(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">cheerbear
depend on wat puree to give. if apple ll give 30min b4 cereal. if pumpkin then ll add together.
NO more milk given after cereal/puree. only give after 3hrs lata. ll give some EBM as water by spoon only during/after finish cereal</font>

aiyo.. what to do.. rianne is rejecting drinking from the bottle. she's crying like crazy every time i try. 2 days already.

bbgoh,
i dun give milk right after cereal and my son cant wait for the next 3hr feed.. usually he will be hungry after 1.5hr but he cant finish the milk so now i will drag to 2hrs then give him.

xy,
since marcus gets hungry so fast then think u can increase abit more the cereal

XY,
I think Ashley no more BP now right..

Marcus maybe wanna get to smell milk.. they are not hungry..but need the smell of milk...

Mousebb
Oh dear, sound serious that you are pumping out blood. Did you over-pump earlier? I had skin infection at the aerola few months back. Had to hand-express, really nightmarish... you shld see gynae to get antibiotics if need be.

Jetudes/bbgoh - Thanks! Good info... going to print out and digest this at home. I am abit late in starting solids. Know a lot of mums here already started liao.

Talking abt Moon Rabbit brown rice, is it good? I heard a lot of mums buy from EYS, which they claim more reliable and better quality. My MIL best, says want to buy the original ingredients, wash and prepare at home and bring to TCM shop to grind.... I find it too troublesome... as usual... I am a lazy mum... haha.... I probably buy from EYS or ZTP.

<font color="0000ff">XY,
orrr tat Ashley! hmm...did Karen get hers from her too?

if really only her selling beco, then i think i go ask hubby to check the connecta design bah. If he is ok with any then i rather get connecta from EY =P</font>

<font color="0000ff">Surf,
my PIL also like your MIL, hinted me tat they know the owner of the shop tat grind brown rice. My MIL also mentioned abt washing &amp; sunning the brown rice b4 grinding. If they r doing it, it's fine with me, my Nat benefit...hahaha</font>

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">re : feeding semi-solid
Yesterday started Nat on Heniz plain rice cereal, give abt 3 teaspoon of cereal mixed with EBM. She still doesnt know what to eat properly. Very impatient as she's hungry!

Tried this afternoon, same thing happened... after few spoons she's impatient! Guess must feed her when she's less hungry :p</font></font>

cheerbear,
I just started my boy on the eys brown rice powder over the weekend. Prepared one tablespoon, but he did not finish.

bbgoh,
u diy the pumpkin puree? or buy bottle one?

i am a lazy mum.. always give my son bottle one.. i know not very healthy and so far only did ONCE which is banana puree..

mspiggy - feed Nat her milk first. 1/2 hr later feed puree. She will be happier and you also ensure she takes her milk.

Anyone fed spinach puree to yr bb yet? Tried this morn and Victoria made funny faces; din like it. How how? Now I have a 'vegetable' problem on my hands ... read that you cannot try to hide the greens to children becos they will hate it forever. Anyone has any tips? She absolutely loves her pumpkin and carrots maybe becos it is sweet unlike spinach (I tasted the latter - it is not bitter, but definitely not sweet).

cheerbear - try not to give too much commercially prepared jar foods. Read that apart from having preservatives in them, the nutrient content in these foods are insufficient for a growing baby. It is actually VV easy to make purees. Steam the fruit / boil the veg in a lil water, and use the handblender to puree. You can make a week's supply v easily.

pinkimum,
one tablespoon abit too much? usually i give my son 2 teaspoon of plain rice cereal with ebm and he will finish it leh..

ruffles,
i got a little machine blender at home but yet to use it as its a hse warming gift

make a wk supply and froze it? then how to de-froze? i dun hv microwave at home leh. also, will the food turn bad or lost the nutrients?

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">ruffles,
ok noted. as for "vege" problem... my son used to love vege. now things are diff! headache!

maybe you wanna try mixing pumpkim with spinach?</font></font>

mspiggy - Yes have thot of mixing the 2 together. But wouldnt that tantamount to 'hiding' the greens? Chim man.

cheerbear - blend and put in those baby cubes. 1 tray has 10 cubes I think. Defrost 1 cube in your fridge the night before. Please DO NOT use microwave. The heat will be unevenly distributed (and end up burning yr bb), and the cube container melted / BPAs emitted. Warm the pureed cube in a small cup / bowl placed in a larger bowl of hot water. Same way you warm up yr ebm.

<font color="0077aa">cheerbear
i DIY it. i made whole week supply &amp; keep in cubez. take 1 to ifc everyday.
i steam then use the 网 to press make it smooth as pumpkin got those 根 hard to.
i also dun have microwave at hom then i only warm up by hot water</font>

ey - Wow the Sleeved Crumb Guard is so ex?! How much are you offering?

mspiggy - erhhmm the fenugreek ... you wanna give someone else or sell? V pai seh. My milk ss has shot up and am even borrowing freezer space at my ILs. So don't think I nd them already. Also thinking of slowing down my pumping sessions when she is 9mths as I have sufficient supply to last her till 1yo which is my goal.

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">ruffles,
no worries! wow.. how did your ss went up? what did you do?</font></font>

brown rice
i want to recommend Healthy Times brown rice, it's fine &amp; smooth..

Puree
fruits / vegetables to start with is better?
Once done, puree is to keep in fridge or frozen?
I have 2 trays of baby cubes

jelly
will sms you before come.

Surf,
EYS brown rice ex??? I bought moon rabbit small tin abt $5 only...

XY,
Marcus got good appetite wor...

JJmom,
ya.. heard that lady is the ONE n ONLY distributor here.. But I saw ebay got ppl sell but in buterfly I series..

mspiggy,
u got fenugreek to give away?? u noteating anymore???

Ruffles,
wow.. yr ss so good.. envy...

Cheerbear,
U can read more on the web bbgoh reco.. I find it v good...
http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/ready-for-solids.html
this web also teach u on preparation and sttorage..

<font color="aa00aa">Surf
I have been pumping 7 times a day for the past 6 months but so far ok leh. Cannot understand what happened to my nipple too. Am monitoring the condition and if it get worse, will go see my gynae for medicine.

ruffles
What did you do to increase your ss? I want to do it too?</font>

BM supply:
I've been drinking lots of water, soups, and eating lotsa fish. Plus I think the crunch to increasing ss is REST! I gave up the midnite pump so I could be more rested and I did. Was worried the ss would drop initially. It did a little, then when the breast got 'trained', I regained the 'lost' ss. Now my 7am pump yield me at least 360ml. The rest of my day pumps ard 260ml each.

vanilla - spinach fresh. Boiled w a lil water n pureed.

lili - steam yr apple. Deskin &amp; decore first. Then puree.

ok ladies - Pumping time! Ta.

tweety,
the brown rice (Healthy time), can add water or BM/ FM... i add water

ruffles, tweety
we can't offer apple just like that...scrap it...

tweety,
the EYS brown rice is $10+ ($16 if i rem correctly).

ruffles/bbgoh,
ok i will try to make this wkend since is a long wkend then froze it.. we hv to keep in fridge then move to freezer right? or straight to freezer?

ruffles,
wow how come ur ss can sudden shot up? hmmm shld i know ur secret for increase ss since i plan to stop soon as my son turning 6mth this wkend...

Ruffles,
good to hear u got more rest hence mor ss.. My bb keep waking up.. don know how to rest.. haiz..

lili,
I think it's the best to give fresh apple but u got to blend it till v smooth which my blender fail to do so.. so I steam it...

cheerbear,
quite ex hor... I went to chinese medical hall to ask, he show me the rabbit moon brand.. so I get that lor.. seems like most of them don hv freshly done one now...

My bb also turning 6mth next week.. will slowlly reduce no of pump n stop..

Jelly,
we r same.. no rest.. bb keep waking up.. haiz..

Joanne,
yr bb nv btl feed before?? y don wan btl feed?

<font color="aa00aa">Ruffles
Wow! Your supply is very GOOD! It's a wise choice to give up the midnight pump. From today onwards, I'm going to reduce my midnight pump to 1 time and slowly skip it. I also worry the ss would reduce. </font>

My 'hawk' has gone to wash car so I've got about an hour to yakkity yak here. Haha! Off to catch up on posts first. :p

<font color="0077aa">Ruffles
power ler you.. haha
will yr boobs leak when no pump at midnite?
i agreed if rest then really can increase ss but i cant skip midnite pump ler the most i can keep is up to 7hrs leak till my pyjamas wet even got pad.

tweety
read the article not to intro green vege at early stage ler </font>

XY,
I'm quite sure my home dun have hidden webcam cos hubby very lousy at hiding things. I've spoilt my own surprises a few times already. Hahaha!