(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">dimpletot, eelyn
Yup. Will call hubby to give aunt a call tonight. If the cakes are really from rich and good, then I think it is exp! </font>

think i will get my hb to go down on sat or sun to buy the swiss roll...

eelyn,
are the nuby really cheaper outside? even cheaper than less 20%?

purple,
mm... i bought my nuby stuff from tangs that time. it was 20% plus 6% rebate with tangs card. the bp price not very attractive. the pink 10oz bottle for eg is $11.90nett outside. if 20% discount its $9.50 only. she selling $10.00 excl postage. but i realized nowadays nuby things very hard to find outside. the stocks stores carry not comprehensive enough. will look ard this wkend if i find any nuby stuff.. if cant find then i'll buy from bp.

mousebb,
Interesting hor...hehe...I like to read 'dramatic' threads like this...it's the kaypoh nature in me...:p Keep us updated if it's realyl from your aunt's shop!

JTS:
my bp - http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2520140.html?1244708422

PM me for oct mummy prices.

purpleangel,
yea lo.. i went to john little, robinsons, tangs and giant.. canot find the bottles n teats leh.. but that was some time ago la.. maybe they were restocking then. will go check out again. this time buy and stock up le.. hubby always say dun wan buy when we need.. now canot already.. stock stock stock!! haha..

Karen,
Oh I see. hmm.. maybe shall sms her.. heehee!

mousebb,
Wah so drama leh... but it's just for my own reading pleasure and kaypoh-ness... hahaha!

<font color="ff6000">came across this review on nursing rooms by this daddy. from babycenter singapore. quite long, but sure shows his experience. haha.

Sun Tec (2/10) – Only two points for just having a baby nursery room. Have three separate washing basins, but none have water connection. Wipe and Go concept. On weekend the nursery room can get very dirty and with the poor ventilation, parent coming out from the nursing room smell like dirty diapers. Singapore Expo (1/10) Sharing with Handicap. On several occasion, long queue used by anybody and everybody wanting to use a toilet. End up changing my baby diaper inside the car. Tampines 1 (3/10) - All floor indicated have nursing room. It’s actually sharing the signage pointing to handicap toilet. Handicap toilets have no section for diaper change. The only one is located on the 5th floor. Have three very small individual cubicles for mum’s breast feeding and two for diaper changing. Problem is the room passageway is so narrow, when someone pushes in a baby stroller, no other stroller can get in and walking pass the stroller inside is near impossible without knocking on the stroller. Parkway Parade (5/10) – Very odd, baby nursery room is just after ladies toilet. Meaning as for me, I need to enter the ladies toilet to get to the nursery. Average facilities. Forum (2/10) – Makeshift nursery. No hand washing basin and very basic diaper changing stand. Can be dirty. Liang Court / Isetan Scotts (7/10) – Quite a complete nursery but a little noisy. Ikea (7/10) – A modest baby nursery room. Quite odd sometimes it locks. Above average facilities inside. Millennia Walk (9/10) – Most cozy with right ambient and complete nursery. Very clean and temperature inside is just nice. No full point for this nursery because it is located at basement 1 on its own at the carpark level. Very quiet, too quiet - Can get too creepy. What is appropriate Baby Nursery Room: • Hand Washing Basin • At least two Diaper changing stand/section • At least two Breast Feeding cubicle with lock • Close Bin for dirty Diapers • A Sofa or long bench for waiting parent • Plenty of Toilet roll or tissue (Isetan Scotts –thumb up) • Good size for several stroller to maneuver or park • Excellent ventilation • Hot / Cold water dispenser • Room Temperature - Cool not Cold (Centrepoint-Too Cold) • Smooth Music - optional

Personally, I like the Century Square one. Got hot and cold water, bench sofa seat for nursing, diaper changing area, basin to wash, toilet paper roll, can lock room, big diaper dustbin... </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Mint, elch
Ya lor! Think this person is going to spoil the reputation of my aunt's cake shop. Sigh! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">After reading thru the posts, I think most probably the organiser is getting the cakes from the rich and good cake shop. Agreed with the other mummies that the BP price should be low otherwise why should we get from the BPs here.</font>

dimple
I agree about the Millenia Walk nursery room. I love it! Big and nice, but still allows seclusion. Even provide high chairs! But yah, at one corner of the car park level. But that's why I love it
I also quite love the nursing rooms at KKH as well as Paragon.

Isetan Scott's so kawaii! Very Japanese! Behind one of the cashiers.

dimpletot,
Hmm.. is he talking about the 3rd level one at Suntec where there's toys r us and other maternity shops? If so, then I think that one quite ok leh.

Singapore Expo has a makeshift nursery which has bfeeding rooms and diaper changing stations.

Forum is because the nursery is undergoing reno. Not fair to make a judgement right now.

Think this daddy never really open his eyes big enuf to search for a nursery.

I like the one at Great World City. Very comfy chairs for bfeeding.

jelly

enrichment? for kids below 1yr? hmm... what do they offer that we mums can't?

Ruffles

dunno why it's pandemic if no more severe than normal flu fatality wise. if everyone gets a minor infectious rash also called pandemic?

Mummies not working today

Karen and I will be at Vivo for lunch. Text or call us if you are inspired to join / going mad at home / need some retail therapy / wanna fire your boss.

dimple
honestly, i wanted to go bcos as a FTWM and hvg my mom as full time care giver for my bub, i dunno if she is learning anything. also, they hv a chinese playtime and i thot it would be good! i speak mostly english to her...so just want her to get started young i think

So long yet to post a thread. Great that the mummies here are active.

Ya! H1N1 now pandemic. Australia is one of the affected zone. Worrisome for us, cos going to bring my baby with me to stay in Sydney for a year. Praying that we'll be ok. Any advise?

anyone brought their baby overseas esp Australia. Understand one of the mummies is now holidaying there. Thinking of bringing some of her baby food like the ground ikan bilis and her cereals but not sure can pass the custom. Heard they are quite strict. Also worried if she can ta han the air flight.

calla
apparently, trace's bub survived the flight v well... i think it's really up to the bub. i suggest u try not to bring the foods in there. if u really hv 2, smuggle it! hee

<font color="119911">morning all mummies,
juz me reporting in after a super long break lol
finally back to work..hai feel so sian,
lucky start on friday haha
how's everyone? seems thread as active as before!
wow so many mummies bringing bubs travelling??
we keep planning but still havent dare to do it!

<font color="aa00aa">elch
Is it 6 months or 12 months? I remember Dr Adrian told me 6 months but the cover letter which the clinic sent me with my pap smears result said 12 months. Have you seen him already? </font>

I recall seeing a Winnie the Pooh romper that come with a hood in BP before but can't seem to find them now...if you ladies come across let me know ok...thanks!

mousebb,
In my appointment card the clinic assistant wrote '6 months later'...for pap smear it's yearly but post-natal check up is 6 months later...so I think it's different...going to see him tonight!

heenee
I think this HeeNee spreads fast and quick, although not as fatalistic as Sars. Still, who wants to get it, right?

I didn't coin the term. An SQ leading air-stewardess coined it. True story. She was making announcements upon landing, something about H1N1 precautions. And she read H1N1 as 'HeeNee'. Wah, so lose Singapore face.

Can let me know what is all about the 6-month check up? In this case, I better go see him soon lor! My appt card also states 6 months later. </font>

Thanks for the reminder about the 6 months check-up. I have totally forgotten about it. Haha! </font>

Preggy Days
You are all sickos. Heee. I don't miss them one bit but I'm always reminded of them. For example, the smell of my dogs' condiitoner will give me a bad taste in my mouth, reminding me of last year. I think it must be the constant heartburns, making me uncomfortable.

Ya hope to find out more from Trace when she's back...
Do be careful mummies when introducing new foods. must keep to the four day rule. We didn't cos just threw all the ingredients my mum in law prepared for us into my girls' porridge for the afternoon. She threw up so much that I have not seen before that night. then broke out in rashes all over her body. But thankfully those subsided. not sure what it was that caused that. Also wondering if it's formula that she reacted to. Just started formula two weeks ago.