(2008/10) Oct 2008

Cheer bear,
I used my medela for 6 mths until Mar'08 and didn't need to change anything. I may change the tubes this time 'coz last time round the BM got into the tubes sometimes. Then i realised that I was blocking the air vent in my medela pump (mini electric plus) which caused the milk to flow into the tubes and pump instead of the bottle. Will check on the condition b4 I buy. Heard that the medela distributor is @ Toh Guan, not convenient for me leh.

just us,
mine is pass-down bb clothings, 1st wash with normal detergent, 2nd wash with pigeon detergent else sensitive.

must wash nappy clothing?

i don't understand, why Govt say on & after 17 Aug, have 4mths maternity.... and now have to wait till Oct??

can someone enlighten me?

my co. say will have to review & when they hv the policy in placed & update me hopfully before i go on maternity.

<font color="119911">mousebb>> ya! i find my company seriously got problem one. HR say must wait til baby deliver then can apply for maternity leave! like how can i predict when baby will deliver?? how u all apply for ML?

lili, littlebluey>> my EDD 1st oct i still on 3 weeks leh...faint... my gynea must be dun wanna see me haha</font>

fireborne,
i oso wash my bb clothes liao.. so many rompers, tops, bottoms, handky etc and when folding all so small and cute.. hehe
btw i still iron some of them esp those nicer one which i will let my bb wear to go out.. this mummies too free hor :p

wow 5.2kg steady leh.. this shld be the size of a one mth plus bb right?

rach mum,
how many valves &amp; membranes did u buy? i saw one BP but thinking to join anot coz by the time the items come think i will on leave at home rest or worse might pop liao since BP take ard 1mth for items to come. hmmm dunno shld order myself mah?

Mousebb, Juz Us,
Last round I also crave for OJ. In fact I crave for any sweet cold juice I can get my hands on. But put on so much weight, Doc says 'coz of all the sugar I was consuming. In the end i diluted the juices so that I wun feel so guilty. But still managed to put on 20.5 kg by 36weeks. Good thing bb came early. Haha.

After my confinement I lost 17.5kg but craved so hard for ice-cream, soft drinks and junk food during my confinement that I ate so much after that. In the end I put on weight in mths 2 &amp; 3. My colleagues asked me wat happened, say that at 1 month I was looking good, how come go back to work put on weight again :p

<font color="aa00aa">Jus Us
My EDD same as yours. My gyane also put me on 3 weeks and my next appt is 6 Sep.

Cheer Bear
Last round, I din buy extra valves &amp; membranes but this time, bcos is for my 2nd one, I have changed all the parts including the tubings. I contacted one of the mummies to buy the spare parts for me from the overseas spree and it is a lot cheaper.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Juz Us,

Think our gynae not as "gan chiong" as us hahahah..tht's why they still so relax muhahaha ;p

Cheerbear,

U very steady leh, still can iron the clothes!! Wah!

Trace,

Forever young mah! hahahaha

fireborne,

How you lose 17.5kg within 1 month?? Teach me pls! i already gain abt 22kg and i still have 2 months to go b4 i pop leh.. i feeling depressed whenever i see myself in the mirror... =(

<font color="0000ff">The earliest to pop in our thread would be:

Ribena
Chris
Lili
Purebliss
Whitepaper
Juz Us
Mousebb
Curioxete

So exciting, it's counting down soon since 1 Sept is juz next mon!!

wah.. 5.2kg... i was born 4.6kg by my mum naturally last time and i tot i was big and my mum very power already..

mummies, may i ask for your opinions?

my EDD is 11oct but i have a 5days business trip in mid nov.. do u all think i shd still go for it? though not very far (still within SE Asia) but i was thinking abt the expressing of milk that is very troublesome..

Heheheh... Mummies, waterbag burst hor, the water is warm and will be gushing out like tap lor initially... after which it will be slow flow. Odourless and colourless. Usually bag burst when bb engage in ur pelvis already. If scared, can wear maternity pad... but also cannot hold much.

Juz Us, ur HR so funny... u apply ur maternity leave also complain.. hahahah!

Juz Us,
My co requires us to submit ML form b4 we go on leave. The dates leave blank and fill up when we come back. We have to produce Gynae's MC for the full ML period also.

Cheer Bear,
Wah! U steady... can iron some more... haha. The clothes r so small n cute. Wait till the bb comes, then the clothes will have bb smell also. I like that smell

lili,
I lazy leh, only washed bb clothes once. Anyway babycenter website says that bb always rub themselves on our clothing so if after a while bb has no allergic reaction, we can just use normal detergent on their clothes. But I do find that bb detergent gets rid of the yellow poo stains quite well.

Rach's Mummy,
J &amp; E Baby and Mothercare Products Pte Ltd
No. 81 Toh Guan Road East
# 03-01 Secom Centre
Singapore 608606
Tel 65623008, Fax 65623108

Dan&amp;Gab Mummy,
wah seh.. 5.2kg!! thats also the biggest i've heard.. my coll's cousin gave birth to a 4.1kg bb, and i tot the bb already looked like 1 month old le!!

lili,
i kinda just wait for my HR to prompt me.. cos' i dont wanna bother them.. knowing how "heartless" they can be.. i really dont wanna ask them anything...

i feel they are just jumping on the loopholes for the new enhanced benefits... and dont wanna commit to us yet... except for civil service which is quite straightforward, the rest will just play along until its legislated...

Littlebluey,
im also on 2 weeks visit now le.. guess, diff gynae practise diff schedules lah...

huh.. ur delivery for ur bb stuff on 20/09?? isnt it very late?? :p hahahaha.. maybe i too gan chiong for u too!! bwahahhaa.. :p

curioxete,
haizzz.. mine is a niao piao MNC lor... not pro family at all!!!

mousebb,
no worries abt asking.. i will share info when she tells me something useful.. she told me i can take fresh orange juice or apple juice if i feel very tired as well...

Rachel's Mummy, Cheer Bear,
how often is it needed to change the valves or membranes???

Btw, any mummies have birth plans to share?? i want to come up with mine le.... but a little lost.. :p

rach mum,
the BP u join is buy from drugstore? thinking to buy some medela bottles too but i dint see any leh..

mousebb,
how long u BF the last time? the membrance can last so long meh? coz i see like veri fragile so scare will spoil.

littlebluey,
i dint iron all la.. onli some which i think will let my bb wear to go out one then i iron.. if iron all think i peng sang liao.. haha

Littlebluey, me praying hard can drag as long as possible. Dun wish to pop so fast cos I am scared of STERIOD jabs. Heard it is very painful. My gynae says only bb after 37 weeks then no nid steriod... zzzz

My bbs clothings all wash already... mostly frmo my boy batch and my old forum thread buddies who pass it to me. Now awaiting to collect the playpen and mattress this saturday... and send up to new place.

littlebluey,

no worries..

i m scared i will forget those breathing techniques..
so sometimes i willbring it along to the toilet when i do big biz..haha..

thanks for sharing, purebliss..

one of my colleague passed me this green absorbent sheet (one side cotton, the other side plastic) just in case waterbag bursts in office.. apparently it's been passed around 3 times already (my other colleagues were lucky enough to start labour at hm). maybe you all can consider getting that.. think it's available at pharmacies.. (??)

but ya, gd idea to wear pad also..shall try to remem to do so in *gasp* 2 weeks time (!)

Cheer bear,
I dunno which one is cheaper coz I hv not bought spares b4.

LynnZee,
I lost so much weight 'coz I really dun like confinement food! Plus i think lack of sleep due to BF and bb's jaundice also contributed to lack of appetite. #1 was in &amp; out of hospital for 1 week 'coz of jaundice and I missed bb so much that I kept crying n didn't want to eat. It was v sad when I was discharged n bb wasn't. I really missed the feeling of bb in my tummy n had no bb to hold when I got home. *sigh* was v tough then...

Anyway, I did not fast, diet or do any special treatments (I only did post natal massage twice). But like I said, hv to watch ur diet after that. Wait like me binge until the weight pile up again!

Juz me
i have to apply ML a month fr my EDD le. then if pop early or later, can call up my department secretary to make the changes. n i have to go on ML 1 week b4 EDD if i have not pop by then.

Re: Water bag burst
yeah...like warmwater gush out. i was watching tv at night during my #1 preg, when i felt like something gush out. stil told my hubby tat. n he ask me go check. when go toilet was so shock to see my panty all wet. n on the way to hospital, my whole pad was soak thru and leak. hehe...lucky its almost midnight so not so obvious.

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

Dun make me gan chiong further leh! muhahahaha ;p seems like as the date draws near, more and more panicky *taking deep breath*!

Cheerbear,

But still I find u very hardworking leh, I dun think I will do it unless my DH wants to do it himself muhahahaha ;p

Purebliss,

Am hoping that you can deliver as late as possible, ya I oso heard the steroids jabs hurt!!

Trace,

U very hardworking leh, i haven even do any revision! diaoz...-_-"" Lazy me!

littlebluey,

actually i shldnt be the one studying hor? i shld ask my hubby to study instead! he is the one gog to guide me during labour..haha

forest,

i've pm-ed you my rough draft of a birth plan.. need to discuss with dr tseng at my next visit, so i did that over the weekend..
needs some refinement tho..

Juz us

haahaa,,i think shld be ok bah..just tat u dun know when the bag will burst then always put pad will be hot and sticky..anyway i read from books that the water wun gush out a lot because bb's head acts as the stopper..wahaahaahaa..so funn rite? Eh I also want to apply ML today leh...why ur HR say apply too early liao...want to apply early for them to plan HR resources also cannot..gosh.

Dan &amp; Gab

I will take 4 mths at one go too...

Dan&amp;Gab Mummy,
bb skin vy senstive so, i will rewash it using bb detergent (just in case)

legislation out in Oct 08, does it mean we entitle to 4mth since already announce 17 Aug?

Curioxette, welcome, just share what i remember... cos i remember the waterbag water is warm.. hahahaha.. whole panty wet wet... and also the sheet on my bed.

Littlebluey, hahaha... me now greedy... asking my girl tahan until after 6 oct...hahahah cos by then i will be 37 weeks liao. No need the jab. Steriod jab is painful becos of the thick consistency... ARGH!! Think of it makes me painful also.

fireborne,
I can imagine must have been very tough time for you thats y u lose so much weight within a month... guess i will have to go on strict diet and exercise to get the fats off!! =(

curixette
i also bought the padding sheet. mine is one side blue and the other sie is cotton. can get fr guardian or any pharmacy. i lay one on my bed when its near to EDD and bring 2 to hospital just in case. also keep one in hubby car cos scare water bag burst n can sit on that so no stain te car seat.

Trace,
birth plan is what u give to ur gynae and to the hospital on ur preferences of the birth.. i.e. u can indicate u want to bf baby immed after birth.. or u want delayed clamping of the umbilical cord etc.. i have to submit mine in the next visit on 6 sept... but i havent started..

wah.. u even revise on them?? i never leh.. n my class ended much earlier.. lagi worse.. sure forgotten most of it!!

curioxete,
the green sheet thingy.. u gonna sit on it during later stages of pregnancy or what?? i havent figured out how to resolve the water bag issue...

Littlebluey,
hehehe.. cos' 20/09 is like late sept le mah... :p

tell me abt it!! im also v panicky now! :p and havent been updating my list to see what i've missed.. must be more hardworking again!!! :p

lili,
I think if legislation says Oct, then it is up to company's management to decide if they want to give if u deliver earlier than that.

my 1st one i was so scared water bag will burst @ work I brought a towel in to sit on. But my water bag never burst. No blood show also. Just bad bad contractions :p I didn't even believe I was going to give birth! Haha.

Okie mummies, I gtg. Have to travel to another office for work. ttyl! tata~

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

My mum said my nursery room is like a "rubbish bin" now muhahahaha..but am not doing anything until 1st Sept! ;p

*panic panic* seeing so many mummies popping soon more anxious! afraid tis never do that never do! I think my DH oso feeling the "pressure" alrd, keep asking me when he can start and etc hahahahaha...

Seems like we are still taking it easy hor! hee hee ;p

forest,

oh need to do ar? my gynae nv tell me leh..my hubby insisted dat he wanan cut the umbilical cord for the bb..haha do u hv a sample of the birth plan?