(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Dseptkon,
Yah.. there is no bubble bubble one leh, so I am not used to it lo.

So the proper way of using it is drop a few drops into bath water and den just lather the bb liddat huh?? How abt the hair? U uses the same cleanser for hair?

Hi, Kym

Wa, they deactivated your account? Goodness! Little S is really fortuante to have such a good mummy to have tkae the effort to try so much food.. I asked before on the honey thingy but din get a reply.. AM I glad to see you (baby food guru).. can I check if it is ok to give Nestle honey wheat cereal which contains honey as one of the ingredient? What happened is that my boy is given this stage 2 (for 6 months and above) honey wheat cereal from Nestle in the IFC but I am not very comfortable. what do you think?

Hi, lilboymum

what is quinoa?

its a kinda grain...eh...you can google to see. im only introducing it to my toddler boy recently. think they should be able to take that after 8mths ...

Dseptkon,
My caregiver say it's ok to give fish cooked wif porridge when bb has teeth.

Hi lilboymum ,
Ya i also want to know wat is quinoa ??

Goldfish,
I'm using Cetaphil cleanser for Alston as well, but i'm using a separate shampoo for hair. U juz put 2-3 drops of cleansesr inside the bath will do, no need further rinse after tat .

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum),
Wow CH finished a box of HT cereal within 1 wk ???!!! Alston takes abt 3 weeks and sometimes he rejects the cereal which will go down to rubbish bin cos he refused to drink. I now mix the cereal inside his milk cos he refuses to eat with the spoon.

millie
yup, actually it's one thing i dun understand about HT cereal (cf to like bellamy's)..the flakes are really loose. so by the time you scoop 6 to 7 scoops, add milk or water, reduced to like half the content liaoz...bellamy's she takes forver coz i think she doesnt like the taste too.

but she's still quite tiny, reaching 7mths soon and not even close to 7kg yet

Thanks Kym Kym. I shall go visit your blog after work :p

Hi lilboymum, yes I don't understand the super flakey nature of HT Brown Rice cereal (the only cereals I have tried so far on my baby) and I put in 50ml milk + 10 flat spoons (the liquid mixture drug spoon - 10ml) twice a day. I have started my baby on brown rice porridge (cooked from scratch) for about two weeks as I have found the HT cereals too liquid even I put in less milk and more cereals.

Any mummies tried feeding avocado to their babies? Does avocado cause phlegm? My mother insisted that it was the avocado that I fed my baby with that caused the phlegm in her.

Hey Lilboymum,
I wanted to send my boy to a swimming class too but have not found a school that do Sat morning class near my place. So, how was your class? I ever attended a trial lesson before and I tot it's really good cos they incorporate nursery rhyme with movement in the water....so cute.

Hi Kym Kym
U are so adventurous with your baby on food. So far, I only try rice cereal/porridge with pear, apple, pumpkin and carrot only. Thankfully, he's enjoying his meal and eat up everything during meal time. I never thought of doing vege/chicken/fish stock. Interesting....can share how you do it?

JP
yes sat mornign classes are difficult to come by and wait list is long.

btw where do you live?if you can find a few like minded mummies who resides near you youc an form a class and get an instructor down to your private pool to teach.

yes i like the swimming class and even though many of those things we can easily do at home, i find my son more daring and adeventurous when he sees others doing it...he started when he was 8mths and is 2.5 years old now. cant swim much yet coz he stopped for sometime after i delivered my number 2...but he's getting there

Hi Kym Kym,

Couldn't resist not visiting your blog during teabreak. Like to find out what types of peas you buy and do you steam them and for how long? Thanks.

Dear LC,

You shld read the label of the cereal pack carefully to see if the cereal has undergone pasturisation. As a precaution, perhaps refrain from that type of flavour for now until your little one is well beyond 1 yr old. Singapore has yet seen any serious case of poisoning from botulism in infants as yet, but i am sure there are cases.

In the USA, some types of Honey is deemed to be potentially poisonous to infants under one year of age because of the risk of infant botulism. Many food labels fail to document it, so its up to the parent's own discretion to notice it. Many types of processed food actually contain honey- pandan cake, bread rolls, chocolates, maple syrup, even floral dust in the air we breathe.

Infant botulism is a type of food poisoning that can result in death.

Botulinum spores are widely found throughout nature, although honey tends to harbor them more than other foods. In fact, botulinum can appear in other sweeteners, such as maple syrup, as well as corn syrup. Botulinum can even be found in dust, indicating that it is an extremely widespread toxin. As a result, most humans adapt to it and are able to fend off small amounts of the toxin, such as those present in honey.

Infants, however, do not have a completely matured digestive system and are susceptible to botulism food poisoning. While honey does not always contain the spores, it is more likely to contain botulinum than some other food products, and therefore parents are recommended to avoid it unless it is pasteurized.

The signs of botulism begins with constipation. Babies suffering from botulism will also exhibit nervous system damage, which manifests as muscle weakness. As a result of the muscle weakness, infants with botulism will cry more weakly, have difficulty feeding, and have a limp and floppy appearance. Infant botulism also results in lethargy.

The 1st six mths are more susceptible, but in recent times due to our increased vigilance, awareness as well as cleanliness and cleaner food processing and handling techniques, infection is very rare in Singapore.

Dear Aud,

We buy japanese snow peas (edamame), those with 3 peas in a pod type, usually we boil or steam the pods whole in boiling water, when the pods are soft, we then extract the peas and puree it together with other ingredients

Dear JP,

The recipe and method can be found on the bloggie :p It is essentially the soups we adults cook for ourselves, cut and clean the vegetables, add in filtered water, bring to a boil, then simmer, after that discard the vegetables and use the soup to cook porridge or feed to baby plain~

Dear CHCY,

Our private swim grp is finally formed, got 5 mummies already! I remember you stay in the west, otherwise we could swim together with CH :p..

kym
yes porridge is supposed to be nutritious and everything but think both my kids have my fussy tastebuds and cant stomach porridge. we already cook it using chicken/pork stock for 2-3 hours. then add miced pork, chicken, carrot and sometimes sweet potato/pumpkin. its really disheartening when he eats 3-4 teaspoons max and clamps his mouth shut

lil CH
think J has "ang mo" tastebuds since he prefers things like pasta, cottage cheese and he seems to scarf down the teething biscuits and gerber stars with no prob. he seems to enjoy fruit a lot and now eats almost every fruit we do except the citrus stuff.

think its hard to get organically reared meat in singapore
so far i havent seen. i usually shop at an organic shop near my place.think someone posted a url here for organic delivery sometime last week.

goldfish
i use a separate shampoo like millie

thanks millie for sharing about the porridge and teeth. Jon has none so far- muahahahaaa:D

cereal
ya think the bellamy's doesnt taste as good as HT to the babies. i had to throw half my pack away!

Hi Kym Kym,
See that you have formed a private swim class? Is it still open for one more baby? Where and when is it cos I stay near the West.....

Hi JP,

The class will be held rightt on the eastern end of Singapore around pasir ris :p... It is still open for one more.. on a sunday

Dear Kym

thanks so much. I have decided what to do next.
And, I believe your posting will serve a good reference for other mummies.

For the swimming class, enjoy.. I can't join in cos it is a sunday and its a family day for the three of us. If go swimming, daddy will be left out. hahaha...

On porridge, which brand of rice will you recommend? And on fish, can I know what is the other way of handling, other than bake (cos I have no oven)? I plan to do fish porridge for my boy this sun but have yet to figure out how to cook the fish and what fish to buy. hopefully I can get the smallest piece so there is no wastage..

Dear LC,

Australian Calrose rice for porridge give a nice and sticky texture, as for Fish- choose nowegian cod or japanese cod (gindara), not fishy and easy to eat. Take a look at the bloggie for preparation :p

kym
aiyah, i live in the east lah..haha, but then cant also coz i need both kids to swim...so logistic wise not p[ossible...

dseptkon
my fb cy was like your jon, ch so far not showing much preference when it comes to food yet...thank God...i hope she will eat healthy kekeke...

did you try the organic rice sold at ntuc??quite cheap. hey since you are sahm and have an older one, interested to bring the kiddoes to fidgets?more for the older ones but the younger ones have a playpad there they can crawl around...

SAHMs with older tots
anyone interested in fidgets maybe next week??

there is a crawling pad for the bbs, so they can be inside and the older ones can go kill themselves on the scary slides...we can sit and la kopi...kekeke...

Avocado :
Alston doesn't have issue wif avocado, but he develops cough and phelgm after consuming banana (ang bak chio). Having said is banana, i cannot be downright assume tat's the culprit or he juz happen to be going to fall sick at the same time. Nonetheless, i will avoid banana in the meantime.

CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum),
How many times a day does CH eat HT cereal ? Alston takes twice a day and abt 6 scoops (enfalac milk powder scoop) each time now.

Fish :
I rem 1 mummy enquring abt the type of fish suitable for bb. IMO, threadfin (ngor fish), salmon and cod are very good for bb.

Strange.. I thot I have posted a msg tis morning bt it was not there
-__-

I have 3 questions in mind loh

1) Are u gals still dropping hair like nobody biz? It is oledi the 7th month and i am still suffering from hair loss…

2) How often do u all ‘clean’ bb mouth? I realized last nite tat my bb got BAD BREATHE! GOSH!!! Do u all start using first toothpaste though bo teeth huh?

3) Does ur bb in the middle of the nite start crying hysterically and body go all stiff? Mine was liddat recently! He cried and stretch himself to the max and very stiff liddat and when I carry him, he is majiam like a hard stick liddat!!?? Is tat a normal behavior??!!

Goldfish,

1. Yes, I am still dropping hair.. Don't know is it due to postpartum hair loss or due to frequent hard pulling of hair by my baby K.. He likes to pull my hair even though I have already cut short to shoulder length... Even bites my hair at times!!!

2. I don clean my bb's mouth.. Too lazy..

3. My bb K will cry in the middle of the night since he was 5 mths old, due to teething.

Hi Goldfish,

1) My hair dropping have stopped since about 1 or 2 months ago. Dunno whether it was the shampoo or the hair treatment that helped.

2) I still clean his mouth about twice a day.

3) A few weeks ago, there was a few times he woke up crying hysterically, so what i do was to put him beside me during bedtime. After a few nights when he was better, i put him back to the baby cot.

Goldfish,
(1) My hair drop is quite minimal now.
(2) I dun clean his mouth ...lazy mummy

(3) Occasionally, Alston cries hysterically in the middle of nite. It can take quite a while to calm him down. I'm not sure if he's having bad dream, my aunt told me to give him warm water . I juz keep carrying and patting him and at the same time, coaxing him to sleep.

Kym,
I tried the Australian Calrose rice. It tastes very nice as porridge. Hubby's aunt cooked me porridge when i was down wif fever, cough and flu recently. Actually, i oso bot another type of rice - xin mi (American brand i tink, abt $12.50 for 2.5kg). Also hoping to try this too. Anyway, i like to check wif u ...is it necessary to use slow cooker to cook the calrose rice ?? My aunt doesn't do that, however i understand fm my colleagues that they use slow cooker to cook the rice.

goldfish
1. minimal hair dropping liao
2. when i see the mouth wipes before bathing..
3. not for Jon but my fb did that. there's a name for it...will look it up n see if can provide more info.

lil ch
fidgets? sure. my older one has school though so must check the timing. otherwise i can still go with the small one

Mummies - for babies not drinking water. Try this. There is a bottle that has a spoon (instead of a teat) that can be attached to the bottle in the market. Pigeon / Farlin baby / Tollyjoy has it. It's very useful, just spoonfeed your baby with water, much more convenient / better than having to feed water manually with spoon.

Peas - I just use frozen peas. Boil and puree.

Tampines 1 cold storage - a lot of organic food!!! Can even find organic parsnip!

Baby crawling.

Can I have a show of hands how many mummies out there let their bb crawl on the floor, instead of mattress or bumper mat?

I am thinking of getting a bumper mat now that my bb Kayne is crawling actively now. At least if he slips and knock on the floor, it won't be that painful...

sorry to intrude, I have 2 cans of Nan HA 2 for sale,

1) 900gm: expiry 7 Dec 2009
2) 400gm: expiry 20 May 2010

Package for both at $30. Self collection in Pasir Ris or Sat in Serangoon North area. PM me if interested

Hi Kym,
Sunday is not good for me, I was looking for Sat class. Thanks anyway. BTW, I visited your blog, you got some really lovely pics of your daughter esp the CNY and Christmas....so cute...u took them in studio?
Hi Goldfish,
1) I'm still dropping hair too, it's a scary affair everytime I shower....
, I'm contemplating whether I shld actually go to a Hair specialist!!
2) Like dseptkon, I clean my baby's mouth before every shower time. I use this mouth cleaser solution and water and rub his jaw and tongue.

Goldfish - me.me. am dropping hair in bunches so much so that i snipped my hair real short and its still falling. I've switched shampoo and started on a herbal hair treatment. bee Choo herbal - apparently cheap and good. Tried once so far so cannot see results yet.

I don't know if my hair's dropping. Even before I am pregnant, my hair also dropped alot! haha...

For cleaning baby mouth, I cleaned him twice a day. Once in the morning when he goes for a bath, and before sleeping time when he goes for a 'mop mop'.

How to clean?
Basically, I used a clean, wet cloth, use my fingers to 'dig' into his mouth and swirl all around! I have been doing this since he is a newborn.

He has gotten used to it le.. What I say "洗嘴巴", he now open his mouth to let my finger goes in!

dseptkon
im thinking of afternoon. what time is your older's school?maybe one of the days can jio alabone too

skinnypig
i let my bb crawl all over the floor, sold my play yard liaoz :p...but you need someone to watch over them lah....

Hi goldfish/breadmum/jp, I'm a looong-time silent reader..hehe. Saw you asking about hair loss so just step in a while to contribute :p

I've been dropping hair like crazy abt 1.5 mths back, so much so that I can find so many strands of my hair everywhere, and if I just wash the front/top part of my hair, I can just pull a bunch of hair out without using any strength. I dreaded washing hair too because the whole drainage cover will be covered with all my hair..covered almost 90-100% of that! imagine how bad was that. About 2 weeks back, I bought the obiang uncle-like shampoo Ba Wang (the Jackie Chan one) just to try out, and was so surprise that it seemed to work after just 2 washes. Not sure if it's just coincident that my hormone imbalance suddenly recover or the shampoo did work, but my hair drop is back to normal now. Even my hubby notice there's no more strands of hair on our bed..hehe and now when I wash my hair, my dropped hair only cover like 10-20% of the drainage cover...

So maybe u can just give it a try if you are desperate like me =P. Actually the after effects of using the shampoo feels like "rebonded" hair, quite nice! the only thing is it has a very herbal smell lor...

Skinny Pig,
I have a bumper mat at home, but Alston always crawls out of the mat. He's very active, so even if i let him crawl on the mattress, he will still climb out of it to the floor. Need to jagar him when i put him down.

Good morning mummies....
Wah, Chillicrab, thanks for the advise. Really tempted to try. Where can I buy that and how much it cost?

Lemon,
I have the same practice as you. Bath in the morning and a night wipe before he sleeps. But I clean his mouth only after bath. Maybe, I will start doing that in the night as well. This is practice I learnt from my confinement nanny.

I see that quite a number of Sept babies already crawling.....
my boy still not crawling and I think he's far from it. I put him on his tummy but he doesnt seem to move much and he gets frustrated when he sees a toy in front and cant get to it. What he does very well though is rolling from left to right and sometimes he might get some vertical distant to get to the toy.

Hi mummies, just need some quick advice on what to feed a baby when the baby is running a high temperature. My baby is currently running a high fever of 39deg C and the doctor says she is having a viral fever. He only gave suppositories. She is refusing milk and porridge but managed to drink some rice water. What else I can do to comfort her besides carrying her?

Aud,

You may want to try feeding her some diluted pear juice? You can get from NTUC for heinz pear juice.
Or feed her some fruit puree like pumpkin, apple or pear.. Better than going hungry

Hi Aud,

Do ice sponging, sponge the entire body with a napkin until temperature starts dropping. Make sure the room is well ventilated, and wipe her head dry if she starts sweating.

Change her clothes often, the accumulated sweat should not be recirculating around on her skin.

Buy some Pao Shen (泡參) and northern and southern almonds (南北杏), take 4-5 pieces of pau shen and a teaspoon of almonds each and boil in water for 30 minutes, use the water to make milk for her.

Make some fruit puree or fruit juice (steam the fruit- apple or pear), feed her as often, increase vitamin c enzymes in ur baby's body

Make sure you feed her a fever syrup - either calpol suspension or baby panadol, will help to down the fever

Keke.. what a big relief that most of the mama still kena ‘hair-dropping’ after 6 months+. I thot I was abnormal but found comfort now
Actually I oso realize that Jacky shampoo does not give me so much hair loss as compared to my Shishedo shampoo loh!

JP, what kind of mouth cleanser u are using for ur bb?

Kymkym, u sound so pro leh!!! I like manz! I cut and paste on ur comments on Aud.
Aud, when my bb refuse milk when he has a flu, my PD asked me to force-feed him via syringe feeding. Sounds desperado wor back then.

Btw, anyone using Similac? I dunno whether issit SImilac tat is causing my bb kena rashes loh. Previously we are using Enfalac loh
-_-

Aud
<font color="808080">May ur bb get well soon! *Pat pat* on ur back, cos mummy is very tired at this point of time. Give ur bb some "Ling Yang" water. Sponge often and try to let ur bb perspire more. Force feed water. Don't worry too much if he/she refuses to drink milk...

My boy just recovered from False Measles not long. 3 days of high fever 39, 6 days of discomfort, a total of 7 days of sleepless nights and crankiness! I'm so glad that it's all over</font>

Kym,
U there ? Wanna check wif u if it's necessary to use slow cooker to cook the australian calrose rice or juz use cooking pot will do ?
My aunt says no need to use slow cooker. She uses the Vision brand pot to cook it. However, i heard fm my colleagues that they use slow cooker wor.

Hi Millie,

Essentially, there is no need to cook with slow cooker unless you don't have extra time to cook the porridge fresh. I feel that with the foods that we are giving our babies now: carrots, spinach, fish, chicken or broccoli etc, by cooking them for long periods of time, destroy many good nutrients which defeats the purpose.

Yes, although the porridge becomes flavourful at the end which many of us are so accustomed to thinking that our babies will love, its is not the case .... i don't use slow cookers to cook porridges, i merely cook the rice together with its ingredients till it is soft enough to blend.

The concept of slow cooking is so that foods can be kept warm without becoming watery or to allow ingredients that take long hours to cook or is hard to cook before it will release its full flavour - such as mushroom and scallops, brown rice bird's nest etc.

As often as you can, use ceramic pots, instead of metallic pots, i feel that cooking over fire for any amount of time tend to allow trace metal substances to back flow into our babies' food