(2008/10) Oct 2008

lili,
my part-time maid comes on Monday.. usually morning.. n she is v flexible... she'll normally work till she finishes her chores.. sometimes, 4 to 5 hours etc. paying her $10/hr... she's really nice, and does a wonderful job ironing... but she is going back to her hometown... *sob sob*...

she works weekends too, but is already packed with other households...

i would love to engage her as a stay in maid, cos after having her for a year, she's really reliable, and not those play play kind.. but timing not right, and i think for her standard, the rate for her should be on the high range for stay in maids... :S think i cant afford her lah...

Today's topic is on PILs ah. Don't start me on that. Hehe.

JJmom2008,
Your PILs sounds so familiar to me. After we just got married, my hubby's sister got preggie and MIL turned to us and told us to 'jia you'. My hubby is the only son too. So I thought now she would be very excited right. She never even bother to ask anything or call. Okie, not that I want also. We went back for dinner once (we seldom dine together since we are living overseas), she didn't even ask me how I feel or about the check-up or anything about the bb at all! And now, they are planning a holiday during oct/nov period and my edd is end Oct. Strange huh. Anyway, I got my confinement lady le. I just hope she doesn't start to interfere only when the bb is out.

For me, I have no choice and have to look after the bb myself. Hope I can cope alone. Kinda scary thinking about it.

<font color="0000ff">JJmom, Trace,

I oso think so wor! so scary I oso dunno wat my fren cousin thinking $2 buy wat fish? hahaha ;p

Forest,

Thanks! cannot zz too much later headache again aiyo! Ytd nite woke up half way becos head so pain then toss and turn for 1-2 hrs before zz again...tried napping earlier on but cannot get to zz although weather now very nice to zz..hahaha

Like you, I oso hate ironing, so my DH will do it for me hahahaha lolx ;p</font>

Inlaws:
Thank God that i'll be moving out else, i cant imagine at all.
Over the wkends, hubby's sister + BIL will be here to stay for a night, with 2 more dogs. I have a dog too so total 3 dogs. That's ok cos' we love dogs.
Just that, alot of towels &amp; clothings to wash on Sunday night... especially when raining days, really headache.
I already told hubby to bring our own clothings back to wash next time if we coming to stay over the weekends else MIL will be worst... no one help her.

forest, have just pm-ed you.

trace, having discharge is normal during preggers (according to the book "what to expect when you're expecting") It will also get more as bb gets bigger.

littlebluey, alamak! the maid is so terrible! That's why sometimes when we read newspapers about maids being abused, it's really when we hear of stories like these then we know why the person can go crazy and hit the maid. Although still wrong to hit the maid lah... I also heard of a story of a maid was so angry with the kid cos the kid always shout and very rude to her (learn from the mother), the maid tried to strangle the kid while bathing her. Luckily the grandma was around and heard the girl scream.

That's why I told hubby I dun want maid at all. Part time one to clean house good enough.

My MIL story long list... all start from wedding till now... sigh! just have to live with it. The less we meet the happier I am.

hmm..i m really curious with $2 can buy wad fish..haha..

Mint,

Thanks! tot i m too cooling inside me or wad..dats y so much discharge..

<font color="0000ff">Mint,

I agree with you, rather have a part time maid than a full time one u never know wat pattern they are up to wor!! Anyway, my DH not keen to have a stranger in the house oso, he said he rather do it himself!! hahaha...

Pinkimum,

Maybe your IL more "man re" perhaps when bb born, they will be more enthusiastic??</font>

<font color="0000ff">Trace,

I oso dunno $2 can buy wat fish? I thot fish very expensive these days?

My DH said so evil, can buy ikan bilis cook mah cheap cheap why muz buy worms?</font>

littlebluey,

sorry huh..but yr fren's cousin oso very stingy leh! $2 to buy fish..haha..moreover it's for her own daughter..

my colleague's maid oso weirdo...middle of the nite steal eggs n went downstairs..guess wad she do? SHe's praying to a tree!!!!

Pinkimum, yah loh, anyway mentally i m giving them till this weekends to c if they make any effort.

After tat, I will juz take it tat they r not interested so hubby will have to understand if I cut them off on any bb infor in the future =P

Mayb my MIL is worried tat we will ask her to take care of bb in the future, she has already told me in private tat she don't wanna (way b4 we have any intention to get married)

MIL complained of headache when her youngest niece come over with her mom for MJ session. Plus she has too many programme to care for her grandchild lah.

Littlebluey,
hahahah... we sama sama... my hubby had to do the ironing too before we engaged our part-time... but now he so used to it le.. he is urging me to find a new replacement so he can be free from the task lah!! hahaha...

lili,
i got her thru recommendations from singaporebrides actually... not thru agents..

mint,
thanks!! i've replied u already!!

littlebluey,

i dunno she pray to the tree for wad leh..but its scary ..esp in the middle of the nite..anyway she's being sent back liao

<font color="0000ff">Forest,

Accidentally use a fren's nick *blur me* hahaha only posted then realise it concuss hor! ;p headache until blur le!! diao -_-""

Trace,

That's y very scary u dunno wat pattern they up to! hmmm...

My fren told me another sorry about her colleagues ILs, got a maid then treat her very nice and they oso never suspect anything wrong wif the maid. Then becos this family is those rich kind with 2 separate kitchen in the house, they never find anythin amiss when the maid cook her meal and the family's meals separately! Then one day, apparently the maid was found wearing the owner's expensive PJ and was questioned. Guess what the maid told the owner, "U know why I cook your meals and mine separately?? Becos I used my urine to cook the meals for you all to eat!! HOw disgusting!! Then after the maid was sent off, they went to clear their big and deep fridge and soon found used sanitary pads (all black le) at the back of the fridge where it was kept with all the food and vegetables!! *Fainted* and they oso found alot of used pads in the maid's room! aiyoyo, ever since that horrific experience, they have had a full time maid ever</font>

trace, alamak... the maid like doing some black magic or what? So weird.

forest, already replied you also.

lili, went yest when I go for my Oscar test but din buy anything lei...

Ever since they moved, I don't really know how to shop there, dunno y? Mayb the layout or what...

TraCe,
like so odd like that.. pray to tree?? its not the monkey god tree that was reported in the papers right!! kekekeek... :p :p

Littlebluey,
another horrific story there!!!!! but of cos, we cannot dispute some lucky ppl have gotten really good maids.. so, really up to ur luck!!

i guess, another pt of stay in maids is that u will suddenly have 1 more family member... n wont have the privacy like u have just with hubby...

Anyone here got recommendation for choosing Chinese names for bb? Not too ex.

So difficult to think of Chinese words that we like cos my Chinese is half-past six kind and hubby only know how to boast he get distinction for Chinese in school but I think everything return to the teacher liao. Heehee!

Littlebluey,
;) ekekek.. no worries, still recognise it was u.. kekeke

lili, JJmom,
will GSS have better deal at John Little... we already eyed the stroller we want at John Little, but now only waiting for GSS.. hoping it'll be better deal then!! any idea?

mint,
i also replied u le... thanks alot for ur help!!!

haha forest, i like ironing (and mopping) but dun like the rest (esp washing dishes and toilet) - wanna swop?

basically even with a good (i.e. responsible and capable) maid, it's just not the same having someone else outside the family bring up the child, someone who might change every two years, with different values systems...

Forest, sorry I m not too sure abt tat. But I guess I will wait till GSS &amp; baby fair coz I din c anything tat I want tat is having offer in JL yest when I was there lei...

<font color="0000ff">Lili,

Taka sales shd be starting in conjuction wif the GSS, maybe 1-2 wks more...

Robinson sales surely will have the big major one coming up too the last one was just a preview sales for members

Littlebluey,
im eyeing the caepella one.. four wheel drive.. 1 button to keep, big storage at bottom... i think 3 or 4 positions for bb... handle can also push forward.. so u can push bb either facing bb or the other way round.. plus, its not heavy.. n looks sturdy!! so far, thats the one we like only!

dimpletot,
im a lazy woman... i dont like washing dishes or toilets too... (i ask hubby to do these too)... :p :p.. what i do is.. sweeping, wash meat, veg, cooking, wash clothes.. hehehe.. tats abt it.. :p

i agree on that too... actually, i guess, the best is to be a SAHM.. but not everyone can take it.. and not everyone can afford to... so, we have to do what we can do best!

Maids:
after hearing all these stories now i think twice abt hiring a maid.... so scary....

Inlaws:
I hope my parents will help me take care of baby since my inlaws tends to raise spoilt grandchildren (as what happened to my SIL kid), but difficult since we are staying with inlaws.. hard to make a choice..

Shopping:
Havent done any shopping yet so far, waiting for GSS to start heee

Jess,
Its okay for my inlaw since my SIL got a maid to help on the chores.. My mum never taken care of any kid before ever after taking care of us so maybe its a good time for her to start hahha..

My friend's parents taking care of SEVEN grandchildren age from 5 - 12 yrs. In their 4 rm flat. and they cook for all the parents - i.e. 14 ppl eating every night.

and when the parents want to put their kids in other schools further away from grandparents, they insist cannot cos they want to take care and will miss the kids.

wah - extinct liao lor this kind.

joyful,

You good lei...for my case...i need to hire a maid to help my mother else she will be very tired. But abit worry lor...after heard all incidents...if i discovered my maid feed my girl worm...i think i will force her to eat as well and beat her ....haha...violent hor...
hope can find a good maid.

joyful
me also staying with in laws. my mil pamper my boy so much till i thin she really spolit him dun really like it but sometime no choice lo....when my second one comes along, she also helping me take care. not sure if she can cope at the rate she pampering my #1 but shall wait and see ba. if cant, i'm considering putting my #1 in childcare.

Littlebluey,
Thanks a lot! Will check with my gynae on my next visit.

My goodness! It so "fan wei" while reading to ur horror stories abt maid! So gross...Hubby also insisted not to hire a maid to take care of bb, as he also heard too many horror stories from his frens/colleagues. Both of our parent are quite old already, cant help us. Another reason I dun wish to hire maid is to avoid the conflict with PIL. PIL will definately need to move in to keep an eye on maid if we hire one. My MIL is very very traditional and pantang type, cant imagine how much I will be restricted if staying with her. *sweat* For sure, we can at least maintain the current good relationship by not staying together. So most probably we will opt for nanny, also wondering can we be lucky enuf to get a good one? So far no recommendation, really headache when thinking of it.

Littlebluey: Eeeks!! The maid is sick! Aiyoo, so many horror stories about maid! I also don;t want a maid cos don't want a stranger living in my house leh...

Stroller: Most prob won't buy now, maybe after bb is born cos I read somewhere you don't know what kind of stroller is suitable for your bb &amp; moreover might get hand me down or gifts from frens...

Maid:
I think should have "benefit of doubt" to maid. Not all maid - yucks! I believe if employer treat them well, they will return too.
Engaging a maid if there's someone around else, put CCTV at home to monitor their movement liao.

Sales:
Went to Taka, no sales at all. Sigh....

Wish all of you a good day ahead... its THURSDAY already!!! JIA YOU!!!

Jess,
I think i will do the same to maid too if I discover she feeds my boy with worms... force her to eat back all the worms hahah.. mothers can do all things for their children.

Good Morning all!
Had fried mee hoon &amp; side dish this morning.
Tummy no good cos' had heavy dinner (Ramei) yesterday.

Maid
I dont trust maids. That time when me and hubby were still deciding between sending our son to infant care center or hiring a maid to look after him when I need to go back to work, my sil kept suggesting us to get a maid. Luckily I insisted not to hire a maid cos even though we are staying with my fil and bil's family (there are already two maids at home, one doing housework and the other one taking care of my bil's daughters), most of the time, the adults are out of the house and nobody to supervise the maids. How can I leave my then 4-mth son with three maids (if we are to hire one more to take care of our son) and go to work in peace? To have a maid is no no unless there is an adult at house at all time to supervise the maid.
Not everybody is so lucky to get a good maid. Moreover, what they do in front of you and behind your back could be different stories. I just dont want to be regret by my decision. We would have stuck with one more maid if that time we hired one since later on I decided to quite my job *phew*!