(2008/10) Oct 2008

bunnyhop,
I saw Dr M Tan for the 1st 5 months of my pregnancy. Then I moved to US because of hubby's job. Initially, the nurse also not sure if Dr TC Chang will accept me. But I told them that Dr M Tan did not deliver my baby, so he ok it eventually. I think he does that out of respect for his collegueas at the same clinic lah.

Foodwise, my mum made mainly chicken soup. I had chicken essence every morning, and chicken soup (with dian gui/brandy) every day. Sometimes, it's black chicken or fish. Black bean soup helped with my milk supply. I was in US then, so the supermarkets didn't have the stuff my mum needs. Just make do loh. I only remember I consumed 2 huge bottles of brandy within 1 month. In the end, my hubby paiseh to go to the liqour store, cos he says the store clerk probably think he's alcoholic. Hahahahhah...

Also, some nights, after I breastfeed my baby, I drank 1 shot of DOM neat.

Oh, I highly recommend this book from Popular bookstore. Very good pregnancy and confinement recipes, in both English and Chinese. So you can show ur CL too. Also tell you to eat what food for which trimester...etc. Author is Malaysian Chinese lady. Book title: Recipes for Pregnancy & Confinement. Author: Patsie Cheong. A4 size book. Red cover.

bunnyhop,
I saw Dr M Tan for the 1st 5 months of my pregnancy. Then I moved to US because of hubby's job. Initially, the nurse also not sure if Dr TC Chang will accept me. But I told them that Dr M Tan did not deliver my baby, so he ok it eventually. I think he does that out of respect for his collegueas at the same clinic lah.

Foodwise, my mum made mainly chicken soup. I had chicken essence every morning, and chicken soup (with dian gui/brandy) every day. Sometimes, it's black chicken or fish. Black bean soup helped with my milk supply. I was in US then, so the supermarkets didn't have the stuff my mum needs. Just make do loh. I only remember I consumed 2 huge bottles of brandy within 1 month. In the end, my hubby paiseh to go to the liqour store, cos he says the store clerk probably think he's alcoholic. Hahahahhah...

Also, some nights, after I breastfeed my baby, I drank 1 shot of DOM neat.

Oh, I highly recommend this book from Popular bookstore. Very good pregnancy and confinement recipes, in both English and Chinese. So you can show ur CL too. Also tell you to eat what food for which trimester...etc. Author is Malaysian Chinese lady. Book title: Recipes for Pregnancy & Confinement. Author: Patsie Cheong. A4 size book. Red cover.

Rei-chan, you are so funny!! Kekek...

Rei Chan & bunnyhop!!! I absolutely love Pigs trotters with vineger!!! But I like the skinny parts not the fatty ones.. Kekeke.. That's the only thing I am looking forward to...

Wah, good morning, early birds!

storeberry, bunnyhop: My fave part of the pig trotters is actualy the soup and egg. Must go somewhere for dim sum this weekend!

Jess: papaya soup for 9mths? Wah, then your baby must be really chubby chubby huh? I TBF for 13 months, pretty much ate as normal after the 2nd month. Baby is not chubby leh, so always kena comments about the quality of my milk. Hahahahha

Gathering: Let's have one in late Apr/May when everyone is over the MS ya. No point waste money now. Kekeke... At least it'll be something to look forward to when we are hugging the toilet bowl for this period.

i also will be ordering from natal essentials.. My friend ordered from them before too and got good reviews too. I will not be getting cl this time. My mom will be helping me. Juz hope we will not start war .. kekeke...

my ms doesn't seem to go away leh.. i really having "morning" sickness, the moment i wake up i feel nausea liao. I realised I need to take meaty stuff too. A bowl of fish slice bee hoon soup can't satisfy my tummy, at the end, i have to get a double cheeseburger, wah, that's really satisfying. I really hope it goes away soon.

wah so many posts! I can't catch up!

bunnyhop
yes, me had drug free natural birth.
Err... i had chicken boiled in concentrated DOM and my baby slept for 2 days... din even want to wake up for milk. Anyway I dun like DOM at all so it was a good excuse not to have any! hee hee

juzme
no, me is local. But i wanted to hire a doula right from the start cos I wanted drug free nat birth and it so happened that the first one i approached was into hypnobirthing.
Anyway, this is what I shared with the mummies in the sep thread abt my hypnobirthing experience
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1247966.html

Pig Trotters in vinegar
I dun dare to eat this. Told my MIL long long before I gave birth and luckily I din have to eat any!

Finally have my 328 katong laksa with otah this morning! Yummy yummy

diane, where did u get the book - what to expect when expecting? Went popular j8, out of stock. Heard borders have. Recommend by a colleague too.
How's ur sleep last night? Hope good. Been having lots of funny dream since pregnant, normal?
Tml i applied leave to rest and to cut down days at work next wk. Haha.

yo, went to see Dr Adrian yesterday..glad that bb is growing well (2.08cm)since i cant really eat for the past weeks. Im now 9weeks and EDD is 11-Oct. Going for NT scan 2weeks later, anyone also doing it?

I went for my 2nd visit with my gyane yesterday. I'm 9 weeks, 5 days. Baby is very active and I saw my baby's head, body, legs and hands already. I'm actually surprised 'cos for my #1 pregnancy, I only get to see my girl's full structure at week 12 but that is possibly 'cos for my girl I went to see my gynae at week 8 & then followed by week 12. Possibly, week 8 & week 9 makes a lot of difference!

I'm also glad to hear my baby's heartbeat beating very well. So cute. Somehow my EDD is brought forward to 6 Oct based on the scan yesterday but my gynae said she will leave it as 8 Oct for the moment.

I will be doing the triple test for DS which will be at my week 16 visit. Next visit, week 12, I can sign up antental package with my gyane already.

Janey, I had changed my destination to Korea instead 'cos hb finds Japan a bit out of budget.
Korea also not bad lar, got Everland and Lotte World for my girl. I had already booked my package on Sat. Will be dept on 30 Mar. Heee.. Looking forward to it!

On maid's agency, I haven't really look into it as I haven't firm up my decision to have one or not. But my friend recommended me Admore at Bukit Timah Plaza. Might go there first to take a look if I confirm getting a maid.

Hi Jasminetea,

I went for my scan last friday too. My baby is 2.63cm...at 9 weeks and 2 days. What is your baby's length?

I can only see a "round " shape which i presume is the head, plus a slightly "oval shape structure which i presume is the body. But i din see any hands and legs leh. U can see ur baby moving?

Good morning Ladies,

HOpe everyone has a good weekends!

Hi Diane,

My baby's size is 2.88cm. Yup, I can see my baby moving in the scan. My gynae also got commented that my baby is moving his/her hands and legs.
Maybe, I'm 3 days ahead of you, so I can see the hands and legs of my baby. I'm sure your visit you can see liao.

Hi jasmintea,

thanks.haahaa ya lor hopefully can see her/his limbs soon.i can hear the heartbeat. my EDD is 7 Oct...one day earlier than u though...so funny hor they way they compute. But i think 1 or 2 days make a lot of difference because they are growing very rapidly.

can visit this website to see the weekly development of baby!
www.paternityangel.com

Can I check with you - the triple test u mention, i think my gynae also told me during my visit...he said will do the test for me when i visit him on 2 April. Other than checking for DS, what else does it check for huh? The gynae told me but i forgot leh..i cannot seemed to remember anytime nowadays...haahaa

are u going for the OSCARS?

Morning Mummies,

Yes, eating cordyceps now is like eating Gold... I told my mummy and mil that as well. Heard that cordyceps are good for heart. During my last preggie, I took it alternate weeks during my 2nd trimester. Now dun think can afford anymore.

About gathering.. Can bring along our kid? Keke! Can't afford to leave him home alone. My FIL sure make noise.

Rei-chan, how did u manage to drink DOM? I took once and feel like whole body burning... I still remember that time I took DOM and bf my No.1, he went drunk.. whole face turn red and start whining here and there... So I stop after that.

Jasminetea, wah... nice hearing bb heartbeat and see the bb form finally... I also cannot wait to see mine... But I keep having phobia everyday. My gynae did told me, some twins (one of it) did not make it thru the first trimester.. blah blah... Now everynight, I keep on asking my hubby if the 2 darlings are okay in me etc.. He simple answer me this " I am not a doc and how am I suppose to answer u... what is meant to be is meant to be... zzzz" I can only see my babies this Saturday... by then will be 8 weeks exactly.

Mousebb, wah, u had ur 328 katong laksa? I wanna eat that badly as well but my DH says that I cannot take cockles... I think lame excuse because he is lazy to drive me there.

Rachel Mummy, how abt ur weekend? Mine ok ok...had fish head curry, MIL cook for us.

hi lili_fc

I got the book at Popular wor...why dun u ask the staff to check for you see which outlet still carry the stock? I got mine at Causeway Point Popular.

Me also got funny dreams, and nightmares every night leh..i feel so tired but cannot sleep well. Maybe we think too much during daytime...haahaaa!!

Hi Stephy - i got craving for sausage mcmuffin with egg for the past 2 days...have been eating for breakfast ...heehee

i recalled TakaBaby fair should have another one in August or sept, a smaller one inside Takashimaya. Those who keen to buy, should wait for GSS esp Robinsons SALE! Now go grab is just too early.

When i had my #1, who also due in OCT 05, i went rather late to grab. I went Taka when i was having confinement still having sale.

hold the horses now, its not a very good sale still.

Hi Purebliss,

cordyceps is "dong chong chow" is chinese is it? My fren told me supposed to be good for bb's complexion wor. U usually boil with chicken?

We can start to eat now is it?

Hi Diane,

Yup...9weeks as of saturday..my in-laws were worried that my bb wont grow, cos i hasnt been eating well and worse vomitted a few times

<font color="119911">hi morning to all! =)

taka fair wah was so very crowded on saturday afternoon. see queue i oso sian liao. so never really got mood see anything, much less buy. mum oso quite pandang, tell me cannot buy anything for baby til 2nd trim. think some of their promo items seem quite worth tho.

foodwise, haha ate fried black pepper crab tunghoon again at Tangs and after that snack on yami yoghurt lol. weekend is always sinful eating. today monday blues, almost din get into work haha. wanted to change gynae visit to today take mc sleep at home (lazy me) but tons of work so decided to keep it for next week lor. maybe can see baby gender by then?? X-fingers. but later mabbe go holland v for some r&amp;r makan hee... anything nice to recommend?

travel>> Jasmine, Korea oso very nice mah. of course Japan oso nice hee... but ex lor. we decided on HK in the end, coz of budget and foodwise mabbe easier to stomach. we oso booked le. flying on good friday. hee

Purebliss>> hey dun scare urself lah. think positive. u know now very impt for the babies inside u. try to stabalise your emotions ok? =) think positive! jia you!!

Diane,
Hi 5!!! I have been eating sausage mcmuffin too. I need meat leh. Maybe is going to be another boy again. When I had aaron, I craved for hokkien mee and roasted pork rice.

<font color="ff6000">morning mummies!

Everafter - we have the same EDD! 11 Oct! I went for gynae visit on Sat. I was exactly 9 weeks on Sat and bb's length is 2.3cm.
That's quite a big leap from 0.35cm in Week 6. Also saw the little heartbeat going. So relieved.

I have decided on Joycelyn Wong as my gynae. She's so nice! and so systematic in her explanation. She also told me not to shop for bb's stuff until 2nd trimester. just in case lah. which i think makes sense.

I also went for TMC hospital visit. The major problem is that they will have construction ongoing for one year more at least. And some floors are renovated, other floors are not. So you could book a one-bedder and get an unrenovated older looking room. Think I'll go check out MAH soon...

Purebliss - don't worry so much. Just relax. If you worry your babies might get anxious too!

Diane - I also feel like eating Sausage mcmuffin! but have been restraining cos not so healthy... but i think junk food once a week should be ok? hee.

Lili- i got my book at MPH Raffles City. Times also sells. But when i went to the times, it was out of stock. But that was about a month ago.

Juz Me - wow you might be able to see bb's gender so soon? I think it'll be at least 1-2 months more for me before we can tell...

sorry for the long post!</font>

Hi dimpletot,

Congrats on seeing your bb's heartbeat! My previous scan was abt 5weeks plus and only 0.78cm..now already 2.08cm, so i suppose its normal and growing well! Cant wait to see the gender!

<font color="119911">gender>> dimpletot, my sis was so lucky she knew her baby gender at week 10! hee.. next week i see doc i will be week 12 le. so hopefully she oso can tell me baby's gender

SME>>argh now i feel like eating sausage mcmuffin wif egg haha. mabbe tmr morning i go buy ;P

Hi Dimpletot

ya lar..think so long as we dun eat for every meal can already.

Hi Stephy - I heard from my friends if crave for meat and strong flavoured food means boy....but dun know whether how true!...heeheee...my husband prefers gals..he kept telling me to "talk to HER"...then i will ask him wat makes u so sure it a "HER"?...heeheee

I read from some website that we can see the gender of bb from 12 weeks onwards, provided the bb is coooperative

<font color="ff0000">purebliss</font>,
my weekends was not very good. every meal i ate i vomitted all out. haiz...

<font color="0000ff">carole</font>,
the next baby fair at taka will be in sept.

<font color="aa00aa">mummies</font>,
i m so envy with u gals. get to see ur baby.

i will be seeing my gynae end of this mth only.

ya..i heard before too..that if crave for meat, most likely is boy..DH also prefers a girl..every night,keep talking to "her" too...heee

haha...my hubby different leh..he prefers a boy..when i was in metro jus casually lookin at bb clothing, he asked me y i kept lookin at girls type!! aiyoh, girls's one more varieties and cute leh!

<font face="tahoma"> Good morning ladies,
Went for my 2nd visit last Fri. Same as everafter and jasminetea, my bb is 9 week + 1 day then.

Saw baby moving and saw the legs and hands bubs... Gynae said dont consider legs and hands yet. Baby is measuring at 2.62cm.

everafter,
thank you gal.

jollyhappy &amp; other mummies,
talking abt gender. my 1st one is a girl. actually i hope tat my 2nd one is a girl too. coz i invested too much $ on clothes for my elder one. so if the 2nd one is a girl, i really dun mind.

but if is a boy. is really a bonus for me.

Hi Juz Me,

u eat crab not scared bb will be very "hands - on" ah?...heeheee....i heard if eat crab during pregnancy the bb will be very active.,..then always touch here touch there ...haahaaa!!...but if u not "pandang" then enjoy eating!

Hi Rachelmummy - time will pass very fast lar...i just went for my scan last fri...now also cannot wait for the next scan...2 April..so long....

Hi everafter, ya agree gal clothes are soooo much fun to look at lor....but i really got strong feeling mine will be a boy....duh...

lol, if you wish for a boy, keeps calling HER. if you wish for a girl, always call HIM.

dun hurry into buying bb's things nw. too many to get till you all forget and get repeats later. I bought tonnes of things, and only handful is being used. waste money! only thing that is worth it is the Mendela PIS Advance. till tdy after 28th mths i am still BF-ing. My gynae gng to give up in telling me to stop BF-ing soon. kekekeke