(2008/10) Oct 2008

Will u all be buying auto or manual breast pump? I am wondering since i cant express at work, then do i leave the set at my mum plc or at my own plc?

Hi those mummies having gals, yours will be the roses among the thorns! Kekeke...

Forest: I hope to BF for at least one year also! But will need lotas of perseverance!

Rachel's Mummy,
no mood to work, so furiously posting lor.. hahaha.. today's activity really high in our thread!! hahaha

beary,
all our meeting rooms are glass walled... :S sigh, guess i really need to rack my brains n then ask for permission to do it somewhere!!!

everafter,
i will def be getting electric.. heard from too many ppl that manual is very tiring.. i think with the work, and bb care we have to do... we shd get the electric ones to save energy.. where to leave it depends on where u intend to express??

storeberry,
ya ya!! def need lots of perseverance..... but now im quite adamant abt it.. and must find a place to express milk leh!!! hahahaha...

<font face="tahoma"> yes manual pump is really very tiring... hands will break! especially when i'm exclusively pumping.

i bought a dual electric one... am using Ameda. served me well so far.

not easy to breastfeed for long. really need alot of determination and perseverance! dont worry... for the sake of our babies, i believe we can make it!</font>

<font color="ff0000">everafter</font>, i will be using my medela electrical single pump for my 2nd one. used tat during my 1st.

<font color="0077aa">forest</font>, kekeke....

<font color="0000ff">Beary,

I zz ard 11 pm every night after my drama, DH every morning have to coax and drag before he cld get me out of bed! hahahaha

Everafter,

If can express at workplace, won't your boobs be very engorged?? me abit ignorant but if dun express, wldn't it be painful?</font>

forest, im thinking of getting electric one as well. The prob is if i dun bring my baby home when my hubby is on night shift, then i will express at home. Other than that, i will express at my mum's plc! Dun tell me i hv to buy 2 sets meh?!? Otherwise i hv to carry the pump everyday to work so that aft work can go my mum hse n express??

Littlebluey, i'm also stuck to the tv every night till 11pm :p wat shows u watching? i alternate btw cable TV and channel U.

There is no way i can express at work. So far none of my colleagues did that leh..wats more now got 4 preg ladies in my dept. Cant imagine if all of us go one by one to express milk! haha..

i also facing same problem.. my office dun have nursing room even pantry also is open de.. so no space for me to express milk, the only one is toilet loh sigh..
so if able to look after bb till 3mth old maybe ll stop BF after work bah, and since bb ll put in infant ctr also dun thk they ll do re-freeze milk for them.

I m gng to get a Ameda dual electric one to save time &amp; want to get a to-go fridge to transport the milk. I m lucky too, my co. has 2 nursing rooms.

Everafter, if u gng to BF, must express every like 3 hrs leh, if not, u may get block ducts which is vy painful &amp; milk supply will also drop. So of course, we need to bring the pump with us to work loh. Vy ma fen but no choice loh.

Hi to all Oct mummies....i have been following ur thread for some time now... I m also an Oct mummy - EDD is supposed to be 17 Oct but will be doing C section so shld be early Oct now....

Need a favor from Chris or any of the mummies who got the list of baby things to get, pls email me the list as I am a 1st time mum and very blur. My email is [email protected]

Thanks v much

P/s: repost... today alot of mails..so maybe mine is "lost in space"
-

Littlebluey, everafter,
i also zzz after 11pm.. after watching kang xi.. :p

everafter,
u mentioned ur hubby is on night shift for 1 week, and then day shift for the next week? how abt transporting the pumps at the beginning of the week and leaving it at ur parents plc? i.e. if u can express once a day lah.. but so far, i heard is need to express few times leh...

JJmom,
u r so lucky!! 2 nursing rooms!!! sigh, any1's co. near to my office?? i would like to "gate-crash"!!!!!!!

<font face="tahoma"> everafter,
Ameda is ONLY half the price of Medela PIS! that's why I bought Ameda instead
Medela PIS is the most exp pump so far... but those using it, are all singing praises!!!! Must be very good!

Ameda costs abt S$350 if i remembered correctly.</font>

The thread moves so fast ler! This morning weight gain topic, now is bf topic liao. Sorry if I missed replying any message for me cos I no time to scroll back.
When I got time then I read back the thread again.

Breastfeeding, ya it is really not easy to bf for long. I'm those type who have very little milk. I took 6 weeks to establish supply and in the end I did managed to bf my gal for 1 year. I fully using EBM cos my impatient gal don't latch.

I dont hv any nursing rooms in office also. My office here all opened concepts. I got to go to training rooms at HR office to express. It is subjected to their availability. Very difficult for me (sometimes got to see people's face colour), but I just tahan for the sake of my gal lor.

So mummies who wish to bf, just perserve. Am sure you can make it!

Ya, I agreed with Ms Piggy. Don't get manual pump. Very tiring. I gave up after 2 days and got myself the Medela PIS pump. It is my best investment I could say. Now can still use for my #2.
Praying hard that this time I won't have such a tough time getting my supply liao.

forest
haha so funnie.. gatecrash with bringing ur Breastpump huh lol
must squeeze out our brain to thk a plc for express le, my working table is in a small room with door queit private, the bad thing is i face to my boss room with a big glass wall -_-"
if got a curtain then so nice

Medela PIS, ya it is very expensive. I bought close to $700 I think. But it is a really good pump. Very comfortable and easy to use. I strongly believed that without it, I can't bf for 1 yr with my supply. Those mummies who are determined to bf and esp those intend to have another kid can consider lar

Ameda pump is also getting a lot of good feedback. And ya, the price is 1/2 of Medela PIS.

<font face="tahoma"> hi-five jasminetea!

i also exclusively using EBM! agree it's very tiring in the beginning but once get used to the routine. it's alright and plus seeing our babies benefit... very happy!

yes agreed with jasminetea... just perserve and you will sure succeed!!! dont bother parents/ILs nagging saying not enough to feed hungry babies blah blah blah :p</font>

Forest, i watched kang xi too! gd entertainment and makes me laugh!
mm...i think i only will have prob when my hubby is on night shift. Cos i will want to express in the morn at hm b4 goin to work, but meaning i hv to bring to work so that can express at night at my mum plc lor..haiz..for the sake of baby, bohbian

my frd did it in those handicapped toilet coz no one using it's very clean. maybe you can start to check out any other places, like meeting rooms etc.

after i started working, i pumped every 6 hourly. hence pumped before going to work, then once during lunchtime then rushed home to pump again. </font>

My sis &amp; 2 of her sis-in-laws, all using Medela dual electric so I just follow bah. Don't wanna waste my time searching high &amp; low...

At 1st, I m gng to borrow from my sis loh but she juz found out today tat she is 5 week preggie too

Mspiggy, the toilets here at my workplc is horrible! cant express there lor...our meeting rooms also limited...so cant use also..so i can only express in morn and at night

Hi MTB,

<font color="ff0000">Sorry to barge in. I have a BN Similac MUM 700g for sale, collection @ AMK, expiry 2009.</font>

Pls PM me if keen. Thanks

i see.. then you gotta "train" to endure so such long hours. you will feel engorged and might "leak" abit in the beginning. just bring enough breastpads

Wow, congrats to JJMom sister! Wished my sister will strike soon too! She's been trying for a yr+ liao and at 1st i still wanna "wait" for her to strike 1st, cos dun wan my kids to b older than hers..

<font color="0000ff">Everafter,

I watched the 10 pm drama on Channel U leh hahaha I hardly got time to watch TV so never subscribe to cable...

Head the Ameda one is gd, it's is cheaper and Medela PIS which cost ard $700+ whereas the former cost ard $350 (last seen at the Robinson members sales

Maybe have a "Q" system so that everyone can take turn to express milk?</font>

Everafter, even if u pump b4 going to work. U will then have to pump at least once during lunch de.
Don't think your breasts can tahan the long hrs, ouch vy painful de wor...muhahaha
Like what mspiggy said, my sis also did the same. Pump b4 gng to work, pump again after lunch, rush home to pump during abt dinner...

LittleBluey, i'm more tv-addict. I will record Ch U 10pm show while i watch cable tv at the same time. :p sometimes if cant fall aslp, then can watch the show immediately aft the cable tv show. No choice lah, gotta find my own entertainment cos hubby on night shift im very bored!!

JJMom, really no way for me to express during lunch time leh...all the meeting rooms hv glass window panels also! mm....will check how is my fellow colleagues dealing with it.

i think offices shld have at least a small nursing room for mummies.. if not all the poor mummies reallie have a big headache

btw, i had bought a avent sterlizer with the bottles few weeks back.. does tat mean i have to get the same brand of pump? had anyone use avent electric or manual pump b4? i think it cost 200 to 300? pls enlightened me... i noe nuts abt breastfeeding
just noe i want to bf, but dunno how to go abt! haha

i can imagine next time i go to work, sure carry big and small bags

<font face="tahoma"> hi beary,
not necessary... avent sterilizer can put in other brands of pumps. am using avent too.

ya lor... my colleagues always tease that i carry a "camera bag" to work everyday! :p</font>

beary, u don't have to really get the same brand of pump but make sure u can fit every parts of your pump into the sterlizer at 1 go loh.

Heard avent sterlizer is a little smaller than pigeon.

now SCV nothing much on tv leh. only chasing the 8pm show.

i have not been watching ch 8 &amp; ch U drama for very long liao.

beary
as wat i noe if u get avent bottles then u have to get avent pump. for sterlizer can use for any brand.
my sil ll give me the electric avent pump, she said dun use the manual ll be very tired &amp; also easy to spoil.
how much u buy the avent sterlizer with bottles?

everafter,
If really you could only express morning and nite, is quite diff to maintain the supply..In about 1 or 2 mth the supply will be gone. Unless you dun mind pump in toilet and discard the milk during office hour, then maybe can last longer. If work in town, can consider shopping center's baby room.

To maintain the supply, need to pump 2x during office hr at least.

Someone ask about how to defreeze the frozen milk..(sorry thread too long confusing..hehe)

Bring the frozen milk to fridge compartment(the chiller, not freezer) the night before or the day before. ie If you wanna use the frozen milk in morning, u bring down the frozen milk the nite be4, for evening, and vice versa.

after pump, how long can keep the milk if not put in fridge? if let say for next feeding timing then just warm up, is it possible?