(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="ff6000">I'm quite confused abt the pumps cos my cousin told me she was using the electric medela PIS then after she tried the Avent manual, she found it a lot gentler and more comfortable.

she said she can produce abt 1 litre of milk a day! wow...

Another friend has a manual and an electric and much prefers the electric dual pump.</font>

dimpletot, i personally prefer the medela electric single pump.

it helps me to get more than 1 litre a day.

for the avent maunal pump. i find it painful on me.

anyway is personal preference.

Rachel's Mummy,
thanks for the link... wow, even for carriers, so many options... more n more googling and search to be done for me... im just wondering if its easy to use those sarong slings... i've seen it used by other mummies at shopping malls, and thought its really comfy for baby.. but not sure if i know how to use them..

Pinny,
im also curious abt the estimated price for the Ergo Carrier..... thanks!

yah... i guess it really depends on the individual. maybe i should borrow/rent one of both in the first week and then decide which one suits me and go and quickly buy one for myself.

<font color="0000ff">Icylemon,

Then u muz be very gd at "po tong"

<font color="ff0000">forest</font>, personally i prefer th pouch one coz i m a lazy person. pouch is easier to use. but the sarong sling can use for very long leh. i saw some mummies using the sarong sling to sling their kids who are ard 4 yrs old.

<font color="0077aa">dimpletot</font>, yah. i agree with u. borrow or rent 1st before u get one. then oso got to think. breastfeeding is not easy if u intend to breastfeed for long. get a new one is worth. so far i only bought avent manual pump. and i sold it off after once or twice usage. my colleague's wife gave me a medela electric single pump after tat.

<font color="0000ff">Ladies,

Regarding Pumps:

I dunno if I can perserve BF ornot in the 1st place, therefore really lost on getting wat kind of pump for now?? scarli no milk, insufficient, or fo some reason can BF then how?? Hmm...</font>

My gynae just called me to inform me that my full report is out and results is normal *phew*. Thanks for all prayers
!

Thanks Pinny,
my sil got use one carrier also b4 but dunno wat brand de. maybe i tried hers 1st see how comfortable it is

hello mummies..

sorry missing out a lot of things here..hv been very busy this morning..

think my stamina is not as gd as before..i gets tired very easily nwadaes...

this morn, i feel some movement in my tummy, not sure if its the bb kicking me? hehe

Went for my scan this morning. Bb was facing me and hand can still wave wave at me some more. But the legs kept closed all the time. Gynae said bb too shy dun want to show... sob! so now still dun know the gender... sigh!

Rachel's Mummy,
wow.. use the sling when kid is 4yrs old?? i wonder if i have energy to carry my kid in the sling then.. kekeke..

mousebb,
Congrats!! really happy for you!!

Littlebluey,
my fren told me.. breastmilk will have supply.. must ensure that we take lots of fluids.. even water... so, after birth, we must make sure we drink alot alot of fluids...

TraCe,
i also feel tired.. cant even sit up straight.. or lean forward long... feel the pressure under the chest cos of the bulge... but im not used to leaning back when working.. so, hmm... must keep fidgeting lor..

mint,
hehehe.. so funny.. ur bb wave at u somemore.. so when's ur next checkup?? it'll be ur detailed scan ??

forest,

i feel like i m a big elephant walking ard...n at nite,when getting into sleep..i hv to turn here n there...soemtimes i find it so diff to turn..esp with a big tummy nw

<font color="0000ff">Mint,

U never talk to bb beforehand?? Bb really wants to keep you in suspense hee hee, when is your detailed scan, all will be revealed then

Forest,

Like you, I oso experience aches here and there when sit for too long hmmm...-_-"

Trace,

Wat a description!! Big elephant, I always tell my DH later I'll look like a whale! hahaha</font>

bbgoh
Thanks! Not to worry cos both you and whitepaper are younger than me. The results will be alright for both of you.

Wah this thread runs like a bullet train!

Seems like today's topic is on baby carriers. Is the Ergo carrir better than Baby Bjorn? My HB saw the latter n was rather excited to get it.

Jeregiam - I also dunno if I have felt my bb move leh. I get twinges now n then, but dunno if its the bb. Am wk 15+.

mousebb &amp; other mommies - what is the bb kicking sensation like? Can share so we can 'look out' for it?? I seem to get more 'movt' or twinges when there is loud sounds / music. Is that the bb???

Good afternoon ladies! How was ur lunch?
Hoho...lost in space again, so many posts! So the hot topics today are on BF and carrier? Wow, so many different kind of pumps and carrier, really headache for us to decide ho...

Btw, I just called TMC this morning to book for Antenatal course. The weekend afternoon class of Mrs. Wong are fully booked for Jun, the earliest one will be on 26 Jul. But the gal prefer me to start in Jun, she scared if I miss any class, will be too late to attend the make-up one. Finally she manage to squeeze me in in 21 Jun class, but the timing is not too good, 7-9pm. But what to do, since everybody recommeded Mrs. Wong, I have no choice to take up the slot lo. Anyone will be in the same class as me?

mousebb,
Congrats! Glad to hear ur good news, can start shop for bb's stuff liao!

Whitepaper,
Early bird! Hee...sorry to check with u, is the promotion still on for clarins tonic oil?

Trace,
Me too...hope to know my bb's gender this Sat. We shud start psyco out bb now! Hee...

bbgoh,
I try not to put EBM on our room temperature although some sources say it can put outside of fridge for as long as 4hrs. Our weather here is hot and humid so I'll put the EBM in fridge if bb is not taking it within half hour.

lili,

Medela Single is totally as waste of $, very rough, like mowing grass, like mousebb said, nipple bleeds with that.
Medela Mini Electric Breast Pump (dual) is also not good, its like 2x single (not cheap too, close to $200). I think it just double of medela single, they didnt change the motor or suction design, so if dun wanna get a PIS, the next best alternative is really the Ameda pump (reasonable price $300+ too)

Pinny,
Is the ergo carrier able to use from NB onwards, or need to wait till bb neck stiff enuff?
btw, do u hv a Dec05 bb, I felt I've chat with you before in dec05 thread.

dimpletot,
I'm a hakka

Littlebluey,
It take a lot of efforts to build up supply. So you must make sure you r very determine to breastfeed your bb, and willing to latch round the clock, or pump every 2hr-3hrly in first few weeks ...then you will eventually have your supply built, and more worth to get a good pump. Some of my frens are not willing to do these, so no point get a good pump, just a manual one in case too engorge.

If you can do latching very well, again dun need pump till when you intend to start work, cos direct latch give bb's freshest milk, and easy life for everyone, no washing/sterilising of pump and bottles. But some bb dun like to latch though.

Trace - dun let yr colleagues' laughter make u feel bad. I also feel horrible when I look at myself in the mirror cos no more waist... just remind yrself that you R pregnant... we will regain our shape and grace after delivery
Control yr food intake.

I also walk damn slow now...

forest, ya. 4 yr old.

i missed baby's hipcups! i love it when my elder one had her hipcup. the feeling is so funny.

Trace- yellow means got some vaginal infection. tell yr doc and he might prescribe you some antibiotics or insert some antibiotics...u can take cranberry juice and keep yrself clean and keep changing yr panty liner

TraCe,
haha.. i think we must look at it in another way.. i always stare at myself in the mirror.. and then looking at the tummy.. i imagine bb behind my skin.. and tat will put a smile on the face.. hahahaha.. i will also bug my hubby abt whether i can go back to my shape after birth... hehe.. guess, we will just have to be more determined to work our bodies back into shape.. and for now, just enjoy the process and watch bb grow.. hahaha..

although i must say.. really have to be careful abt how we walk.. it was still raining just now, and some floors are quite slippery.. i had to grab my coll's hand!!!

Littlebluey,
ya ya!! aching.. and sometimes, the pressure the bulge gives on my chest is really uncomfortable.. so either i go for a walk or just lie back for 3mins.. then sit back up again.. hahhaa..

Ruffles,
initially, the bb movements will feel like bubbles or ripples... cos' its not so strong yet.. i think few weeks later, we'll begin to feel real hard kicking soon.. hahaha.. as per what my experienced frens told me!! hahaha

Ruffles
is it? but my discharges always a bit yellow de leh, from b4 preg till nw always like tat. if wipe by tissue is like milk lotion, not so yellow also not white

Baby movement:
more like Butterfly flying passby you, bubbles bursting
During my last visit, my gynae mentioned, you may not feel it till after 5mth.

lili,
I think it's call Ameda Lactaline. This brand should only have 1 type of pump the double electric. unlike the Medela have so many choices.

mousebb,
congrats on the good news!..I'm still waiting for my full report result.

Do you take care of no. 1 urself now? Do you feel more tired and diff to cope since you r preggie now? Reason being I'm taking some break next mth onwards, and I'll be taking care of my no. 1 myself..I actually felt tired more easily and a lot of time already dozz off before he sleeps..hehe.

How about when no. 2 out? Would you get some help eg maid ? Or gonna take care of both on your own after confinement? I'm also thinking to take few mth off to take care of both after maternity leace, just dunno will I turn crazy. hehe.

Ruffles,
is yellow really infection? i think even before birth.. my discharge has always been a little yellowish one... :S

Seems like most of ur tummy quite big n obvious....me at 16wks+ but tummy still looks more fat than preg leh...I still can walk quite fast...that's when I dun feel any pulls n tugs at my lower abdomen...

mousebb,
congrats on results!

dimpletot
i'm hakka but don't know how to speak &amp; understand.

weoseek
thanks for the info.

<font color="0000ff">Weoseek,

Thanks for your advice, really muz think and plan properly!

Trace,

Does your yellow discharge smell? Is there any itchness, if so might be yeast/fungal infection...</font>