(2008/10) Oct 2008

buffy: oh... i was there abt 735pm.. hehe... the clinic was empty and i was so surprised cos usually it will be packed with couples! Me first patient.. lucky!

lili.. me also craving for chicken everyday .. haha.. any kind of chicken.. every meal also chicken.. lol

buffy.. during my last pregnancy, i was advised against eating kang kong leh... my mom says u'll get cramps cos kang kong is also a "liang"/cooling vege...

anyone else heard abt kang kong also?

hi emma,

ya, kang-kong may cause muscle cramps. When i was doing competitive sports when younger, i was advised not to avoid kang-kong.

how about lime juice? I had craving the other for sour stuff, so I took a cup of lime juice and I had brownish discharge on the same day.

emma
Yes kang kong is cooling, cant take. I heard my mum inlaw said. Better eat more fish. I had stream white promfret (wrong spelling) if eat zhi cai outside. Heard fish is good

Hi new here, yest went to my GP and he confirmed that i'm pregnant, will see gynae this saturday. Will see Dr Mary Yang at Gleneagles.

lili, not all fish is good. you have to be selective. i think there is a list of consumerable fish on the search engine. check them out. This is because some fish contains higher amt of mercury.

Hi so is those packet red date tea good or not? I am planning to buy leh..

Going for appt soon.... Bye~!!

monyetnakal> congrats and welcome!

Seems like i hv eaten alot of things which I shd not be eating..

Hv eaten many pineapple tarts before tested +ve. Then yesterday, Lou Hei with some frds and ate the raw fish. Also ate sushi, although i avoided those with raw fish, but i ate a couple with fish roe. In between, i ate ice cream, watermelon, shark's fins..Oh no, so guilty..

From tonite onwards, must be guai guai liao, only keep to those "safe" food.

Is anyone of you here on other kinds of supplements other than the multi vits and folic given by gynae? For example, calcium pills, DHA/fish oil pills etc?

Precious - I think lime juice shld be ok....its rich in vitamin c isn't it? I have craving for that tooo...with curry fish head!

Lili - fishes that we cannot eat include shark, salmon, tuna and macakerel...they are considered deep sea fishes plus they eat other fishes as food..so mercury content is higher.

For sugarcane drink, i read before that it is considered dirty. Most of the time, sugar cane drinks are sold at those hawker stalls and the sugar canes are usually placed on the dirty floor. Because the sugar cane can absorb the dirt, when the juice is grinded, the dirt gets grinded too...plus some hawker stall have cats, rats and other pests that "visit" their stalls at night...then they urinated etc on the floor, the sugar cane absorb the urine which makes it not edible at all!! So i have never been a fan of sugar cane drinks, even before i was preggers.

im on hormones pill, Multi Vit, Calcium, Folic & NeuroGain. every morning 5 pills to pop.

had my chicken rice with lots of CHILLI! hiak hiak

Hi Oct08, what is neurogain? For what purpose? Buy from where?..heehee paiseh i very kaypoh..
U are making me drool leh...hmmm...maybe i eat chicken rice for dinner later...haahaa!! But wait later sure keep burping garlic!

thanks, oct08mummy. later going supermarket to get the dried ones.

but chicken rice are a thing of the past for me. sobs.

diane, i bought a bottle of efanatal (omega-3 and -6) but don't eat it regularly cos i can't stand the fishy smell when i burp.

I am eating Goldmind's DHA from GNC...it is the food (algae marine) that fishes eat in order to produce DHA...so its not extracted from the fish meat itself which is better because fish meat has mercury content...but quite ex leh..$70 per bottle..if member then got 10% discount....

CH, I don't have MS as well. In fact, I don't have much signs of pregnancy except I get hungry more easily and I tend to go for spicy food. I do get a bit worried sometimes, wonder if my pregnancy is okay 'cos no sign of showing. However, my pregnancy with my no 1 also no MS, so this round, I don't feel as scared as my 1st round.

Diane, I'm on Vitamin B Complex besides folic acid. Have been taking it for a long time and since gynae is okay with me continuing with it, I just continue with it.

Hi Jasminetea,

heard that Vit B is good for nerve functions
...no wonder the doc say ok to eat. He din give u multi vit?

Btw, how come some of us here do v scanning in order to see the sac...? Normal tummy scan cannot see?

oct08, diane
Thanks on the fish eating.. How about crab and prawns? Had cold crab recently and prawns last night.
jasminetea
Praise the Lord! I dun have much MS too. Just felt giddy when i m in 5wks. Now, just eat when hungry.

Hi lili,

err crabs and prawns ah? Some old folks will say cannot eat crabs because ur bb will end up with "many hands"...(like to touch things here and there)...but if u dun believe then its ok lor...as for prawns shld be ok too bah...just eat everything in moderation can already

diane,
Was told that during 1st trimester, normal V Scanning is done. Later will be T scanning. Just relax. At 1st i couldnt, and shocked.

I'll only be at 4.5 wks tml...will Dr. Adrian do a V scan for me or he'll scan for me during my nxt visit when the sac's more visible?

diane,
No worries, i heard too. But was wonder if is safe to eat. Will not eat much.
How about durian? Heard is vy 'pu' but not good for health cos sugar intake high. Right?

hi jasminetea, were you really, really healthy before pregnancy, ie the seldom sick or tired type with a healthy glow? i'm trying to ascertain if having no ms means a healthier body cos i just heard that from my tcm physician.

elch
I guess should be V Scan. Tell ur dr if u not comfortable or ask ques if any doubt. Mine is a lady dr and she is quite gentle. LOL.
But for sake of bb, have to endure this, i feel.

Will took neurogain also. Just bought it yesterday at Unity pharmacy, i think around $34 plus for 1 month supply (30 pills). They say neurogain should be commonly available at pharmacy.

lili...I dun mind V scan as long as I'm able to see my baby but wat I'm worried is tat my sac's too small to be captured tml...

Hi lili,

i heard that if u eat durain during pregnancy, the baby will turn out very big!..because very "pu" mah...will have trouble giving birth unless u opt for c section.

Chris, from my gynae. I think normal pharmacies will sell. its abt 30sgd per bottle.

I m not sure if crabs and prawns are ok. but i still eat crab but i stopped prawns.

Durian, too BU now. try to hang on till after 4mths. Even Korean Ginseng or Ginseng after 4 mths. Birdnest after 7mths.

Coconut juices when abt 8.5mths.

I m nt sure if this works for everyone, but some of my friends and myself proven that eating beef, baby has more hair.

elch
when i was 5wks plus, already can see sac. Sure u able to see too.
diane
Guess will eat durian moderately.
I like beef so will eat more then.
Btw, dun eat lamb meat, no good.
Going dinner soon. Take care till we chat again tml. Bye

hi elch, i am also seeing Dr Adrian. normally he will use tummy scan first. if really cant see the sac, he will ask u come back 2 weeks time. if 2 weeks later still cant see then he will request to do vaginal scan. not to worry, at 5 weeks can see water sac liao. take care ya !

Hi porky
How r u ?

I did a scan this morning , lucky the sac is in the womb, so do a D & C in the afternoon.

Did Dr Adrian gv u and antibyotic ?

Oct08
Me just had sugarcane drink yesterday. Why cannot take sugarcane drink huh?
I also love to eat kangkong esp with sambal chilli. During my 1st pregnancy, I always eat this veg until my frens told me kangkong can cause muscle cramp easily. I guess that was the reason why i always had leg cramps duing my 2nd and 3rd trimester. Now with my 2nd one, i must guai guai liao.
I also heard pple said it is better not to take 'cooling' food and 'bu' during the first five months of the pregnancy.

Dont know why for the whole day, my tummy feel very bloated leh... for the past 2 weeks, i was always feeling hungry easily but today only took breakfast (veg bee hoon) and feel very 'full' liao. Only took biscuits for lunch.

Going for gyane appt tomorrow evening. Hope everything will go well for me.

mousebb, see diane's answer above... u will know why :p

Sugarcane is a cooling drink and on top of that they are very prone to bacterias.

hi cally, so confirm that there is a sac but not healthy ? i have done the D&C this morning. ..how are u coping now ? can i ask u something, do u still feel any cramps now after the D&C ? yes he gave me the antibotics and i have already taken twice today

<font color="119911">welcome to monyetnakal =)

sorry what is neurogain for har? good ah? gynae rec one? i havent done a v scan b4 leh. mabbe coz i went quite late, about 7 weeks. US can see le. even got heartbeat, so no nid v scan issit?

i been craving beef noodles. faint had twice in 2 weeks ;P also crave kfc!! faint so unhealthy and unnutritious food haha also feel like eating crab bee hoon. gonna have it later today haha

mousebb>> is normal to feel bloated but u should try to eat a bit anyway. try smaller meals? i keep those packets of crackers in office and home. the jacobs type got 3 pcs in one pack only. and calcium enriched ;)

storeberry>> i heard from my colleague her gynae actually recommend her to drink gassy drink, coz it allows a big satisfying burp hee... but of course must limit not too many (and not coke and pepsi)

Porky and Cally>> hope u ladies are doing well. take care ya? my frend undergone D&amp;C also for her mc during 6 weeks. but she conceived a healthy baby boy after. so all the best ya?

Good morning Chris

Juz Me, I also have craving for beef noodles leh! The dry type of lots of sauce and chili!...But i read that too much beef will cause baby boys to have low sperm count..so i guess eat in moderation can already to satisfy the craving...dun eat everyday and for every meal

Gd Morning! I've not come into the Forum for many days.

I'll be going for my first gynae appointment next morning afternoon (finally this day has come). Am very nervous and excited. Hopefully can see/hear something lor.

Jus wanna ask whether you gals have break your preg news to your boss/colleagues or frens even though have not cross the 1 trimester? Cos i understand some people are "pang tang" and will only tell after the 1st trimester. For myself, ive not tell yet cos i want to get confirmation of my preg from my gynae first.

Morning ladies...

lili...u were at least 5wks+ when u saw the sac but I'll jus be at 4.5wks...jus hope baby's healthy...c 2 wks later oso nvm! Hee...

porky...thks thks...tat's great info to prepare me wat to expect later...hope u r coping n resting well...do take care!

Hi Linda,

i told my boss after i tested postive..in case i dun feel well and need to rest etc...better to tell earlier. But i told her to keep to herself and dun "announce" the news to others.

Linda: I think u can let a few of ur close colleagues know so that they can look after u in office. As for boss, think it's up to ur workload i guess. If ur workload is heavy n will get stressed i also think it's better to let ur boss knows so that he won't stress u too much.