(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Purebliss
Glad to know that you are back at home liao. Then you better be guai guai and have complete bed rest hor! You can still enjoy your korean drama DVDs on bed! Rest well!</font>

Everafter,
I gain more than u now... total 26kg lo.. dun even know how to get rid of them after i pop.. used to be 45kg now hit 70kg le! Really very depressing leh...

Purebliss,
Hope you can drag till fri.. but anyway, your babies will be healthy and fine even if they choose to come out earlier so dun worry too much ya! So excited leh.. can't wait to see your beautiful twins! Gotta take care and bed rest completely ya!

<font color="aa00aa">Lynnzee, Everafter
Dont feel depress over your weight lah! We are almost at the finishing point le. Most probably at this juncture, the weight gain could be due to the water retention bah.</font>

Lynnzee, don't be depressed..we're almost at the end of the "race". I used to be 48kg and now 71kg lor!! It could be really water rentention..My legs and feets all "ba-ba". Another thing is alot of my friends told me slimmer women tends to put on more weight during pregnancy. *no offence to anyone out there*, so we could be belonging to that category

Mousebb, not sure if i hear wrongly frm the nurse leh..she was telling another patient friday's case is out of sudden and next week's one is scheduled, so more prepared and not rush on the timing.

Everafter
u also under Dr Adrian? dun worry...i think he quite prof even when he has to deliver a few babies in a day. durning my 1st one, that night he already help to deliver 3 babies plus 1 emer csec case. even when he walk into the labour ward in shorts tshirt and messy hair. hehe.

is it possible to help me post my supershield to me. cos dunno when got the time to go collect from you le. let me know n sms me if ok?? Thanks gal!

Jia You!! we will have babies gathering soon......

Gd morning!

Hi mousebb, I bought the Alpha Yellow Bear since it is thicker.

Pildough, I throw everything into the washing machine. Initially wanna hand wash but after seeing there are so many clothes, towels etc to wash, I change my mind cos hubby is the one doing it. Dun wanna bully him :p

Btw, I pay $1.8 for my CL.

Does all hospital practice the same? To give pre-addmission letter? My Dr din even mention abt this or ask me how many bedded I want. Only ask which hospital I want and said will book for me.

I also have swollen feets! Weekends will be better cos I'm always lying down but once back to back, day by day.... it will be swollen. Woke up this morning and realise my hands are swollen. The fingers are so funny.... and difficult to bend cos fat fat

oh almond,

thanks for the advice, I threw the nappies in (old and new) and i'm going to do a load of new infant clothes plus blankets and all after that. I'm so scared the washing machine will tear the nappies or something, i was looking at the nappies and wondering how in the world will it absorb poo and pee because it has all these little holes. anyhow, my mother is being ambitious and when the CL leaves, hopefully my little girl will have thick skin and i will use disposables. oh.. but so tempted to make HB soak and wash soiled nappies even for a day.. haha.

pre-admission letter:
my clinic also say i don't have to hold on to it. I have filled up a form though, on the room preference and date of surgery/admission and that i have submitted to the clinic. I'm with TMC.

jollyhoppy,
the umbilical cord protector is called tummy binders, tollyjoy sells them. on usage, i think u need to ask the 2nd and 3rd time mommies here on how to wear them with diapers. i think we swab umbilical with cord spirit, dry and put on the binder to prevent abrasion from clothes and nappies.

everafter,
you're right about the water retention and it's true what they say about you skinnehs. you have to put on more weight to nourish and carry baby mah. i'm a big girl to start with and my weight gain is about 13-15 kg. ohh... but how i want to be SKINNEH.

alright mommies,
counting down. i really want to see the Purebliss's twins and xinying's giant. and oh, my little girl too.

how is enya, bluey, nicky and allll the other beautiful mommies today?

pildough, I put all the infant clothing into the laundry bag cos my washing machine also will have dust like stuff sticking to the clothes. I bought nappy liner and those shorts like cover. I dun know what is it call.... after wearing the nappy, let bb wear the short cos it is water proof... the urine wun leak out

nickipower
i love coke too...still sips a bit, not about the caffeine..i understand they add a bit of cocaine or some kind of drugs in it.

I am Msian. If they really only given 14days, the spore custom will stamp at her passport and state only "14days". Else they allow to stay at Spore up to 30days.

I engage a confiment agency, they also told me CL can stay up to 30days. So during the 28days of service, they no need to ask for go to stamp.

Purebliss
Congrats, that you are discharged!!!! We are all so worried for you.

pildough
i threw all in the washing machine with powder for babies.
I'm okay, thanks for asking..finally got 2 nights of good sleep (only woke up twice to pee, no cramps, no snore in my ears, no kicks to the floor..:p) and yourself?

pissed off with the magnum dark chocolate..i was eating it for a week...hope my baby will be okay.

i pay 1.9k for my cl...she also asked for angbao money.

Lynneezee..
my weight is 75kg..now..sigh. dun worry, we'll lose it after baby is born.

Karen, so there are 2 types... some will be given 14 while some 30 days is it? If I remember correctly, I think my CL said she needs to go and stamp leh

The chinese people are. !@#$%...guess they lose all their moral values after cultural revolution with Mao. they hv flushed all confucious teaching in the toilet.
they will do anything to earn a few cents more.

I rarely buy things from China now, esp babies stuffs...prefer things from korea. not even japan unless they are really made in japan.

Karen,
thanks. i don't know the situation yet but i suppose if my CL is good and if she needs a break to see her daughter in sg by 'stamping her passport', then mm k lor. Anyway she said she can get it done within the day so i might just leave it at that. hehehe but if her work is not good..

Almond,
i also bought liners (about 3-4 boxes) and the nappy covers but only 2 in medium and large. yea.. looking at her dad and myself, my little girl will probably have a large arse. ahah. i wonder how long the liners will last.. but ok, mental note to put infant clothes into laundry bag.

mousebb,
the last time u recommended the mattress waterproof cover is from JL issit? Coz i read from papers today they having 20% ramadan sale but not applicable to some baby brands and equipment. Might go down next week to check it out. Which JL branch? thx

Enya!
cocaine in coke! melamine in ice cream and milk! very soon, we'ld all have to be on pills. What's Enya bidding on ebay these days? ;)

yeah, pildough
i read from several website, yes, drugs in coke.

ehehe..i'm hook on to collecting vintage watches these days..those around 70s and before.

Enya,

lots of things from japan are made in China but QC-ed in japan. toxic paint in toys, chemicals in food, the Chinese really got it going for them. I pity the farmers though.. they're ignorant and bottom of the whole chain.

mommies,
have you read the papers today? Lots of assurance postings taking up one page from F&amp;N to certify magnolia is safe and from AIA to assure policy holders.

What are your insurance plans like? How will it change after baby? I'm thinking of upping my husband's cover for income, hospitalisation, terminal illness and disability because he will be main breadwinner. For me, i'm undecided because i might want a change of scenery work wise so better not commit yet. They say need not get life insurance for baby because baby doesn't earn an income but hospitalisation is a must for babies and children.

I've heard good things about prudential and great eastern, any mommies with them outside of the standard cpf hospitalisation cover.

almond,
i haven open the box yet. is the liner like a pad that u stick into the diaper? can soak up excess. so pee can wash and dry but poo throw lah? ok..

Enya,
steady ah.. enya. vintage watches. to keep or to resell? but how to determine authenticity? mom is trying to convince me to help her sell her smaller diamond jewellery and too many branded bags but i find ebay's listing too ex because it's listing plus commission on sale price right. i might just post it on the forum and see if there's any takers..

enya,

1 way lines is for liners ah? oh gosh, still so much to learn.

my mom in law told me that back then with her three children because she was left alone with them, when she could anticipate their pooing timings, she'ld chuck a wad of toilet paper into their diaper to catch most of the poo. haha.. i might do that when i run out of liners.

pildough
they are mostly QC in china (japan stuffs) by hongkong people or chinese people. I know this cus I was going to guangzhou to set up QC company in china before i became pregnant with my gal.

no need to pity the farmers, cuz they are juz the same...if you really go and see how they plant the veggies. it frightens me that i refuse to go there to live and raise my gal there.
even carreforre there turned me off. you should see the black meat they sell there.

pildough
to keep...i start reading a little from the internet about authenticity of different brands.
i only buy from reputed international ebay sellers.

it's free on singapore ebay...www.ebay.com.sg

liners
i learnt that when i was selling baby cloth diapers.
there are 1 way and 2 ways liners.
of cuz..the pureen ones are 2 ways.

it's alot of learn..yup...

<font color="aa00aa">Pildough
The waterprooft matress cover is from JL. I always go to the one at marina square bcos it is more spacious there. </font>

pildough, the liner is like a piece of cloth but quite thin. Not so sure abt its absorption too

Ur MIL good leh, can anticipate their poo poo timing :p If I can do that, I will sit my bb on the toilet bowl! Dun even need to touch the poo.... hahaha

I'm still not sure if I will dare to clean my bb poo a not. My poor bb, if his mummy scare, then will have problem

i'm not saying also the stomach up fresh fishes they are selling there..

the dirty houseflies filled hospitals and vets..ARGHHHHHHHHH

memories coming up of guangzhou...

littlealmond
anticipating and training of babies pooing is called elimination communcation. you can net surf on this topic and they will tell you what it is and how it is to do. something to do with potty training later.

i started with my gal when she was 6 months then i gave up, too tired.

you mean on the butt? eheheh..if you breastfeed, it should be easy cuz it's watery..

you will get used to it :) cuz babies do it alot

nickypower: my CL charges me $1.8k
pildough:yupz, i will not let the CL bully me..hee..me bot the nappy liners and oso the binder (to protect navel) plus my cousin passed me the alcohol swaps to clean the navel around, after a few days, once dried up, will be ok liaoz..so, i will insist on the nappies,as for the passport,i've checked with the CL, now they dun need to go back and stamp after 2 weeks, will be valid for the 28 days..must not be 'fooled' by them..if not, they go back and stamp their passport, another 1 day gone...wahhh.. my CL was just telling me, if i'm gg to deliver on weekday, by the time, she comes it will be about 5pm (which is like more than half the day gone!!) seem like so many hidden agenda..aiyo...

almond,
cleaning baby bottoms - i think it'ld be one thing we'ld all be very immune and desensitised to soon. ;p

enya,
eeee.. i went to guangzhou when i was 10 and they paraded the animals in cages in front of restaurants. i just squatted there and cried and cried and refused to go in and eat. ok.. no china stuff.

enya, i can imagine you looking at your daughter's body language and facial expression and waiting for a twitch, then the moment 'it' arrives, you grab her and run to the potty, pull down pants and wait. ahahaha.. elimination communication. that's novel. but you're right, sounds tiring. kids will eventually potty train themselves right?

jollyhoppy,
ya lor.. i also feel that way. the hidden agenda but what to do. hopefully this zhen jie of mine is abit more honest.

mousebb,

what's for lunch, mommies

i have a craving for tehu telur, rendang, ayam bali, lontong at sanur. but it's too hot to head out. so i order maccers instead..

hi Jollyhoppy - I will be asking my CL to come to the hosp on the day of my discharge to follow us home. Easier for her this way, and no 'lag-time' for her and me. How much are you all intending to give yr CL for 1st time Ang Pao? I know some say S$18 is enuff, but it does seem rather little?

For buying of food, HB will go buy from NTUC or Giant. My Mum will buy the longan and red dates for the red dates drinks.

CL will not be given 'chance' to 'waste' her time lor.

ruffles: its all depends on urself for the starting work AP to be given to CL. I will give her $28, and then later another 100+... this CL i had hired before, and she is always calling me to chk on my status. Though she is gng to holiday on 29th Sept - 11th Oct, i m still willing to wait.. if i can.
If you CL is as nice to you during that 28days, u might just consider givingher a better AP before she leaves :p

My CL charging me 1.9k. in 2005, she charge 1.7k. well, even PUB increases in $, cant be her pay forever 1.7k. :p

hello
I engaged a CL through agency. $1.8. Need to apply work permit. Those who engage not through agency, need to apply work permit for them?
Was told to give a welcome standard angpao to CL 1st day at work, when leaving, give angpao any amount depends on her performance .

<font face="tahoma"> Ribenali and Diane,
Thanks for sharing your precious' pics. They are sooooooo adorable! Both look so alert at birth! Congrats again!

littlebluey,
you feeling alright? must rest well okie.

Purebliss,
glad you're discharge. rest well! keep us posted on your latest.

ruffles,
regarding CL's AP, my frd told me she gave $18 for a start then at the end, she gave another $88.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">China product :
it's so diff to avoid them now coz like this milk products, china also supplies to other countries companies as by-product loh...sigh

Cloth diaper liner :
I also intend to use cloth diapers, at least for the 1st mth when we have CL to help with the washing loh.
Don't b fool by these CL tat the urine will cause infection, diaper cloth is easier to fold down to avoid bb's umbilical cord than plastic diaper loh. Pissed with these aunties who try to bully us, thinking we don't anything, juz wanna make their job easier. Hello, we pay them to work loh, even us need to do our work properly to get paid 1 mah.

What is 1 way &amp; 2 way liner?

CL :
Mine also $1.8K, I will b giving abt $18 for start of work &amp; more if she is really gd but don't think will b so much as $100. Really don't wanna spoil the mkt.</font>

Hello Mummies!

Didn't have time to log in for 3 days. Came in and saw 3 mummies popped le! So excited!

Congrats to Rach's Mummy, Ribena and Diane. Your babies are so lovely. Have a good confinement.

Updates on myself: My gal grows very big over the past week and is more than 3kg now, from previous weight of 2.3kg. She hasn't even engaged and there is no sign of labour as yet. So it is just waiting time for me. I will be 38 weeks next week!

Ruffles, there are a lot of different rates for CL's AP. Last round we gave my CL $28 for start and $88 for end. I think we will possibly give back same amt.

Thanks Carole &amp; Mspiggy. Think I will give S$28 for starting AP, and when she leaves ard S$68 - S$88 if gd. She was recommended to me by my fren and apparently rather gd with kids. She will sleep with my bb in bb's room.

For nite feeds - do you all intend for CL to bring bb to u when bb cries for milk, or will have CL give her EBM?

<font color="aa00aa">Ruffles,
I also thinking whether to let bb sleep with CL or us since I intend to have total BF during 1st mth.
According to Mrs Wong of TMC, it's gd to do direct latch during mid-night as it will stimulate more BM.
But I worry, will be too disturbing for my DH.</font>

nickypower - If she is gd, then well-worth it lor
Cross your fingers. The 1st CL I wanted also wanted to charge me 2k - but she was too busy to accept.

nickypower,

I heard $2k is the current rate, juz tat mayb mst of us got referral from our friends or r having the same CL for the 2nd time bah.

JJmom- For me, my bb will be sleeping with me lor..cos the baby cot is in our room....No space to put in the other rm with CL... Guess me oso like u will be doing direct latching on during the night feeds etc...Hopefully for enuff breast milk oso lah.. ;)

Ruffles- Yalor now I crossed my fingers tight...Since this CL is recommended by my cousin one and she said she's good...so hopefully she's really doing her job well!! ;)

JJmom- Yalor I heard now mkt rate is between $1.8k to $2k lor...Tats why I din negotiate the price further with her since my cousin said she's good.. ;p

<font color="aa00aa">Any1 heard of taking 'Mai Ya' will stop BM? I m wondering then can we take milo which contain malt during BF? Also oat? R they the same huh?</font>