(2008/10) Oct 2008

Hi Ribenali!

Long time no see and hear! Guess what? Dr. Ong said that I am most likely to have a BB Girl too!!!! And like you, one of my ILs is not entirely too pleased about it. Was annoyed with it over a day but as I always prefer girls and really, to me, us being preggas in the first place is already such a gift from God 'cos so many other ppl I know are having probs conceiving. So, I cannot be bothered about it too.

Now that the news has sank in that I am having a little princess, I giggle sometimes with glee 'cos am quite excited - buying the girlish stuff, doing the girlish things together, etc. Heh...

Hmmm... In my search for a CL, I called up several of them and actually took down notes. Can you PM me so that I have your email addy and can email you what my thoughts are on them? I think I called like 4 - 5 or so. Not sure if they are taken up now though. Good luck in your search!

Morning all Mummies,
hope you had enjoyable day on Mother's day!

Hi Ribenali
I also experienced that when i told my MIl that Not confirmed, only "likely". She said "likely a boy?" I replied, "no, i didn't say that, just likely, not confirm yet".

Don't bother whether if ILs preference, so long as what we feel & like. It's God's gift, what is more joyful to know that we are pregnant. I don't bother at all, if ILs don't like, i wont' bring my bb over to them home so often... haha.

<font color="0000ff">Gd Morning Ladies

It's the Monday blues again -_-""

Ribena/Buffy,

Congrats on having a gal!!
Can buy those sweet girlish stuff so nice!! Dun be too bothered abt the in-laws lar am sure when their grand-daughter is born, they will love them the same nevertheless!

Ribena,

How much is your CL charging you for not staying overnight??</font>

Anyone taking up any yoga classes?? I've been feeling so breathless by jus climbing a few flight of stairs..thought its a gd time i do some proper exercise.

Good morning mummies!!!

keep placenta!! omg.. thats the first time i heard of it lehhhh... what are the actual benefits, and are you mummies going for it???

Ribena/Buffy,
congrats on having a princess!!!

Littlebluey,
really monday blues! dont feel like coming to work at all today!!

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

Me too!! But no choice leh...hmmm...wat to do!

Btw, ytd I was reading tis article from a Chinese Mother and Baby magazine which says that normally first born will look like the father...any truth esp those who have had their first child ard??</font>

Good morning Mummies,

Ribena/Buffy, Congrats on your baby girl!
Ya, like the rest, I agreed. Don't have to bother about ur in-laws comments about boys or girls. My in-laws also wanted boy and I knew if my #2 is another girl (I haven't know the gender yet), they sure will ask me to have #3. I already told my hb if they said that, I will not hesitiate to show black face.
Boys or girls are still our precious babies.

My hb just bought the tonics for me from Fu Hua last night. Heee... He will also be cooking them for me. We also bought ginseng, pao sheng and bird's nest. Will alternate take them weekly from this weekend.

Cheers~

<font color="ff6000">me too... dun feel like coming to work...

my aunty bought me EYS bird's nest with pearl powder and collagen... so sweet of her.

buffy, what questions do you ask when you call a CL? I'm thinking of only considering those that my friends/ relatives personally recommend cos they had good experiences. But think i should still ask a few questions... </font>

jasminetea,
wat kind of tonic u bot from fuhua? is the mixed in packet one? so envy ur DH noe cook for u.

mine also same as JJmom even maggie mee also dunno how to cook

everafter,
i also feel breathless quite often lately... did think of taking up yoga, but will only go for 1 if its convenient for me...

Littlebluey,
hmmm.. not sure if its real, but my niece def looks like my brother more than my sis in law..

wow.. looks like all u mummies are making all the tonics already... i havent started really, except for making the weekly tonics that my sinseh gave me.. think the ingredients are quite basic... hehehe...

jasminetea,
u r really lucky.. my hubby also cannot cook one.. the best food he ever cook for me is maggi mee..

everafter,
the antenatal yoga should be less strenuous than the regular ones, i presume..

Morning ladies:

Forest/Littlebluey/jasminetea: Heh, thanks for the kind words. I am those quick temper one lah, once I let go liao, am OK. So at the momment, am not too bothered about whether they like or not. Most importantly, BB healthy and normal can liao. Was so stressed up with the Triple tests and NT scan and all...

everafter: you did yoga before? I am currently attending pre-ntal yoga classes at Pure Yoga 'cos am a member there and I alternate with the normal classes (but of course, will highlight am expecting). But I have been doing Yoga for over 1.5 years and was doing the more physical classes hence I could continue on like that. If you are new, better start slow...

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

Actually, the older folks were saying that it's best to take tonics during the 5th mth onwards whereby the bb will start absorbing, but I think even start early oso nvm..

I look at some of my frens who popped recently and realised that indeed their child resemble more to their father! So I guess there's some link to it Hee Hee...</font>

Hope that everyone had a nice Mother's Day.

Isetan is having a sale on Thursday. So all those who know their bb's gender can take the day off to go shopping... haha! My gynae's appt is on Wed so hopefully will know the gender on that day then Thurs can shop. Heehee!

Forest, I also thinking of gng to TCM to c if my doc will give me any tonic to 'bu' but wonder is it still early for it, I m now only 14week.

buffy, i tried a few yoga classes..in fact should be hot yoga and some of it i feel dizzy! dunno izit too hungry liao :p but right now, walkin also make me breathless, wonder if i can make it for yoga class or not..

forest, at least your DH can still cook maggie mee for u, how I wish mine can too coz sometime, can ask him to cook when i m lazy/tired.

The best food from my DH is those fried bread coated with egg (only once thru out our 14 yrs together)

jjmom
haha once in 14yr ehmm thk u forgot the taste le bah
my DH only noe to spread kaya/butter on bread for my supper loh

Ribena/Buffy
Congrats on your baby girl

Littlebluey
My boy is the photocopy of my hubby. Everybody who sees him (even strangers) also said he looks like daddy! I remember while I was still in the OT after my c-sect, the first sentence which came from my gynae was "baby looks like daddy!". Can only hope that the ger ger would look like mummy this round. However, my 'proud' hubby kept telling me, his gene is very strong, so most likely ger ger would also look like daddy! Haiz.....

forest/jasminetea/JJmom
During my last pregnancy and bcos it was our first kid, hubby was very gan chiong and would prepare bird nest for me from 5th months onwards, but this round, he is totally quiet leh. Must hint hint him already! Must tell him since this round is a ger ger and if he wants the baby to look pretty, then must bu mummy first! Hahahaha....

bbgoh
kaya/butter on bread is still better than nothing mah. On some nights when I told hubby I was hungry, the answer given by him was "go eat some tibits"! *faint*!

Littlebluey,
i suppose u r right.. cos my sinseh did told me to start taking birds nest from 5th mth onwards... hehehe... but as u know, i am not taking alot of supplements either.. so, sometimes really wonder if my bb is getting enough nutrients or not...

JJmom,
i think if u have a regular TCM.. u can visit them already... i start taking some mild tonics when i was at my 8weeks.. during my last visit.. my sinseh told me tat the tonic does help in alleviating MS as well... so long as its not anything strong, it is still OK to take..

lili,
think my niece character is more similar to her mum though...

but ur DH can make these kinda bread, whereas my hubby cant mah.. his specialty is maggi mee only! hahaa..

lili
My son looks like his daddy but I notice his characters is more like me leh...I'm very quick-tempered and so is my son. When I first started to breastfeed him, my bm was very miserable and he was unable to suck anything from the breast. In the end, he chose to go on a hunger strike and the nurse have to bottle-feed him with FM. Recently, I put him on porridge and as usual, I have to feed him fast fast otherwise he would start to cry non-stop and refuse to continue to eat some more. I bo bian so have to give him milk again.

<font color="0000ff">Bbgoh,

My mum was mentioning it the other day, she said it's supposed to remove the heatiness and toxins from the body and that of the baby, heard that it can be taken from 5th month onwards as well...or if not, around 7th month or so

all mummies
i heard from my mum said that i will have to stop taking tonic when am 7th mth, else bb will be too big. anyone hear this advise from your mum?

<font color="0000ff">Mousebb,

Your DH so cute, ask you to eat tidbits?! hahahaha...my DH said will ask me if I'm hungry, if so, and there's nothing to eat at home, he will ask me what I want to eat and drive out to tabao for me
but luckily *so far so gd* I hardly take supper or no cravings as yet!!

Forest,

Dun worry too much, although it might seems that you are not taking enuf nutrients but the fact is bb is growing very well!

Lili,

Think my mum oso said something like tis before, she said I shd refrain from too heaty food and drink more coconut water from 7th mths onwards so that the bb complexion will be nice when born.</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+2">Happy belated mothers day to all mummies and mummies-to-be!</font></font>

i heard also tat its the best time taking tonic during 5th to 7th mth after tat then must control diet le. and 5th to 7th is the best for baby absorp this nutrition loh

JJmon2008/BBgoh/Forest, my hb happens to like to cook lar. So he cooks, I got to wash &amp; mop the floor ler. Haaa.. so don't envy me huh. Got pros and cons also.

Bbgoh, I didn't buy those mixed packet one. I bought ginseng, pao sheng and bird's nest. Hb will cook them with pork, black chicken, red dates etc.

Lili_fc Ya, the best time to take tonic is 5 to 7 mths. I also stopped at 7 mths. Will be taking cocount juice from week 34 or so. 1 week 1.

Mousebb, ya ya. Must remind ur hb. Heee.. My hb this round also not as kan cheong as compared to my #1 pregnancy ler. 1st pregnancy, I'm a queen. 2nd pregnancy, my gal is the queen. :S Not much "attention" given to me. Hai!

Wowow.....all of your husband so good...

My husband ? i think i cook for him rather he cooks for me...bird nest ? wait long long....lor

He is now abit "dun care" liao...maybe is 2nd one. 1st one more kan chong but i still insist he must accompany me to all checkup.

When can we start to eat the bird nest ? i tot not suppose to start early ? i know coconut is one mth before and one or two per week.

jasminetea,
so ur hub noe wat to add in soup lah.. ehm better than me leh.. i really no idea wat to buy wat to add in with chicken loh

<font color="0000ff">Jasminetea,

U muz ask your DH not only to cook but to wash up as well! hahahaha

Jess,

Can start from 5th month onwards

littlebluey,
yah thanks. so far i got 2 recipe from u mummies le.. got time thk i ll make a trip to chinatown but some tonic bah
i m so funnie loh.. my mil is working at fuhua &amp; she got attend TMC class for 2yr de but i dun dare to ask her &amp; so far she also nvr cook any tonic for me. our hom fridge is full of those herb de loh sigh....

Bbgoh,

Yup yup. Agreed with Littlebluey.. When u went to buy your tonics, just ask the people at the Medical Hall. I think my hb also got some advices from them yesterday. But I wasn't able to listen much 'cos I was busy running after my active gal.

Littlebluey, haaa.. in our initial years of our marriage, I felt pai say to ask him to cook and wash lor. Esp when I, myself don't know how to cook well. Now washing up becomes my "task" liao. haaa..

jasminetea,
i have started to take tonic when i'm in 3mths since... haha.
you very cute lei... feeling pai sey to ask hubby to cook &amp; wash.. so "courteous"

for me, dating time already told him i'm hungry &amp; he will ask what i want to eat &amp; later wash up for me... heee i think i should be more "pai sey" than you. hoho

LittleAlmond
I remember my hubby added ren sheng into the bird nest but I didnt like the taste of ren sheng so asked him to add in lots of rock sugar to make it sweet sweet for me.

jasminetea/lili
I also dont know how to cook and we have been eating out for years since we married. Even throughout my 1st pregnancy and for this pregnancy also, we always eat out or tabao. Last week, my hubby told me (very direct hor!) that since I'm not working now I have to start learning cooking cos cannot let the kids eat out too often next time as it is not very healthy.

Mousebb,

I used 'pao sheng'... is it ok?

I dun know what other tonics to cook but must be easy to cook cos I cun cook.

Sometimes I will drink chicken of essence

Lili_fc, heeee.. I a bit regret to be "ke qi" with him. Now u see lar, I got to do all washing up myself haaaa.. :p

Mousebb, we also usually eat out before I had my gal. Now pregnant, we do try to eat at home as much as possible though not everyday.

I only knew how to cook for my gal, 'cos no need to add seasoning etc. Haaa.. my hb ever "complained" I'm being biased. Only learnt how to cook for my gal, never cook for him. :p But I really don't know how to estimate the seasoning lor. I tried to cook once and he declared he will be my chef better, so don't bother to learn also. :p

Little Almond, I got add red dates and some wolfberries into the bird's nest sometimes.