(2008/10) Oct 2008

whitepaper,
i saw the Pupsik too.. but totally forgot abt it after i walk to the other booths!! hahahahaa... the material seems good, but too many ppl when i pop by... keke

cookie,
thanks for info.. shall not get a BF pillow first then.. kekeke.

welcome cookie!!
wow! u r expecting ur #3 now. each yr one. how u manage ah. u SAHM? Me FTWM already wondering how to cope with 2 kids esp at night. my #1 will be 18th mth when #2 arrive.

Re: BF pillow
my fren gave me one as a gift when i have my #1. but hor....dunno is it i dunno how to use or what...i find it uncomfy. end up i use normal pillow which i found it better.

Re: Sling
i stopped using when my boy abt 6-7 mths old. he prefer baby carrier. so when i go out alone, fr birth to 6 mth, i sling him....when he older, i use carrier. when he almost 10kg at 10 mths...i cant carry him for long...my shoulders n back aching all over.

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
The carrier which my hubby is using is "Snugli". He also cannot remember how much we bought it, should be around $150++.</font>

I'm back from the Motherhood exhibition! Not much booths though. Bought Ergo carrier finally at $154. Din get the insert, since am not using it when bb is a newborn. They have only camel and maroon colour. Rather limited. Had some good buys like $1 mittens and $2 maternity pads (buy 2 get 1 free).

feeling very tired... woke up at 4+am cannot get back to sleep
nowadays sleep comes hard. suffering for it. work is really bad too, so seldom post, but i still pop by to read when i can =)

good to see so many of u get good buys from the motherhood exhibition leh! u all go alone or wif hubby? how to carry so many things back?? went alone yesterday after gynae visit. very crowded leh, like b4 12nn so many ppl outside already. buy some stretchmark cream and diapers, grabbed the frisomum and some samples, then very heavy liao. ;P

btw u can see all the deals for today and tmr already. just access the pdf directly coz motherhood site seems to be down.
http://www.motherhood.com.sg/7.pdf
http://www.motherhood.com.sg/8.pdf

hey btw, for those of you mums getting playpens, will you get a cot as well? or playpen also serve as cot har?
and any idea where can buy mattress for playpens/cots that dun come with mattress
and where is Cheong Choon har?

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies
!

Juz Me
Nice to 'see' you! I have the same problem sometimes... wake up and cannot get back to sleep anymore... thought some people said preggie women usually sleep alot, but not true for me leh.

You can try Kiddy Palace for playpen w/o mattress. Most of the cots would come with mattress if I'm not wrong. When we have our 1st baby, we bought a cot for him as well as a playpen. It ended up that he doesnt like to sleep in his own cot and I only put him in his playpen occasionally cos since he knows how to crawl, we decided to buy another type of fencing that fences up the bumper playmat and so most of the time, he is playing in his fencing.

One of the mummies has posted the address of Cheong Choon here earlier. It's located at People Park Complex at level 3.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Oh ya! Maybe going to the Motherhood exhibition later cos I kept pestering my hubby till he bo bian. Anyone going there later?</font>

Thanks mousebb

I also cant slp well lately..this morn had leg cramps and woke up in pain, but my hubby not in to help me
sigh..me going to the exhibition tomorrow

JuzMe, nice to see u around

JJmom, hubby and i bought a light lime green playpen from Babycraft at $139 with foam mattress, changing station included. bought at OG but think at the fair it comes same price with free mosquito net and pillow set.. u can try..

forest, u got a very good deal for the medela bundle leh..

i got the $690 Medela PIS Advanced, original price at $754, comes with breast pads, wipes for the pump and medela milk bags..

but the lady telling me the $599 one is not 2 phase. she says the $690 one is PIS Advanced with breast stimulation for 1st phase...

dunno she smoke me or not.. quite dubious leh what she told me...

bought at Mums and Babes.. $690 actually not much cheaper i tot.. the handsfree from medela is selling at $55.. very expensive so din buy..

that's the only thing me and hubby bought but i din feel really excited abt cos seems quite expensive and worried will regret...

can someone tell me if really got 2 types of Medela PIS? like what the sales girl told me???

<font color="ff6000">i think there's a 2007 and 2008 version. the 2007 version also selling at first few years at $588 or $590. the 2008 version has the 2 phase expression thing i think, and selling for more.</font>

oh is it??? thanks, dimpletot! this way at least i dun feel so doubtful.. but still dunno good deal or not.. was trying to get the deal mentioned by forest but cannot remember the booth she went to so bought this one at mums &amp; babes..

spent abt $800 over at the fair yesterday.. bought the Pupsik sling, Medela PIS, Medela teats, nipple cream, baby sock, hat, himalaya body lotion etc.. wah seems like a lot..

dimpletot, did u get a free steamer vacuum from one of the booths at the back of the fair? they say cost $88 bat carrefour but they giving free like for advertising purpose.

their main intention is to sell their services of using some steam vaccum to sterilze mattresses etc and sofas in the house. per session is $50-$70. but they give us the handheld vacuum for free.. a lot of ppl take so we took also.. seems very good lobang..

yah but think those who have yet to go shd get it! so they arranging a free trial session for us next week to try their service. they say no obligations. if want their follow up can call them up... that's apparently the best deal we got from the fair yesterday! hahah after the $690 shock for the pump hahah

Thinking of going down to the fair today but so lazy, plus super good weather. Sigh.

How often does this fair come about? Once a month?

Gd morning!
Din really sleep well too... had an pulling/aching feeling at my right side (waist area)

I was thinking of dropping by expo again, not shiok enough. Felt like shopping again. hehe

Liyan,
actually the PIS i got is also 2 phase... i asked and its the 2008 version as well... i think maybe cos they are competitors? kekeke... not sure either... for the handsfree, u might want to see the Pumping Pals one which is what i got from mum's fairy.. tat one is cheaper than medela one..

JuzMe, mousebb, everafter,
lately i've also not been sleeping well.. if i wake up to pee, sure cannot go back to sleep.. sometimes will be half asleep only.. sigh..

mousebb,
hope u find some good deals at the fair too!

everafter,
hope ur leg doesnt feel painful anymore... try to put ur leg up more.. also hope u can find some good deals tom at the fair...

Vanilla,
hope u feel better at ur waist!

i also tot of gg to expo again to get nursing bras.. but wkends sure v v crowded.. so, i think i wont be going lah.. hahaha.. will go taka or BHG later to check out bottles.. hehe...

hi sorry to interrupt... i have the following brand new unopen items to sell or swap with any of your items of equal value:

1. 1x Pigeon Baby Powder Made in Japan (retail 6.90)
2. 2x Pigeon wideneck 300ml peristaltic milk bottle (retail 10.50)
3. 1x Avent milk bottle 125ml (retail $8.50)
4. Pigeon starter kit (include bottles, brush, pacifier, milk powder container, etc) retail $45

all items brand new unused

morning mummies.
went to the motherhood fair yest too..
Liyan: yups, we got the steamer too..hee.the person will come for the demo next week..guess that was one of the heavier stuff that aches my DH's hands.hee.
Other things i bot: Cot bedding set (too adorable for me to resist), thermometer, EYS tonic, MIM sling,motherhood mag subscription, baby CDs..will be gg later in the afternoon to pick up a playmat (cos OSS yest)
I guess, for a FTM, was pretty fun to be there..filling up forms and getting samples..oppss.

Aiyoh...heavy rain whole morning.

Hi forest,

Thanks! The ache is still there..sigh..

Oh i only got tube bras. Wanted to get nursing bras, but seems a bit early now. Not sure if it fits when reached full term. But the price seems reasonable.

Me yest oso went to the Fair le!!
Bot lotsa things oso!!

Agree with jollyhoppy!! Quite fun for a FTM to attend such fair!!

For me, I din get any breastpump yet.. still undecisive..Haiz..
Anyway, I bot:
-Nepia and Huggies diapers(New born &amp; Small size)
-Palmer's organic stretchmark lotion at offer price of $16.50(UP: $32.50)
-Eu Yan Sang conecentrated bird nest
-Some babies clothings and toys
-Motherhood Mag's subscription(3yrs)
-Friso sample pack
-Nursing/maternity bras &amp; tube bras from MIM

So overall quite worth gng down!!

forest yah lah i figured the sales person smoked me... din see mumsfairy so angry with myself... so the free goodies seem to become part of the $690's cost lor..

cos medela products really a but expensive the breast pads, milk bags and freebies cost more than$60... so they factored in the price of the freebies in $690.. not such a good buy after all..

hubby asked me not to think abt it already and make myself unhappy...

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mummies
Am back from the motherhood exhibition. Din buy a lot but only the hands free set + shields and 4 pkts of pampers active for my boy. Also signed up for the motherhood subscription. Wanted to buy the tubing for my medelas PIS at the Mum &amp; babes booth but was told they dont have it at the exhibition. Need to go down either to novena or amk hub to get it. Was raining quite heavily when we reached there yet the place was quite crowded. Oh ya! Also got a free tin of frisomum there.

Liyan
Dont think about it anymore and make yourself unhappy over it hor... </font>

<font color="aa00aa">re: medela PIS advanced
I bought mine in Aug 2007 and was also in 2 phases leh...also have breast stimulation for 1st phase.</font>

hey mousebb - i was there at the fair too just now. Didnt buy much except for some medela breast shields and funnel. Signed for the Motherhood mag, and collected a free tin of Friso mum milk + goody bag lor. Nothing much leh. Got a Get1 box free for every 10 boxes voucher for sweetest moments cakes which I will give out at bb one mth celeb. Din buy any diapers cos will prob order fr Nepia lor. But for those wanting to buy Pampers, I thot the deals were good. Lotsa insurance agents - irritating.

Anyways, have anyone thot of what to do for the bb's 1mth celeb? Not keen to host the party at my plc leh. Do pp give cakes and ang ku kueh to all who attend (ie. 1 box per family), or no need? I dun really like the Bengawan Solo type of cards as I feel it is so not personal, and I dun like the cakes there.

sorry i just kpo here but wanna share what I know/researched about Medela PIS:-

There are 2 types:-
Medela PIS Original - only got 1 phase
Medela PIS Advanced - 2 phase i.e. got the extra breast stimulation phase

Anyways, the word "Advanced" is clearly indicated on the box. Thus, should be no problem in differentiating between Original and Advanced.

Then for Medela PIS Advanced, there is actually 2 versions:-
a) 2008 version - new sets produced/manufactured in year 2008 because to rectify the diaphragm faceplates defect. You can google for it to read more.
b) before year 2008 version - <u>some may</u> have the faceplates defect.

This is difficult to differentiate because it's not indicated on the box but not sure whether inside got paper that indicates the manufactured date.

I went to the Expo Motherhood fair yesterday, I've asked both Mums&amp;Babes booth and Mumsfairy booth, they say theirs is the Medela PIS Advanced older version i.e. not the 2008 version. But they told me no complains about the PIS Adv breastpumps they sold to date. Anyways, they said got 1yr warranty, if really got problem, can just bring back to fix/replace FOC.

HTHs.

Hi mummies, long time never come in liao!

I just went on Thurs to Chinatown to get majority of baby nexcessities &amp; toiletries!

Went for appt in the morning, followed by haircut, then went Chinatown toiletries shop &amp; Cheong Choon to buy all the baby neccessities. Bought 2 boxes Pigeon Breastpad, 3 X baby wipes, Sebamed baby shampoo &amp; baby bath (This was ex!), sanitary pads, disposable undies, Kodomo laundry detergent, pigeon teats X 6, 4 X mittens, 4 packs of herbs for confinement bath, nose cleaner. And I forgot to ask Cheong CHoon their price for thermometer!

And CC is selling for
Medela dual plus for $260 (My fren says its cheap!)
Ameda Lactiline Dual pump $350

STERILIZER: My friend bought me a Pigeon Rapid steriliser &amp; I saw at Cheong Choon, it selling for $88!

MIM baby sling: Saw at CC selling for $35-$40.

everafter

if you are buying Pampers NB, can buy 5 to 6 packets to start if there is sales. NB uses many diapers... also depending if you are breastfeeding or formula. Breastfeed babies need to be changed every 1.5 to 2 hours.

all mummies

rememeber to buy cord spirit at guardian to clean babys umblilica cord when you bring baby home

Hi Ruffles

I didnt do anything special for my gal first birthday. hub and brother went to distribute cake, kueh and red egg, thats all. for friends, i bought vouchers from bengawan solo and sent to them via post. was DEAD TIRED to go out with baby.only wanted to do was sleep SLEEP and SLEEP.

there are many stuffs these days, got customise bears plus sweets plus photo packages etc etc. can surf around. not necessary the traditional stuffs.

welcome cookie

forest
bf pillow is good if you hv c section. otherwise, normal pillows (stack on top of each other) will do the job.

Pinkimum, mint

i tried 5 different carriers.... mim sling, combi 5 way carrier, ergo plus another 2. ergo is mine and my gal favorite. cant leave house with gal without it.

curioxete, whitepaper,
can u give me the tel. number of that baby cot sales guy.. mr. ang?? or the company name? My hubby would like to call n enquire... hehehe. tks!

Cheezel
ya one yr one.. errmm abit shiong, still dunno how to cope when #3 arrive :p but with 2 now is still ok.
I'm FTWM, at nite hb and I take care of the kids.
My #1 was 18 mths too when #2 arrive

RE: motherhood fair
I too went today, bought
-the pumpin pal breast shield (hope will be
helpful in milk pumping)
-Maternity pad for 10pc at $2 ( I thought it was a good buy. Buy 2 get 1 free)
-Bought a carton of a "made in japan" baby wipes. USed this brand before purchased from Giant and at the fair it's cheaper by $1.95/pack of 3 so thought its a good buy
- Bought SHoes for my #1 and #2 @$10 each
-PJs for the kids

For Nepia..at $15/pack din buy cos during NTUC promo 2 pack for 26.95 is still cheaper.
For Pampers.. tempted but din but finally cos sometimes when Giant or NTUC has promo is about the same too and no need to buy per carton to get that price.

Ruffles
For bb 1st month celebration.. errmm.. not for close family and relatives only? :p cos for my #1 &amp;2, I only give to family and relatives and when they do attend the party, can give at the same time. As for friends when took time to come , I gave them personalised chocolates. For office colleagues I did gave them cakes and chocolates as well.

Enya
Did you start your gal on the Ergo from when she was a newborn? I'm thinking of buying a sling first, and then when baby grows bigger, then change to Ergo.

<font color="ff6000">wow looks like many people went to Expo today! I was thinking of going for second time, but changed my mind when it started raining so heavily. sian to go out and get wet.

emma_mum,

thanks for the info! very helpful. Yup, I was surfing around and also saw that some of the 2007 models have 2 phases. so was wondering what the difference was. some websites have reviews from customers that point out the differences... also whether they prefer the metro bag, shoulder bag or backpack... so complex.

on slings,

I think I'll try sling first and since it's cheaper and more versatile. Will decide whether or not to invest in an Ergo or Baby Bjorn after bb is born and slightly older, so I can bring baby for 'fitting' sessions, to see what is best.</font>

Enya- Hey mummy, for the "cord spirit" at guardian which u mentioned to clean baby's umblilica cord one is wat brand one?? A liquid or lotion type?? Thxs in adv!! ;D

storeberry- Hey babe, seems tat u have gotten lotsa things ready!! Even the herbs for bathing!! ;p And CC seems to have lotsa bb's stuffs!! I shall drop by one of these days!! ;D

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning Mummies
!
Re: Cord Spirit"
I remember that time when my son was discharged from TMC, the hospital has given him a bottle of cord spirit. We din buy any.

Re: 1st month celebration
For my son, we catered a buffet and invited our relatives and close friends. We also ordered the cakes from "Choz" for the relatives. Initially din wan to celebrate but some were saying since this is our first child, we have to do it and bo bian lor. Told my hubby for this round, not going to cater buffet liao. Will give out cakes only. Very tiring for both mummy and baby.

Re: bf Pillow
Agreed with Enya. This pillow is only useful if you have c-sect. It's quite exp. Around $70++. My frens were telling me actually a normal pillow can do the job liao. Dont have to waste money.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Ruffles
I also find the exhibition has nothing much leh. The pampers diapers (4 pkts) give a good discount of 29%. Was telling hubby we should have bought the NB size too but he said I being too kiasu!</font>

I went to the motherhood fair yesterday. quite a lot of things to buy lei.

Pamper
Huggies Ultra cheaper than outside. ($12++). Bought 4 packs and they give 2 free DVD (high 5 dance for kid)

Cord Blood Bank
I subscribed for Cord Life to store my bb's cord blood. My 1st one is stemcord. after $300 discount + $50 early bird discount. Total = $1050. If you have someone to refer, you can entitle $50 discount. (Original $1400).

I m going today again. Saw many ppls buying pampers New Born yesterday. Will go and buy some for 2nd bb. Pamper is expensive but good for new born baby.

I am a passive reader for thie s thread. Was not active in the forum for my first BB lasy year, so tot of being more active now :>.
Can I share m 2 cents worth on breast pump? Have u gals considered Ameda? It is cheap and good. (ard $300++). I like it because can adjust the suction power. I have been using that for a year for my first gal until i got pregnant again :>

RE: Motherhood fair
I stocked up a lot of EQ and Sealer diapers and EYS chicken Essence. ALl very cheap. My stingy hubby encouraged me also, because, now prices of everything raising (maybe due to fuel), we won;t know what will raise next also. *SIANZ*

Welcome Joelle! I am planning to buy Ameda as well after comparing with Medela, Ameda is half the price of Medela PIS so... Will see if my friend can get it from US for me.

I wanted to drag myself to go expo, but so far for me &amp; lazy to squeeze with the crowd...

Nickypower: Yah, happy that I got almost all the nity grity stuffs cos I don't think Aug I will have the energy to shop around. Keke.. But CC is a small shop, most big items they sell are not on display, only have brochures. If you are there can go opposite block to the toiletries shop called Ocean to buy bb toiletries.

Hi Chia
I was using Ameda pump too before and it is very good as it is quiet (as compared to medela mini plus, not sure abt PIS tho) and adjust suction power and cycle.
But I was somehoe alloergic to the standard shield plastic which I think is make of PP(something like that)... so this round I actually bought medela mini plus cos medela uses a different plastic PC.
But I find medela mini plus much more noisy (oh no..might wake up pthers in the night ) and to my horror..Ameda also has PC plaste shield. Now I kinda regret never check more before I do the switch.

Mousebb
I also ordered from Choz previously. I used them twice already.. so was thinking for this round, thinking of trying others. But no idea who has good review yet.

<font color="0000ff">Can anyone share with me.. how much is a box (36+6) pigeon breast pad selling now?
Thanks a million!</font>