(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="#151B54"> R&amp;R,
!!!!!! WTH?!?! TAKE HER HEART OUT TO MEND THE HOLES?!?! this is a really SHOCKING WAY to mend Rachel's heart lor... and to wat i know, a person's brain will died if it dun hve enuf OXYGEN. and the heart helps to pump blood to the whole body and OXYGEN to the brain!!!

wat are the percentage of recovering and success to the OP? whn is her 2nd OP? can understand how u feel. livin in fear and stress whn the OP date is gettin nearer and nearer</font>

<font color="#151B54"> lili,
ic. tot of puttin my kids into CCC. but afraid that they might not wan it. but for my boy i wont put him to CCC coz of his skin problem.. haiz... guess if i really need to work.. i must really have a good and wonderful plan...</font>

jollyhoppy,

You never wash at all after 12pm pump?
I had tears welling up this morning when I change him before dropping him at my mum's place...so sad not to be able to take care of my boy 24/7...

elchwong: i attended the 'bfeeding- back to work' talk, they say can do this way..also checked on the net that it's ok..just need to put in the fridge..i wanted to use the tablets but my frens say there's a funny smell &amp; must rinse off, so i decide not to. have a few colleagues oso use this method (fridge), so far, their bb ok.

<font color="#151B54"> lili,
CCC = Child Care Centre. mine is mayb at Sembawang lor. but i dun like leh.. coz my side are those NTUC CCC. and the CCC "teachers" treat the child like animals. scold them for nth!! shout at them like dunno wat!!! i hate it!!! i saw it with my very own eyes!!! so i swear that i will NEVER NEVER allow my kids to go to NTUC CCC.. but other CCC are ex leh... haiz....

wah this thread is moving so fast!!

hello Joanne, welcome to the thread! wah your baby is doing very well; sleeps from 7pm to 5/6am! No more night feeds. Very close to what Gina Ford advocates in her The New Contented Little Baby Book.

hello Yoyasan, welcome to the thread! According to the The New Contented Little Baby Book, "a baby under 4 mth would need 75ml of milk for each pound of his body weight". 1 pound is about 0.45kg.

dimpletot, yea hubby accidentally hit me. He went out &amp; bought 11 canes yesterday! Tok abt overkill. I gave him 1 cane and hide the rest. Siao! I am on cold war with him now..

rains, have been trying to do that, will continue to reassure her lah.. no choice. sigh. I even ask her if she wants to drink milk from me &amp; offer to her before I latch baby. Sometimes she give my nipple a quick lick. Sometimes she refuses. Quite funny actually.

;p today is the first day of Nursery for my toddler and we got misled by 2 other parents that Nursery starts Wednesday. Gave a call to the school this morning and was told that Nursery actually starts today. Mad rush to get to school and was late by 1 hour!! hahaa..

the CNY rompers are very nice!! Actually Izzy has a lot of hand-me-down CNY clothes from Emms. When Emms was abt 1 yr old plus, she could change CNY clothes every day of the CNY visiting also! Let me see what is left before I start buying more.. heh

mousebb, never heard that breastmilk not BU one leh.. You eat more nutritious food can already mah!

re: nursing shawl
i just started using the Lovedbaby one. So far so good. But Izzy hates anything touching her forehead. So I have to "position" my breast first before I put her under the shawl. But I find that it is a bit short around the sides which is where I want coverage in case someone looks at me from the side! But looking at the other options, I still feel that this feels less hot when wearing it!

karen, where did you get your Bebe Au Lait one? I saw it before on the Internet but dont want to purchase direct from a US website..

mousebb,

I m still waiting too. Hubby juz called KKH during lunch to make a fuss out of it. We waited &amp; waited since last year late June until now.

Rebecca,

That's Y. The reason Y I rather fork out more $ to pay for the devices than taking her heart out.

<font color="#151B54"> R&amp;R,
better to pay more den be sorry lor...

me gtg liao.. tired ler.. start to have neck and back aching... dunno whn will i login again...

ask u huh reg the maternity leave reimbursement from gov is done by us or company? the reimbursement is paid to us of pay to company?

mousebb,
wenmin slept from 7.30am to 1.30pm. Think that is too long liao. Thought we are suppose to wake them up for milk if it exceed 4 hours. The only time we don't wake them up for milk is night time.

Pumping at work,
Looks like I am the dirtiest one. :p Luckily bb no lau sai. I pump at 9am, 1pm, 5pm if I can. After pumping I will just rinse the funnel with boiling/hot water then keep in the ziplock bag. Next pumping session just remove from ziplock to pump. :p My office only has mini fridge no space for my funnel so I had to improvise.

joanne

Yup I live in simei. U live east too? There are a few of us here in the east... Join us!

Rebecca

Nice to see u again. Wow three kids and so slim, must be your youth.

Icylemon

Which CCC is that? So fast got such a long waiting list??!

On CNY
heh I got married after CNY 07 only gave one yr and this year can collect liao. Hee. But all go to her savings account... Actually some ppl say first married dun need to give but we ended up giving anyway...

Whitepaper
wow. Good thing u have stores of bm. I think yr CH got super appetite.

Essana

11 canes is really overkill. He must be really mad with emms. I believe in caning cos I was caned too. I'm quite rebellious and think caning did me good. But parents must be mindful not to cane in anger and to explain later. Also as last resort when behaviour very unacceptable la.

Thanks for the shawl feedback...

Jollyhoppy,
Aiya, should have find out more about expressing during working hours before I buy the Pureen Sterilizing tablets yesterday! Read the instructions of the tablets, it says no rinsing required, there's really a weird smell though...shall use your method tomorrow! So much so for lugging a big bag of liquid detergent and Lock &amp; Lock container to work this morning...not forgetting the Medela PIS backpack!

re: expressing at work
looks like there is no one standard or cleanest method to washing the pump parts after we are done expressing...

Jenny,
So good can pump 3 times...my 1st day back at work I abit paiseh to get away from work and pump so frequently thus have to tahan the engorgement just now for 7hours before I pump at lunch time...anyway I also don't have enough storage bottles to allow me to pump 3 times till my Avent COnversion Kit arrives which allows me to pump from Medela to Avent bottles/cups direct...

elchwong: ya..soo many things to bring. i even read that some dun sterilise their pump each time..only like once a day..to think that during my ML i was sterlising my pump every 3/4 hours.. so tiring..i guess if we realli go thru the 'proper way' of sterlising, gonna take up so much time , like more than half hour..really cannot be away from my desk for so long..

elchwong,
Not everyday can pump 3 times. But I still tries. I pump on my desk so during pumping I will type email or check email. I also dun have enuf storage bottles so I usually will combine the milk from the same session into one bottle then reuse the bottle after rising with hot water. If really not enuf then I will use milk bag.

jollyhoppy,
yeah the "proper way" is way too taxing and time consuming. So in the end I pump on my desk even though my office is open concept with no partition but I not pai seh use a normal for coverage and start pumping liao. Small office only 5 pax so not so bad.

pildough,
I can't make it on Wed also.

jellypurin,
What time are you going to Studio Loft tmr?

Karen,
Have pm-ed you my no.

lili,
I find the top to toe wash too dry for my baby also. I switch to california baby shampoo and bodywash and I find it quite good.

dimpletot,
Get a nursing bib/apron. It's more airy as compared to a shawl.

mousebb,
got such thing as bm not 'bu' enuff meh? I tot bm is best liao.

essanna,
Buy 11 canes got discount ah? haha! Aiyoh, tell your hubby nowadays nobody use cane already lah.

jill,
My gal also refuse the bottle. I tried and tested many teats and bottles already. Now I'm using the NUK latex one and she's ok with it. But I cannot be the one to feed her and I must make myself 'disappear' when she's drinking from the bottle.

<font color="aa00aa">re: CNY
Haha! This year can collect double also! Already lugi for 6 years and last year got wenxuan to collect some so at least not so lugi and this year there's wenmin! Haha!

Jenny
Thanks! I woke wenmin up at 9am to bath and after that she was playing for about an hour before she fall asleep at 10am plus again.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">essanna, mint
What to do? Older pple always believe fm milk is better (more 'bu') cos bb wont get hungry easily mah.</font>

dimpletot, yup staying at east coast area. me starting work next wed. so sianz....

elchwong, actually i did wat u mentioned with my 1st gal, wash, use hot water to rinse then sterilise w tablets. PD recommend using tablets, my colleague's kid fell sick w rashes n PD oso told her to use the tablets. jus ignore the smell. i used it every day at work 4 15months n my gal is fine.

<font color="0000ff">It's been a long time since coming in here ahahahaha...

want to relinquish the moments with my boy before returning to work in 2 wks time

<font color="#151B54"> dimpletot,
ok la.. slim but got tummy. dun like!!

re:CNY
haha... i'm nt excited on CNY as i love shoppin. ans this few days i cnt shoppin. sianz. dun like it.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Icylemon,

Regine is the champion bb wor!!

But like what you say, most importantly is champion in other areas like studies and etc and not juz weight!

Else isn't it meaningless juz to compare weight all the time??

Hahahaha ;p

<font color="0000ff">Hi Rebecca,

How hv u been?

I can't shop le wor, my DH is going to "kill" me le ooops he said my spending is more than my working mths!! :p

this week abit difficult for me to meet up liao, my whole household except baby and i are sick! sorry, maybe after cny?

bbl. she cries again.. -slunks off-

Can I check with you gals if pigeon standard teats fit into medela bottles. I'm current using wide neck ones and know they don't fit into medela bottles. Want to know if the standard ones do.

Hi XinYing,

I'm playing around with Photobucket. How can I merge several pictures into a pic. For example, having a main picture and adding several smaller pics on the sides.

hw u gers getting on?

I am gog bk in 2 weeks time too! sianz.......dragging myself to work

R&amp;R,
wah regine is of good weight! keep it up..looking forward to see her pics!

bluey,
true lar, i tik weight is nv impt..health is the most impt!

xinying,
I hv seen a giant last week! bigger than Marcus ..my cousin juz popped last week..her bb is 4.38kg, moreover its NATURAL BIRTH!!! saluate!!!!!

bluey
hello! gng bk to work so soon? havent chatted w u for long

mint
going in the morn.. like 11am?

dreamy
you can fit pigeon teats to medela bottles. in fact what is deened "standard" size teats can fit into medela bottles

pildough
aiyo, take care.

re: gathering
yes, let's meet after CNY!

I'm now quite worried about my girl. For a few nights already, she would wake up once in a while and cry for a few seconds. While at the same time, still sleeping. She looks like she's in misery. Anyone has such experience? I wonder if she's in pain. Add to that, she has been not sleeping well during the daytime. Previously, she would sleep for 2 -3 hours. Now, max. 1 hour. Any advice?

<font color="0000ff">Hi Trace,

Never see you for a long long time le!!

U saw a giant bigger than Marcus? Hahaha, I've a fren oso delivered in Oct but her bb gal weighs 4.5kg at birth!! Hee Hee..

Jellypurin,

Yup! going back to work 2 days before CNY lolx ;p

I miss chatting with you also, will try to be back in action when I'm back in office hahahaha...

Rebecca,

Great to know that, you got 3 leh! So definitely more of a handful but it's great to hv the company of your kids

Karen,

Most probably your girl is startled by something, bb tend to be more sensitive at times. Sometimes, my boy oso will go thru the same thing.

If u are tapping her to zz, try tappin her lightly on her chest to assure her.

Btw, is she over stimulated during the day? If so, she might not zz well too.

Littlebluey
Thanks! Will try that tonight. Think shouldn't be over stimulation. I hardly have time to do anything to her since she's either so sleepy or cranky.

<font color="0000ff">Karen,

I notice as our bb gets older, their nap times tend to be shorter. For my boy's case, he will normally zz for 2-3 hrs after his 7 am feed then for the rest of the day, he will juz take 40 winks or so..-_-" therefore sometimes it's hard for me to do things hahaha..becos he's always seeking attention.

Hope the mthd helps, becos it does for me. If still doesn't work, maybe try giving a small amt of "jing feng san" it does help to an extend