(2008/09) Sep 2008

I am still suffering from hair loss too.

However recently I bought a Shiseido fuente medicated vita voltage tonic hair spray, used for about 2 weeks and the situation has improved.

U gals can give it a try.

Just wanted to share.
2354420.gif

A big thank you to skinny_pig, kym kym, pei, goldfish and millie.

I had to insert the suppository an hour after a dose of fever mixture and the fever seems to have improved. She only managed to drink a total of 250ml fluid (a bit of milk and more of diluted heinz apple juice) till now.

Pei - how does false measles look like? My baby has small red rashes on her belly and her ankles. But the doctor said it was not false measles but due to viral fever. Hmmmmm...

Kym Kym - the pau shen method is a bit difficult for me as she is on breast milk. But do you "force feed" your baby via syringe for the milk?

Many thanks once again.

Baby Nap

If your baby is taken care by someone else, do you actually interfere on how many hours your baby should nap during the day time? For example ask the caretaker only allow certain hour for nap?

Another question: How many mummies here let their babies sleep in a sarong?

heee..having girls great!! to tempt some more mummies to have more!!!

lil CH saying hi form hongkong...

2355072.jpg

2355073.jpg

see have girls can wear pretty hats, pretty dresses, pretty things..can shop for them...nice nice ncie!!!!

2355074.jpg

Baby Girls
<font color="808080">The baby girls are so beautiful!
Both of them have big doe eyes!</font>

Aud
<font color="808080">My PD initial guess was either viral or false measles.

Confirm Roseola Infantum aka false measles if:
1. Runny high fever for 3 days
then...
2. Temperature went down immediately after the first rashes appears. Rashes usually starts from the trunk i.e: Tummy, it will then gradually spread to all over the body.
3. Rashes/red spots appears white when pressed.
They are not itchy at all.
4. Baby is super cranky.

Here are some pics of my boy when he got FM:</font>

Day 3 of fever
2355437.jpg

Day 4 of Roseola Infantum
2355438.jpg

My Cayden Boy Now
2355439.jpg

<font color="808080">These pasar malam tees are wonderful for the recent HOT HOT HOT weather! I was anti-pasar malam clothes at first =D</font>

tinkerbell

My boy sleep in sarong (Yao Yao) since he abt 3 mth old but only in the day time, night time he sleep on bed. Sarong prolong his napping time between 1-3hr.

I hv learn a trick which his when my boy reject drinking milk i put him in bottle hr can finish all.

Hi pei, thanks for the pics. The no. of red spots has just increased on my baby's arms and legs and they don't look like the patches in your pics. My baby's spots also started from her trunk and then spread to her arms and legs.

She still doesn't want to drink. I have managed to give her half a fragrant pear.

Can it be HFMD?

JP,
I think Ba Wang shampoo can be found in majority of the supermarkets..I bot mine from NTUC. I think it's abt $25 for a Shampoo+Conditional pack. I bot the hair strengthening formula.
Hope it helps u too!

Yeah I agree! The baby girls are so beautiful with big eyes lah!

<font color="0077aa">l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum): CH looks diff!! She look so cute in her winter wear! You went HK recently? How was the experience with 1 tod+1 baby?

Koras, you can rub the avocado 1st to lossed the skin &amp; meat then cut it into half &amp; mash it with a fork or blender.</font>

I am planning to development my photog portfolio.. and is looking for 7-8 baby models, any mummies interested to bring their babies for a photoshoot session at my place?

It will last around 1-2 hours. Just bring along 1-2 sets of clothing change. Preferably on a weekday if possible!

Since this is a portfolio session, i'll burn ALL the images of your babies (usually around 80 photos) taken for you if you like for a small fee of 25$ with 5 images retouched and I'll also post your photos on my website once its completed!

Let me know if anyone is interested! Email me at [email protected]

Hi, Aud

Just read through you posting.. is your little one feeling better today? You must be very worn off too.. take care ya...

I very scare of baby fever.. Whenever I went baby vaccination, I will make sure my boy drink some barely water before and lot of water plus barely water after the vaccination so as to prevent any fever and so far so good.. he only kanna once very mild one.. but now with him in IFC, I have to get myself prepared if he kanna any fever or flu.. this morning, I just saw two infants having running nose and coughing away.. finger crossed!!!

Re: the red spots thingy, is your baby in ontact with any other babies or adults? The HFMD is actually on a rise again recently.. you can check if there is any ucler like red spots on the hand and the sole of your little one. check the tongue too..

kymkym emailed u last night too ;)

Koras/storeberry, I tried preparing avocado last weekend for the 1st time. Was a messy event. Realised that the insides are not as soft as I thought, so can't mash it at all. Not sure if I've bought the correct kind of avocado (bot the green one). In the end failed. hehe

2nd day I bot a hand blender to try. Don't know how to use because the chopped up pieces are still look very coarse. After that I realised have to add milk to cover the blender so it will be able to blend all parts into a smoothie. So in the end I have a avocado smoothie instead ;P and feed that to my baby. Anyone prepares it in a different way or end product has a creamy thick paste instead? And do we serve that to baby at chilled/room/warm temperature?

chillicrab
you have to wait till the avocado darkens slightly before cutting it up, then it'll be soft enough to puree.btw i used munchskin manual blending set...

chillicrab

the avocado needs to be ripe before it can be mashed easily. if it feels hard to the touch, leave it on the kitchen counter to ripen. it is ripe when it yields to gentle pressure when you hold it in your hand and squeeze a little with your fingertips. the skin should also loosen from the meat easily.

lil CH
afternoons are fine.

Hello Kym, I've also emailed you!

My poor boy is had a fever of 39.2 last Thursday, and is coughing badly (with phelgm) and has a running nose. He's been taking 6 different kinds of medication (1 cough, 1 phelgm, 1 running nose, 1 block nose, 1 antibotics, 1 fever-when necessary). It's been a week already, and he's still coughing and having running nose! Yesterday, he had a mild fever again! Argg!!!

Anyone tried chinese medication before, or brought babies to chinese physician at all?

Mummies, NTUC having Pampers comfort diapers at $10.45 for M size and $10.95 for L size!!!

Thks lil Ch &amp; dseptkon! Oops have been feeding my baby unripe avocado..heh. Like to know how much do your babies eat per time? Half pc of avocado and store the other half in lower fridge for next day's consumption?

Aud/Rachel, hope your darlings recover soon!

Hi,Rachel

Oh no, your boy also ill? goodness ! very cranky? Do you still send him to the centre or keep him at home? Try to bring him out to the park to get some fresh air, it might not cure the ailments but at least can make your boy feel better..

Hmmm.. personally, I feel western doctors are more trustable for babies. or if you want to try chinese medicine, do go for those reputable ones..

Take care ..

Hello LC,

Yes, 2nd time that he's so sick.. so poor thing. Last Thursday when he first develop fever, I stayed at home with him, and just nice, it's PH after that. So rested at home for 4 straight days. Back at IFC on Mon, and yesterday (Wed), stayed at home again. The last time, it took him 3 full weeks to recover fully! Gosh!

Thinking of trying Yu Guo, which is quite famous...

Hi, Chilicrab

For avocadoes, my boy can finish only half.. so mummy eat the other half :p think put in fridge, it will turn brown but still can eat ba..

Just to share with u that I am selling cheaper huggies dry and huggies comfort, packing is the same as those NTUC selling.

I'm selling at $16 per pack but u have to self collect at my hse at Tampines.

Huggies Dry (Blue)
M 80 pcs (5-10kg)
L 68 pcs (8-13kg)
XL 56 pcs (11-16kg)
XXL 44 pcs (14kg above)

Huggies Comfort (Red)
M 66pcs (5-11kg)
L 60pcs (8-14kg)
XL 54pcs (12kg above)

PM me if u r interested. Thanks.

Oh,Rachel..three weeks? Poor boy! think better not to bring him to the centre if possible, let him rest at home with your love and care..
I also scare my boy will soon fall sick given that he is at IFC but guess he will be able to build up his own body resistance after falling sick, right?

Chillicrab,
I gave Alston to eat half an avocado only as it will be quite filling if they eat 1 whole avocado. I keep the other half in the fridge and offer to bb the next day, but my aunt (caregiver) ate the other half if she gives him avocado puree on a weekday when she takes care of him.

As for preparation, as wat dseptkon mentioned, avocado is ripe when the outer skin is a bit soft and turns more blackish in colour. If the flesh is still quite hard, juz blend it wif some FM/BM using a blender. Otherwise, u can juz mash it with a fork/spoon if the flesh is soft.

Hugs to all mummies whose babies are sick.

mine is cranky these few nights, will scream and cry till he falls asleep. But he seems fine in the day. I hope its not because he is teething.

His poop has regulated so i really attributed it to the cereal and FM.

NTUC is having mega baby offers, so check it out.

MamyPoko fans - Giant is running a 4 days special, limited to 4 packs (Jumbo sized) per customer @ $19.90 per pack. So if hubby and you go, can buy 8 packets.

Breadmum
<font color="808080">It's $19.99 for Mamypoko.
I just bought 5 packs =D

19 April last day!</font>

Fever
<font color="808080">My boy had tried "Ling yang water" and fever did subside after drinking...</font>

Goldfish - me too, i want to know how stable is the playyard as it surrounds the playmat.

pei - thanks. wow you really onz. u bought from which Giant?

Breadmum
<font color="808080">Me very KS. Bought it once my SIL informed me =D I bought it from Sembawang SC. I live @ woodlands.

Not sure if wanna buy some more...cos Cayden using NTUC's in the day, MP at night/outings. NTUC's super cheap @ $10++ for 54pcs L. Holds urine quite well up to 4 hours. Very valuable.</font>

Cayden On Diaper Spree=D
2358395.jpg

pei - have not tried NTUC brand. I've tried drypers and even soem cheaper brand, but i end up changing him very often, so i stuck with mamy poko.

nice picture - wow he can sit up already.

Pei: Cayden's hair looks very brown here! Have not tried NTUC before. Maybe should try that next. Till 19th April promo is for Giant or NTUC? Looks like i need to stock up again. i still haven't even use my 10 pkts of L&amp;XL size Fitti 360 diaper since the last promo. My boy can't fit into them yet. My hb is complaining that it takes up too much space &amp; yet i kept buying diapers.=p (Just bought 5pkts of huggies dry)o_O

Breadmum, my boy also falling sick. He was coughing very badly yesterday. Tonight gotto bring him to PD. I don't want to end up taking the risk of him having brocontics (not sure if i spelt correctly). He had them the last time round coz bad mummy thought his coughing was nothing serious and ended up he got to be on nebulizer &amp; use a tube to suck out the phlegm from his nose. I don't want to risk repeating this episode again.

Chilicrab: My boy eats 1 whole avocado by himself. I add into his cereals &amp; he happily finished everything up. Still got one more left in the fridge, gonna give him during the weekend.

Kymkym: Sorry, need your enlightenment over here. What are the foods to avoid when my boy is having cough? I stopped giving him banana, youghurt &amp; his baby biscuits for the time being. And is there anything that he could eat to make him feel better? Thanks!

Playyard - yah yah.. I scare if the bb got a lot of handpower, and just tug, the playyard will be out of position liao
And also hoh.. I tink my parklon playmat if put anything heavy over it, will kena a dent lo
Even I knee down to play wif bb oso will haf a sinking effect!!

Avocado – yah yah.. just make sure it is ripe before u blend it.. I blend it wif u-like and it is as smooth as cotton liddat!

Hi LC, thanks for your many concerns. YesI am very zonked now and feel a bit achy (hope I am not catching a cold).

The red spots have a bit of protrusion in the middle but do not look like blisters. It is kind of difficult for me to open her mouth these few days as she would scream. But do HFMD spots appear on the body? I have brought her to the pool last Friday and to Kindermusik last Saturday... hmmmmm...

Hi,Aud

HFMD does appear on the body but not as much as it will appear on the hands, sole and tongue.. Pool??? hmmmmmmmm... maybe monitor for another few days, if still nt good, better bring to see doc...

Rachel... hug hug.. my boy also just recover from cough and runny nose. according to PD, its becos of his sensitive nose .. so the cough and runny nose will come and go and so on. baby get cranky easily coz of runny nose.. keep wanting people to carry...

Can't go to sweeping tomb liao....

Ade,

Would be better to avoid pears, tomatos, potatos, citrus fruits, banana yes, biscuits yes.

Southern and Northern Almonds are perfect for coughs, buy them from the chinese medical hall, take a teaspoon of each, boil with 3 bowls water, use as water for your boy's milk.

Alternatively, blend both almonds (teaspoon each) with 2 bowls of water, use a muslin cloth to drain off the almond bits leaving the clear almond milk, add in bird's nest and use a ceramic pot to double boil for 2 hrs, great as dessert.

Dear Mummies who have confirmed time slots with me for the portfolio shoot, please kindly take note of my telephone number - 81682107!

Out of courtesy, I trust that you'll turn up after confirming your slot! Please please let me know if you can't make it any longer EARLY!... there are some nice mummies on wait list, so please don't stood me up~ will need to set-up and prepare...

Thanks Kym, will get them from the medical hall tomorrow. Told my MIL about it, she said better not try, just give med will do. I'm going to ignore her &amp; give it to baby during weekend when she is not around.=p Last night my boy kept waking up, coz was coughing so badly &amp; with so much phlegm, he could hardly breathe. He is also running a fever &amp; kept tossing &amp; turning coz he was so uncomfortable. I felt so helpless, not knowing what to do to ease his suffering.=(

Thanks all mummies for your advices on avocodo preparations! I'm going to try again this week hehe

Seems like a lot of babies falling sick. Not sure if it's because of the weather or there's virus going around. Think we all have to keep vigilant for now and refrain from going to shopping centres this weekend liaoz...

Hi,Ade

Hugzzz!!! You are losing your sleep too.. isyour boy sleeping in aircon room? guess try to cuddle him more and bring him to the park, with open air, might help to comfort him a bit.. some babies just dun like to be confined within the 4 walls..