(2008/09) Sep 2008

Jasmine: I guess you are quite satisfied with that CC! Not many CC care so much.. but really, we parents are just looking for that little extra personal touch when it comes to CC..

This is Scarlett @ 19 months!

3971155.jpg

3971156.jpg

3971157.jpg

3971158.jpg

3971159.jpg

ooh! so nice to see all the babes photos here! hee, see, suddenly this thread seems a lot more "brighter" right??

Bigtoes:
She is in Ci You Childcare Centre. It locate at Whampoa. Since I work in Balestier, so still ok for me to send n fetch her when hubby is working.

Letty:
Maybe I never been other cc, so there nothing for me to compare. In the 1st place, send her there cos of the price. At 1st infant was $800 after subsidy, I pd $200, cheaper than getting a bb sitter. now they increase the price from $800 to $850, still cheaper. My 2nd child is gg there also. have already put a deposit with them.

Jasmine Yeo (jasyeo80) - its great that you found a CC at a convenient location & attractive fees that you are happy with

Btw for mommies planning to take your kids on a holiday, better do so before they turn 2! Am only planning a family trip in Dec, & realized that cost for airtixt go up from 10% of total adult fares to 75% after 2 yrs old (they need their own airline seat)!

bigtoes, where are u planning for family trip in dec? we are planning to go hokkaido in dec, but scare my gal nt used to the winter leh..

mummies, i understand tat we need to produce company letter for working mothers when we enrol in cc. What shld be included in the letter?

rlrenn (rlrenn) - hmmm, company letter? When i enrolled K in CC, on the employment front, all they needed were the most recent pay slips for both parents and job details. No personal company letter.

We are planning to go to Langkawi...was looking for a nearby place - like 1-2 hours by plane (incase K insists on not siting down!), and that narrows it down to very few places. Also wanted a free & easy, do nothing much place. So it was either Penang, Langkawi or Pangkor (but no direct flight to Pangkor). Hence ended up with Andaman in Langkawi. Wah, Hokkaido would be lovely, but freezing in Dec?

jasmine/bigtoes: tks for the info.

Bigtoes: Hokkaido shld be freezing in dec, actually we are thinking whether shall we go ahead with the trip (planning to tag along HB's cousin n family) or go on our own to Hong kong.. just scare that our gal is nt used to the winter there and she might fuss if we put on thick clothing or wear anything on her head etc.. she doesnt like caps/hats..

Hihi, haven't checked this thread for the longest time. A few are talking about sending the kiddos to CC? My boy started about 2 weeks too. This is a pic of him 2nd day in school.

3981124.jpg

wow all your little ones are so cute! their pics indeed have brighten up this thread. here's pic of vic eating the whole apple on his own for the first time just last month.

3987684.jpg

3987685.jpg

o ya it's expensive to go holiday once they turn 2yo so we are going to hokkaido in august, jt before vic turns 2.

tslittleone (tslittleone) - ur Vic is cute! Esp in the 2nd pic of him munching the apple

Meanwhile, Kieran has HFMD!! Started with high fever on Sat, then ulcers inside the mouth by Sunday morning
No blisters on the hand/foot yet, & am hoping that this would be a mild case (most prob caught from CC cos he hasn't been exposed to any kids outside or been swimming/to any playground lately). He is still his cheerful active self, but abit more whiney & telling us that his mouth hurts (when he swallows). Think he would be on a vitagen/ice-cream/cold & sweet foodstuff diet for the rest of the week
So unlucky - just 2 weeks into school & settling in well, then have catch HFMD!!

Bigtoes:
Hope he recover soon.
Are there any case of HFMD in the cc?
The problem putting kids to CC, everytime, I heard there is cases of HMFD in the CC, I also pray very hard. Even we train her, reach home must go wash hands n legs, there is still chances of catching it.

hi mummies, pls share with me what are the symptoms of HFMD? Any fever, flu, cough, phlegm, wheezing or breathlessness besides ulcers? What are the diets to put them on during and after attack? Can the kids take warm bath during and after attack or must it be warm/sponge compress? I like to get myself mentally prepared as I'm thinking of sending my bb gal to playgroup in Jan next year. Will HFMD keeps recur or is it just once-off, once contracted the virus? Need any hospitalisation? pls advise. thanks.

Jasmine Yeo (jasyeo80)- Thanks
Should be OK by next week. I called the CC to tell them this morning & they said no other case (yet) - not sure within these next few days. Am 99% sure he caught it from CC cos he wasn't out the whole of last week, & HFMD need saliva/body fluids to transmit...so most prob cos they were sharing toys/some kid had the flu etc.. & it passed on.

onsansg (onsansg) - Read up on the MOH website on HFMD. Basically, the signs & symptoms don't surface till about 3-6 days after exposure. So for K's case, he started his fever on Sat, meaning he most prob caught it earlier last week. Fever for 1-2 days, then the ulcers appear in the throat/tongue first, and blisters will follow on the palms/soles of feet, with some spots on other parts of the body (little red dots, then progressing to some blister-type, depending on how severe). The main discomfort is the ulcers at the throat (hence its painful to swallow food)...have to survive on a liquid diet for the next few days

koras - Kaylen is a cute chubby boy

tslittleone,
the pic of vic munching on the apple is nice! i have never tried to let my kids munch on a whole apple.. always cut into pieces for them. haha. maybe i should let them try.

koras, yes, your boy is so chubby!

Bigtoes,
aiyo, so suay to kena HFMD.. but actually HFMD is not very serious, so just take it like a normal illness. I think you are rather positive. good!

HMFD:
My gal had fever for 2 days, on second day fever, she got rashes on her private part, I tot cos she had her diaper too long n cause nappy rash. Later in the night, rashes start off on her leg.
lucky she didn't have uclers. to me, her is very mild.

Bigtoes:
That time my gal n one of the kid had HMFD together at the same time, so we can't conclude who caught it 1st. haha
both of them is the 1st case, having at the same time.

bigtoe, autum- thanks. bt he seem like to throw temper and whenever we told him many time dun do this andthat. he will do it again. even we smack him on hs hand or leg

Autum (autum) - Yah, thanks. So suay, 2 weeks into CC then kena HFMD
I guess this is like the "modern" version of chicken pox that most of us had as kids! (But then, HFMD is viral-based, so can get it again & again...like the flu).

K has been complaining that his mouth hurts & is not eating much, but otherwise, he is coping ok. We didn't even know he was running a high fever cos he was behaving quite normally & not like he was sick at all (was 39.7 at the GP and had to go to KKH A&E cos it was so high!) Still, quite poor thing, cos he loves to eat, & is basically back to a liquid diet now!

Jasmine Yeo (jasyeo80) - Am still wondering where he caught it from...i am sure more cases would pop up at his CC.

I like to spam pics.. Allow me to.. This is a pic of my #3. She's 3 1/2mths old.

3992761.jpg

Bigtoes: Aiyooh.. Take care. Don't be sad. For all we know, K will like his liquid diet of yakult, ice cream etc.

Koras: Yah, your boy is chubby. My boy has shrunk although he has the appetite of an elephant! I wonder where all the food goes to. :p

onsansg: Unlike CP, one can get HDMF many times. ie getting it once doesn't give immunity for it to occur again.

Bigtoes
thank you! o dear hope kieran will have a speedy recovery. vic's enrichment teacher said that march - june and sep period tend to have more cases of HFMD so got to be more careful during this period. Whenever we are out, my hubby will keep wiping vic's hands coz he always touch here n there then puts into his mouth.

Autum
ya should let them try, it's fun seeing them munching the apple =).

koras
vic also like that, when i beat him he will still continue to do it and i will feel horrible and bad everytime after i beat him so one day instead of beating him, i decided to try making him seat down and cannot move for 5min as punishment and it worked. now whenever he wants to do something he's not supposed to i'll ask him u want to sit down 5min and he'll shake his head and not do it. me and hubby both agreed that vic "chi ruan bu chi ying" the more we beat the more he retaliates so sometimes quite tricky to discipline him coz cnt always use soft method all the time. alot of trial and error on different methods of disciplining. also realise very important to stay firm and consistent, they are very smart and good at pushing boundaries.

A&A&A (2as) - ur no. 3 looks like a good size
Fair & cute!

tslittleone (tslittleone) - thanks
K is still abit whiny cos of the ulcers in his mouth. Would have to fatten him up again after he recovers! I didn't know HFMD is quite seasonal. We have never been very careful with wiping K's hands when we are out but do try to keep him from touching too many common surfaces. Then again, u can't always prevent it! The last time, we went to a park, he played with some sand & popped his fingers into his mouth. The next thing we knew, he ended up with diarrhoea!

On disciplining, we were lucky to not have to resort to smacking. Have been 'reasoning' with him from young & he is not the rebelious type by nature, so still quite easy discipline wise. But yes, u are very right in having to be firm & consistent (and of cos they know who is 'softer' & will give in easier).

Bigtoes: Thanks.
I think korkor is rounder than her but she still has the potential to outbeat him.
Hope K recovers fast. And don't worry abt their appetite. When he recovers, his appetite will return with a revengce.

tslittleone: We don't do it much, but smacking doesn't seem to have any effect on my boy. Maybe cos from young, we have been playfully smacking his bottom. :p Well, they are on the brink of the T2 stage, we haven't seen the "worst" of them yet, hopefully they adjust well to it.

Bigtoes
ya hard to prevent just hope they'll quickly grow out of putting things and their hands into their mouth. how's k already? vic suddenly down with fever yesterday nite =( hiaz...have booked resort world hotel this weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary, hope he'll recover quickly so that can bring him out to swim and play.

wow very good that u dun have to smack k. i really dun enjoy smacking vic that's why very glad that i found a beta way to discipline him without having to smack him and now he understands better so when i say "no" he'll listen and hardly misbehaves. actually generally vic is quite a good and easy boy to take care, maybe i should be less strict n not expect too much from him to behave well all the time, haha.

A&A&A
oh ya...m quite worried about the T2, hope it won't be too difficult to handle. must all kids go thru the T2 stage?

<font color="0000ff">Can I ask, for mummies with kids in full day cc. i'm supposed to pack diapers if they are not toilet trained yet. do i have to pack pullups or normal diapers can?</font>

hi rlrenn &amp; tslittleone,
we are also going hokkaido, but will be in july when it's real warm. hubby has been busy researching on the places to go and hotels to stay. it will be a hectic trip, since it's just the 2 of us with 2 kids, no extra helpers (from PILs). but really looking forward to it, it has been 6 mths since we last brought them overseas.

aug will be the sunflower season. quite a few things to see in the central &amp; north hokkaido. dec will be too cold to my liking. still prefer the bright sunshine :)

my elder gal has been attending full-day childcare since 22mths. her bro (the one born in aug08) will be joining her only when he's 23mths. reason: he has to take school bus, tog with his jie-jie. wish to offload my caregiver (MIL) earlier, but a bit concerned if my boy can handle the bus trip, hence the delay.

the childcare has hot shower facilities. they do prepare bottled milk for PG kids, using milk powder stored in those dispenser. older kids usually bring &amp; drink packet milk. not allowed to leave whole tin of milk powder or whole bag of diapers in the school. cos they claimed not enough storage space. the teachers have mastered the skill of helping kids wear open diapers while they are in a standing position. so, i usually just bring along 5 open dispers (a bit kiasu cos afraid of accidents).

sigh...dun harp abt it. i have been waiting for his hair to grow long, so that gravity can take effect &amp; cause his hair to lie flat. this lousy mummy here dunno how to use hair-gel on him.

tslittleone: Yes, all kids go through the T2 stage, it's a matter of earlier or later. T3 is even worse. :p

Twendy: Your boy is very cute! Like his spikey hair.
I enjoyed Hokkaido when we were there. Lots of onsen to go to though. Told my hubby I've never felt my body so clean befoe - soak and scrub day and night. :p Wahahah.. The seafood is good - pregnant fish, scallops and cuttlefish! yummy yummy.. You'll be going to Otaru?

Ilovemaxmax: are you in the midst of toilet training your child? If yes, then pull-ups will be easier for the teachers to bring him to the loo. Otherwise, normal diapers should be fine.

Have not been posted here for quite awhile..Wow so many pretty and handsome and kawaii toddlers photos posted here!

Bigtoes/jasmine
Hope ur kiddos recover soon. Seems like HFMD is on the rise recently. Pierre's playgroup also got 2 cases. A few of the mummies I know their little kiddos got HFMD from IFC &amp; CC too.

Yun,
Which enrichment classes are u putting ur kiddo to at JW sports complex? For CC, I was deciding between Cheries Hearts(Blk 721) and Carpe Diem(Blk 739) that time, but my hubby prefer Cherie Hearts so in the end choose CH becos it's closer to in-law hse.

JW My first skool reali quite full, I guess becos they have IFC, so those BB in IFC will confirm have a place in CC unless they withdraw aft 18mths. So that's y long waiting lists bah.

twendy,
Ur boi's hairstyle so cute..kee. Actually was also searching for BB hair-gel, not sure which brand to purchase? Mummies, any recommendation here?

Hi mommies, thanks for your well wishes. K's HFMD is subsiding (think it lasts about 7-10 days in total from the fever onset, and his is day 5 now)....BUT - I just went to the Dr, and he suspects I have it!!! I always taught it was a childhood disease &amp; adults won't get it, but guess i was wrong! What's more, there are like 6-7 strains of HFMD, so one can get it several times (my friend's girl already got it 2x).

twendy (twendy) - don't use hairgel! His hair is nice &amp; funky what
I also pack 4 open diapers into K's bag &amp; the last 2 weeks, he has been going thru 3 per day! The teacher claims he is pooing alot (cos he eats alot)! hah...

tslittleone (tslittleone) - Am hoping Kieran will skip the terrible twos!! haha, but maybe its just wishful thinking - lets see :p

snowyee (snowyee11) - Just my 2 cents on MFS - don't quite like that they do not update parents on what they do/teach, &amp; kids at playgroup are too young to explain to the parents in detail (Kieran just tells me stuff like he had carrot/veggies etc for lunch, and "i like school"). Was talking to a mommy friend, and her son's PG actually gives the parents a weekly update of the theme for the week (like nature, shapes etc), &amp; have a notebook in their bags to jot down comments like "K is too talkative, he also eats too much", almost on a daily basis &amp; for parents to fill in their comments in return. At least then u know roughly how they are progressing &amp; coping, &amp; what they are learning! I think MFS functions more as just a childcare....hence our plans to move him elsewhere when the slot opens up.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">A&amp;A&amp;A (2as)</font>
Thanks for your reply. Actually my boy doesn't wear diapers at home already. He knows how to signal to us when he wants to pee and poo. Onli when we are out den its diapers. But cc teacher did mention that even for kids who have prior toilet training, when they enter a new environment, all these training sometimes juz flies out of the window, hence wants me to pack them.

For Pullups, any recommendations for cheap and economical ones? I noe they are abt 50cts per pc.. juz tot of finding cheaper but ok ones</font>

hi mummies- i will be bring kalyen on holiday to china next mth. wewill be taking budget airway-jet star. Wonder how to keep him busy rather then him wanting to run around on flight. kind of worried also.
And can we bring hot water and boiled cooling wateron flight

Ilovemax: That's true. My boy signals to us at home, but not at school. So he's still got a few accidents. :p Am using the MP ones. I feel this is still by far the best diaper around. There was a sale recently at NTUC and I stocked up.
Hehe..

Bigtoes: Oh yes. Adults can get it too. You take care. Stay away from the office.

Bigtoes,
oh, hope your HFMD not serious. my colleague got it from her son and it was very serious. she got a lot of ulcers in her mouth (can't eat) and a lot of blisters on her feet (can't walk). It was quite serious for her!

koras,
how about bringing some activity stuff on board. like colouring book, some crayons. or bring a story book etc. as for water, budget airline is quite laxed, they don't really check. but then, you might not need to bring. can ask from the crew on the plane.

Autum (autum) &amp; A&amp;A&amp;A (2as) - yes, now i know that HFMD is so contagious.
Was assuming it was a kids' disease &amp; we adults won't catch it so easily, but it seems like alot of parents ended up with HFM from their kids! Meanwhile, I spoke to the CC and they have 2 other cases in his class alone (so total 3 out of 14 kids)... And yes, am going to work from home the early part of next week &amp; need to get an all-clear from Dr before returning to office. The good thing is that i am finally losing some weight!

Bigtoes - get well soon.

My little one is having fever since morning and its not going down. its hovering between 38 to 38.5 degrees. i hope its not HFMD too cause he just started the once a week playgroup.

breadmum (breadmum) - Thanks! My throat is still hurting like hell

Oh no....i hope not too. Its apparently HFMD season now, so quite common at childcare. If the fever gets any higher (39+) better bring him to the PD/Dr.

Bigtoes
yes...get well soon

breadmum
vic also had fever this week, hovering 38.5-38.9, brought him to PD coz worried he get HFMD. Good thing not HFMD, prob viral fever (will take 5-6 days to subside). vic's PD said now HFMD on the rise and many do not have blisters on the hands and legs but only in the mouth so take note.

looks like quite a number of us have plans for holiday. vic's PD told us it's advisable to take flu jab before we travel. can take the jab either 6 weeks or 2 weeks before travelling; 6 weeks before (2 shots) - 90-95% protection, 2 weeks before (1 shot)- 80% protection.

tslittleone (tslittleone) - Hope Vic is better now.

TOILET TRAINING:
Btw, moms who kiddos are at CC - how do u go about toilet training them? I haven't gotten around starting with K, and now that he is at CC, it makes it difficult cos he is hardly spending time at home except for a couple of hours at nite &amp; during the weekends. I can still manage to get him on the toilet bowl sometimes in time for poo poo, but how about peeing? My MIL has also not started cos honestly, diapers are easier!

A&amp;A&amp;A, initially we planned to lodge at an onsen. but the cost of one really deter us. so, will be putting up at mostly biz hotels. and yes, we are going to visit otaru. heard lotsa shopping to be done there.

hoho, i took my boy for his flu jab a bit too late for our trip last nov. 1st jab was 4 weeks before the trip. the 2nd booster jab was not in time before our trip. but when we came back, we were too lazy to bring him for that 2nd jab. end up, now he doesnt have any protection at all!

i understand flu jab has to be an annual exercise. so, do we have to be vaccinated again? when does the new cycle with the new strain start?

Bigtoes: If the child has started toilet training at home (before starting at the cc), then you can tell the cc this and request they continue with this. If the child has not started, then I don't think the cc will initiate this, cos as you said, it's so much easier with diapers. Moreover, there are simply too many children at the cc for the teachers to pay particular attention to.

Twendy: Oh yah, Otaru is about the only place where you can do shopping. Nothing much at other places, so it can get quite boring. Yup, flu virus strains is always permutating, so after a while, new strains are circulating which render the vaccination against the old strains not effective anymore. Doctors here advise to be jabbed once a year.

A&amp;A&amp;A (2as) - Yes, i know...of cos cannot expect the CC to toilet train them
As long as they change his diapers regularly &amp; he doesn't end up with nappy rash, that's fine already! But now that he is at CC, am just wondering how to even go about it, cos he isn't spending enough time at home to 'practice'.

Bigtoes
thank you, vic finally ok after 1 week fever. heard many people, kids n adults, r having viral fever now.

hmmm...toilet training is a big headache for me. really find it difficult to train and don't know how to go about it also. vic has been taking out his diaper and pee/poo on his bed but he still doesn't know how to tell me yet...shang nao jing.

twendy
mayb u can check with doc/PD about the jab coz i know the current flu jab is inclusive of H1N1.