(2008/10) Oct 2008

dimpletot
I'm using capella stoller for my son. We bought it at JohnLittle last year during GSS. Original price was $300++ but bought it at $220++ during sales. Quite happy with it cos not too bulky. Oh yah.. Capella have different models. Another model which is even lighter is only at $119++ (if I remember correctly) when you get during the sales.

mousebb
can share ur capella stroller mode or any code number? as i really have no idea to get it. i also prefer those can switch the facing de

dimpletot,
the one im viewing is going at $299... during the recent john little sale, its on 20% rebate, i.e. 20% off the stroller price and they'll give u the 20% rebate in john little vouchers for use in ur next purchase... im hoping that its a much better deal during GSS and i'll grab it.. kekeke...

mousebb,
good to hear that u have good exp with capella...

im so tired today.. woke up today at 4am.. and cldnt sleep after that... sigh... 6pm faster come!!!

lili
Not likely to go back to work for the next 5 years cos hubby wants me to spend time with my son esp when #2 is on the way now. He said the first five years are very important for children and hope I can be with them at all times. Maybe by then if he wants to 'chase' me to go work again, I think I would be too lazy liao, hahaha...

bbgoh
The stroller is in hubby's car. Let me check it out tonight and let you know, ok.

forest
Initially, hubby wanted to get a Quinny Stoller but I think we shouldn't spend so much on a stroller cos also scared bb doesnt want to sit in it and will be a waste then so that's why just get capella will do.

Forest and mousebb,

wah... that sounds good... thanks for the info.

Yesterday i called a CL reco by my cousin. but she booked up till Dec liao. haiz. i'd rather not have one if I can't be sure that she's strongly recommended by someone i know who had experience with that person. that CL tried to reco someone else but i don't feel comfy when that person called.

sigh... looks like got to ownself kao tim...

mousebb,
how's it like when not working & looking after bb? did you bring bb out often or stay at home?
My MIL would prefer me to work saying now still young have to work & can't afford to stay home to look after bb. /sigh...

mousebb,
i also think we shdnt get too exp strollers.. we also checked out quinny, and quite a few other brands.. but even just by looking at the sturdiness, functions, we like the capella better, cos of 4wheel drive.. and able to push it either facing bb or the other way round..

actually, i agree with ur hubby as well.. the first 5 yrs are the most impt with the kids.. would love to do it if i have the option too.. but as of now, still have to work lah...

lili and mousebb,

my OWN mother says i should continue working as long as i can. one reason is prob that i'll be able to keep up my contributions to my parents, another reason is that it's quite a waste to give up the financial security, from a woman's perspective. also might be harder to find job next time when bb is older, or might give up quite a lot of career progression/ pay might start much lower when i return to work force after a break.

if i stop working, we can survive on hubby's income (in fact we have been trying to budget spending as if we only have one income since marriage), but I'll just have a lot less savings and CPF for the future lor.

and that's not even considering whether i'll be bored out of my mind and start getting upset and moody being cooped at home doing housework etc.

haiz.

Think I have the most boring breakfast everyday, bread with peanut butter or bread with kaya.

mousebb,
My hubby likes the quinny stroller. But I think it will be too heavy for me to handle when I go out alone. When you go out alone, do you use the stroller?
Anyone getting the bb sling? Think will be useful when going out alone with the bb.

littlebluey,
I really have no idea how enthusiastic my MIL will be. But since they are not enthusiastic now, then I rather they remain like that even after the bb is born. Then I can just do things my own way.

JJmom2008,
I already give up hope that my PILs will show anymore interests. Haha. As you said, they not interested then cut them off bb info lor. Since they also never ask. Just find it strange.

All the maids stories are so scary. But I think some families really got no choice but to get a maid to look after kidos. And not all maids are so evil.

lili
Have been complaining to hubby that when I was working, I still have some personal time but as a full-time mummy, there's hardly time for myself. Difficult to bring my son out now esp when he is quite heavy and I'm expecting. Always go out in the evening when hubby come back and most of the time during weekend, we would go shopping.

Diane,
i dont have a picture.. but there arent many models with 4 wheel drive.. and double facing handle.. so, shdnt be difficult to find.. hope this helps!

pinkimum,

yup I'm thinking of getting a bb sling, prob from Mum's in Mind. they should have a booth at the Sing Expo fair.

dimpletot
At first was also very hesitate to quit my job but whenever I see my son fall sick very often at the infant care center, I also heartache so just gave in to my hubby's request to stay at home lor.

pinkimum
So far I have not go out with my son alone cos to carry his barang barang and the stroller will be too heavy for me. When my son was younger that time, I always used the baby sling to carry him. I enjoyed doing so and he liked it cos I like holding him close to me. He loves to sleep in the sling.

bbgoh
The stroller that I'm currently using for my boy is model S-321 or something similar to this model.

Hey mommies - It's a good idea to grab yr strollers during GSS. In fact it might be even cheaper to get frm stores like Robinsons during GSS. I bought my Graco traveller system from Robinsons for a v gd price. Includes stroller (for infant to 5 yo) and a handcarry traveller sys for bb. Can be installed into car or carry ard. You must go try all the brands and see which model works for you. For me, I must be able to handle the strolker ie. open it and close it easily when am all alone... in case hb not ard.

mousebb,

so wat it mean telescopic? wat function? how long have u use this capella brand stroller for?
but seem this one no reversible huh?

I bought a Graco stroller for my girl ($199) from Taka. I found not good. Kind of regret, shld buy Maclaren, i think it is a bit small for my girl now.

Like lili, I already have a hand-me-down from my neighbour & it is still looking gd. With reversible handle & 4 wheel drive which can turn 360 degree too so I m happy to juz made do with it

Would prefer 1 tat is light & can close it with 1 hand if I m buying 1 thou =P fussy...

bbgoh
Sorry. I dont know what does telescopic mean. Let me double confirm the model tonight. Has been using the current stroller since my son was born in last Aug. Not reversible leh.

Diane
No leh. Yap. If you have Robinsons cards, think you can get rebate when you buy from Robinsons or JL. More worth it. My bb cot and sterilisers also from JL.

I m waiting to buy the pigeon steriliser but JL din have the member discount on it the other day lei

Have to try again during some other sale liao...hear they have package sale.

dimpletot, I have a CL to recommend. She was recommended by an ex classmate but I already book with someone else. Can try her. Hopefully she's not booked yet. Mei Hao 94478873

lili, me also today tummy not feeling too good. Decided to see doc and take MC. Doc said it's due to my bloatedness and constipation. Sigh! Good also lah, stay home rest one day. heehee!

mousebb, I also told my hubby that I will want to be SAHM but he said can't afford me and my spending. Haha! Think maybe will do part time work or find something that can work from home kind.

diane, the stroller that you like looks good and practical.

I have friends who has to buy another bigger stroller when their bb is abt 1yr+ so size mayb a consider factor when buying too.

JJmom
heard tat pigeon steriliser is more cheaper than avent brand huh? my sil suggest me to get pigeon brand also leh, but i haven go & see the pricing yet.
if u noe where got sales plz let me noe huh
thanks le

Was thinking of the type of stroller which can be detached and used as a car seat as well. Saw the capella one but it doesn't come with reversible handles.

bbgoh, hear some bad review on avert brand & my sis used pigeon b4 so I juz settle on pigeon for ease =P

My sis said she bought hers in a package with free milk bottles at only $70+ at JL sale, now juz the steriliser itself cost abt $100+ (without sale) liao

<font face="tahoma"> hello ladies

re : stroller
i agreed with JJmom, we shd get a bigger and spacious one else after baby turns 1, it's very cramp and uncomfy for baby.

i bought Peg Prego for my son, he's still using it till now. the only con about this stroller is that it's rather heavy but very very sturdy. </font>

Yah ladies, let all share on sale of bb items lobang here

Next time, we must share on tips on caring for bb too

Just wondering whether anyone of you is interested in prenatal yoga at Bishan CC.

Hope to gather enough students before a class can start. Class size is 9-10 people. Please contact Rita, the yoga teacher if you would like to join or find out more. Her hp is 94872845. Cheers!

which JL stores more baby stuff to shop? thking of go causewaypoint but seem tat JL stuff queit limited

bbgoh, yah loh, JL moved to ex-OG building, the layout seems so much smaller. Mayb tat's y bb stuff like vy limited there liao

JJmom, I'm not sure about starting a class in other areas. Perhaps you give her a call to find out? Her fees are reasonable, cheaper than those in the market. So hopefully can gather enough people to join. Cheers!

mspiggy,

Thanks! There r so many brands of strollers n it's making me so confused...some r so ex n cost up to $1.8k! Any comments on Maclaren? See lots of angmos using it...

Diane, bbgoh,
the one im eyeing is quite similar to this one... not sure if its the exact same model though, cos from the pic, i cldnt tell if its exactly the same.. hehehe.. :p

i actually also considered the size of the stroller... and i find that capella is bigger sized than combi.. the combi ones seems smaller in my opinion..

bbgoh, JJmom,
I think JL at Marina Sq has quite a good range of bb products... quite a huge section... the one at causeway point is too small.. do check out M Sq!