(2008/10) Oct 2008

bbgoh,

I attended a speech therapy course a year ago and the speech therapist plus several ENT specialists advised against feeding while baby is lying down because the mouth is connected to the ears by eustachian tubes so effectively if water gets into the tubes and cannot drain out, the probability of baby ending up with a ear infection is high. of course we were talking about babies with disabilities due to palate, mouth abnormalies and a predisposition to infections already. But our babies might get affected too so try and prop baby up a little while feeding. No worries about the breast though because positioning to breastfeed mostly does not allow fluid to flow back

have to go ncss to pick up stuff.. sigh.

read more here
485q%2C00.html,http://parenting.ivillage.com/baby/bhealth/0,,485q,00.html

http://www.medicinenet.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=51641

bbgoh,
icic.. I think merlion once is ok ba.. Varner was once a merlion too.. after that he open his eyes big big play with his dad. His dad was so mad coz so smelly.. hahahaha...

El,
I will slowly increase his intake.. My boy also mid Oct bb.. btw, yr 3-4hrs is FM or BM?? My boy drinks 130ml every 2-2.5hrs for BM and 3hrs for FM

<font color="0077aa">Tweety,
I think some bb juz cannot stomach more ml in 1 feed but yet need the extra feed instead loh.</font>

Tweety,

Ya. Definitely above the reco intake! Nurse gave her a good scolding..But the boy does not look chubby. Still rather lean! I guess high metabolism! Can you imagine a 1 week old drinking 90 ml? At 1 month, it's 140 ml.. Now it went up to 170 to 180 ml.. even more than our 4 month olds. Now if she goes for check ups, she will just lie about her son's milk intake!

Actually is there a need for a dream feed? I'm not too sure on this. There was once, at 1 month, when my girl slept from 7 pm.. I actually took her up to feed her at 2 am, cos I was worried that she may be hungry.. Consulted my mom, she just told me to let bb sleep. She'll wake up if she's hungry.. True enough.. Since then, she slept through the night. Even in the mornings when she just woke up, she can still play for about 30 minutes before crying for milk..

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">bbgoh,
no medication for Nat so far... only nasal drop. not sure if i shd bring him to see Dr Koh again. Brought her once in Jan coz she's coughing and having running nose. recovered but now got it again

</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">These few days, my gal seems to has stablised with her number of feeds le. She drinks about 5-6 feeds at about 600-750ml which I'm already very happy le. Hope this pattern will remain.</font>

pildough
ya her caregiver got mention to me abt the ear infection too. i got use my pillow to support while feeding her (on EBM)
thank for the link

Tweety
yah she din cry, after wipe &amp; chg her clothes then she cont sleep. i nvr give any milk. only after 2hrs lata

<font color="aa00aa">EI
We only dreamfeed our gal if her last feed before she sleep is before 9pm. After 9pm, we would not dreamfeed her liao.</font>

My girl seems to hv stablilised no of feeds too, at 5x daily until what happened this morning. But we are not sure if her stomach can take in extra ml lor. Like what JJ mom says, some bb hv smaller stomach, so cannot take in so much milk at one time.

Mousebb,

I see.. So ur girl doesn't wake up during this feed? Even during burping? Lucky you.. Cos if I do this, I have to entertain my girl for another 30 min before she fall asleep!

<font color="aa00aa">EI
My hubby will skip the burping cos she would not burp when she is sleeping. We tried that many times and decided to skip it.</font>

<font color="0077aa">wonder is it ok to feed bb laying down with pillow then?

mousebb, so u don't feed wenmin even if she wakes up in the mid of nite? pat her back to sleep or feed water? My Nat juz wouldn't have it, she wouldn't go back to sleep even if i pat her, she cry out louder if i feed her water instead of milk...</font>

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">bbgoh,
yes from PD.

re : dreamfeed
i will dreamfeed Nat only if her last feed is too early and she sleeps. i will carry her up and feed ard 11pm+++ then will last till ard 5-6am.

re : water
tried feeding Nat water but she's not interested. jialat liao! last time i give water to my son when he's much younger... and he has no problem drinking water. </font></font>

mspiggy,
does ur GP or PD gives Nat any oral medicine?

my GP wun give me. she keeping saying bbs below 6 mths no medication. for her running nose, i m applying lillidin.

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
Usually she would not wake up in the middle of the night. If she does it (so far only once or twice nia) is usually after 5am. I dont feed her water cos she is on tbf. </font>

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">R&amp;R,
my PD didnt give any medicine for running nose. only for her cough last time coz she has phelgem.

for running nose, he only gives the nasal drop. but he told me to give only when necessary. </font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Mspiggy
Last time when wenxuan refused to drink water, we added some gripe water to it and he drank it. And we slowly take away grip water and he is ok with drinking plain water after that.</font>

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">mousebb,
i see... i tried to avoid that. will see if there's any improvement.

these days seldom feed water coz she's really on diet... drink milk already takes so long. if give water somemore she will drink lesser milk! so didnt give water now</font></font>

dreamfeed
Seline ll have her last feed ard 9pm. i ll chg her diaper &amp; fed then she ll sleep thru till next day 7am i ll wake her up to feed then go inf care

mspiggy
Seline also ll fight with me when feed her water

mspiggy &amp; mousebb,
i have problem feeding my Regine water oso.

she doesnt like to drink. i spoon feed her. she treats water like listerine. she used it to rinse her mouth!!

I MIA for 1 day so many posts!
Dun worry about babies intake lah.
My Marcus so fat, max intake in 120ml nia.
Nowadays he also drinking less. Sometimes 5 hours+ then cry for milk.

<font color="aa00aa">R&amp;R's mummy, Mspiggy
That's why some pple kept saying must intro water to bb when they are still young cos as they grow older, they dont like the tasteless water le. On the other hand, me and hubby choose to follow the medical research on "not to give water to tbf bb for the lst 6 months". Think we have to go thru the same cycle (adding gripe water) again! Haiz! </font>

xy- Me cant meet u today at Library leow. Gotta do 'trial-run' at MIL's rm before I go work tmr.
Bleh. Maybe next week am ok. Will PM / SMS u

Seems that it is normal for babies to drink lesser now? Mine also drinking lesser leh, though I don't know exact since I latch on. But he seems very distracted, suckles few minutes then will start to look around, smile at me. And when I force him to drink more, he actually cries! I though babies cry for milk, but mine cries when given milk. Sigh. Sometimes I scared he hungry so I feed him even when he is not crying for milk, or should I wait till he cries? But he wakes up in 4-5am, playing and talking to himself and never cries for milk. But I still feed him.

<font color="aa00aa">pinkimum
Dont worry. As babies grow older, they dont drink so much le. Slowly their intake will become stablise liao. At times when my gal never cried for milk and is awake, I will auto feed her at 3-3.5hrs interval, hoping that she would go sleep after she "filled up" her stomach. Hahaha! </font>

<font color="0077aa">pinkimum,
My Nat too, now she don't really cry for her milk even when times up. She juz wakes up &amp; talk loudly but I also feed her =P</font>

JJmom,
if bb got small stomach then v hard to train them sleep throughout the night liao lor.. haiz...

El,
Dreamfeed is not necessary I think. But if before 9pm was the last feed, I afraid bb cant last till morning.

bbgoh,
Did u happen to c any booster seat at NTUc??my hb said walker no good for bb feet.. haiz...

any of Oct bb got sweaty palm and feet?? Is it normal?? I was thinking if to bring him to PD...

<font color="#C25283"> hi mummies!!
how are all of u today?

re:BBs intake
i dunno my Erin's intake got decrease ant. her day feed 4X-5X. aft that, will fall aslp at ard 5pm+. den wake up at 7pm for milk. den startin frm there, will feed her 2X-3X until 10+. den b4 she, she will ask for 1 more feed. denin the middle of the nite. will need to wake up 3X to feed her. n i dunno hw many oz, she's takin as i directly latch on.

re:feedin in public
i'm use to it. in bus, mrt or cab. n she will always choose the timin whn i enter either 1 of the transport. most paiseh one is in the bus n mrt. lots of teeko pek like to peek at us.

re:BB drinkin water
nw my Gracia is trainin Erin to drink. coz she will feed Erin with her bottle of plain water. n Erin seems ike enjoy alot leh. but i feed her, she dun wna la.. guess she find tha her Gracia jie jie is more patient den mummy lor.. hehe...</font>

<font color="#C25283"> Tweety
i guess mine also hve ba. coz can smell her hands n feet got a 'suan suan' smell de.. hehe...</font>

Hiya Mummies!

Ruffles, XY, I'm on for library next week if the weather permits. I can pram her to compasspoint to meet u guys.

Dumbo, My hubs is evading the topic on gathering. Sigh! Let me ask him again later. So sorry I so "po ma"

pildough,
i'll contribute to the "hair-rug" too.. :p

dreamfeeds,
kaitlyn is on FM and has not slept through the night at all.. longest was 6 hrs.. and it was for only 2 or 3 days? usually she feeds every 4-5 hrs. even at night. in fact, these few days, she's been feeding every 3-4 hrs. she's just few days pass 4 mths now, takes 6-7oz of FM.. think its alot.

busybee,
mm.. oki. let me know soon. tks

bbgoh,
Twist the neck float at 45 degrees angle and put on bb neck lor. then button it.

Ruffles,
no problem...

Busy bee,
next week i start work liao lah. So how's ur BP? i ordered, will transfer $ soon.
Now... where is my DBS token?

Dumbo,
thanks for the food.

Rebecca,
I'm super used to latching Marcus on in MRT. He likes it when he was 1mth to 3mth+. but nowadays, he prefer to look around.

Hi Dumbo,
Thanks for your patience and the effort in arranging the food. How many feeds does Kaitlyn take in a day? Minibee also on FM, also abt 6 to 7 oz per feed and she takes 5 feeds a day. PD said she should taper off to 4 feeds when her intake increase.

Hi XY, BP is ok, nothing to shout about but I guess relatively successful. Thanks for asking. Yup I saw your orders. Thanks for supporting. Aiyah next week start already.

XY
yah but is when Marcus on sitting position or lying down? i seem my hb queit hard to put on, he ll lock it too loose ler

mousebb, jjmom,
I also feed when I think its time to feed leh. Haha. Then sometimes he will drink abit only. I also hope he will nap after feeding, but he only likes to take 20-30min catnap.

Now I find it difficult to latch on in public leh, coz the boy very kapo and like to wrestle with me when I feed him. Haha.

<font color="#C25283"> xinying
wa.. so cute seh ur Marcus. my Erin dun care. hungry just cry. so i scare of her liao.. make noise only.. dne i feed her. i dun wan she cryin to tear down the whole cabin.</font>

tweety
paisei.. wat is booster seat?
yah inf caregiver also said samethg. they said baby with bb walker learn walking de will rely on it while walking &amp; they ll run without break then might have inner hurt

bbgoh,
i put him in bumbo, the wear the float for him.

Pinkimum,
Marcus nowadays itchy fingers. Like to pull my nursing shawl/shirt and expose me to the world. faint.

<font color="#C25283"> xinying
wa.. ur Marcus so open de ar.. lol.. my Gracia love to do that to me while i'm feedin her bao bei Erin.</font>