than not being able to eat at all.

you must think i'm mad but i cannot get vietnamese out of my system. i have a serious craving for sliced rare beef in a hot steamy bowl of pho with lots of vietnamese basil and dao geh, prawn spring rolls and rice paper rolls.

i think i'm missing my sis in melbourne too much, we used to huddle out of our student apartment to russell street for vietnamese in the middle of a cold winter evening.

sigh. i miss my jiejie. and vietnamese noodles.. and tapas and yumcha and our homecooked one pot meals and the fresh food markets.. but i miss my jiejie. and vietnamese noodles. sigh

does anyone know of good viet in sg? seems quite commercialised and sub standard. i'm quite happy to cab down in the morning, eat and cab home to sleep tm! haha

Hi Pildough,

Thought I'll share with you that i'm on iron pills too since the start of my pregnancy. Doc upped my dosage since 2nd trimester when I showed signs of decreasing iron level even with supplements. Now getting slightly better. I'm thalassemic by the way.

I don't like red meat too but it really helps if you try incorporate beef into your meals at least once a week. I cook steak weekly now and reward myself with lots of chips with the steak :p

Other than spinach, broccoli also very rich in iron and I'll have that once a week too.

Not long before delivery so no choice but to force ourselves to eat more of these.. Ganbate!!

<font color="aa00aa">Jellypurin
Yes. Have a good sleep last night bcos before I sleep, I took the medicine for heartburn just in case I have heartburn in the middle of the night again. How about you?</font>

morn all!

Water retention
Yes, try not to drink water during hospital. I got water retention till now. Feet
swollen.

Bath
I already bath and wash hair on 2nd day and on discharge day during hospital stay.

Aircon
I slept on aircon room 1st night when i am home. Ha. Too hot liao.
CL also on aircon but door open wide cos bb hot.

2nd day of Confinement
Managed to poo last evening and this morn, but pain cos of piles.
Alot medicine to take, our pregnancy pills must take too.
Having milo and biscuit now.
Last night, i cant really sleep as bb woke up for milk and CL carrying her. I had thought (will she let bb suck her breast)? Cos heard mdm wong said all kinds of CL and maid story , make me worrying. Hope everything will be fine.
Didnt upload photo cos using mobile to text. Will update soon

<font color="aa00aa">lili
Since bb is feeling hot, then why still open the door? My boy also slept in air con room when he was first discharged from hospital. I think it is alright for bb to sleep in air con room with the right temp cos in the nursery, all babies were sleeping in the air con room too but you may realise the temp in the nursery is just nice.

Mrs Wong did tell us a lot of things about those CLs. I remember she also mentioned it is best that we dont leave our bb to sleep with the CL. So if you are worry, maybe you should let you bb sleep with you instead. For me, when I was having CL for the first few days, my boy was sleeping with me cos I cant bear to part with my NB.

Drink prune juice for your constipation. It helps! Otherwise after eating all the confinement food, your body would become more heaty and it would worsen your constipation. </font>

Both Xinying and curioxete's baby so cute leh... wow.. loves to c more bb photos here....

Nicky... me too leh.. the tummy like gonna explode alr... cant eat alot wor...

Chicken:
I asked my mum last night, she said no chicken for the first few weeks wor.. I think at least 12 days... only pork and fish leh...

Drinking plain water:
I heard of that too.. but I thought BF need alot of water intake??? longan and red dates huh???

I think TMC nv provide longan and red dates water is it?? we got to bring our own???

DOM:
I heard we can still drink, but after BF lor.. coz we got abt 2 hrs to burn those wine away???

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies,

thanks forest for update Chirstian &amp; Hong En's photos, both r so handsome. Hong En's cheek is so chubby

pildough
thanks for sharing the BF video, ll check it out.

Mousebb
ask u huh do u noe TMC whether provide the red dates longan tea during our stay? if trying not to drink plain water then at least must got longan tea to drink mah, and i dun thk my MIL got time to boil for me.
can i buy those instant one? is it same?

btw, TMC got wireless or not huh? intend to bring laptop there</font>

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh
TMC doesnt provide longgan red dates tea. I dont know can drink the instant one anot. Maybe you can tell your mil to boil some for you after your c-sect.</font>

pildough
understand what you mean by heartburn and nausea.
I also feel guilty about not eating well. tried many times to make nutricious soup, but the moment i drink, i throw up immediately.

and most of the times, i'm too tired to cook for so many people, my gal, my husband, and myself.

<font color="0077aa">mousebb
my mil work ler, i thk She only apply leave on 1st day i admitted bah. so the other 2days she wont convenience to boil for me

tweety
if bring along only can drink for 1st day ler.. </font>

<font color="ff6000">Morning all,

Yeah! Finally tong till TGIF again *happy*

Bbgoh
Who is doing your confinement? We need to drink it everyday 24hrs leh. Mayb u pre-prepare all in a few packs &amp; get your DH to boil 4 u? Quite easy de, juz throw everything into pot.

Plain water :
I heard if we drink plain water during confinement, will have tummy so I die die won't dare to drink. Better to ask DH/CL/mom/mil to prepare &amp; bring to hospital 4 us.

Xinying boy's have rosy cheeks and Curioxete's boy have lots of jet black hair, both so cute

Still waiting for the twins pics *drooling*</font>

lili_fc
good to hear you and bb are okay.

mousebb was right. why dun let your bb sleep in aircon room, we did, 24 degree till now.

good morning ladies!

Another rainy day. Really dun feel like coming to work.

Wah, Xinying baby boy was really crying.... Mummy I dun want to come out.

<font color="0077aa">JJmom
i got engaged CL but she only ll cum when i discharge tat day. my mil got work &amp; the timing is queit long from 8am to 9pm

i thk i must ask my cousin prepare for me le</font>

<font color="ff6000">bbgoh,</font>

<font color="ff6000">Oic...u saying b4 the CL gets here to help

Yah, juz pre-pack a few packs b4 your delivery &amp; get some1 to help u boil &amp; fill in flask to bring to hospital 4 u

morn mummies,

updates frm purebliss, she juz called me this morn..Danielle &amp; Giselle arrived at 5.30pm yesterday..weighing 2.35kg &amp; 2.42kg respectively.. :p good weight for a pair of twins!!

haha...she told mi she suppose to hv her ops at 4.30pm..but Dr Lawrence Ang came n snatch the OT..cos his patient got diff in natural birth..dat bb is 3.5kg! wow..

She has yet to really see her bb gers..cos she's real tired n drowsy..will mms mi the pic later when she has the time..

lilli, its common that u gets up when bb cries. I too always woken up by the cries of my girl then. I usually knocked on her door to chk, they will understand... esp new mummy we are very light sleeper when comes to bb cries. u should rest at nite and bf ur bb in morning or day. Leave the feeding job to CL.. if nt hire her for wat? why making urself soo tired?

<font color="0000ff">Trace.. thks for the update.... Dr. Ang snatch the OT arh.. his patient must be in emergency C-sec lor</font>

<font color="0000ff">Enya.. me also not sure leh...</font>

<font color="ff6000">tweety,</font>

<font color="ff6000">we have to drink red date &amp; longan tea everyday 24hrs for the whole of our confinement

&amp; also soups &amp; milk

<font color="ff6000">Trace,</font>

<font color="ff6000">send purebliss our regards

She must b really tired, to deliver 2 bb really not an easy task *phew*

morning mummies..

Xinying and Curioxete's bbs soo adorable !!!

its rainning..nice weather to sleep...
mmmm...seem like the 'waiting game' is soo tough..been having wierd dreams..and waking up suddenly to see if my water bag burst / if there is 'show'...think i am too anxious..wahhh..

woh... purebliss twins are in good weight. Guess she must be very eager to see her gals.

Water
Need to drink lots of "water" - red date longan, papaya fish soup and milk or milo. Must remember, try to <font color="0000ff">drink them hot or warm. DO NOT drink cold ones. It will reduce milk production.</font>

Breastfeed
Yes, for during bf, you have to put almost all the brown part of your nipple into your baby mouth. If you only put the nipple for the baby to suckle, you will have sore nipple really fast. By the next feeding session, you will wanna give up breastfeed cos it will be too painful to feed.