(2008/10) Oct 2008

Hi lili, hehe so after u move we'll be quite near each other, I staying Boon Tiong Rd. I hoping to find part time babysitter, but seems like quite difficult.

I tot I should be close to 12 weeks now, since my LMP was 4 jan. But the last time I seen doc, he minus 1 wk. But my calculation correct wat, unless my bb too small =0 I must rem to ask doc next week.

tweety,
I have not put on any weight at all. My tummy seems the same. But when I wear my jeans, can feel its abit tighter and I need to unbutton after meals.

karen,
I also think this is never-ending worry. But my hubby just think I am stressing myself, result of me being too free and let my mind wanders.

littlebluey,
I am really counting down to 2nd trimester. Hopefully will feel better and can go for holidays. hehe...

Need some advice from the mummies here, is it true that we should not wear normal wire bras now coz will cut off the milk supply next time cannot BF? This was what I was told by the maternity shop salesgal trying to promote their maternity bra. But I tot its only that normal bras not so comfortable, if we can tahan its ok.

<font color="0000ff">Pinkimum,

I oso look fwd to 2nd trimester!! So at least I won't be so tired all the time. Yesterday have been feeling awful, tdy laggi worse, feel so bloated...so much gas in the tummy, want to throw up oso cannot...very "xing ku" -_-""" feel like taking half day MC tdy...cannot stand man!!

Wan Chuen,

I'm still wearing my normal bras leh...hmmm...anyone else can advise?</font>

storeberry,
apr u going tmc for nt scan? me too.. when is ur date?
same here.. will sign up the fbi card when i go for the nt scan

icylemon,
thanks for praying for us.. actualli my hb thinking to buy me a guang ying pendent and ask me to wear it.. still thinking to buy anot coz once wear will not be able to eat beef liao.

bras
-----
me oso wearing the same bra but i did buy the extending but have not use it yet.

lili-fc,
i did a check on the infant care near my hse and gosh.. is so damn ex.. $1050 exclude gst but think there is a govt subsidy of 400 so still need to pay 700.. over my budget liao.. my budget is 500-550 dunno can find anot.. sighzzz

cheerbear
but, we must visit the infant care and most important if is convenient for us (if no one looking after bb) to pick before 7pm. try calling the ctr and ask if they provide transport.

cheerbear
but, we must visit the infant care and most important if is convenient for us (if no one looking after bb) to pick before 7pm. try calling the ctr and ask if they provide transport.

lili fc,
Not good to wear jeans ah? It still quite cold and windy here, so sometimes I still need to wear jeans. Else I try to wear dress and leggings.

littlebluey,
me also still wearing the same bras.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ladies,

How's lunch? I had Ramen and now drinking coke hopefully it will help me burp more so that I won't feel so bloated!! ;p

Lili,

I oso bought the extn but yet to use as yet muahahahaha</font>

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear,

Think you shd be able to find some baby-sitters charging ard $500-$600, some would charge $500 then another $50 when the baby is about to start solid food. U must interview and go see the baby-sitter house then decide.</font>

lili-fc,
infant care got provide transport to pick ur bb.. sure anot?? i never heard b4 leh..
i need to find the infant care at buangkok or seng kang.. got lobang?

pinkmum,
if u r like me like to wear jeans then buy the maternity jeans la.. i buy one at spring.. ard $70 if i rem correctly

littlebluey,
wow u drink coke ah.. my hb dun let me drink leh.. onli can drink sprite the most.. coz coke got caffine leh

littlebluey
try to avoid drinking cold drink if possible.
on baby-sitter, quite difficult to find unless advertise thru' paper / void deck.

pinkimum
orhh , if you feel tight cos' bb could be growing every second / day... just suggest only...

Had good lunch?

Wan Chuen,

Regarding the underwire bras issues. Just to share my own experiences. In my first pregnancy, I wore underwire bras throughout my whole pregnancy. My supply didn't come in well and I had very very bad clogged milk duct. I got to go TMC to find the lactation consultant, Mrs Wong to remove the clog for me. It is a terrible painful experience when I went thru’ the treatment.
Mrs Wong said it is due to me "ai swee" to wear underwire bras, which caused this problem. Since I did wear underwire bras, I can't deny.

So this pregnancy, the moment, I discovered my pregnancy, I stopped wearing all underwire bras just in case. Hopefully, this round I won't go thru' the tough time of bf again. :S Anyway, my breasts had been sore for past 2 mths (getting better now) so it is also very uncomfortable to wear underwire.

I think you can just get those bras without underwire will do. Maternity bras are expensive and some are underwire too! (I bought that for my 1st pregnancy)

Cheer Bear,

Last round, I done my research. I wasn’t able to find much infant care that is below $700 after subsidiary. Maybe consider a babysitter?

<font color="0000ff">Lili,

Noted with thanks...now alrd cut down alot of cold drinks le everyday drink water until sianz oso le..but tdy weather very hot!! so just take a few sips of it!! won't attempt to finish the whole cup!!</font>

hellow nov to be mummies... my gynae just confirmed my bb's edd it's between 19th nov to 24th nov. She said due to my irregular menses duration and in-consistencies... Hope to join all you all???

Sorri... here is Oct mummies! So absent-minded already. What I meant is though my edd is in the month of nov. I wish i can still join here with all oct mummies...

littlebluey &amp; mummies
we try to encourage &amp; remind all mummies during these period... after bb born, we can eat / drink whatever we want. so do endure , i am too

I have subway for lunch again. It is really appetizing to me.

cheer bear,
Is it too early to wear maternity jeans now? WIll it be too big?

lili fc,
yeah, the jeans feel tight when I am sitting down and having meals. Then I will need to unbutton. So unglam. hehe.

littlebluey,
I also steal a few sips of coke sometimes.
Is it okie to drink yakult?

Hi all mummies... I went to visit gynae just now... After hearing my baby's heartbeat, my hb n I feel so happy and released now... it's 9w1d tdy leh.. so fast...

littlebluey.. I also feel like drinking coke to burp out.. but don dare leh.. drink sprite instead... I always hv craving for cold drinks leh.. but can not wor.. haiz..

<font color="0000ff">Lili,

Yeah, I agree hahaha...but sometimes the "temptation" is just so great, but ever since found out preggy, alrd avoid alot of stuff le ;p hahahaha...lolx

Pinkimum,

Subway is good!! healthy!! my favourite hahahahahaha...sometimes I like to buy their breakfast

I take Vitagen regularly, shd be ok becos it will help us to prevent constipation
Yoghurt is oso gd!

Tweety,

Very exciting to see baby growth rite? My DH is always more excited than I'm ;p then sometimes at night he will "talk to the baby" hee hee</font>

oh ya... was asking the nurse if folic acid to be taken twice daily... she said once is enough coz it's kind of heaty and will caused constipation... My previous gynae prescribed twice daily for me... now switch to once liao...

littlebluey...
yaya.. so excited.. but the doctor in a rush to TMC, so kind of short lor.. my hb still haven ready to c the heartbeat, he said ok done.. hahahahaha...
wah.. can take yakult and vitagen arh.. i think i better buy liao.. coz really no appetite to drink plain water leh.. feel so "plain"...hahah..

jeasminetea,
if ur case is true (wear underwire bra will hv tough time in bf) then dun wear with wire one will sag right? aiyo.. veri mah fan leh..

thinking to get bb sitter but need to find one that is trust worthy and treat my bb gd one mah.. difficult to find leh.. unless got pple who hv experience certain bb sitter then intro will be best

littlebluey,
same as u.. i drink water drink until sian and find it realli tasteless so now i drink red dates tea (those instand packet one) but my mum say cant drink too much coz will be heaty and constipate.

pinkmum,
u get those rubber band at the waist one then is adjustable.. so guess shld be able to wear until trimeter 2 or early t3 if the bb is not too big for some mummies.

also mummies pls rem not to wear tight jeans or skirt coz is not gd to the bb.. the tightness will "stop" the bb from growing as there is a "obstruction" for them to grow. i hv already spend $300+ on maternity bottoms liao.. so ex but bo bian

i dun drink yakult but i drink vitagen leh :p
i drink alt days to help digestion

Carebear,

What I knew is don't wear bras will sag, no need to be underwire bras ler. I'm also not sure about this. But anyway, my breasts didn't sag from bf #1. I'm using breast firming cream just to play safe.

Ya, agree it is not easy to find a good babysitter. I had a tough time looking for one until finally my SIL agreed to be my gal's nanny. Hope you can find one soon

How come more mummies take vitagen than yakult huh? Anyway, there is only yakult here, not much choice for me. Hehe...

cheer bear,
Oh, think I will get one of those maternity jeans when I am back. Hopefully can last me through the whole pregnancy.

tweety,
Must be so excited to see your bb. I cant wait for my turn! Think we r really around the same week

littlebluey,
My hubby doesn't seem very excited leh. I am the one talking to my baby.

<font color="0000ff">Tweety,

Whenever i dun feel like drinking water, I will take vitagen or ribena for the additional Vit C!! hahahaha ;p

Cheerbear,

Sometimes, my mum will brew the red dates tea for me oso but then as wat your mum said it's heaty so everything still in moderation hahahaha lolx ;p

Wah, u spent so much on maternity wear alrd...me just bought those empire dresses or 3/4 pants that's 1-2 sizes bigger so that after delivery still can wear hahahaha....haven really bought any "real maternity bottoms" as yet!! now digging those "bigger size clothes" from the wardrobe that I can't wear previously!

I agree Vitagen helps in digestion, I drink one every morning with my packet of biscuits on the way to work else I will feel "very sick" before I reach office!

Pinkimum,

Maybe your DH "man re" bah..slowly u will see his reaction de

Cheer Bear
Infant care center
(NTUC infant care is about $600++ after subsidised if I'm not wrong). I dont have good experiences with infant care center and it's not easy to find a good one also. Recently I just withdrew my son from the infant care center cos I realised the center is not taking good care of my son. This is the main reason why i quitted my job. The fees I paid is about $800++ per month. Also if you decide to put your bb at infant care center, there is a tendency for bb to fall sick easily which was what happened to my son. He was only at the infant care center for less than 3 months but fell sick at least 3 times liao. So if you really decide to put your bb at the infant care center, be sure to find a good one but also must keep close monitoring hor.

Bb sitter
I was quite picky when choosing a bb sitter too. My hubby doesnt want the bb sitter to bring my bb out and me also prefer a bb sitter with grown-up children. If the bb sitter still have young school-going children, who know they may end up spend more time on their children than taking care of your bb. There are also many other factors to consider also.

Hi Mummies to be,
I've been having terrible MS - it's more like all day sickness. I throw up constantly and it's disrupting my work! Anyone here tried sea-bands? Or know where to get them? My friend in Hong Kong said they work but don't know if here can buy?

Hi mummies.

MY edd is 28 oct n all along I m silent reader here...this is my 2nd prenancy....some of u mention of infant care so I m here to share with u...my daughther is also at infant care now and currently the infant care charge $600 for 5days after subsidy and S$800 for 5 n a half days...so far she is so good there and I m also plan to put no 2 there and good news is that my 2nd will entitle for 20% off so it is going to be $480 only....not so siaong to me la....hope my info helps.

<font color="0000ff">Mummylove,

Did u try taking plain crackers?? They help to ease MS quite a fair bit, else u can try ginger tea or apple, they work to a certain extend.. Else if u can't really take water, u may want to try adding a slice of lemon in, it will oso help

<font color="ff0000">
Lili</font>
My colleague also said cannot take cold drinks. But I can't stand sometimes. No appetite and drinks are the only nice things. Today I ate 3 sticks of ice cream!!! Was craving for it. And I ate it when my said colleague wasn't around.

<font color="ff0000">Pinkimum</font>
I also had Subway yesterday. It was good, just vegetables but I was having a horrible time after that. So nauseous. What sauce did you put in? I put in my usuals, the sweet onion and honey mustard but I think my stomach cannot take the sourish mustard. Sigh.

i try to eat small meals more frequent lor..but sometimes the gastric juice is too over-whelming. esp. at nights! tried green apple juice, dont work for me also...i still remb that for 11wks i've vomitted total 7times! its a weekly affair! but everyday also feel naueous leh..dunno wat to do either

<font color="0000ff">Karen,

U ate 3 sticks of ice-cream??!!! Wah...hahahahaha..

Everafter,

Green apple juice works quite ok for me, like you I still have very bad gastrics on/off so normally in the morning when the feeling is the most horrid, I will eat plain crackers on the way to work</font>

for those who took NT scan at TMC, someone else will be there to take the scan and measurements right? do we get to see the gynae?

karen,
I only added sweet onion. I used to add honey mustard too, but after preggie I stopped. Tastebud changed. Maybe you just take sweet onion next time.

I try not to take cold drinks. But sometimes its just so difficult. But I will just take a few sips.

Think I am feeling so lousy

gals, i made myself a cup of mushroom soup. those instant one. and i add tobasco sauce in it.

suddenly i have craving for tobasco sauce.

ppp
that's nice of you to share the infant care info. i have yet to explore 1 intended ctr. likely next month. intend to put till 17/18 mths, then put bb to my company's ctr.

everafter
i heard from my nurse that my gynae will not be doing it so i guess there should be someone there to do.

pinkimum
ya, cold drink as in fresh milk, cold plain water, sure can drink. but not "cold drink - coke"... if crave, just drink small cup...

lili fc,
oh, I really thought cold drinks mean can't drink cold plain water and milk. For milk/soya milk, I will even let it stand for a while after taking out from fridge.

rachels mummy,
Isn't instant mushroom soup considered as processed food? I still have those packets miso soup thingie, and was thinking if I can still drink them.

Hi all mtb, I m abt 7weeks preggie &amp; EDD is 11.11.2008.

As I m above 30, I m thinking of taking the oscars test. Any1 know how is it going to b like? Heard horrible stories abt having a super big needle being poke into our tummy, is it painful?

<font color="0000ff">Hi JJmom,

I think the part on the big needle poking in yr tummy should be the amniocentesis test rite? I dun think the Oscars got such procedures</font>

hi MTBs

am new here. about 12 weeks pregnant and am suffering from terrible heart burn and gastric reflexes. any1 has a gd idea how to keep it down? it's embarrassing, esp at work since i burp and fart alot

jjmom,
littlebluey is correct about the needle poke in ur tummy. BUT if you have decided to keep the bb whatever results, you can don't opt for amniocentesis test. Final decision lies with you &amp; ur hubby.