(2008/10) Oct 2008

Ribena
got ppl tell me open ur room all cabinet, help to open ur cervix ler. dunno how true but no harm to try. watever cabinet in ur bedroom just let the door open

RibenaLi...congrats! Can see ur darling soon.

I'll know the verdict next week whether confirm c-sec or what. i think 99% c-sec. Think if c-sec during F1 period, my hubby's boss will flip.

Mspiggy, dialated liao ah... mine still closed leh. hmm... when do we usually start dilating?

RibenaLi,
sure!! can always updates all mummies here for u!! me super gan chiong for u too!! Jia You!! All the BEST!!!

RibenaLi, Diane,
my fren who was induced also checked into KKH at midnight wor.. seems thats the norm? im not v sure either, but know of a few cases liaozzz..

<font color="0000ff">Trace,

Apparently from what I read, it seems like only those delivered on/after 31/10/08 then will be guaranteed the 4 mth ML, if not it's at the discretion of the company which the govt will pay for it if the co allows their employees to go on the extra 1 mth ML...

bbgoh:
Thanks for that advice!! its interesting but all my cabinets are sliding doors one ah. Can open my mum's room's cabinet instead?

Mummies:
Thanks for all the well wishes

1. Date for new legislation to come into effect is 31 Oct 2008. It is stated that the benefits are compulsory for those who delivered on or after 31 Oct &amp; those whose EDD is on or after 31 Oct but delivered early.
[i.e. all of us are safe even if we pop before 31 Oct]
even if pop end sept, we will get it?

<font face="tahoma"> am back after nap.

Chris,
Thanks for sharing your birth story.

Rinenali,
Have a smooth delivery! Keep us posted.

Xinying,
There's no fixed rule on the dilating.

Littlebluey,
the new legislation seems to have gray area for us... coz didnt indicate complusory for us. ours EDD are before 31 Oct mah</font>

Just received an email from my company's HR that current practice of childcare leave (2 days) and maternity leave (12 weeks) are to be followed till government legislate the new acts. Meaning, if I'm to give birth before the act is legislated, I'll only have 12 weeks of maternity leave! ARGH!!!!

Ribenali

yea!! ok ok "May the power be with you!!"..wahahaaa..everyhthing will be fine ok..sms me after u popped!! Alamak so exciting!!

bbgoh

really ah..?..so funny!! My grandma told me to eat more butter for smooth delivery..and must be SCS butter..the one with the star logo!..hilarious also rite?

<font face="tahoma"> mousebb,
better now... hope will stay this way!

elchwong,
that's what am afraid too now! coz i did ask my HR before. they said they will RECOMMEND to our mgmt but still subject to their approval. </font>

<font color="0000ff">Mspiggy,

U are right! It's actually a big grey patch -_-""

So if your co refused to allow their employees to go on the 4th mth ML, there's nothing we can do abt it as well *bleh* now we juz hv to wait for the 2nd reading and see how....

Trace,

Cld be the case u know, remember the website stated "employers are ENCOURAGED"

Diane,

I heard from some Indians, drink Horlicks with butter in it suppose to facilitate smooth labour hahahahaha ;p

Ribenali

I'm so excited for u! All the best! Drink as much of your raspberry leaf tea as you can now, to strengthen ur uterus n help u to push better..

<font color="aa00aa">Forest
I never scare myself but it's true lor. Even my hubby notices the changes also leh.</font>

elchwong

then take mc now lar...heck care them already...if cannot have 1 more mth after delivery, at least take mc to enjoy or rest now.

Littlebluey

really ah?..wahahaaa..i have a pack of horlicks with me now..but no SCS butter...kekekee.. i also heard that eating fatty pork can ease delivery as well..but i hate fatty pork!!

Curioxette
I haven been drinking my raspberry tea very regular..sometimes just forget lor..eheeee..will drink tonite.

Ribenali

so have u dilated a bit liao? because need to dilate at least 1 cm then can induce rite?

Trace

govt always have caveats one lor..thats why they say "employers are encouraged"..so they never make it compulsory..

RibenaLi,

Wah...so exciting hor, now tat u know u will b seeing claudia on friday liao lei, 2 days nia...woohoo

We will all pray for u to have a smooth delivery...Jia YOou

Have u got everything ready?

Trace,

Your company also? Haiz...so not pro family right?! They'll get paid by government so why can't they be more generous!

Diane,
Ya lor, won't get it if the legislation act is according to what Littlebluey posted...

I'm only left with 2 days MC leh...moreover need to handover my work to temp staff within 2 weeks...planning to have maternity leave from 13th October onwards...

mspiggy,
Hope your company's not as bad as mine!

Feel so 'cheated', as 1 of the HR staff said I'll get 16 weeks one...but yesterday the corporate HR department sent an official email out to say current practice of 12 weeks stays...moreover it's healthcare industry lor...never expect them to be so inhuman!!!

i felt being deceived..haha..

i alway tot legislation date will b 1st oct ..n keep telling my ger to come out aft dat dae..haha..nw no need liao..

elchwong,

i always think local co. not very pro family one..when the rules came out saying 4 mths maternity..ppl here making noise..said 4 mths is simply too long..n next time who will employ women for the position..haiz

wah, that first amendment differs so much from what was said by DPM right??

but i've already submitted my ML as 16wks.. so, that shd stay??? aiyo.. i dont wanna be called back and then suddenly told that i will get 12wks instead lehhhhhh... :S

Aiyoh...y can't they legislate the new acts earlier...so slow lei.
Make us worries again, aiyah...like tat sure some of oct mtb will miss 1 lei

What if we have the gynae's letter to show tat our EDD is after 31.10.2008? Will this do?

Trace,

Ya lor! I also feel that way!!! Started telling my boy to come out later after I read the email sent out yesterday but now that I read what Littlebluey posted, my hopes are dashed...

Hi Ribena,
Jia you &amp; have a smooth delivery!

Do u intend to take epidural or use laughing gas? Coz if u intend to using laughing gas, must ask the nurse to teach ur hubby how to read the CTG to monitor the next contractions. Coz u need to inhale the gas at the right time in order for the pain relief to take effect. Inhaling the gas will make u feel high~~~~~

And i think usually if there's dilation of 3cm, gynae will burst the water bag to shorten the labour. BUT then i think we also have a choice if we want to or not coz i didnt let my gynae burst mine coz i scared i may not be able to endure the sudden intense contractions and so my 1st labour was 18hrs.

Magic check in time 2359 is coz the hospital charges the bed &amp; delivery ward by 24hours clock.
So anytime after 2359 is considered the start of a new day.

Trace,
I also think local companies not pro family but my company is in healthcare industry and also got ang mos in the management level one leh...think of it also angry!

<font color="ff6000">This is what was tabled yesterday...

http://www.parliament.gov.sg/Publications/080026.pdf

Clause 8 inserts a new section 10A to enable the enhanced maternity benefits under
sections 9 and 9A (as amended by clauses 5 and 6, respectively) to be extended to a
female employee or self-employed woman if —
(a) either of the following applies:
(i) her confinement occurred between 17th August 2008 and 30th October
2008 (both dates inclusive), and her estimated delivery date (as
certified by a medical practitioner) for that confinement is before
31st October 2008; or
(ii) her confinement occurred before 17th August 2008, but her estimated
delivery date (as certified by a medical practitioner) for that
confinement is between 17th August 2008 and 30th October 2008 (both
dates inclusive); and
(b) she otherwise satisfies the eligibility requirements for maternity benefits set
out in section 9A(1), (1A), (1B) or (1C) (as amended by clause 6).

The clause does not require the employer of such a female employee to grant her the
enhanced maternity benefits. However, if the employer does so voluntarily, he will be
reimbursed accordingly by the Government.

Clause 21(b) amends section 76 of the Employment Act to reduce the minimum
period that a female employee must have served her employer immediately preceding
the day of her confinement to be eligible for payment during her maternity leave under
that Act from 180 days to 90 days, if —
(a) the confinement occurs on or after 31st October 2008; or
(b) the estimated delivery date for the confinement (as certified by a medical
practitioner) is on or after 31st October 2008.</font>

Ribena
sliding door huh? just let it open lor, dunno too heehee but no harm to try lar

The ammendments to the CDA >>
huh so most of us not entitled for 16wks liao lor.. but if employer willing to give the 16wks then Gov still ll pay the 8wks of ML, isnt it?

ribenali... have a smooth delivery ya.. Jiayou...
Will pray hard for u...

ML:
oh dear.. so now no more 4 mths??? what the hell lor... How abt bb bonus huh??? so angry at gov leh...

haha..i think i shall not update my HR..see if she got check or not..

cos in her mind, she thinks its 1st oct..hohoho..

Mummies:

Thanks!!! still need lots of strength and power!! I've gotten the bag ready, bb cot is ready, bb clothes are washed. Tmr will do a last round of cleaning up.

Pain relief - MrsLau, i may opt for laughing gas. Thanks for informing me. I'll get the nurse to teach my hubby to read the CTG machine.

Door open- Thanks bbgoh! i'll open the drawers as well. really no harm trying.

Diane:
No lei, i haven dilated i guess. coz gynea dint check for me today lei.

curioxete:
Yes!! i've been drinking raspberry tea diligently, 4 cups everyday, hopefully it helps.

RibenaLi, beside the laughing gas, there is also a jab (not epi) that will helps the pain too but I dunno what it's call.

hi mummies *wave*

finally got abit of time to come in.. so busy teaching my temp

huh wat happened y the 4th mth ML gone? child care oso ah? can some kind mummies update me on this.. thanks

i think this act amendment doesn't cover bb bonus and CDA etc... that one prob has separate bill. only maternity leave has the 'up to employer flexibility' clause.

so what it means is, we are at the mercy of our employers if our EDD is before 31 Oct.