(2008/10) Oct 2008

lose out? Urm, the beco makes u the most up to date mummy lor. Newest pdt on the mkt mah...

I'm trying to envision myself with shopping bags, diaper bag and bb... Hope I can cope. Might end up not buying a lot either la... Somehow I prefer buying clothes from bps...

I'm surfing in class right now instead of paying attention. erks!

dimpletot,
Will be bringing bubba tmr and definitley ergo-ing. Haha! Might bring along a trolley bag. Hahaha!

Karen,
LSA=Long Service Award

I'm so excited about tmr now.. ok back to paying attention in class.

<font color="#C25283"> hello mummies!!!
WOW!!! the thread is movin super duper fast lor!!! tryin to catch up!!!

hi daisybuttons
haha.... no la.. just IMAGINE n SAY only la.. LOL!!! but if God really gve me #4, i also cnt do anytin. accept it lor.

mummies goin to the fair TML
please update us a little bit can? coz TML i tot of meetin u all aft i fetch Nicholas. but guess nw cnt. due to my health condition.

elch
*hugz* dun worry. since he din cry much, tink will be fine.
sometimes i also drop my Erin. hehe...

kylie
jialat liao lor.. the postman take home liao lor. for his kids or grandkids liao la.. haiz... sad...

Tweety
haha.. thx thx.. i rest super well. until i miss so many post!! hehe...

everafter
i understand hw u feel. last time whn i hve Nihcolas, i also dun like ppl to carry or touch him. as in. i hve this feelin that 'he's mine lor. who u tink u r to carry him?!' hehe... but really lor. need to let him be socialise lor. coz of my action, Nicholas become vry vry antisocial. he dun allow others to touch or carry him. but nw he's ok liao. coz grow up liao ma. but i suffer for 1yr plus lor. coz he too attach to me liao!!

the rest i lazy to read liao.. hehe... so my postin stop here la... hehe...</font>

mint
trolley bag?! Haha! They should give that as free gift. Like natas.

Reb
Still not recovered? Go and rest! U fever or just flu?

<font color="#C25283"> dimpletot
flu n bad cough.

i'm those kind who seldom fall sick.but once i fall sick. is vry vry jialat de.

taka bb fair...
i no taka card leh.. so no further discount leh.. hmm.. mayb should get hb to sign up for 1 n sub to me... keke

wat to get leh... toys?... hmm... milk bottles?...

ergo,
dimpletot, is it really very comfortable? hmm.. quite keen in getting one.. but the price.. quite ex leh.. which one d u get?

jelly, u letting go urs ar?

<font color="119911">purple,

go apply Taka card lah...can get additional 10% more worth it mah, and got 6% rebate also..keke..

think i have a lot of things to get leh..hehe</font>

<font color="#C25283"> kylie
nvm la.. take ur time lor.
dun need it so urgently la.. just feel 'buay gam wan' if really kena taken by the postman. keke...</font>

maid rant *(#$&amp;@()$%&amp;()*@#$
This morning I asked my maid to go to the supermarket to check on what brand rice are packed in 10kg. Because we have been trying in vain to buy Song He rice in 10kg to no avail. I gave her a piece of paper to write it down. She came back, with the 10kg Song He rice. I checked with her if she really had not understood me. But she said that she did and she repeated my instructions. The paper was blank.

This evening, I gave specific instructions on boiling the meat and frying the vegetables together at 7pm. When I came out of the room, after putting my girl to sleep, at 7.20pm, she was just starting to fry the vegetables. Again, I asked her if she had not understood my instructions. She said she did. I then asked her for her reason for not cooking at 7pm. She said those were easy to cook.

I'm boiling now. Fuming mad! To me, she has showed disrespect by not following my instructions which she had understood. She might be trying to act smart. But I gave clear instructions and made sure she understood them, yet she chose not to follow.

I'm veryveryveryvery close to changing a maid. I have wanted to give her a chance after many other incidents but today really took the cake. Am I being petty?!

I touched my boy's lower gums and felt a small area of rough surfsce which I believe is a tooth making it's way out! So excited!!! No wonder my boy's fussier these days and poo more frequently than usual!

karen,

u are not the only who has smart alec maid. My fren juz send her smart alec maid back. If u dun wanna change maid, u muz be firm to her and show her who the boss is. If u really cannot tahan,change her. My fren is totally stressed by her maid and she broke down a few times b4 her hubby decide to send the maid back. She got phobia and dun wanna have maid now. Her maid is from philipines and she simply dun care abt the instructions given by my fren who is the boss.

Penny
we have been toying with the idea of changing her for some time. But I thought I'll give her some chances. Sometimes, I wonder if it's a culture difference. For eg. when talking to us, she would lean against the wall. I thought before jumping to the conclusion that she's lazy or rude, it's perhaps a culture thing.

Karen,
Tink leaning against the wall its their culture. Whether she's rude or lazy, u will have to observe her daily routine as to how she do her stuff. For courtesy wise, tink u wil have to teach her. My hubby's aunt has a maid from Indo, she is very polite. She will greet my MIL as ah-yi everytime she sees her and will simile at us whenever we visit the aunt.

<font color="aa00aa">Tomorrow this thread is going to be very quiet cos so many mummies are going to the gathering at taka. Mummies, enjoy yourselves!

elch,
Its good to know that ur son is teething
u muz be very happy!! I still couldnt find any rough rough surface on my girl's gums. U can start to plan to introuce cereal to him liao

i'm still in office!
Trying to clear work so tmr can join u all at Taka...
My hubby say i crazy. Work OT just to take leave tmr. Effective is like no leave. Ah...

wah....u girls super ONZ!!!! SO MANY going taka sale!!! i think i may change the venue of my breakfast with my friends, to ngee ann city itself! then meet u girls before going isetan hahahaah! will msg mspiggy or ribena.

mspiggy, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! woo hoo! older and wiser yar? my birthday in 2 weeks time too. :p

<font color="0000ff">Ergo</font>, very comfy, i have one since my boy young. he loves it, plus its totally hands free, and supposedly best carrier for the baby's back/spine coz the baby sits in the carried instead of being supported by the crotch.

<font color="aa00aa">Take Sale</font>
As long as you buy $100 u qualify for free delivery, same as Isetan. The japs are very smart. :p so u can buy more! hahahaa...

Karen...cool down, i can understand how u feeling. those things she did may be smalll but it tells a lot. i sent my philipino maid back when i was preg coz she a bit attitude like that,very geh kiang. now i got a indo, more humble and follow instructions to the latter IF she understands haha. I say IF coz still got a bit of language barrier lah. but her eng oredi not too bad lah. u have to see if there are other tell tale signs to show she is giving u attitude...and go with ur gut feel... u have 2 kids right? if so, u can search for another maid whilst still keeping this one. so can dun send her back until u find a good one.

Penny,
Ya lor...very happy as it's another milestone! Yours will be very soon too! I've ordered Bellamy's from Busy Bee and will be collecting from her soon but don't think will introduce solids to him till he's 6months old...

XY,
So late still at work...must be missing Marcus real bad!

Ribena,
u think leh? Can only claim taxi.
Sigh... leaving soon after i send an email.
Must show proof that me still working. keke...

Karen/Mint
Tmr can let me try your Beco and Ergo? Thinking if i shd get 1 for taiwan. I like Beco coz colourful. Keke... tried googling for video on how to use Beco but cannot find leh.

Xinying
Sure no problem

Daisybuttons
No la. Actually so far I've heard good things about Indo maid but I have 3 dogs. problem.

Ergo,
Today I brought Kai out in my new ergo and he fell asleep in it! He seemed comfy in it. And I managed to walk walk for 2hours without feeling any aches.

Karen,
I am also having problem with my helper. In fact, last weekend I just interviewed and had a trial with a new helper. Turned out the agent told her to lied about her experience. So angry. My present helper very geh kiang, go supermarket and anyhow buy things for me to eat. End up throw away the food coz I am quite picky about food in China. Then when I buy clothes for Kai, she will ask me why buy so much stuff, why never buy bigger sizes. Then I told her the exterior of the sterilizer is dirty, asked her to clean. She touched then told me looked like coke stain, maybe we drank coke then hands dirty touched the sterilizer! Taking bout helper, I have lots to rant!

pinkimum
Heeee. Yah lor, sigh. Why are people like that??!

Ergo
Wah, looks like Oct mummies love Ergo and Nov mummies love Beco, because that's where I found out about Beco.

elch,
Good to know that your son is teething. At least you know why he is fussier these days. I am still trying to find out why my boy is so fussy. So I peeled open his lips to check his gums. But nothing leh. Think he is just being naughty. Haha.

hi..wah..thread so fast..me at work all day, didn't have time to come on till now, just finish my last pump.
MOthers...anyone using pump in style medela??
today i had to borrow my colleagues pump , she uses the pump in style, MY GOODNESS...it is so powerful, i usually pump 30 mins, this pump i can empty less than 15 mins, but i think it was SO powerful, that it suddenly increased my milk supply and i was so engorged with a really really really sore and painful right breast until now. i pump out earlier, but still very pain..I think i overpump bec. i dind't expect to finish so fast, so after 10 mins, i should have stopped but i contd pumping so i think overstimulate...
I wish i had bought it earlier when i was trying so hard to increase my supply!! so anyone that wants to increase supply, its really good...but really expensive. i find it better than the hospital pumps that i use everyday usually...

whitepaper..wah.. i like the flask...feel like getting also...

taka fair..
mums pls tell me if there is bumbo seat available there?
will prob go on monday, made hubby take leave to bring me n bb but i think bring bb isn't a good idea rite? but hubby can entertain bb while me shop..anyone going on monday???

oh...my girl was relaly good today apparently according to my mum...she increase her solids quite fast...managed to eat sweet potato/pumpkin at 11am , then evening, had 3 tsp rice cereal with 2 cubes pear..
so i'm thinking i better get a steamer soon, and blender or something to purreee the food..and food cubes to keep food...I hope the taka fair has..

daisybuttons,
Sure!! sms or call me!! hope to see ya tmr!!

I'll be parking my car at my office tanjong pagar then take a train there coz d parking there is ex!!

elch,
yeah, i'm waiting for my turn. Me too, ordered the Cereal from busybee as well. Be collecting from her on Sat at Clementi. I wun be starting her on porriage till 7 mths old. My bb is hitting 6 mths this 19th mar,then wil introduce her cereal. My mum kept pestering me to feed her cereal when she's 3 mths old but i kept saying no!! scare she get allergies.

XY,
See ya tmr!!

ergo vs beco vs mei tai vs balboa:
what's your favourite? i can't decide which to get.. she's getting too heavy for me to carry liao..

spring,
Me Me!!! am using PIS and its really very good n i save a lot of time for pumping. I use my Avent manual at home. Coz PIS is very heavy to carry up n down when i'm carrying bb so i left PIS in car.Tink u r not use to PIS. I start to use my PIS after delivery and it eases me from engorgement. Its a life saving equipment!!

dumbo
Beco and Ergo are rather similar. Balboa ... hmm, to me, easy for baby to get in and out without the buckles lor. Mei Tai ... most ang mohs love it but I hate it! All the tying. Especially bad if I'm in a car park and have to meddle with the tying. With all the straps on the floor. Yeeks.

Anyway, you may like a Mei Tai more than a Beco or Ergo. Most people do. I am just a buckle girl.

XY,
Brought kai out in stroller yesterday and I don't know how to push him down the escalator and problems with all the steps here. Today, went out using the ergo and everything is a breeze. Haha.

eh..the PIS really power...i dunno if should get second hand, or if anyone selling..really save time wor..
I'm using medela mini electric plus dual pump...
hospital use the latina...but ALL not like PIS..
and yah, am really not use to it..its power power.can increase supply so fast..but i dun want to increase supply....my girl already cannot finish drinking...

my girl 6 mths today actually..so not advisable to get bumbo liao issit? she can STAND liao...
wah piangz...hard to keep up with her, even when u carry her, she want to stand on u..climb onto your chest if she CAN!!

penny,
cool! waiting to hear your reviews! i also like the beco cos of the print. got a couple avail on WTS.. already enquiring

XY,
yealor.. and i was so excited abt my buzz then.. and bought the cheap MIM slings.. now feel that my MIM looks boring!

karen,
thats wat i like abt the balboa too.. but there's another brand in australia called "Rock baby" like a ring sling but with buckles looks cool.. AU$130.. my mom considering to get it for me.. kekeke!

initially i wanted a simple baby bjorn synergy.. but now i find it so boring..

another factor for me is as i have a bad back.. support is very impt. so i wonder if the slings like balboa is really suitable for me. but they;re so niceeeee.. hmmmm...

my MIM sling and pouch collecting dust.
my kate spade carrier which i find is not so comfy also collecting dust.. trying to offload it!

okok..the carrier is also something i may need..jialat..buy anything and everything..sigh
my carrier is really really painful on the shoulders...cannot tahan more than 10 mins to my parents place. so how? whats the best..since u all expert..i just want something easy to use and not painful on the shoulder.

I would like to feed my gal with bottled pear. Am I supposed to replace that for one of her milk feed or shall I give her the pear in excess of what she's consuming?

Springles
I personally feel if you don't mind all the buckles, Ergo, Beco and Scootababy are all very very good. Good for you, good for baby.