(2008/09) Sep 2008

Good morning mummies....

Just want to ask for advice. I know many mummies here have brought your babies overeseas. Do you bring your babies for a checkup before bringing them overseas? Do they cry when the plane takes off or land? How do you know if their ears are blocked on the flight? How do we make sure that they are comfortable upon take off and througout the flight?

wingkei
1. checkup?dun need lah, but you might wanna get a flu jab for the bb and yourself if you are going to temperate ctys
2. depends on bb, some feel uncomfortable with the pressure changes some dun. whether their ears are blocked or not isnt that important, coz if it makes them uncomfortable, they will cry. crying is good coz it releases pressure from their ears.
3. if you wanna help them, nurse or bottle feed them during take off and landing

<font color="aa00aa">koras (koras) - Ribena has sugar added, don't think its suitable for babies. Grapes are okie though don't give too much at one go. Kieran gets very hyper from the sugar rush if he eats too much sweet fruits. Think thats the case with most babies...

Goldfish (goldfish1395)- think the bottles get cloudy after months of usage and some milk deposits? My bottles (Medela) are okie, but the teats get cloudy after like 1-2 months and need to be replaced.
What bottles are u mommies using now? K drinks from Medela cos these are BPA free, but the bottles are quite small. Not sure i want to get replacements though, cos by right we need to stop using the bottle (even for milk) by about 12 months.</font>

Fake coughing

Over the weekends, I realised my Baby K has been doing fake coughing like 'ke ke' to catch my attention, especially during meal times when I was eating and he has nothing to do..

When I looked up at him, he would just flash his innocent wide smile to me

Skinny pig

My BB also fake coughing to catch my attention and will flash his innocent wide smile to me too.

Yesterday at my MIL place, he gule super sticky to me even refuse his daddy. End up i took abt an hour to finish my lunch.
Nowaday he will cry n scream to get what he wants, especially when his "kao San" around.

Anyone thought abt BB year old birthday celebration yet?
Any tot n ideal to share?

l'l CY^^l'l CH, I don't think there is a need to bring the baby for a checkup before flying off too, but I'm getting somuch pressure from family around me that I thought to do that to set their mind at ease. They are driving me nuts man, all don't support me and HB bringing baby overseas. Haiz....

<font color="aa00aa">skinny pig (skinny_pig)- hah, Kieran did the fake cough thing some months back too, think when he was about 4-5 months. That was a phase he went thru, but has since stopped. I even wanted to bring him to the PD but had my sis take a look first(she is a Dr) and she said he was perfectly healthy. Apparently this is quite common

wingkei (wingkei) - where are u guys off to?</font>

Bigtoes,

Initially I was quite worried that he could have caught a flu somewhere else. But after some observation, i realised it was fake coughing to catch my attention...
Tsk tsk, kids nowadays... They would just do whatever they can to catch mummies and daddies attention!!!

Bigtoes, i am oso using medela. It looks not super 'clear' unlike BN. I m wondering whether can i keep all these bottles for 2nd kid next time manz...

Btw, for mama who kena menses oledi, is ur period 'regular' or not huh? Mine abit haywire lo!!

mine fake cough all the time and now he is in the state of pretending his lungs is conjested type of noise and laughs when we tell him to stop. So mischeivous.

Mine have reduced his milk intake significantly and am getting worried. Anyone of you going through this?

Breadmum
Mine reduced his milk intake from 180ml to now 120-140ml only.

TODAY BB new game is throwing whtever he is playing onto the floor. When i slap his hand he would just flash his innocent wide smile to me again. Haizzzzzzz what to do.

Mrsseng,

Yeh, mine also like to throw whatever in his hand onto the ground as well..
Yest my hubby got so fed up of picking up his mess and he decided not to give him any toys to play with.. Ended up my boy started to 'ke ke ke' due to boredom....

skinny pig/ mrs seng - he currently takes about 140 ml max for an entire day. Drinks 50ml of water. according to Gina Ford's book, it should still be 450ml.

yup, mine will throw the things off his high chair , looks at the things on the floor and expect them to be picked up. My hubby also confiscated the toys but it does nothing. LOL

mrs seng, skinny pig, breadmum
think it's their way of discovering their world. when they throw something on the ground, they hear a noise and sometimes feel vibration on the ground. it's new and exciting game. whats more, mummy and daddy will get upset etc...it's their way of discovering means to an ends...

milk intake.
coz they are taking more solids?maybe try to feed milk before solids?

mrsseng- mine too just love to throw his temper by throwing all his toys onto the floor. waiting for someone to pick it up.

breadmum : what to do ar? when bb suddenly drink so little. my girl also. and i'm so helpless. push the teat into her mouth and she scream and cry.

Mamyvelle

It's alright as long as there in take of solid food.
My boy been through that stage liao, will bk to normal soon, dun worry.

Breadmum

My boy drink less than 50ml of water per day.
Now what i do is bottle feed him water every now n than, need to praise him while drinking.

my boy milk intake drop a bit only... from 180ml to 160 ml...
feed him 1 time puree in the morning, porridge in the afternoon and evening.

but yes.. his water intake drop alot... he used to drink about 80-100ml a day.. but now not even 50ml.. that's why his poo poo is very hard...

wah EJ is the opposite... he drinks alot alot of water... sometimes can finish 200ml in a day... think he prefers water to milk nowadays..

anyway mommies remember to take care of your babies.. bad virus around.. EJ ganna cough and had quite abit of phelgem so had to rent the neubaliser back home for a week... so upset to see him struggle everytime i put him on the neubaliser..

anyway i think it is normal to for babies to drop the milk intake once their solid went up.. i asked my PD tt time and he says its normal ... so i guess no need to worry too much if they are still gaining weight..

EJ now will put both his arms around my neck and hug it tightly... so happy whenever he does that.. and everytime he will crawl towards me.. haha isn't that bonding great!!! i feel quite sense of achievement when EJ is particularly sticky to me!! wahaha...i know i'm a crazy mom... wahhaah

I thought my son was still sick when he cough cos its not very frequent and when he gets the attention, the coughing stops. hee.

As for milk intake, books i read said that milk intake is about 20-24oz. Its stated that when introducing solid, baby liquid (as in milk) intake will decline and for every 2oz of solid, deduct 2oz of liquid from every feed. Thats how you derive the 20-24oz. but since i m still breastfeeding, i seriously don't know how much liquid goes into his tummy.

Hi Jeraldin,
I brought my son to see the chinese physician at Yuguo at Kembagan. Its very far. But it helped (or so I think) cos he was really coughing very badly till he puked even after 2 days of medicine from PD. However, he was still on the same medication though I brought him to Yuguo. So I don't know which was the effective one.

Hi goldfish,

I kena my mensus very early. Very upset. Don't know why though I was breastfeeding. It is very irregular though. The 2nd one came on time, afterwhich the subsequent ones got delayed. The last one was delayed by 2 weeks. =)

Fake coughing
<font color="808080">Cayden doesn't do that at all. That's my first time hearing babies will fake cough =D</font>

Reduced intake of milk
<font color="808080">I suspect it's teething or unwell.

For my case, it's teething.
He was mega-cranky &amp; wants to be carried all the time.
Milk intake fell from 150ml-100ml. Quite drastic.

Luckily it became to 160ml-180ml these 2 days.
Hope it will stay this way.</font>

Throwing stuff
<font color="808080">Cayden does that ALL the time. Til I'm super fed-up, in the end I give him nothing.

However, he doesn't throw his fav teether &amp; teething rusk unless he got something really interesting in his hands.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Pei (peilovecats) - Hah, maybe you guys give Cayden enough attention, so he doesn't see the need to do the fake cough!

Throwing stuff - K does that also, especially when he is sitting high up and can watch the object drop onto the floor. He will keep on doing that so long as we pick the item up and pass it back to him (see who gets tired/bored first).

Teething rusk - this is too big and hard for Kieran. Just ends up swapping it from one hand to the other, and dropping it on the floor. I bought Gerber stars instead cos these are tiny stars that melt in the mouth. K loves them and can more or less direct the stars into his mouth!

Bitoes, will babies get choked on the stars? I don't dare to by these as they seem so small, so easily can get choked.

I see my baby has little red spots, like heat rash on her back, but these are not protruding out like normal heat rash, just patches on her back. Anyone has any idea what it is? My baby is so cranky these few days, wonder if it's because of her constipation. She gets constipation rather frequently. haiz...

Wingkei,
U might want to give ur bb more water and fruit puree to ease her constipation.

MILK INTAKE:
Alston is drinking 150ml per feed every 3hrs. However, sometimes he doesn't finish the milk. So if he doesn't finish 150ml for the previous feed, he will gulp down 150ml in less than 5min at the next feed. Generally, he drinks abt 900ml to 1L daily and topping up wif fruit puree (if aunt is free to make him one) and porridge. I would say Alston eats when he's in good mood. Sometimes, he simply refuses to open his mouth after a few mouthful of porridge , while he finishes it all at times. He simply shuts his mouth tight, turns his head here and there, puts his head down on the high chair tray or uses his hand to shove off the spoon. What a naughty boy !!! Mummies, are ur bbs like that ??

Millie,

Yes yes.. When Baby K doesn't want to eat further for porridge or cereal, he would shut his little mouth tight like a zip, or turn away left right up down or in whichever direction!!!
But when it comes to fruit puree, he would open his mouth super wide and hit the high chair tray asking for more, even though he's full..

I can say he like fruit puree more than porridge and milk!!!

Milk intake

Kydric drinks about 300-400ml per day. At this age, they should be drinking about 500ml per day, and when they reach 1 year, their daily milk intake should be about 350ml.

For babies not drinking well, try substitues like yogurt and cheese. Otherwise, do puree with milk instead of water. Eg. cream of cauliflower (add milk instead of water), or cream of parsnip, etc etc.

C.Ttt, Kydric also goes to Yuguo. Brought him there cos he had a persistent cough that does not go away... I'm seeing Huang yi shi.. how about yours?

<font color="aa00aa">wingkei (wingkei) - the stars dissolve in the mouth, so it should be fine. Kieran loves them, and can gobble up 10-20 at one go!

skinny pig (skinny_pig) - i think its quite common for babies to love their fruit puree best cos these are so sweet! K opens his mouth very wide for fruit puree and gerber stars. Milk - depends on his mood, but usually he is okie with that. As for porridge/meat &amp; veggie purees - esp if there is sweet root veggies like sweet potatoes - he usually finishes them up but might need 2 sittings to finish one baby cube. If the puree contains veggies he dislike (e.g. spinach), then i can forget it.

Millie (millie22) - 900ml+ is quite a bit
At this stage (7-8 months), intake should be about 600-800ml a day, in addition to 3-4 puree/porridge feeds. </font>

baby K prone to get constipation very easily. he doesnt poo everyday but like 2-3 day. though everyday we gave him fruit pruee . hai...

he drink a lot of water still when he poo there wil be a hard poo then follow by the soft poo duno isnt cox of the food intake is too heaty for him or what

skinny pig- diet: drinking intake in the day 100 at nite 150.porrige mixed with spinach/pumpkin/carrot/meat(just to add favour)/ikan billis(add favour)/califlower/bochoori either 2 of them.and drinking a lot of water.

pear/apple fruit puree

Koras,

If he tends to get constipation easily, you can try giving him some peach or plum puree for consecutively 2 days..
These 2 fruits are natural laxative.

Oh.....it's so interesting to read about the fake coughing. My Jaden doesnt do that but I'm truly amazed that there are babies out there who do that just to get mummies attention! Babies are so smart!

Jaden drinks a total of 600ml ( 200ml per feed ) for the day plus 2 semi-solid food ( he can finish almost 250ml of the cereal or porridge ). I did remember there was a time that he drank less milk and simply refuse to finish his milk....when I reflect back, I realise that it's because he was starting to teeth cos abt 1-2wks later, we saw the teeth bud.....now he only has that 2 little front teeth ( halfway mark ).

Jaden also always throw his stuff on the floor though I noticed that he always let it go on his left side but he doesnt look for the toy. If we are lucky, he will bang his toy on the tray ( I normally give him his toy while he is seated on his rocker/high chair ) and bite it but it usually doesnt last for more than 10mins. It's babies way of exploring thing and we should encourage them and let them explore though it can be frustrating. Give them as much opportunities to handle all type of things from soft toy to hard ones, it helps build their motor skills. So what I do is I will have a whole bucket of his teether/rattle/soft toy and I will give him the toy to play with and when he drops it on the floor, I will hold back for 5mins before giving him another toy. So by the end of my dinner, my floor will be filled with all his toys!
Just last weekend, Jaden's teacher commented that Jaden has very good motor skill....so happy for him.

Oh, for those mummies with babies that dont drink water, maybe you want to consider given your baby water mix with a teaspoon of the gripe water? It makes the water abit sweeter and it's suppose to help reduce wind in baby. I give it to Jaden after his bath everyday - he can finish about 50ml of water in one go.

Hi Millie,
Could it be cos your baby dont like the porridge flavour? I noticed that Jaden dont finish his porridge for certain flavour so I figured its cos he probably dont like the flavour.

fake cough
My gal also likes to do fake cough as well as make the puking sound. Sometimes, really wonder is she really going to puke coz there was once she was in her carseat and she make the puking sound til i thought she might have carsick? hehe..

JP: i tried to put my gal on potty but she juz sit there and smile at me. In the end, nothing came out.. haha

<font color="aa00aa">JP (jnp) - Yes, its amazing how quickly our babies observe and immitate! I remembered having abit of a cough when Kieran was about 4+ months, and he started coughing thereafter. I thought he caught the bug from me, but realized it was fake cos he would only do the "cough cough" in the middle of his 'talking' or to get attention, but not otherwise. And some time back, i did the "poot" sound a couple of times to make him laugh, and he went around making the same noise the whole day! Have to be careful what we teach them!

Sitting on potty - i haven't even thought of this or bought a potty yet. Think its still too young to toilet train? I do know when he wants to poo though - he pretends to be engrossed in something (like a toy), sits very still, and gets all quiet and secretive! Maybe i should bring him to the potty whenever he does that...but what if he doo-doos between taking out the diaper and placing him on the potty!</font>

I'm asking cos I have started putting Jaden on his potty for the past month and one of my friend is telling me that it is too young so just wanted to ask opinion here.
I got Jaden a potty which is like a chair and we put him on the potty every morning after his 10am milk and so far he has been very good pooing so I thought it's a good practice. I'm a believer to start earlier so it's easier for baby to pick up the right habit. I also make sure I only feed him ( semi-solid ) while he is seated in his high chair so he learns that he need to be seated when he has his meal.

Hi Rachel,

Same. I go to huang yi shi cos I was sick as well. So tot jus see e same doc.But I haven't been going these days though as my son is ok and i m juz having my usual chronic cough.. Went only a total of 3 times cos its so far from my place... I tried taking bus once before. it took me an hour. e rest of the time, i juz toook a cab.

i agree with you bigtoes, i tink my son also learned the "nggg" (to ask him 2 pooop) sound as he likes to make that sound sometimes.

JP, you mean Jaden really poop into the potty? whao! thats very good!! My mummy also telling me can put him on potty soon to get him used to it. But I am so afraid he will jus take it as a toy and start playing using it.

my boy's appetite is quite average i think... he takes about 120ml (3 times a day) milk + 180ml (90ml each meal) of milk powder mixed in cereal and puree so that works out to be abt 540ml a day ...

2 meals of cereal plus vege puree mainly... each time about 3 tbsp of HT cereal with about 2 tbsp of puree..

I think so far EJ is quite ok with vege of all sort.. so far he taken broccoli, spinach, pea, caixin quite well... though i know he prefers those sweet root vege and fruit more based on the speed he finish his meal haha

JP.. me too! i am also a believer to start training earlier... i have been letting EJ poo into the toliet bowl since he is about 4months and now that he can sit more steadily.. i am putting him on the potty... but these 2 weeks he is sick so not really in the mood to sit on the potty...

EJ will only sleep with me around... super chiam... my friend's wedding is round the corner... think got to leave earlier to come home and put him to bed... else think he will have a "war" with his daddy!! haha