(2008/10) Oct 2008

hmmmm....not bad but think we will not be entitled..haahaa..anyway u are rite, wish for the best and prepare for the worst...

the last time they had baby related incentives implementation was backdated to 1 Aug. unprecedented, but perhaps will do the same this time? let's cross our fingers!

wah, today so many postings again!!! am trying to catch up!

Ladies, just to share... Due to my HB's reservist, I will need to perhaps move back to my parents' place shortly after the birth of my girl. Hence, my mum has insisted on me to give up my confinement lady since I will be staying at her place and she is not working plus they have a maid.

My confinement lady was highly recommended by a few friends (2 have used her) and is a Malaysian who cooks very well. Being Cantonese, her soups are v good and on most days, she will even prepare a different soup for lunch and dinner! She does not charge any extra for doing general housekeeping as well as cooking for hubby (some CL actually do). I have personally met her (for an interview) and am quite comfortable with her.

I feel bad that I have to let her go 'cos referral some more lah and I am prepared to give her a substantial ang pau as a token of appreciation. (She has helped me to buy herbs, etc.) But I wanted to do more for her especially when she has been quite nice. Hence, do let me know if you are keen to try her out as her CL. Please note that I am not making any extra $$ from this nor is this part of the "deal" for me letting her go but am doing it out of good intention. In addition, I have not used her before (since it is my first pregnancy) but the ladies who have, have shared that her cooking is really v v good and she is quite modern (can shower but with herbs) type.

Please let me know if you are keen lah... PM me please. What I will do is to perhaps pass your numbers to her and also her numbers to you. Just to share!

good morning mummies

<font color="ff0000">Diane</font> Y u say "dun place too high hopes on the benefits lar...will be disappointed leh."

Good morning!!!

Juz me:
Our Lady's ward is newly renovated. We can request for it but subject to avaliability oso. If dun have spare room when we admit, then oso boh bian.

I've decided to clear my room today so that i can start to measure and to buy a bb cot. So sad.. I tink i'm one of the latest to buy bb cot coz my room too small le. Today not working, be staying at home to do all this ting and to send my fat car for servicing.

Diane:
U got insider news for the benefits? share share lei.

<font color="aa00aa">re:new maternity benefit package
My hubby also told me dont place too high hope in the new package otherwise may feel very disappointed later. He said whether the benefit is going to benefit us anot, bb still need to come out mah.</font>

But hor, if the benefit is really that attractive, I'll be working hard to gif birth to no.2, no.3 and even no.4. If not, max 2 will do.

<font color="ff0000">mousebb</font> i still think tat the new package mite be only increase of baby bonus amt &amp; child care subsidsy only. maybe... increase of child care leave or child MC. or maybe maid levy cheaper....

so far.. i still think tat 3 mths maternity leave is good enough.

i m ok. ya, still have contraction. on &amp; off.

lili:
I'll be gg to CC to get the convertible kind of cot. Not sure wat other mummies be getting or has gotten but i dun wish to keep on buying bed for my girl so tis could be the best choice for me. Tink CC selling at $299. And can be used as a bb cot and a junior bed ( up to age 6) when my girl grows up. Max weight 50kg. If she small size like my hubby, then maybe can last longer.

<font color="ff0000">Ribenali</font> i pei fu you! still can think of #4. i want to faint le. i cant even cope with #1.

good morning mommies
havent chatted with all of you for two days. been very busy at work

mousebb
these days, i think our heartburn is getting worse. i also cant tahan... hv to take medication

rach's mom/Ribena
I actually think the incentives will be pro-daddy than mommy. so many reports point that way on the newspaper. but either way, i am happy cos that means my hubby can spend more time w me and my bb gal when she pops!

everafter:
I haven measure lei. Coz got a cupboard in the way and makes it difficult for me to measure. my dad will remove the cupboard today when i send my fatty car for servicing and can only measure after he remove it. Then i need to clear the cupboard first b4 he remove. Many work to be done.

Ribenali, the "bread episode" is funny leh~ Your birkens was in my hb car then he put the bread together in the same plastic bag and forgotten abt it. He still told me he searching high and low for his breakfast! hahahaaa....

<font color="aa00aa">rachel's Mummy
Must keep monitoring on your contraction hor. Take care and rest to have rest if possible.
Besides bb bonus, I'm praying hard that they will increase in paternity leave so that my hubby will not need to waste 1 month annual leave in Oct. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Lennie
I also cannot tahan with the heartburn anymore. It is torturing me. Even medication doesnt help much. Will tell my gynae when I go checkup tomorrow. So scare to eat anything now.</font>

Oh, those convertible bb cot takes up quite abit of space one lor..i think my rm also not much space to walk after putting the bb cot.

rachelmum
i'm thinking to have increase of child care leave too... and maybe paternity increase for father. 3 mths maternity leave is good enough liao...

RibenaLi
Went to CC the other time, saw their brochure on the bb cot/ playpen. She recommends 1 playpen, i don't have the name now... will go see one of the weekend.

Told hubby to prepare to clear bb room as we will be having house blessing in early Sept. So quite rushing... sudden feel alot of things not settle yet...<faint>

<font color="ff0000">mousebb</font> i m looking fwd more to the baby bonus &amp; child care subsidsy. hehehe....

<font color="aa00aa">lili</font> ya, 3 mths is more than enough.

mousebb
me like u, dun dare to eat at times...that feeling of the stomach acid coming up to burn my throat .. its terrible!

lili/bbgoh
ya, that will be good too

morning mommies!

TGIF!

mint, sorry, missed your msg for yesterday but i'ld be going down this evening and grab some cotton wool before dinner.

RibenaLi,

for the sake of price comparison, i bought a graco playpen from babyfair in baby blue at $249. standard features comes with soft cotton lining (removable to wash, that covers the mesh walls and lines the sides of the playpen), bassinet that can be lowered down, changing tray, small diaper caddy (can fit diapers, wipes, bottles), mattress charged separatedly at $79 (the kind with holes)

----
I say yeay to more paternity leave. God knows, we'ld all need it. Let the man look after the baby and the women go out and get some of her sanity back. useful when mommies are sick and Dad can take leave to look after kid/s.

<font face="tahoma"> Good morning ladies!

dimpletot,
i stayed at AMK

rach's mummy,
how are you feeling?

chris,
CC = Cheong Choon Store
Blk 34 #03-132 Upper Cross St
Tel : 65323855

It's not really a retail store hence it's better for you to know what you want coz the store is very small and cramped with things.

alternatively, you can call first to check if they carry the things you want</font>

Icylemon:
Me and my hubby loves kids and he always finds joy having many kids. And he prefers girls. But my MIL prefers boys. hahaha!!!!

Lennie,

burping bile has become a late night hobby of mine as well. Try mylanta? my friend recommends gaviscon. they're both vile but helps to cool down the acidity abit.

<font color="119911">3 mth maternity>> my hubby's boss was surprised we only get 3 month. ask where got enough? haha she got a full year in aussie. so did my frend. 1 year paid leave! so shiok hor. lol but i seriously doubt sing will ever follow that pattern. i will be extending my leave on no pay coz MIL say cannot handle, ask me stay home til 6 month

i oso suspect is increase paternity leave. but like that oso good i feel. juz that if the hubby is busy during that period then oso no point

Morning all....

Any recommendation for a gd product to reduce appearance of stretchmarks to be used post natal? My tummy's badly invaded by stretchmarks...need to do 'research' on remedy now n start applying asap after delivery...

Matenity benefits:
If only benefit daddy then no use for me oso.My hubby is an interior designer cum workaholic. ID means no work=no $$. He still need to oversees the projects and meet his customers. By the time he is back, tink he should be heading to the bed le. Coz tired after driving ard.

Everafter:
I dunno how big the bed is that's y need to measure if not,i headache oso. Yah lah, the bread incident is so funny. I tot buy shoe got free gift. hahahahaha!!!

Juz Me, true also but if kiddies are sick and mommy is sick, Daddy will have no choice. >

I went for my 4d scan yesterday at TMC yesterday and liked the process more than the results.

The dvd rom showed bad definitions of a blob with blob like features and the photos were, well (to the lady's credit, she worked very hard to generate photos for us) but the photos were rubbish. at least while scanning, we saw her frown, yawn, smile, open eyes abit, pout, pout, pout because the lady was refining the face at the moment.

While it was enjoyable, the lady really tries her best, mom and husband were there and the photo they printed out for us was a nice touch, it's still too much money.

We spent about $251, arrived at 2.30 p.m. for 3.00 p.m. appt, went in at 3.30 p.m., came out at 4.00 p.m. because bb was snoozing and i needed to pee and snack. went back in at 4.45 p.m. because someone else took the room and went home before 5.30 p.m. Only for those who can spare the time.

on a lighter note, baby has my fat chinese nose and pouty lips and none of my husband's indian features. ha

pildough:
Thanks for the info. U gotten the playpen le? I tink i've seen a similar one at Kiddy palace. If really not enough space in my room to put the convertible bed then i might consider the playpen.

Ribenali, standard convertible bb cot should be 52" x 28". Think abt it, that time i didnt measure leh..jus buy and die die muz find a space for it! hehe... U knw when u mentioned abt my swollen feets and i went hm to take a pic of it (so that i can see more clearly). Wah lau..really AWFULLY UGLY!

elch,

i'm using the clarins oil as a preventive to help the belly skin stretch (i bought a few bottles from sasa hk, 10-15 dollars cheaper. dutyfree sg is also slightly cheaper). they have a stretch mark cream as well that is safe for pregnancy and the salesgirl will tell you to use it with the oil but i found the combination too greasy.

sometimes it boils down to genetics, some amount of cream will help moisturise skin but sometimes that's all it does. i'm a product of questionable genetics, while the belly is hairy but looks fine. my ass currently looks like an atlas.

<font color="ff6000">morning mummies! my speculation is that there will be 1 month more leave, that can be taken by either the mummy or daddy. hints from the newspapers lor.

I have the mustelausa double action cream - very nice smell! Not sure whether it works, or whether stretchmarks are just genetic. I have been using mix of palmers, clarins and mustelausa (last two r hand me downs from a friend) and no stretchmarks *yet* thank God. my mum also din have stretchmarks when she had me.

Juz Me,

Yup Aust have 1 yr, and I think London also. But it's not full pay. Think 80% of current pay. But still very good lor.

mspiggy,

thanks - will let u know if i can come down to AMK.

everafter,

your mention of birkies makes me wanna buy a pair... hee.</font>