(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">nickypower, if your CL is recommended by your cousin who said she is gd then I think it's better not to bargain too. Wait end up, she not happy &amp; don't do a proper job, lagi worse than saving that $200.

as long as CL do a gd job, i think it's more impt of the $ issue since it's really vy diff to get gd CL nowadays.</font>

will u gals be waking up to latch bb during confinement?
Anyone know can eat cake during confinement period?
How about air-con?
TMC provides toiletries?

seems most mummies also hire CL from malaysia..
mine intro by my sis's prev CL, paying her 1.9 also..
i don think i will give her 100 starting AB like alot leh..
but if she do a gd job i think i will give her a bigger one :p

today is another round of washing my bb's clothes with the sun shining bright n high

hi mummies, jus woke up from my nap..soo tired these days..
<font color="aa00aa">Ruffles</font>: guess i will give $28 first..then when she return..we shall decide again.
<font color="aa00aa">nickypower</font>: ya, guess the mkt rate is abt there. the one i wanted initially charges $1.9k but cos she's not able to do for me, thus refer her fren, so $100 cheaper lo

<font color="ff6000">hi mummies,

I oso had a long nap just now. just woke up to clear emails and come here!

Guess in a few weeks we'll all be sharing stories about our CLs!

lili,

on latching at night, yup, I intend to do so.

what standard angpow amt did yr agency say to give at the start?</font>

allo mommies,

also just woke up from nap. :D sigh.. back to work tm.

confinement lady angpow:
yea i think playing by ear is best with the AP amt. going to start small and if she's good, give her a good amt for her help. it's really a business transaction after all, good service begets bigger ang pow.

lili_fc:
confinement lady will be sleeping in hall on bed with bb in playpen also outside because my place has no space so i guess it depends on how much i want to rest. might consider latching on until milk supply more or less stablise then will alternate between direct latch and pumping out milk and letting her heat up to feed at night, if no milk then formula lor.

on cake, i think you can eat absolutely mostly anything right. ehehhehe.. i intend to eat everything and i'm going to have a glass of wine after delivery.

on air-con, hospitals aircon usually centralise right. at home, it depends on how cold or hot i'm feeling i guess. my mom would prefer me to just use fan but if you're hot, you're hot right.. air-con lor. it's all about rest and comfort. i know they have all the stories about preventing rheumatism but i think 3-4 decades down the road, all of us will sag and have rheumatism of some sort anyway unless we're the sort who live in japan, walk long journeys, eat obscene amts of fish everyday and will live up to 100.

quite sure TMC provides toiletries, it's like standard issue and you get billed for it anyway but if you have preferred toiletries, bring them lor.

JJmom,
Dunno if it'ld stop bm but i think for malt content, horlicks will contain more right? i intend to go on anmum for lactating mothers when i finish my tin of choc flavored anmum milk. somewhere in the thread recommended starting on bm supplements e.g. fenugreek, soups a few weeks before giving birth to stimulate and of course lots of water and rest.

mommies,
how will you clean yourselves in hospital? i'm going to get my HB to assist me in quickly showering when my mom's not around but i think it depends on how much i'm up for it. Some say your constitution becomes very weak and cold after delivery, others say they become very hot. Mom disapproves and wants me to wipe down. gross. dounch care lah.. we can do the whole boil herbs and wash hair and body thing at home. I want to smell like a fresh daisy when i have visitors. hehe

mousebb, how long can we take our first shower or clean up after the c-section? what did you do after yours? thx

<font color="aa00aa">When I delivered my boy, I din let my boy sleep with CL cos I ser bu de to part with my boy. In the end my CL was very angry with me cos in this way, she cannot have excuses to sleep during daytime. Some CLs would require to sleep during the day as they claimed they dont have enough sleep when they need to look after the bb during night time.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">pildough
I din bath while in the hospital cos I still have the big bandage on my tummy. Before I discharge, my gynae told the nurse to remove the bandage for me and told me when I go home, I can have a good shower and wash my hair also. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">lili
I also turned on the air con during confinement. Hospital is also air conditioned so I think shouldnt be an issue. </font>

<font color="ff6000">pildough,

I also intend to shower and whatever at the hospital. during my antenatal class the consultant actually mentioned showering in the hospital, so i figured some people actually believe it's ok.

oh no mommies,
just read online that we cannot take fenugreek until after delivery because it is a uterine stimulant. paiseh, bad advice.

thanks mousebb and dimpletot!

ruffles: at nite, my CL sleeps with my then NEW BORN. she feeds her EMB or FM. i am no fuss abt my newborn having FM if there isnt enough EBM. i m no fuss abt this. better than the child goes hungry. Even when i was in hosp, my instructions are clear... if she is hungry and needs to be Fed, i am all for FM. I only managed to total BF my girl after her full month.

As for AP... give what you are comfortable. Follow your heart. my leaving AP to my CL was slightly bigger cos she is really nice, but that amt came back to my girl before she left. After so long.. almost 3 yrs, CL still calls me very often and we meet up at Taka when she is in townz.

my relationship with her is good, only my "fussy" mum is very against her. The more the person cant cook, the more the comments on the food is not nice.. and the more one doesnt know how to look after baby, the more the headaches about teaching my CL how to look after the newborn. :p

my CL very liberal.... i wore shorts and sleeveless tees... kekekek... :p i had Secret Recipe Cake and many other things. :p

kekekekek.. i showered every other day and went shopping with my CL too. :p

i can still remembered those dayz!

<font color="aa00aa">Carole
My stand is the same as you. Me and hubby are all for fm if I dont have enough bm cos it is better than letting the bb gets hungry. When I delivered my boy, my milk supply only kicked in after I was discharged from hospital (4th day after I delivered).</font>

i guess most CL r ok..
will nag a bit n tell us tat we shd not eat this or shd not wear tat..
but if u don wanna listen they also LL..

most impt my hb very the particular.. oredi threatened to off the mains in the masterbedroom toilet if i dare to secretly go shower :p

Carole,
you sound like you enjoy spending more time with your CL than with your mom. hehheheh

jen,
your hb very on. how did you manage to clean up during confinement?

how are the mommies feeling?

jen: har??? off?? nuts lahz.. can shower lehz... just make sure its those herbal thingie can liaoz...

pildough: logic simple... my mum knows nothing and always yakking.. giving silly comments which both my hb n myself find it ridiculous. She has never taken care any new born including my bro &amp; me and also nvr cook a proper meal.. so much so after my dad passed away.. i was the one who cooks not her. She cant cook and yet wanna comment on others ppl's cooking which its surely not acceptable.

<font color="aa00aa">I feel that I'm quite lucky in a way that my hubby is very supportive of what I do. He agrees that I should not follow the traditional ways of doing confinement, i.e. not bathing and washing hair, must shut all windows and cannot on the fans and air con.

When I gave birth to my boy, my gynae even encouraged me to go out for a breaker if possible. Told my hubby to bring me go see movie and eat whatever I want to eat cos happy mummy results in happy bb! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Rebecca
Me no engage CL. Hubby is taking 1 month leave to help me with the NB and look after our boy.</font>

Lili_fc,

I also engage from agency. the person in charge did ask me want to apply permit for CL, but it is not a must. unless u need to engage the CL more than 28days.

My agent say the AP is depend on ourself to give. It is not a must to give. To me, I will give if her performace ok when she left.

mousebb: ur hubby very nice!!! mine i wont ask.. cos i know he has tonnes of work and suppose to be in California nw. but cos i am gng to due, he is postponing till we get the full month done and over with. When i had my girl.. even with CL, i always crying.. waliew.. i was like in postnatal.. tks god hb not those traditional kind of cant be bothered.. if nt i sure die big time. :p

esp with my noisy mum and always complaining, nvr got peace at all.

carole, by rite even with herbs the water r suppose to b boiled hot water n not from heater..
hb only allow me to shower with the herb thing +use the dry clean shampoo for hair n last is sponging+ the rice wine..

damm jialatz..
but heng the he say can stay in aircon room but no direct aircon/ fan blowing at me..

JJmom- Yalor since recommended by my cousin and she's good I oso paiseh to negotiate price with her, sekali she unhappy to work for me!! ;p
Like u said, as long as she did a good job taking care of my needs and bb can liao!! ;)

Think for the 1st AP when CL arrives, will give $28 1st bah... ;)

Jen- Wow ur hubby really cares and follow the traditional method yah!! Heee supervising u!! In a way, he cares for ur health-being which is good! ;)

i'm still up with heartburn. turns out mcspicy is really bad for you, i'ld take the double cheeseburger anytime. worse, i'm hungry.

the rain seems good to sleep in..

good morn all!
Confinement period
My hubby didnt know about anything on traditional like no bathing, no aircon. It was me who told him. Maybe from 2nd or 3rd wk, if cant tahan , then on aircon.
I am target to bath every alternate day. Cant stand of not washing my hair for a day.

Karen
Engaged CL thru agency, they didnt say optional on Applying for work permit. It is safer for both side.

Dimpletot
Standard AP, i was told to give a '$x' welcome AP for good luck to CL. agency told me but cant recall how much is the standard am.

Phildough
Thanks. I was thinking to bring own toiletries. I worried tiring to wake up to latch bb during mid night.

I hope i have the energy to bath on 2nd day during hospitalised. 4bedded at TMC, have 1 toilet only?
Am also worried about the wound , scare of pain.

wow u gals wake up early too. Hee.
Going checkup this morn 8.30appt, for CTG too. Update again.
Chat again. Have a nice day ahead

<font color="119911">morning all! wow all your appt so early? all the best ya! can see baby le

haha i lazy to rush with morning crowd. appt at lunch time. =)

mousebb>> wah! ur hb take 1 month leave accompany u? thats really sweet leh!

i also no engage CL. my PIL will be helping out. hope things work out man..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Juz Us
Your PIL so thoughtful!
My hubby only took 2 weeks during my son's time but this round he has no choice cos he is afraid I'm not able to handle 2 kids at the same time.

Think a few mummies are going for their checkup today. All the best! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Exactly 1 yr ago, we were celebrating our son's 1st month and a year later, we are counting down to see our 2nd bb! How time flies!

Am wondering how's Rachel's Mummy and the rest coping with their NB bb at home!</font>

Morning mummies...
I was on leave last Friday and so many good news flying here... I bought 7 pcs bedding set, sterilizer last Sunday..

Congrats to Ribenali and Diane... Your babies are so cute... all hv double eyelids wor.. envy...

Rachel mummy also gave birth liao???

What's the topic today... I'm so lost after missing here for few days...

Morning Mummies!!

wow.. so many postings since i posted last sat!! u all are so active over this weekend!! hahaahaa...

thank u all.. im happy abt my boy's weight as well, but i realised, i forgot to ask my gynae if he is engaged?? kekeke.. but i did try to ask if there'll be any indication of when i'll pop.. he smiled n said.. no.. its a waiting game now!!! kekeke... ;)

Littlebluey,
hope u will enjoy the 2 days MC rest at home ya! how i wish i can b home today too.. so nice n cosy after the rain!

Rachel's Mummy, Diane, RibenaLi,
hope to hear from u mummies abt ur newborn soon!!

to all mummies having ur checkup today, pls keep us posted ya!! think quite a few of u seeing ur gynae today..

mousebb,
its great that ur hubby can take 1 mth off! my hubby also plans to be home for ard this amt of time, but if he has appts, he'll go and then come back home lor.. think tats the best way also...

Tweety,
yaya.. Rachel's Mummy also given birth le!!

hehehe... now hor, really wonder who'll be next in line to pop leh.. :p :p

On bathing issues, I'm also not following
I will bathe everyday but with herbs and also will shut the windows before I go in to bathe. I washed my hair alt. days but I will blow dry each time I washed.

My CL allows me to on air-con when I need to sleep as she is those type who believes must sleep well during confinement time. We tend to sweat a lot when we bf so air-con is really useful in this sense.

I'm still considering if I should latch my gal at night esp when initially may not even have supply to express out. I would like my gal to be on TBM though. So still thinking about this issue. I guess just see how it goes then.

Forest, same here.. it is waiting games for me too! My gynae was telling me so now we wait for either your waterbag to burst or contraction to come before you report in.
Excited hor? heee..

Phildough, I'm also still having very bad heartburn.

Forest..
Wow.. another mummies also popped liao.. so excited... But I hope mine not so early since I'm only 35 wks now...

Air-con:
My mum said air con is better than fan during confinement as fan create winds leh...

Bath:
I will bath too, i don think I can stand myself without bathing and washing of hair... My mum said can use white wine to bath too...

<font color="aa00aa">Morning all...vy blue mon 4 me,

totally din sleep well last nite, been a tossing satay whole nite...somemore, every turn is a torture 2 me coz my back hurts whenever i turn

Think I will like a walking zombie by the time I KO today.

Midnite feed :
Even if we don't do direct latch in the nite, we will still need to get up &amp; pump if not, will get block ducts so might as well direct latch on for better milk supply stimulation. My opinion lah

BF :
So when we BF, can drink those malt drinks like milo &amp; horlicks &amp; oats? Coz I heard 'mai ya' will stop BM? R they the same thing huh? blur...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Confinement bathing :
My mom insist that we must bath but with the herbs coz she said it's worst if we kena infection with all the dirt &amp; sweat even so if we r gng to BF our bb. Imagine so dirty how to BF our bb...eeeee

My DH will also try to take a mth leaves to help out even thou we have a CL since we r 1st time parents &amp; he also needs to learn how to cope after the CL leaves. But I guess he will go back office during some days if he is needed, no choice.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Forest, JJmom
Same for my hubby. He will need to go back to office on some days if he is needed. I guess this arrangement is good enough for me le.</font>

hi mummies,long time not logged in...

Congrats to all mummies who've given birth!!!

btw, regarding Anmum, i've dranked the 5th tin since prgenancy and got scared when I saw mummies here mentioned abt it...

hubby found this article online..

http://www.3news.co.nz/News/Business/ChinesemilkpoisoningsnowimpactingFonterrasownbrand/tabid/421/articleID/71785/Default.aspx?ArticleID=71785

it says the Anmum we drinking comes from New Zealand. the Anmum recalled back was all the China batch... Anmum with problem was not exported out of China.. hopefully true..

lyndx,

This New Zealand co 'ForXXXXX' which sells Anmum did import the milk from the affected china co loh. But dunno for what products? Anyway I already throw away my 1/2 tin of Anmum last nite.

JJmom2008,

'Mai Ya' is definitely not oats...as oats is 'Yan Mai', which's said to be good to increase milk flow...read it somewhere but forgot where...not so sure about milo and horlicks though...

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
I remember I drank quite a lot of milo when I was breastfeeding my boy but ok leh. My sil's mother was the one who said drink horlicks helps to boost milk supply but I din like the taste so switched to milo instead.</font>

morning mummies

Diane,
Ethan is so handsome. do have plenty of rest ya!! congratz again

Purebliss
so glad to hear tat u have discharged &amp; hope ur girls can stay well for another 7days.
and u must listen to ur gynae, have completely bed rest ya, dun be naughty mummy

m goin check up lata too, ll update lata

Jasminetea,
for me.. i dont wanna pop yet.. haha.. thats why i asked my gynae :p i only wanna pop in Oct wor.. kekeke.. :p

Tweety,
yaya... we dont wanna pop yet.. at least after wk 38?? kekeke.. for me, Oct is ok.. nothing earlier.. :p :p

JJmom, mousebb,
yeah... so long as they make the effort, and help us out... i think we are much better off le... becos our main task should be focused on recovering our bodies, as well as BFeeding the little one... so, having our hubbies there to help out is really impt lor... :p