(2008/09) Sep 2008

Wow, Pei are you a SAHM?

If you are a working mum, then you are very hardworking lor. Cos you still can make the effort and time to do all these things to him daily.

By the time I reach home after work, it's preparation for his night feed liao...

I went to expo on sat, and bought a photoalbum package. There's a total of 4 vouchers worth $79.90 each but sold only at $24.90 per voucher. Basically, you create your own album using their software (can be downloaded from their website), and it's 40 pages. It's called soft cover photobook, and it comes in 3 different layouts/size.

Anyone interested to share the vouchers with me? I just need 2, so looking at selling 2 away. Each is $24.90.

I find that it's quite worth, cos I just developed 4R digital photos that day, it already cost me $21.00 (65 pics) without an album some more...

http://www.albumstories.com/Products%20-%20Photo%20book.html

Goldfish
<font color="808080">Yep. With high &amp; low tones. Have to be expressive.Sometimes have to act cute also, til I find myself very disgusting =D</font>

Skinnypig
<font color="808080">I'm not entirely a SAHM. I've my family business. When I'm not working, I feel very guilty if I did not teach him anything.

Working mums are too exhausted &amp; busy. Rest also no time, how to find the mood to teach? =D</font>

Hi Autum,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on toilet-training. I'm just wandering, if I just put Jaden on his potty for his daily poo-poo session, will that develop in him holding on to his poo/pee? So far, he does poo in the potty and there are also time he poo into his diaper and he still pee into his diaper.

Reading :
I started reading to Jaden when he was 1mth old but lately, it's been really difficult to read to him cos he is more interested in grabbing the book and munching on it! I just read whatever I can even it means not completing the book, its ok. go with the flow of your baby interest. The important thing is to expose him to books and reading so eventually, he will be use to it and enjoy it. It's not difficult to read to your baby, make it a habit to read to him just before he sleep, it's a 5-10mins thing only.

Goldfish, you dont have to build a library for your baby. Just go to the library and there are many many of those hard-board book to choose from. Look for them in the baby book session. Over time, you will notice your child is interested in certain kind of book, that is when you can start buying the books for them so you can read to them over and over again. Somehow, baby seem to like repetition very much.

<font color="aa00aa">Reading to babies - I don't have a reading schedule, but do read to Kieran on a regular basis and have been doing so since my maternity days.

Of cos, keeping his attention is alot harder now compared to when he was less mobile!
Previously, we could go thru a whole story book (the type with few words and loads of colors), but now, its usually just his few standard ABC books (A for apple, ant, antelope etc). He can recognize a number of pictures already and would look to the photo when i go "where is the dog?" etc...don't think we need to impose a rule of how much to read to baby, but just as and when...and only as long as they are interested (which is not very long cos Kieran cannot sit still for more than a couple of minutes!)

I think my MIL has been quite consistent in carrying him around and pointing out things to him around the house though - he would turn his head to the direction of the item whenever we say "where is the bird/cow/etc..." (photos/display ornaments).

Babies today are really alot more intelligent than during our time...just need to point out an object a couple of times to them, and they are able to associate the word with the object!</font>

Wah.. I am glad that I bring up this reading issue cos’ I have been ‘lazy’ all this while!
And I tried to search for some threads on reading and found this thread - http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/1320105.html?1232002147

IN it, there is a mama blog on which kind of books bb likes.. .u all can bio bio and see..
Till now, then I realized tat bb like repetitive reading.. erm.. so it probably is worthwhile to invest in a few books to keep at home I presume?

Hi JP,
I think if your Jayden can poo in the potty and can also poo/pee in his diapers, then i think it's ok. Personally I think that is great.. cos my elder boy, now 2yrs old but still not toilet-trained.. and worse is, he can only poo standing up! I tried putting him on the potty many times but without success.. as he wouldn't poo in the potty. If u can get your boy to poo into the potty now (without him holding back his poo/pee when in diaper).. then I think it is good. Anyway, just my 2cents.

re: reading
just to share my thoughts again.. do let your babies "read" the books themselves.. as in, just let them grab, touch, hold.. so that it will cultivate the love/liking to flip books and eventually graduate to reading.

hi - any mummies upgraded their bbs to the forward facing car seat yet? Any ideas when we should change into that cause my mum is complaining the rear seat on for my little e is too small for him since he is long. sigh.

But when i put him in the forward facing car seat, he looks too small and when he sleeps, his head tends to fall forward. So i end up stuffing him with the kiddopotaumus head support.

Hi mummies, need to order some healthy times cereals cos smallberry don;t like the heinz one that I bought! Anyone who wants to order, pls PM so we can get a discount for >$250 orders. Thanks! Self collect at Yew Tee or Toa Payoh (house).

Breadmum
<font color="808080">I let Cayden sit in the forward facing seat since he was 5 months old! It was then verrrrry crampy for him!</font>

forward facing car seat
think the minimum recommendations are at least 9 kg AND 1 year old. its bcause of the bb's heavy head. although their necks are a lot stronger than they were, our bb's necks would not be able to withstand the whiplash in the impact of a car accident. the human body is essentially travelling forward at the same speed as the car, e.g. at 40km per hour, so if the car stops suddenly, the momentum of the body going forward would be at 40km until point of impact and the reverse force would be equal. an adult's neck would already be under tremendous stress, an infant's neck may just snap.

http://www.aap.org/family/Carseatguide.htm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8gU9zzCGA8

jon is also squriming and crying in his rear-facing seat. he can only last 15 min alone before starting to fuss. but i think we need to hold out for our kids' safety.

forward facing carseat
to add to deseptkon. it is safer for bbs to be in reverse facing coz even if there is an accident, in reverse facing the hit the back to the car seat their legs take the impact. but in forward facing their necks take the impact...

ch hates her reverse facing seats too. like my first born cy...cry like hell..now im worried she wont even hit 9kg at 1 year old..haiz...think the 9kg and 1 year old htingys is whichever comes later.

Autum, thanks. it's easy for me to guess when he poo and now that he gets into the schedule of his daily poo, its easy for us cos at least he hardly poo when we bring him out. Cleaning him up outside is a real hassle.

Car seat :
Think it's too young for us to put our baby forward facing even if they reach 9kg. I remember I read on my booklet when I bought my car seat that the minimum age is 1yr and that they must meet a certain weight. Anyway, I found this website which I tot good....pls read it.....for the safety of your baby : )
http://babyproducts.about.com/od/carseats/qt/rear_facing.htm
My Jaden cries sometime too and I try distracting him with a toy or play with him or sing to him....and I always tell him whenever we go out that he needs to be put on his car seat ( in fact I tell him it's his VIP seat and its a race car seat! ) otherwise he cannot go out!

<font color="aa00aa">Car seat - we just changed from back facing to fwd facing (he is now 9.2kg), thinking that Kieran would enjoy it more since he can see more things out from the front windscreen....but it didn't make much of a difference!
He is usually okie when there is someone seated beside him, but would make a fuss after a while if he is alone at the back when my hubby ferries him to/fro my MILs place.

After reading these postings, am wondering if we should switch it back around... I actually prefer it being backfacing myself, cos i can sit beside him and see his whole face (it is partially blocked by the side of the car seat if he faces front).</font>

Thanks mummies.
so the take away is that the best is to be rear seating still. cause i do noticed their neck not being strong enough yet especially when they are asleep.

ok. then i better change him back to rear sitting. I guess i need to buy a bigger rear sitting chair as well.

Hi mummies, long time didn't login...how's your little one growing? Now my boy very active, really tiring to look after him whole day! He only know play play &amp; play!

Storeberry, included me! PM you soon!cereal can be breakfast for baby right?

Reading
Lazy mummy long time didn't read to him.

Do u all feed ur bb porridge at nite? I wonder shld I start to feed my bb solid food at nite after I fetch him from IFC…
Morning, my bb eat cereal, den lunchtime will eat porridge, and late noon eat fruit puree nia.
Bt my bb no teeth yet lo.. .

How do u all cook small portion of porridge one huh?? Wat is the rice tat is most suitable to make it ‘lan-lan’ and soggy kinda?
Can teach me how to cook mah cos I am an idiot in cooking

Goldfish, I did't feed bb in the morning, milk only. I didn't notice bb need take breakfast! idiot mummy! I haven't start to cook porridge, will start this few days, cz my MIL gave me 'sheng mi' to cook. She told me that is suitable to cook porridge.

How many bottle mummies feed to bb now?

Hello Goldfish,

By the time you pick your baby from IFC and reach home, it'll be at least like 7pm? If he does go to bed at 8:30pm-9pm, then I wont try to feed solids after you fetch him, cos he'll be tired.

So, unless he sleeps late, like 9:30pm-10pm, then perhaps you can introduce another feed?

Actually, your baby doing very well with 3 meals already, so there's no need to add on another solid meal.

I feed Jaden 2 feed, 1pm and 7pm. Lunch cereal and then dinner porridge.
I mix white rice and brown rice ( more white rice ) and use the Pigeon porridge cooker ( it's a stainless steel mug ) which can be placed in the rice cooker - can get at Kiddy Palace. Very convenient since you need to cook rice otherwise, it can be use on the steamer as well. For smooth consistency and fast cooking, I actually blend the rice beforehand ( You can blend a big portion of it and keep in container ). As for the ingredients, I make in a batch and freeze it ( Carrots, pumpkin, apple, pear etc ), so all I got to do is to pop 1 or 2 portion of it into the porridge when it's almost cook.

<font color="aa00aa">Goldfish (goldfish1395) - For porridge, I am using Australian calrose rice. This is the one with short, rounded grains. Usually cook several baby cube portions in a slow cooker and freeze(with all the ingredients added e.g. carrots, minced chicken, sweet potatoes, etc). You might want to cook the root veggies seperately first before placing into the slow cooker so that everything gets nice and soft and you can just mash and feed (no need to puree the porridge).

On the amount I am feeding, Kieran usually has 1 baby cube of porridge (about 80-90ml), 1 of rice cereal (HT) with veggies &amp; chicken/fish, and 1 of fruits per day...else 2 baby cubes of root veggies with chicken/fish and 1 of fruits. I actually prefer to feed rice cereal rather than porridge for his carbo intake, given that rice cereals have iron added. On top of that he takes about 600+ml of BM per day, and we feed him some gerber stars and/or snack on fruits that we are eating.

Is that about the amount that other mommies are feeding?</font>

I hv started feeding Ryan plain white rice n he prefer white rice to porridge.
His feeding schedule: abt 1-2pm porridge n 6-7pm white rice w/ soup or porridge but need to be different flavour as lunch, if not he will eat a little n refused the balance.
I used white rice mix w/ brown rice for his porridge.
At least a fruit a day. Exampl: Ryan will an apple after lunch n some oranges after dinner. FM abt 500-600ml per day.
He is currently abt 9.7kg.
He learnt to wave "bye bye" on sunday, am so pround of my smart boy.

These two days he refused to take his afternoon nap, will cry n scream when i try to put him dwn for nap.
Does this happen to any other mommies here?

Baby's diet...

My baby K has a slightly bigger appetite (I think so).
Here's his feeding schedule:

7.30am - About 90-120ml of FM

9.30am - Brown rice cereal mixed with 70ml of fruit puree (About 3/4 bowl)

12+pm - 180ml BM

3+pm - 180ml BM

Between 4-5pm - 70ml Fruit puree and some gerber stars snack

6+pm - Porridge cooked with either pork or chicken breast bone or breast meat, mixed with 70ml of puree (puree contains carrot, sweet potato, pumpkin, potato and pork/chicken)
About 3/4 bowl as well

9pm - 150-180ml FM

Bigtoes, I saw your posting earlier on about the gerber stars snacks. I bought 2 bottles from NTUC - banana and sweet potato flavour. My Baby K loves them lor.. This greedy mummy will secretly munch on them at times!!!

I am still doing like 6 bottle feeds of 150ml per day? And I am still feeding bb milk in the middle of the nite (ie: 230am, 530am)
I scare if I skip the nite feed, he may turn skinny and stuff lo? :p

So u gals do grind the uncooked rice grains? So after grinding the rice grains, the cooking time will be reduced aga aga how long huh? I wanna to estimate cos duno want to be so good luck to prepare nite feed for bb after IFC lo

Bigtoes, WOW! So porridge can freeze one lah?? I didn’t know leh!!! I dun mind freezing it leh. Tell me more leh. SO meaning I can cook a pot of porridge and throw the ingredients inside and den babycube it?? Can keep how long in frozen state??

One last silly qn – those porridge ingredients oso grind till LAN-LAN rite? Ie: vegetable will grind/blend into puree state??

My gal is turning 8mth tmr! hw times fly.. lazy mummy hvnt start her on porridge/meat yet.. i tik most of the babies here are feeding so well.. hmm.. gotta start her on porridge soon.. anybody use japanese rice to cook porridge? i still tiking of which rice grain to use..

On slow cooker: I hv a medium size one, tiking of whether can i just use that to cook the porridge? Any mummy can advise? If can, hw to cook since im only cooking a tiny portion?? my kitchen got no space for another small slow cooker liao..

goldfish.. i oso got alot of silly qn. :p actually nt silly lah, i oso know nuts abt cooking baby food.. i tik what i will do is i will cook the porridge 1st, steam the vegetables, then blend into puree then put into the porridge once the porridge is cooked.. is tat wat other mummies are doing??

Goldfish,

Actually you can cook those porridge ingredients (like carrots, potato etc) together with the porridge until tender. Then mash it with a fork.

For me, I will prepare them in puree form and freeze it first. When he wants to eat porridge, cook the porridge and mix it with the puree

<font color="aa00aa">Goldfish (goldfish1395) - Yes, I have been freezing some porridge. Frozen food can typically keep for months, but of cos i use these up within days. I usually leave it to my MIL to cook his porridge to supplement my purees, but the other day i tried making porridge for the 1st time
Like skinny pig said, you can cook everything together till they disintegrate, then just mash the bigger bits with a fork - no need to puree. For some reason, I found that my baby carrots didn't soften as sufficiently (i had to pick them out and puree), so was suggesting cooking them seperately first.

For normal purees, I usually make about 2-3 baby cubes per time, feed one the next day, and freeze the remaining 1-2. That way, I have a variety in the freezer to pick from, and don't have to cook every evening!</font>

Skinnypig, how long it takes for u to cook finish the bb porridge huh? U oso grind the grains first rite?

Bigtoes, thanks for ur remarks!! I may try to freeze porridge though it seems that some pple claim may haf wind?

Avocado – I freeze it too!!! Cos I make a few at one time. It still taste ok after heating it though

Goldfish,

I don grind the rice.. Just throw the rice into pot, wash, put lots of water and cook.

Stove, about an hour. If I want it to be more lan, then 1.5hr.
Slow cooker - About 2 hours.

Hi Goldfish

If u want the rice to "lan" faster, u can wash the rice then soaked it in water for at least 15 min the poured the rice n water together n cook.
It takes me total 1/2hr to cook my boy pumkin,scallop(must washed then soaked in hot water to reduce the salty) &amp; miced meat porridge. If no use scallop u can used baby ikan billis powder(self grinded).

Any mummies try cheese porridge?
I tried it yesterday n my boi loved it.

Hi mummies, no time to log in for the past week! Now we are back to food topic again...I like!

My baby's schedule:
Weekdays at MIL place
Morning: Cereal mix into BM
Noon: 3/4 bowl Porridge (could be ngor fish, xue yu, pork, plus carrot, potato or pumpkin. She tried frog leg porridge before too)
Afternoon: BM
Evening: Same 3/4 bowl Porridge
Night: BM latch on
4am: BM latch on

Weekends I don't cook porridge (never tried before) so I gave her cereal + veggie or fruit puree (garden peas, pumpkin, sweet potato, potato, avocado, carrot...) for a weekend change during lunch and dinner. The rest of the times are just latch on.

Bigtoes - Me too! First time knowing that we can freeze porridge! MIL surely don't let me try. She already showed a little objection to me babycubing the purees that's why I stop giving purees to her...but I think I will start again..
I've become a lock lock fan now, just love storing the pop-out frozen babycubes into the lock lock containers, neatly stacked up in my freezer, gives me a weird sense of satisfaction!

Mrsseng - How to prepare cheese porridge har?

triangle_right.gif
Stagnant Weight
triangle_right.gif

My baby girl's weight has been hovering around 6.5-6.8 kg since the 5th mth though she looks quite chubby and eats well. Not sure if I shd be concerned over it. Any mommies with baby girls around the same weight and weight seems stagnant for the longest time?

chillicrab
ch weight has been like this for sometime too. she eats ok and drinks fine. haha. was thinking why she is so tiny too :p

Rlrenn
<font color="808080">I do it that way for carrots. As for vegetables &amp; root vegetables, I just put them in during the last 10-15mins for stove cooking.

I'm using New Moon's new crop. I'd used Calrose aka sushi rice and i find that my boy has got digestive problem with them...</font>

Li-may
<font color="808080">Does Kieran have bloated tummy? From what I know, refrigerated food may cause gas. </font>

Mrsseng
<font color="808080">Cheese porridge sounds weird and tasty @ the same time! Recipe plsss!</font>

For smoother porridge
<font color="808080">Soak them beforehand, use medium fire to boil until grains burst, then use low heat to simmer.

Or else, grind the rice before cooking.</font>

Night-feed
<font color="808080">I'm still dreamfeeding my boy. To help him to change the habit, PD rec adding cereal into his milk. I did it and it helped a bit, instead of drinking 3 hourly, it dragged to 4-5 hourly.

I'm fine with dreamfeeding as I don't have to work in the morning, but I haven't have a really good night sleep for 8 months!!! LOL

Any more ideas to contribute? I'm anti-CIO pls. Can't stand the crying!

Cayden's Typical Night Feeding Pattern
- Feed before slp 9pm (180ml FM)
- Wakes around 2-3am (150-170ml FM with 5 scoops of HT oats cereal
- Wakes around 6am-ish (170ml FM) </font>

Age of Mummies
<font color="808080">I'm new here &amp; am really curious abt YOUR age! =D

Let me start first:

I give birth to Cayden at the age of 25 and his my first child. How about you?</font>

Little E's eating schedule as follows

2am 150ml BM
4am 50ml BM
8am 50ml BM
9.30am 150ml FM
11.30am HT cereal 4 TBSP with 1/2 cube root veg 1/2 cube fruit
50 ml water
3pm 1/2 cup yogurt
6.30pm shi shen brown rice grounded with ABC soup or water cress + pumpkin, potato
9pm 50ml apple juice with BM
11pm 120ml BM ( sometimes)

i usually puree his fruits, root veg and freeze.
porridge my mum cook everyday, she say if freeze got wind.

The grains get washed, sun dried, fried dry, grind and stored in air tight container. Lots of work though.

Sleeping through…

My boy started to sleep through the night when he turned 3 months old, just before I started work. The trick is to keep them active in the day, restrict their day nap and give them a full last feed. When night falls, they would be tired and sleep through.

It took me some time to train him sleeping through. There were many days (in fact MOST days) during my maternity leave when he’s tired, but just refused to sleep until 2-3am, sometimes even 4 or 5am. No matter how I rock him, sway him, sing him 2 hours of Twinkle Twinkle little stars and ABC, he just didn’t want to sleep… I used to latch him to sleep back then but I wanted him to kick off the habit of latching to sleep. And of course there were also days when he would guai guai sleep till dawn (but that’s very RARE!!!)

I was damn stressed out when he couldn’t sleep through during my maternity leave despite my effort cos that would affect my sleep and concentration when I started work..
And heng heng, just 1 week before I started work, Baby K decided to cooperate with me to be a good boy by letting me enjoy my long –lost sleep…

Between 3 – 5 months, he would sleep from 9pm to 8am (weekdays) and (10pm to 9am) weekends.

From 5 months till current, he sleeps from 10pm to 7am (weekdays) and 10.30pm to 7-8am (weekends)

When he started teething @ 5th month, he would get fussy and ‘eh eh eh’ in the middle of the night… I am too lazy to pat him back to sleep, so just go the lazy way of stuffing pacifier into his mouth and he will fall asleep instantly…

And I am 28 this year, born in 1981. Baby K is also my 1st child..

Can add me in facebook – [email protected]

<font color="aa00aa">Goldfish (goldfish1395) and Pei (peilovecats) - Not sure about getting wind from frozen/refrigerated food, but Kieran has been okie so far

chillicrab (chillicrab) - The older folks usually have some apprehension when it comes to preparing food for our babies. Like my MIL would think that the purees are insufficient (though I think these are more nutricious cos they are packed with ingredients - iron fortified rice cereal, veggies, meat, etc..compared to watered down porridge which is mainly rice). Anyway, i let her supplement with her own porridge so everyone's happy.

chillicrab (chillicrab) - Your little girl is quite the lightweight, but if she is developing well, then weight shouldn't be a concern
Kieran is quite heavy - about 9.2kg (75th percentile the last i checked).

Teething:
Are your babies teething in the typical sequence? Kieran's bottom 2 appreared first (normal), then one of the top front teeth (normal)...but we realised that over the last week his top 2 lateral incisors (canine teeth) have also erupted...then yesterday, my FIL mentioned that he saw pre-molars as well..! Very weird! Do any of your babies have canine/molar teeth already before the front teeth?</font>