(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="aa00aa">chillicrab (chillicrab) - Hugs! Don't feel so guilty - think all of us would have our little ones fall off the bed at least once! Kieran fell off my bed once, and off my MIL's bed another time. He still sleeps on my bed during the daytime (on weekends, cos i nurse him to sleep on our bed), but we are quite paranoid now - still have the stacks of pillows around the bed, but also have 2 mattresses at the ends incase he does fall off - at least he has a padded landing. Also make it a point to check on him when he is sleeping during the day more often.

rlrenn (rlrenn) - Medela at Toh Guan - i posted their contact here once. Try googling? Their contact details are online.

breadmum (breadmum) - I hope my menses doesn't come back till i stop BFing! As it is, i think my supply has already reduced abit

Rachel - i started adding FM to his cereal, then in his dream feed. when he is wide awake, he does not take it though. Will give more updates next week, since i just started him on FM.

Bigtoes - i had a surprise when it came. Maybe because i have been busy at work and i skipped expressing during lunch time and when i reach home, so that did it. Supply really dipped to only three times a day.

koras, when my last visit to polyclinic, the nurse asked me whether i feed him egg yolk. I do give him when eleanr was 4mth, of cos i only feed her a little only.
Heard from my mother, she said we should feed bb bird nest as if will cause asthma. so maybe check with the doc before feeding them anything.

Bigtoes - Thanks..I think I will become v paranoid from now on too...I've even dragged the baby cot to stuck to the side of my bed now so we are sleeping side by side separated by the cot railings only. No more space inbetween us now, feels more closer and secured heh.

Breastmilk..

I went to see my GP last thurs for my flu and fever. Told her that I am still pumping out my milk even though my K is coming to 8 months liao.
She said its time to stop BF, cos from 6 months onwards, there isn't much proteins, calcium and antibodies in our BM. Just purely fluid.
In fact, from 6 months onwards, our little one will benefit more from FM than BM cos the former one contains more proteins and calcium than BM.

The reason why ppl still continue to BF or latch on for as long as they want is for closer bonding.

Anyway I already had plans to stop my milk production once my K hit 8th months. After hearing what she said, I reduced to only 1 pump a day.. Very miserable, only 180ml.. Got to mix with my frozen milk. Tsk Tsk..

Breadmum, you still dreamfeed? Hmm.. it's a BIG challenge for me though...

I also realised that my supply is going down and down!!! Can only express only about 300ml+ during the day in office! Argg!! And my boy dont take frozen milk!

Yep me too...BM decreased over the last week. Used to pump 180-200ml per time twice at work but now only 140-160ml per time. I think that triggers my menses too (or the other way round?) Shugs...menses just came back this morning! bloody h*** loh

skinnypig
think your doc got it wrong there. there are all kinds of doc and not all are informed on the benefits of bfg. in fact, they dun teach anything about bm and bfg in medical school or specialist training. sorry not trying to put him/her down.

but bm after 6mths changes in it;s quality to suit the growing child. so you will realise their weight stagnate sometime after 6mths. it's natural and it's supposed to be so coz after 6mths they are supposed to be more mobile and convert all those fats to muscles.

the only truth is the fm bbs tend to be fatter. and of course it's meant to be so. fm comes from cow's milk. and bb calves are meant to put on 100ib in their first year of live,so the fats content is naturally different form human milk...

a commonly visited webbie ...
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/bfextended/ebf-benefits.html

in fact, WHO rec EXLCUSIVE bfg up to 6mths and complimentary up to 2 years.

l'lCY,

That's why I was quite doubtful of her words, cos everyone of us know the benefit of BM.. Anyway, I will still continue to pump once a day until my supply dropped till zero la... Haha..

<font color="aa00aa">chillicrab (chillicrab) - I am also doing about 300-340ml per day at work. Total supply now about 700ml per day. It used to be about 1 litre

I guess the good thing is that if the supply goes down gradually, i won't feel bad stopping eventually (compared to if i were to purposely stop BFing.) My plan is to continue till Kieran is a year old, but it does get troublesome at times when i am out of office &amp; can't pump or if i travel! At least i already did 6 months of TBF, and only recently added abit of FM into K's diet.</font>

Li-May
<font color="808080"> Yep, I'm lucky that the fact that C ain't crawling yet =D More relax for me =P

I refuses to let him eat on the go cos it's sooo tiring for us! So I "trap" him in his walker =D He jumps too and his head turns a lot during feeding.I hate it when he grabs bowl, dips his hand into the porridge and rub it all over his face. Babies can be quite annoying sometimes LOL</font>

Chillicrab
<font color="808080">I feel you!!! Like what they say, most babies fall off from bed at least once. Including my boy, I was out when my boy fell, can you imagine how frantic, worried &amp; upset at the same time when I heard the news and couldn't attend to him immediately?

Cheer up &amp; don't take any chances anymore.
Thank god that the "fallen angels" are fine =D</font>

Springles
<font color="808080">False measles aka rosela infantum commonly happens to children who are btw 6months to 3yr old.

The most significant symptoms is high fever (usually 3 days), followed by rashes, starting from the trunk, spreading to the rest of the body.
Fever subside immediately once the rashes appear.

Rashes/red spots turn white when pressed.

If ur bb has got no fever, it might be due to other reasons. Maybe heat rash due to the warm weather or bed bugs' bite...

Keep me posted!</font>

Eggs For Infant's Diet
<font color="808080">Egg white shouldn't be given to babies under the age of 1

Egg yolks shouldn't be given to babies under 8 months old.

~Courtesy from Wholesomebabyfood.com~</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Rachel - i am still taking GNC's fenugreek. Not even sure if it is helping! Think even if it is, it maybe adds like 10% to my milk supply! Not even worth it, cos i take 6-8 tablets a day and am spending more on fenugreek than i would even be spending on FM!

Pei (peilovecats) - Kieran is a very impatient boy. He started crawling at 5+ months, and after so much practice, he is very efficient now! Sometimes, i cannot even run fast enough to grab him before he bumps himself on the dining room mirror/metal chairs etc..(my house has alot of glass and metal - very baby unfriendly). Worse still, he is now cruising, and likes to pull himself up to stand by reaching out to everything he can grab regardless of whether the object can take his weight...i have so many bruises on my legs from rushing to grab him before he bumps himself (yet again).
So don't rush C to crawl, but just enjoy these few more weeks first!

hello Limay, same here! I'm also taking 6 tablets of the fenugreek every day! I've asked for milk samples (Similac and Enfapro) and will try again....

<font color="0077aa">Damn, this is don't know how many times I had try to post!

Ava: Want to tell you summer is so cute!! That is such a classic photo!

Kym: You are getting better!!! Great shots!</font>

Kym,

Sorry to rush u. Understand that u very busy. But when will my bb photo be ready? My mum want to see. Do u have a picasa web for her as u did for Vanilla's bb? So that I can show her 1st if u not yet free to do up the touchup. Thanks.

My baby's getting better, less grouchy but very pampered possibly due to the over-TLC when she was not well last week. I have yesterday noticed red rashes around her mouth which I have applied physiogel on and it doesn't seem to go away. Should I bring her to the doctor? Or are there any creams I can use to ease the rashes?

She is mostly on BM and occasionally on FM (and porridge feeds twice a day). I have not introduced anything new to her so I do not think it's any form of allergy.

Aud
<font color="808080"> Trust ur maternal instinct. If you feel like bringing her to the docs, do so. We have not seen ur bb's rashes, it's hard for us to determine too.</font>

Bigtoes - I too want to BF for as long as I can, prefably more than 1 year? But travelling is a hassle, that's why I told my hubby no more overseas holidays for us till maybe next year heh..You started adding FM into Kieran's diet? Like how? Mixed into his puree and cereal? Which brand of FM are you using? When it comes to FM, I'm totally lost 'cos I've always thought I don't need to know since feeding BM all the while.

Pei - I guess so! My sis was also saying that she's already used to her 2 kids falling down from the beds since they are babies so no big deal. Gosh! But still...Thank god that our fallen angels are fine!

Aud
<font color="808080">Try uploading it via "upload attachment" beside"Preview/post Message"</font>

chillicrab
<font color="808080">To play safe,I let C sleep on mattress placed on the floor now. Check on him occasionally.You might want to do so, so don't have to worry all the time!</font>

Side
<font color="808080">I'm a bad mummy, I'm obssessed with playing Restaurant city on facebook now =D</font>

<font color="aa00aa">chillicrab (chillicrab)- we are planning to go ahead with a short 4 day holiday in June (leaving K at home), but I will have to express and discard the milk
I also have to travel for work, but these are usually short 2-3 day trips, so i can still freeze and check in the milk. Kieran is now being introduced to some FM - he is taking Similac for his middle of nite feed, and seems okie with it. I don't mix with his cereal or puree cos he is mainly on BM during the day, but I suppose u can do that too.

Brandwise - it really dependent on your baby - for instance, K regurgitated NAN the moment the drank some....so ask or PD for samples from various brands before buying a big tin from the supermarket?</font>

Bigtoes,

Express and discard the BM?? So sai-yang!!!
You can see if anyone has a big insulator bag to loan you so that you can transport the frozen milk back to spore.. It would work out to be quite a lot of milk to be thrown away for a 4 days trip..

<font color="aa00aa">skinny pig (skinny_pig) - i know! The last time i didn't get a chance to express and keep cos I was on a day tour, so i expressed just the bare minimum to relieve the engorgement (in public toilet somemore!) and came back with terrible engorgement and fever!

I have already checked with the hotel and they don't have a freezer compartment in the room fridge. So most prob will have to express and throw out (wash hair/face with it?). We can't hand carry milk on the plane as well, so if we bring home, have to check in. Btw, what is an insulator bag? I have the Pigeon Fridge to go bag, but this can only keep cool for 12 hours, and the liquid panels have to be kept in the freezer prior to that.</font>

Bigtoes,

Its a super big bag that can keep your expressed milk cool.. From my understanding, you can keep the frozen milk in the insulator bag and hand carry to the plane. Once you reach the plane, ask the flight crew to keep the insulator bag in their freezer compartment.

Hi Bigtoes,

I always envy people going overseas after giving birth and would very much hope to start travelling again.. But, I'm wondering if let say I have been bringing baby home with me everyday. And if I were to travel, will our babies be able to sleep in a new environment? or and will they be upset when they dun see daddy and mummy for the next 4 or 5 days?

I would like to check with those of you who are feeding porridge to your babies already. Do you buy the stuff for the porridge ie. meat, fish, etc. from supermarkets or from the market? Not sure if buying from the supermarket is fresh enough. Also, my mom said to buy 'bak tao' to cook porridge, is this pork collar?

Hi Dseptkon,Mrsseng,Yun
Thanks for the recommendation for the haircut. I will check out the salon the next time I go down to Vivocity. I dont think I dare to shave my baby myself, got phobia I might cut his ears if he fidget too much!

Hehe! Yun, your baby is so chubby and cute. I love chubby baby! Jaden is now about 10.5kg already, maybe that explains y he refuses to be on his tummy ( his little backside is too heavy for him? ) and crawl. Everytime I put him on his tummy, he simply turn back up and if I try turning him back again, he will cry out loud! N a few days ago, I tried holding his tummy up so he can be on his fours, he started whimpering.......it's quite funny actually. What a lazy little boy....

Chillicrab. I had one incident of Jaden falling off the bed when I put him on the sofa bed to change his nappy, turn around to get his nappy and when I turn back, he was on the tip of the bed falling off, luckily I manage to grab his hands so he didnt hit the floor. But then, that must have given him a rude shock cos he was crying out loud after that. Immediately after that, I told him that he needs to stay on the bed and not move when mummy tell him to or he will fall off the bed, it seems to work cos I noticed that he now keep still in bed when I change him......:) Tried that if it ever happen to your baby and for the next few times, remind him that the last time he was close to the edge, he fell off etc.....I think baby will understand.

Breastmilk
I'm taking fenugreek as well ( 2tablets ) a day but I dont see a big jump in my supply, just slightly more. So to me, it doesnt make much of a difference. All along, my supply was not enough to feed Jaden so he has been on a combination of BM and FM. I did notice that my supply drop around 5mths but its not cos my menses came, I dont know why either. Now that he started semi-solid, I only have to feed him 1 feed of the FM ( always the last feed for the night ). He's fed 6 feed in total for the day, 3 feed BM, 2 feed semi-solid and 1 feed FM. My daily BM output is about 600ml, down from my peak of 900ml. Oh yeah, he's drinking Similac but he has tried Nan too. So far, both are ok for him. I guess it's really up to the baby.

Hi bigtoes,
Call up the hotel and tell them that you need a fridge with a freezer compartment in your room ( explain the reason. Most hotel will accomodate- but it also depends on the countries you go, some are more friendly with such request ) and they shld be able to arrange for you. If not, ask them for the option of having your milk stored in their freezer ( but it can be quite troublesome cos you got to call them everytime you want to freeze the milk ). Travelling back to Singapore, just get the airline crew to keep in their freezer, they will definitely accomodate your request ( the only problem you may face is that some airline might not allow you to bring the milk ( even frozen milk ) into the plane. Then you got to check in.

Hi Thinkerbell,
I believe in preparing baby for the trip by talking to him. Tell him a week ahead of the trip that he's going on a holiday with daddy and mummy and he will be in a new place but daddy and mummy will be with him and he should not worry or be scared. Tell him everyday until the day of the trip, you can even describe to him the process and what he will be experiencing eg. he will be taking the plane, it will be noisy during the takeoff etc.... so on the day itself, as you run through the process, talk to him and let him know which stage of the process he is at. To whole point is to prepare him and reassure him so he will be secured. That's what I did whenever I have to travel for work. I will let Jaden know a week before that I will be away and for how long and why but daddy will be around to take care of him.....so far, he has been a good boy while I'm away. I have taken him for a trip to KL when he was 3mths and I'm planning to bring him to Bali end May! : )

ok, I have been trying to upload a pic of my JAden but not very successful cos I think the file size is too big....anyone can advise me how to go about reducing the file size so I can upload?

Thanks for the comments! I hope you like the pictures, as I did like them very much too! Mummies who have been to the shoot already, perhaps you can drop me a comment about your experience or what you think about the pix.. I know some babies did not smile a lot, but I am sure as long as they are our babies.. they are beautiful all the same, right?

I have been so busy attending to the shooting since friday and can only tend to uploading the photos during those 1/2 hr break windows and have to spilt much work up to 2 PCs due to the quantity of the photos, that is why i only manage to post some of the pics that are in my mobile PC while i am resting to get ready for the next shoot. I have minimum 5 shoots a day, sometimes 6 or 7 and only 1/2 hr between each, if you do not know, i am also still working FULL time. so i end up every night going home at only 9 or 10, so ladies, pls bear with me as I need time to even load the pictures let alone edit them for now. I really hope you enjoy the session as I have explained to many of you that it is still in the beginnings for me, and my house is really not renovated yet, can't go buying expensive equip and setup unless I am sure i want to do this. Same goes for the studio design or anything else for that matter.

There are more than 30 babies on my hands now, so i am not accepting anymore folio shoots... i think 30 is enough for me to be able to get some nice portfolio done =) Thanks mummies for the interest.

There is something that made me sad.. not sure if it was because my photography does not meet their expectations or if .. there are other reasons? That I am getting comments about my 'make-shift' studio being very un-pro, unattractive, etc.. etc.. nothing about the pictures taken being nice at all =(

And perhaps there is some misunderstanding as well.. some mummies think that I am charging for the shoot cheaply because I am a student of sorts (and in some cases, think i am trying to earn something out of this)...... if you count the hours of work i put into this, and giving back all the pictures taken comparing the $ other photographers charge.. it is not good business.. kekek.. pardon me for being blunt...

The 25$ is not for my photography time, it is just to cover the cost of the DVDs and equipment i am using, I don't earn anything from this..... thanks..

All i hope is that you like the pix i have taken for your babies and i captured their most beautiful sides of innocence... perhaps they didn't smile a lot this time round, in a new environment, with new people, well, its natural, but don't be disappointed.. there is always another time..

If you remember as well that this is a portfolio thing, and mummies are asking what that mean - it means I need a portfolio to show my future clients what I can do, it takes a lot of practice and work to get things right.. and of course something to showcase on my website so people can see my work and will want to hire me next time =P

Li-May
<font color="808080"> First of all I would like to say " I'm sooooooooo envious of you! To BM issue, try to get the hotel to get u a freezer, if not, as for rental?

If reaaally cannot, use ur BM to wash ur face or bath with it! Don't throw!!!</font>

wingkei
<font color="808080">Meat/fish from the supermarket are equally fresh, unless ur supermarket is those ulu ulu type =D

Teochew:"Bak tao - rou" is pork loin. My mum says use "buay bak - 枚肉" is the best =D</font>

Kym,so sad to see that you are not accepting more babies for the photoshoot.
I had wanted so much for my Jaden to have some professional looking photos to be taken.
Anyway, wish u best of luck and with your persistant, I'm sure u will succeed....hang in there!

Hi Kym, I guess those mummies who went for your shoot should know that this is only for your portfolio set up as you did explain that quite clearly in the email to us!
We shouldn't have too much expectations of you or the environment, etc. The number of pics we are taking back and the beautiful shots have already exceeded the worth of $25, we should thank you instead! Don't be disheartened by the negative comments. Jia you!

Pei - I can't let my baby sleep on the floor..I think the risk of my hubby stepping on her is more than her falling off the bed! haha...

JP - I think my baby will turn her head left and right (not focusing) while I talk seriously to her! haha...but I shall give it a try to see if it works

Hi Pei, thanks a lot for the translation. Appreciate it a lot. What is the English name for "buay bak - 枚肉"? I buy from NTUC, so I need these English names to differentiate what is what.

hi bigtoes,

saw you all discussing on expressing overseas..i throw away the EBM when on business trip. What kind of bags/container do you use to checkin the milk? can advise? thanks.

Wingkei
<font color="808080">You're welcome =) I'm uncertain of the eng name hence I didn't tell u =D I think should be pork's back/waist. It's longish,soft and has got a LOT of patterns/marks on the meat.</font>

Hi Kym

Hope u dun mind my "chasing". Hehe... I love the pix u took too much that is why cant wait to lay my hands on them.

For my experience, I am thankful for ur patience u show for my bb since she suddenly become hungry despite just ate 2 hours ago. Even if she cry or fuss, I din see a sense of frustration in u. Guess onli a mother understand the agony of having cranky baby. Ur attitude is top form as compared to another $25 shot I got from a popular baby shot studio.

As for the quality of the pix, I must say it is excellent. I saw other bb pix on the picasa web also. Thumb up!

Ur house may not be the best condition for taking photo, I dun complain as ur house is cosy and comfortable for both me and my hubby.

As for ur aircon, u can call my hubby if u need help. He can check for u free.

Do let me know ur package price for family shot once u settle down for this part time business. Cause I am intending to do a family portrait as a celebration for my bb 1st birthday. Thanks. I may not be ur 1st customer since my bb is Oct bb (still quite some time from now), I will be a loyal customer cause I really love the personal touch u have on bb photo.

Jiayou!! Dun be disheartened by other negative feedback.

hi kym
jon, sam and i had a great time at your photo shoot! u did a great job in my opinion despite the fact that jon wasnt very smiley and the tips you offered in getting him to smile were very helpful
i'd say that we are the ones who are taking advantage of ur talent , paying only $25 for such good shots! and holding onto a full time job while being serious enough about your passion to do this is really admirable! two thumbs up gal!!

and um... what "make shift" studio? arent all these photo shoots taken with "fake" backdrops anyway?!

<font color="aa00aa">Kym - i think u are doing a fabulous job, dispite what some mommies may be saying! After all, for an almost free photo shoot with all their negatives back, this is totally worth it! If mommies expect a totally professional photographer and setting, then they should be prepared to pay the corresponding price. Like Kieran's package with Sean Lau is $188 after discount (usual price $238) and all we get are 5 hard copy photos ($25 for each additional photo top up, $250 additional for all soft copies). So like the others said - don't be disheartened and keep up the good work!!

Pei (peilovecats) - umm...why are u envious?

Rabbit (rebirth) - if we can freeze the milk, then just freeze in the milk bag, insulate with some towels/zip lock bags and check in with the main luggage? (for short trips where the milk wont have time to defrost). Quite certain we cannot hand carry milk into the plane

JP (jnp) - ohh, u are going to Bali with Jaden in end May? I am making an overseas trip with hubby to Bali too (end June, when K is 10 months). But, we are not bringing him along. Quite difficult to go out and sight see with baby in tow. Like I want to whitewater raft, etc..and no way I would dare to leave Kieran with the hotel's inhouse baby sitting services. Btw, where are u staying? I booked mine at Furama Ubud - they have seperate villas with private pools and outdoor showers and is really ulu - amidst some paddy fields!</font>

hi kym

Thank you very much for ur time!! The photos that u took for Samuel aare GREAT!!!

Hey dont be disheartened by feedback. remember we talk abt the popular studio also got complains until they dont take them at heart.

We are looking forward to do outdoor with u b4 he turns 1 @ aug!!

Kym
i think to charge only $25 for photos of that quality is a steal. i would hae loved to be there but then..eh..i have another lil monster who may be stomping over the bbs..the mere thought of it gives me the shudder

just take it as during economic downturn people pay peanuts and wanna get the entire zoo lah. what do they expect?in house entertainment, free flow champagne and canapes to top it off?you are doing great, dun bother with these detractors.

<font color="0077aa">Kym!! Cheer up!! I am sure many mummies find your photos nice &amp; your ever joyful disposition!

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum): lil monster stomping on babies??? What a description! Haha! And what you said is straight to the point!! I like!</font>