(2008/10) Oct 2008

I had Yong Tau Foo. Now munching on seaweed crackers

I had teochew porridge... wanted to eat Ah Balling after that, but too full of sugarcane lemon juice!

now eating cantaloupe and papaya...

Littlebluey,

I also, try not to hold the cough or sneeze.. just let it go to decrease the pressure and u will feel less painful..

<font color="0000ff">Joyful noted, was walking back to my seat just now when I had tis sudden cough and I felt a sharp pain in the lower pelvic area

Chris,
Thanks for the list! I had printed it out

Now easier to do shopping!

n yah... i had something to confess. i cant resist shopping for my baby, so i had bought a stroller!
there was a sale at BHG over the weekend, so i gave in to temptation! hahaha
but i feel so happi!

btw, anyone having backache? My pain is getting more n more serious, n i find it so hard to concentrate at work. keep putting yoko yoko...
dunno safe for baby or not, but i reallie cant tahan the pain

<font color="0000ff">Beary,

I dun think Yoko yoko is safe to apply for the moment, maybe u want to check with yr gynae or read any disclaimer on the sheet of paper that comes with it?</font>

Littlebluey,

thanks for highlighting

i will check with my gynae the next time i visit him. I hope its safe, if not i dunno how to cope with my backache

so upset w Fil.
We staying w inlaws. Not sure who didnt flush the toilet bowl in common toilet, i told them. And sametime said i dont want Fil to get those aunties to prepare the olden days wine for me during confinement. And Fil deny that he use the toilet and said didnt say do the wine. Before that he keep insisting me to take cos need to tune back health but now he said he didnt cos i dont want. Wow liao. I got agitated and especially when he denied.
Got vy agitated and felt tummy also agitated. Poor bb.
I cant stand it so pour it here. I hope we can move out fast.

lili,

Stay with PIL is not very easy. Sometimes need to close 1 eye. I stay with my In Laws b4, can understand ur feeling....

The olden days wine= rice wine? red one? That is very good. I also eat a lot during confinement. It is not cheap selling at the market. Bcos it is made of rice and Hong Qu (Hong2 Qu3 will dispels coldness/ water and expelling wind in the body), so it will be good for confinement mummy. Of cos, u need to make sure to cook it to take off the alcohol if u breastfeed. Just share my experience.

thanks karen,
but i prefer not them to make cos' later i don't know how to take tat, it will be wasted.
anyway, FIL alr concluded that since i alr said don't want, he didn't get them to do.

btw, are you the karen at singapore brides? selling insurance?

Lili,

during confinement esp, you muz take the rice wine..its really good! u can ask yr confinement lady to cook it for you if u r getting one. Very easy one..u cook with chicken n ginger during confinement..its my fave manz!!

I am staying with my MIL too..but not FIL :p haha..i can understand how u feel...but for me..when i m at home, i dun tok much..usually aft work i will stay in my room watching tv liao..anyway she dun dare to make so much nonsense..cos dats not her hse,.hehe

Trace,
thanks for your advise too.
i prefer to keep it vy simple during confinement and prefer light cooking. And, I already engaged a CL as i knew my FIL will sure cook for me using that rice wine. We can't stand heavy cooking esp in our new kitchen.

Anyway, we will be moving to new pl within this 2 mths liao.. so have to endure... already already for nearly 2 yrs.

Trace

if we are BF, can take the rice wine ah? My MIL also said she wants to make for me but i dun really like it. I dun know how to reject her. Can i tell her i will be breastfeeding so cannot take the wine? heehee

lili

i same as you. Dun like the rice wine in my food. Last week my MIL cook mee sua for me then she pour the rice wine inside. I dun want to eat then she keep telling me to eat leh! Towards the last bit she even poured in more. I nearly fainted. After that my stomach damn hot man....i dun dare to ask her cook mee sua for me already.

lili
Just ren and dont get too agitated cos not good for your baby also. Me staying with fil and bil's family and I can understand how you feel. At times, I also kept quiet and din want to say much cos scared the more I talk, the more conflicts we have. The 2 months will pass very fast and by then you can have your own er ren shi jie with your hubby and very soon will be the arrival of your bb! Cheer up
!

Diane
I also thought BF cannot take wine leh. That why I din take any wine for my #1 during confinement. Also must avoid taking ginger.

lili,

its up to you..sometimes i can understand its hard to stay with in laws. Initially, my MIL insisted on doing confinement for me! I SAID NO NO!cos she dunno hw to cook one..n said her cooking not bad! haha..wad ajoke!

Diane,

I think u can still take rice wine...but i hv read somewehre, if u taking any alcohol, try not to BF within 2 hrs aft yr intake of the wine...anyway, when u cook, the alcohol not so strong oredi..hv subsided anyway

diane, mousebb
thanks too.
i didn't mentioned about having BF cos' i think they will know. I told PIL that i prefer not to get FIl's sisters to prepare for me as "what if" i don't like &amp; will be wasted. And, most likely will prepare alot. That time, my sister also don't want, in the end, still keep at mum place.

Trace,
that's what was discussed when i wanted to get CL. FIL wants to do for me... FIL &amp; not MIL. I am very frank telling them that i will need to rest during the 1 month &amp; won't take care of bb much as i might be very tired etc. MIL is more understanding instead and take side on mine.

FIL is like "mother-in-law" ... haha.

if BF, likely every 2 hours needs to BF, right? i would prefer not to touch rice wine if possible. Knew is good but i think engaging CL, cook Confinement food is also good enough.

Also, i told my hubby make sure that FIL's sister will not turn up during confinement to help, i will turn crazy...

lili

I had roti prata and a bit of cup noodles...so pig hor?

Mousebb

precisely. So i also dun know how to tell her i dun want leh!...She sure said "why cannot??.. i also take a lot during my confinement etc etc"...
Tat time she cook maggi mee, asked me if i want to eat, then i said ok. Then she wanted to pour the rice wine in , i told her it will taste weird with instant noodles. So she stopped.

Morning all

Thanks for all the supports

My Oscar test looks gd, 1:900+
The nasal bone thickness is 2.2, is this ok? Thou the doc said ok. It sure is a relief when doc said the test result is ok.
Still waiting for my blood test result in 2days time.

Lili,

DUn brood over such person...i will go crazy too...cos my sis in law is coming bk to S'pore in Oct...usually when she n her family comes bk, she will stays at my plc..so this time round i really hope my hse will not b overcrowded..i m so scared! but i hv hinted my MIL....if not i will really go crazy...with her 2 kids..herself n her hubby!

JJmom,
Congrats dat everything goes on well for your oscar test..dun worry, your blood test will b fine too!

Rachel's mom,
My deepest condolences, take care of yourself.

Chris,
Thanks for all the infor

Abt rice/red wine :
My mom also said she will start doing it for me. I don't really like it but for my health, I will juz endure for a mth loh...

Thanks Trace, hope things goes well for u at your place too.
I can understand how u feel coz I don't even like it when my hubby's friends come over to visit nowadays. I need my peace &amp; calm at home when I m already so tired after a day work
Totally no mood to entertain any1...

hi all mummies, im back!

Rachel's mum,
condolences to you and your family... take care!!

JJmom,
congrats...
u mean u r not getting ur oscars test results together with the blood test? with the blood test, you'll get adjusted risk factor... everything will be alrite!!

lili,
understand the frustrations u have... as i have experienced them before... i guess, we just have to make known about our preferences.. and ensure that we get our needed rest... than to worry abt such matters later on..

actually, im not sure, but i thot confinement food will def have wine or ginger... the key again is not to overeat them as otherwise, the ginger may cause jaundice in babies if we BF?? hmm.. maybe we'll learn more when we attend our antenatal classes... if am not wrong, it is covered?? or we will have to do more googling?? kekeke...

i had chee cheong fun for bfast again today... ran out of time to eat other food... feel sleepy now!!!

haha i loves the rice/red wine..esp the red wine! cook with mee sua..goody!!

JJmom,

Tell yr HB dat u need rest lor..dun ask frens to come so often..but come to think of it..they cares abt u dats y visited u.. :p

Talking about wine in cooking etc, I'm also glad I engaged a CL so no need to upset myself. The other day, I went for dinner with MIL and my hubby's aunt and uncle. Aiyoh, on the way back, my hubby's aunt nag non stop about what to eat during confinement, must wear long sleeve lah, cannot bathe, wash hair, and blah blah blah. Then every sentence she say she still must ask my MIL right or not... I was already trying hard not to throw up in the car already cos the uncle drive super horrible. Brake very hard, move off will jerk, swerve here and there. So can imagine poor me... have to listen to the nagging and tahan the ride home. I reached home blame my hubby for not driving cos before leaving house I already told him I dun want to sit in the uncle's car. But hubby see me so ke lian, so he just sayang sayang me lor... sigh!

Chris, your list is very useful. My colleague who is preggers also accidentally saw it and said she also want so I printed for her. Heehee!

Trace, no lah, his friends r not here to visit me loh. They come to chitchat, play games, exchange notes in iphone stuff...all the men stuff lah. Anyway, I flatly told my hubby tat I need to rest &amp; don't wish to entertain guests in our hse for the time being till further notice liao...muhahaha

So they will meet up at the coffeeshop downstair =P vy bad of me hor? cannot be bother lei... =P

poor mint! sometimes i cant stand all these in laws..thank God my parents are not like dat..they let me do wadever i want...my mum is the one who asked mi to engage CL..phew!

JJmon,
then dun bother..ask them go downstairs!

JJmom,
hehehe.. good lah, dont have to think u r bad... u have ur privileges now!! ;)

Chris,
thanks for ur file.. i've received it too!

hmmm... im so bored today.. no mood to work.. just thinking of going home.... also dunno what and where to go for lunch....

Hi trace,
Ya mum is more liberal. Her fav sentence... everything in moderation. heehee! That's why I quickly engaged a CL.

The other day, I told my hubby that I may need some help after the CL leaves cos still not sure if I can totally handle on my own. Then he said to ask my MIL to come and help. I glare at him and said no need, I will find my own ways. Must be his mum offer to help that's why he's trying to gently recommend to me.

mint,
maybe u can look for nanny? i think most of us r still only comfortable with our own mum rather than MIL.. the same goes for me..

btw, is any1 engaging a part time maid now??? if u are, can recommend me? my current part time maid is leaving, and i need a replacement quickly.. cos, i have no energy to do housework on my own at all!!! tks in advance!

mint,

usually daughter in law will nv like to let MIL handle the kids..sure got conflict one! if she do something u dun like...wanna say her oso paiseh...wait not happy, she complains to HB..then HB n u argue..sianz

This is a very good article. Not only about the warm water after your meal, but about heart attacks. The Chinese and Japanese drink hot tea with their meals, not cold water, maybe it is time we adopt their drinking habit while eating.
For those who like to drink cold water, this article is applicable to you. It is nice to have a cup of cold drink after a meal. However, the cold water will solidify the oily stuff that you have just consumed. It will slow down the digestion. Once this "sludge" reacts with the acid, it will break down and be absorbed by the intestine faster than the solid food. It will line the intestine . Very soon, this will turn into fats and lead to cancer . It is best to drink hot soup or warm water after a meal.
A serious note about heart attacks - You should know that not every heart attack symptom is going to be the left arm hurting. Be aware of intense pain in the jaw line.
You may never have the first chest pain during the course of a heart attack. Nausea and intense sweating are also common symptoms. 60% of people who have a heart attack while they are asleep do not wake up. Pain in the jaw can wake you from a sound sleep. Let's be careful and be aware. The more we know, the better chance we could survive.

Thanks ladies

But hor, I m a little confuse now. Is the passing range 1:300? So anything above 300 is gd right?

What abt the range for the neck thickness? Another mtb has only 0.8mm, compare to my 2.2mm so much diff lei.