(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="ff0000">pinkimum</font>, i m too hungry le. dun have anything to eat. so juz grab my balance of instant soup to drink. normally i will buy bread. today forgotten abt it.

Hi Lennie,
I suffer from Heartburn too - and only thing that worked was Gavuiscon prescribed by my gyne. Take it after meals and no more burning sensation. As for burping and farting, I have no idea. I have more of a can't burp prob and at present, I'm envious of those who can burp! ;)

cheerbaby.. wow.. u spent so much in maternity liao arh... so far i only bought one flat shoes leh.. hee... my skirt still can wear so me don buy first lor... I intend to wear more dress now..

dear mummies.. did u drink cold vitagen/yakult?? can we???btw, honey and ribena allowed?? can we drink???

pinkimum.. are u abt the same week?? Doctor told me my EDD which fall on my customary wedding anniversary leh.. so chiao hor... hee..
my hb also seldom talked to baby leh.. he said the tummy so small, he not that excited yet leh.. hahhaa...

mummylove.. me also having terrible ms.. but i just bear with it.. my friend said more ms means stronger baby... heard plain crackers helps.. maybe u can try..

karen.. i'm also craving for cold drinks only.. hahaha..

JJmum.. according to my friend, it's only blood test and scan leh.. maybe u can check with yr gynae??

Mousebb,

I also quit my job cos my boy got real sick after he caught viruses at his infant care. Initially when he was not crawling yet, it's still ok. Once he started being mobile,that's when he started to got ill quite frequently.

But i realised cos boys generally have smaller airways compared to gals when they're infants, boys tend to catch and develop illness more easily than the gals... that's wat i observed from my boy's infant care centre.

But we still think infant care is a better training ground compared to babysitter cos my boy got good social exposure (haha...) and he's carried lesser (we prefer that). Of cos, at the end of the day, "Mama-care" is the best!

Hi Lennie,

You wanna try hot honey water with some ginger slices in it? This concoction helped my to ease my heartburn and all those active stomach acids.

tweety
i drink cold vitagen, cold ribena, cold milk.....in fact i still take cold drink. i only drink hot beverage in the morning. during the day, just water....or cold beverages. i always crave for COKE. hehe. i drink once a week. will share with my hubby. sometime when outside will also order pepsi/coke. hehe...cannot tahan le

sometime at work very hungry, my colleague will make magi mee for me. just use hot water n the mee into a mini pot n put into microwave n its ready after 3 min. i try to limit processed food......so now, will bring bread n biscuit instead.

today went for check up. baby 9W2D measures at 2.66cm. can see the baby waving hands n legs...so cute..then keep changing position. too bad didnt bring my boy, else wanna show him.

i also try to eat small meals. think it helps in digestion. i burp like no body biz but after trying small meals, burping/farting reduce. also try to avoid fried and spicy food. cos i find nausea and have indigestion after eating.

Dear mummies

I'm new here. I'm at 13 weeks and baby is now 6+cm, with EDD on 3 Oct =)

Today is the first day I felt my pants getting tighter and would like to buy some comfy dresses. No need maternity, just flowy and roomy dresses. Any idea where I can get nice dresses?

Thanks in advance =)

Jasminetea:
Thanks for sharing ur experience. So what the salesgal told me is true afterall. But maybe she exaggerated by saying that her ex customer couldn't BF and her doc told her "no cure liao" because she wore normal bras for too long.. This is after I told the salesgal that I am using extension, I tot its ok since not that tight.

Lili:
Thanks for the link.

Cheer bear: I am doing my detailed scan not NT scan on 16 Apr about 1030am. What about you? I didn't know about FBI card when I went for NT scan so wasted... Will be sending out the form soon.

Karen: My MS taper off in week 13th, thereafter my appetite &amp; energy came back. But breast recently around the nipple area have been itchy leh...

I also brought extension but decided to buy some new non-under wired cheap bras to ear. Quite comfy and also wearing those to sleep so that my breasts will not sag!

Littlebluey: Resent email liao!

I also tell my husband to talk to bb &amp; he always play punk by saying the fish name because he is in seafood trading, irritating leh! But he also make a point to kiss my tum-tum which I find very heart-warming.. awwww...

Hi Whitepaper
My wife just turned 13weeks 1day pregnant as of today but her EDD is on 30th Sept...

So far the oscar test we had have an EDD range from 26 sept to 1oct... so which is correct??

Went to see Doc last night. Surprisingly, he said dont need to take jab at this moment cos bb is still stable. A big relieve for me! But he still put me on duphaston, 2 tabs 3 times daily and was told to go see him again on next Mon. Bb is now 12wk liao. Will be going to do my NT scan on 4 Apr.

jjparents
EDD is just an estimated date only. Guess likely +- before the date, say 3oct.
My EDD suppose to be 7 oct but now turns out to be 3 oct.

JJPArents, as long as wife has not touched 35, she does not required to go for the amniocentesis test that required to withdraw some YANG TAI Shui from your baby's water bag.

if you are below 35, You will go for NT Scan to check when if you are at the high risk for DS and if you are not, you will skip the amniocentesis test. If you are under the high risk for DS, the consultant will advise you to go for amniocentesis to double check on the baby for DS.

good Morning mummies...

cheezel... yr baby is 1 day older than mine.. hee.. but yrs bigger leh.. mine only 2.43cm..
we have the same craving leh... COKE.. hahaha...and i crave for instant noodles too, but cant take too much lor..

storeberry... FBI can get discount for detailed scan and NT scan arh??? i think NT scan is included in the package leh... so sweet of yr hb to kiss your tummy... my hb hear my tummy yesterday, I feel so happy... hee..

mousebb... glad that yr baby is stable...

Rachel's mummy.. wow.. so fast.. envy...

carole,
thanks. congrats!... i'm in 12wks..

Mostly all mummies here should be in 11 / 12wks liao.... we looking forward to 2nd trimester... counting down... 3,2,1...

<font color="ff0000">carole &amp; lili</font>, come come.. we shake hand. lets jia you together!!

<font color="0000ff">tweety</font>, i find it slow leh. kekeke... seeing my gynae this friday.

<font color="0000ff">Ohayo Minasan!!

Storeberry,

U can actually sign up for the FBI card on the spot and may utilise it straightaway, however, they will only processed and send you the card in a few wks time

Mousebb,

Happy to know that everything is going well!!

little bluey &amp; lili_fc,

Oic, thanks for enlightening me, 1st timer, still quite blur abt all these test. So I can opt for NT scan or Oscars test instead of this Amniocentesis test. What's the diff between this 2 then?

Thanks again :D

<font color="0000ff">JJmom,

If my memory did not failed me, someone did mention it here before:

For NT Test : accuracy is about 70-80% and the cost is cheaper ard $100+?

For Oscars: accuracy is >90%, but I think if you do it at TMC, will cost ard $300+?

and of coz not forgetting Triple tests as well

Ladies, pls clarify if I'm wrong...;p</font>

Good morning ladies

Lennie, I'm suffering from heartburn! I got it during my 1st pregnancy till the time I went into the delivery suite. The moment my gal came out, the heartburn is gone. :D This 2nd pregnancy, heartburn seems more bearable. Maybe it is 'cos I'm used to it already also. I drink non-caffine camomile tea. Somehow it does help to relieve the discomfort a bit though not totally.

Wan Chuen, heee the salesgirl needs to do her job
If your normal bras is not underwire, I think it should be okay. I'm wearing my nursing bras since I already bought them from 1st pregnancy. Nursing bras usually have more hooks so can accustom our "growing" breasts.

Ya.. really looking forward to 2nd trim!

<font color="ff0000">lili</font>, shiok har!!

<font color="0000ff">mousebb</font>, be good girl ya.. remember to take ur duphaston. take care.

<font color="0000ff">NT Test:

NT describes a fluid-filled area in the back of the neck of the fetus. Measuring the thickness of ths area at a specific place is called NT measurement. It's is done thru abdominal ultrasound scan. Normally conducted btw 11 wk, 3 days and 13 wks, 6 days of the pregnancy. The detention rate is approx 80%.

Triple Test:

3 hormones are measured in this test - AFP (alpha fetoprotein), HCG and Estriol. Since the test included AFT measurement , it also screens for risk of neural tube defects like spina bifida. This test is usually done btwn 14-20 wks of pregnancy.

OSCAR:

NT screening can also be done jointly with 1st trimester serum screening (blood test). It measure 2 hormones called the free HCG and PAPP-A (pregnancy-associated plasma protein A). It is done thru abdominal ultrasound scan to measure the NT together with a blood test to measure the 2 hormones (free HCG and PAPP-A). Detection rate of combined nuchal translucency and 1st trimester serum screening for DS, Patau and Edward syndromes is approx 90%!</font>

Hi mummies.

was on leave yesterday and went for my scan. BB is now 12w 3d at 6cm...can see him/her kicking around. My HB said looked like an upside down cockroach. So mean hor to describe his kid like that...the other time he said bb looked like red/green bean...gosh!!!...

Doc measured the bb's neck also. I supposed it is the NT scan??...its 0.2cm on the screen then the doc told me its ok. So I presume shld be ok bah.

Oh and doc also drew my blood for OSCARS. He took 1 syringe of blood and then divided into 3 vials. I was scared leh!! but managed to go through it...heeheee i kept looking at HB and kept blinking at him because i din want to look at the needle.!!

<font color="0000ff">Diane,

Your DH so farni, wat a description! hee hee...but it's muz be really nice seeing your bb moving about in the womb

Littlebluey

oh yah i was very excited because first time see bb moving...i was moving abt pointing at the screen then accidentally hit my gyane on the arm...haahaaa..then he asked me to stop moving!
He told me bb is more or less stable already...so just have to take care lor. Shld be able to see gender at next scan which is 3 weeks time....sian...have to wait again.

ya was kinda irritated with my HB because after the scan, he went back home and told everyone that the bb looked like an upside cockroach. So lame that crazy guy.

rachel's mummy...
I find mine slower leh.. coz of the ms ba.. hahahaha...

Diane..
U are at sun plaza too??? I'm there too.. I was there at around 11.30 to do my check up... so good to c your baby moving... so far,I nv c my baby moving leh.. only saw the heartbeat... Or I don know how to c?? hahahaha...
U doing Oscar arh???

<font color="0000ff">Diane,

Your DH just has a humourous streak in him, hee hee...;p

JJmom,

U are welcome

Cheezel...

Me oso super stoned tdy feel like taking leave/Mc for tdy haiz...</font>

Ladies, me too. Always feeling tired, fall asleep at work :p Too tried to care abt anything now, even skip my beauty routine &amp; sleep straight at nite...whahaha. Don't go out shopping anymore, mostly Zzzz at home @_o

Will we still be tired in 2nd trimester? Sigh...I don't like to be feeling restless all the time lei...like so unproductive

Tweety

i was still there at 11.30 wor!!!...u wearing what? I was standing near the glass panel with my HB lor. I looked fat and ugly...wahaahaaaa!!..
I noticed there were a few mummies coming in around 11.30am also. But Dr ang was in a rush yesteday. Heard that he needed to deliver 6 babies leh.

Tweety, Littlebluey, Jasminetea, Rachel mum
Thanks. Will guai guai take my medicine and hopefully all these will be over soon.

lili_fc

how come so expensive leh?...hmmmm...my gynae charges me $200 for the oscars. But yesterday plus consultation, scan and multi vitamins and duphaston, i paid around $340 because i haven sign package yet. Will sign only after oscars results show that bb is ok.

they charging you $314 for the oscars alone ah?

NUH is cheaper at $187..heeheee but the hospital like a bit far leh.

JJ mum,

I did the amniocentesis test last pregnancy cos I fail the triple test....it was not painful at all so not to worry but there is some risk of misscarry so this time round my gynea advise me to go for oscar taste first cos the accurrectly is above 90% even though I just hit 35.....but tell u hor waiting for the result of ammio was really miserable.....really scare that my bb got down symdrom......but luckily she is ok!.

hi mommies

thanks for all the great ideas. i just hope this heartburn condition gets better after i hit my 2nd trimester. very excited to see the growth of my baby at my next visit to the gynae on 8 apr! just hearing from all the MTBs about how much your bb had grown makes me feel really good!

btw, does anyone know of a good portal to check out give aways of baby stuff?

mousebb: Remember to take your medicine &amp; rest well ok?

Tweety: Yes, the FBI card has 10% on NT &amp; Detailed scan. NT scan is usually not included in gynae package one, I pay about $110 for it at TMC.