(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">Trace, Phtanus,

Am sure you will get to know your bb gender very soon! Talk to your bb few days before the next checkup, ask him/her to cooperate to let u know the gender so that you can start buying things for him/her hee hee....I took my fren's advise and took something "sweet" prior to the checkup, and guess what bb was very active moving about during the checkup that the gynae cld hardly take his measurements lolx ;p</font>

Littlebluey,

this is yr first child?

Phtanus,

My bb was sitting upside down the last time i scanned. So cute! doing headstand with legs at 90 degrees angle. Legs were horizontally parallel against roof of uterus. But they were spaced a bit apart so Doc Wong could see the empty space between....

Trace
thanks for ur advise, i ll remember

really got a lot of thg to take note during pregnancy huh.. so mum is the best
Happy mother days to all of u &amp; me

Trace,
Mine is not confirm yet. Gynae said "likely" a girl. To me, gender not important, so long healthy. Just that with gender, we will know what to buy for bb &amp; can talk to bb...

whitepaper, my birthday is one day after you! Keke..

JJmom: I think its one of the shops, I am not sure also..

Lili_fc: yah sometimes I also feel bb pressing on me.. That's normal..

me too waiting to confrim the gender...

Dr adrain onli say look boyish..

think he is waiting for detail scan next sat to confirm..

TraCe, Littlebluey,
ya... i tend to forget esp. when getting off the chair or bed.. :p will take extra care... thanks!

TraCe,
I'm using a small pillow under my tummy whenever i sleep on my side.. otherwise, i cant fall asleep.. i find that it helps.. u shd try urs out and see if it helps!

Phantus,
hehe.. i havent really started, but that day took 1 bottle of those ready ones... will start to boil my own when i reach 5th mth.. kekeke..

whitepaper,
oohhh.. mothercare definitely not cheap!

bbgoh,
ooohh... didnt know that we will get such pains like that... if its normal then ok, but if u get pains again, better to call gynae too!

mint,
i also get leg cramps.. btw, can try to take more bananas... my gynae recommended me to add bananas to my diet instead of taking calcium pills.. but i still bot the pills... though have only taken 2 pills so far..

TraCe, Phantus,
i have to wait even longer. my next appointment is 31st May ah.....

<font color="0000ff">Trace,

Currently, am into my 16 wks
Bb was moving so much ytd, that my gynae cld not get a right measurement of him lolx ;p notti boy! But my gynae did say he's grow well and is big...

Dimpletot,

Yes, tis is my 1st child
heehee...wat abt you?

Bbgoh,

Tis morning I heard 93.3 was playing "Shi Shang Zhi You Ma Ma Hao" felt so emotional ;p

Lili,

U have to soak the bird nest first abt one - two hours or so, depend on the type/quality you get. After you clean and rinsed it, put into a slow cooker together with 1.5-2 rice bowls of water if for 1 pc. Let it simmer and cook for about 1-2 hrs or so, if you like, u can add "ginseng - pao seng" to it to "ti shen" else juz add rock sugar/honey to taste.

There are different types of bird nest in the mkt, there're some which resembles like "agar agar strips" and appear to be quite thick and whitish, some of those are the remains of those bird nest pieces which they "stick" together...Those are the cheaper ones think u can get it ard $99 - $120 per tael. Normally, my mum would prefer to buy the "Dong Yen" which they appear to be thicker in consitutency and slightly yellowish (resemble like a bowl) which wld cost abt $180++ and above per tael (current price). Normally u wld get a better discount, if you buy more taels
If u interested, I will check with my mum again regarding which particular type she buy and which shop she get it from at Chinatown Point/Waterloo Street

Yes, i would feel it too like the bb is pressing very low and I would tend to run to the toilet more often!</font>

Dimpletot,
Your bb so cute!!!

Lili_fc,

Storeberry,
So qiao!

JJmom,
Really thanks for concern, me kan jiong too. Will update you mommies ASAP.

Littlebluey,
yaya.. my gynae is those who goes au naturelle kind.. hehehe...

abt the bird's nest.. u have to put into a "dun zhong" first, then place the "dun zhong" into the slow cooker??? or u just put the bird's nest in the slow cooker.. my mum told me can put into "dun zhong"...

Little bluey,

my first also...

I think i just felt bb move... like something going blip blip inside. hee. wondering if bb is shifting position or just kicking as exercise.

<font color="0000ff">Lili,

Most welcome ^_^

Normally it's "pao sheng" ginseng is the general terms hahaha lolx sorry for the confusion!

Forest,

If you putting it into slow cooker, not necessary to put in the "du zhong" unless u are brewing it over the stove. My mum bought the "zi sha" pot and brew the bird nest in them

Haven't had chance to drink birdnest ... who taken liao?

I had "dong zhong chong" once/ twice a month with black chicken when i go mum's place

lili,

Tat's my headache now loh, totally clueless abt which milk bottle to get. Have been looking ard but I blur blur 1st time mtb, cannot c the different wor...jialat 1.

Think the commonly use avent milk bottle is not BPA Free but not sure, do u know?

I heard Pigeon PES is BPA Free &amp; helps prevent colic but I can't seems to find it lei...

jjmom
i also heard avent very well known lei... i went to TAKA the other day, saw the Avent adv have prevent colic lei

Up to individual preference, "red dates" can help to "bu xue" oso but the downside is it might be abit heaty!

Normally, my IL and mum will only add just the "pao sheng"

Cordyceps is good esp with black chicken very "bu", bird nest oso cannot take too much else later bb will have a weak constitution although it's beneficial of the complexion and skin...</font>

littlebluey
i heard birdnest will be cooling effect , is it?

i went to chinese medical shop, the sales advise 1 week eat Cordyceps and 1 week take birdnest.

hmmm this week, likely make Cordyceps... maybe can get mum to do cos' MIL do liao the taste so funny

Indeed, Bird nest is slightly cooling
that's why cannot take too much, in moderation will do ^_^

Cordyceps is gd! Very expensive herbs of all but the effect is gd....</font>

Cordyceps cost $50+ in a string pack (i heard from mum) But inlaw said buy 1pc cost $10, saying that's a good grade. Not sure true or not.

Recipe:
Put "Cordyceps" in bowl for 1/2 hr to boil,
Put Black chicken + Pong seng to boil for 1/2 - 1 hr, then can consume.
Correct me if wrong... haha

hello all mummies,

how's lunchie? i juz came back from 2 hrs lunch..hoho..had carbonara pasta at coffee club, goody!

wow... littlebluey, u seem v v knowledgeable in herbs leh...

lili,
dun zhong is those.. white looking ceramic bowls for cooking such birds nest or soup... hmm.. dunno how else to describe.. :p

Thanks ladies for all ur advise on birdnest! Btw, can we take hashima (xue ge) huh?

Trace,
Hope we can share the bb's gender here by next week! Ya, wanna to buy things for bb during GSS and also think of a name for him/her!

Littlebluey,
Thanks for sharing the tips, maybe will take a sweet b4 going for my appointment. Ya, I heard the song too, suddenly miss my mum so much! Btw, my fren also recommended "dong yan" lay! Hee...

Dimpletot,
Ur bb soooooo cute! haha....

lili_fc,
Think i have the same problem too, need to go toilet every hour. Haha...sometime really "ma fan" when we go out, i cant stand those dirty and smelly toilet lo!
My MIL also home-made chicken essense+cordyceps for me 2 weeks ago, she said is very good for us. She has taught me how to cook, will try myself tomorrow, but very tedious, have to double boil for 4 hrs!

Forest,
Yes, bottle one more convenient, but think brew one better right? I also plan to start around 5th month, but we can stock up some during this period ma, heard that some medical hall having promotion for mother's day lay! Yes, hope we can know bb's gender by next visit!

bbgoh,
sorry, is "pao sheng".

forest
O i think i know what's that liao... is for boil tonic use one.

Phtanus
cordyceps w black chicken very nice one...

I had durian last weekend, yummy.

what you think? i heard if feature of bb like dad, character of bb will be like mum. What you thinK? agreed?

Phtanus
i heard hashima (xue ge) is cooling too, so they add red dates into it to tune it. But, hashima is very "dirty" one, i heard.

<font color="0000ff">Regarding Cordyceps, am not sure about the price of the individual pcs, becos normally when my mum buys, she buy them in few hundred grams and each time the purchase will exceed over a thousand, I only know it's an expensive herb and I always tell my mum pay so much just for this worm?? hmmm ;p

Trace,

Wah such a fulfilling lunch!!!

Forest,

Ok ok only lar, becos my parents quite into such herbs so occasionally will learn from it here and there hahahaha

Phtanus,

Just a word of advice, "Xue Ge" is more cooling than bird nest, so if want to take just in moderation

<font color="0000ff">RED DATES,

To add on, buying those seedless ones will not cause so much heatiness and the smaller the better

mousebb/whitepaper,
thanks, today i went back to see gynae again..and he assured me i could carry my no. 1 liao..He even jokingly say he did a good job on amnio, not scary and painless..

I took the fast test, so got the result on the 3rd day, everything is normal..now waiting for full report.

Whitepaper, no worries, yours will be good too, All the best!

lili,
my ILs side all think my no. 1 look like my BIL(my hb bro)..he only had my chin.
He have character in between hb and me, very interesting.

phtanus,
ya.. brew one is definitely better!! but cos i have some leftover bottled ones.. will finish them first before i start brewing.. hehehe...

lili,
yayaya... boil tonic one.. hehehe..

littlebluey,
u definitely know much more than me.. although my mum knows.. but i cld never make out what is what.. :p :p

weoseek,
good to hear that your results tests are good!!

Weoseek:
congrats on the gd news!

bird nest:
I been taking abt once a week so far, although I would rather take less, but my mum buys bottled ones for me, then my mil brews for me too. So I have to take from both sides to be "fair"

My mum says its ok to take since I been taking black chicken, so the bird nest is to reduce the heatiness.

baby movt:
I think I am beginning to feel my boy kicking! But during scans he always just lay still, maybe I shall eat a sweet next time. But it shouldn't affect the urine strip test rite?

blood count/haemoglobin level:
Any mummy got a low or borderline bloodcount like me? The nurse says I have a risk of anaemic later on in pregnancy.

<font color="0000ff">Wan Chuen,

If your clinic has alrd started to conduct urine test for you, then I wld not advise you to eat before the test, becos it can be detected!! Eat after your test is done ^_^</font>

sorry gers, i am a bit lost..are you gers tallking abt chicken essence? u mean we can drink dat nw?

my mum got brew something for me..but dunno wads dat..anyway its nice..

u gers' MIL so good, still brew this n dat for u...my MIL cant b bothered..still said she wanna do confinement for me..if depend on her to brew tonics for me..i thnk i will have to wait for a long time manz!