(2008/09) Sep 2008

Haha..i guess parnips juz don taste good

BTW, i read in the previous post that dun give bb English barley. China barley is better. Is Ayam brand English barley or Chinese barley ? I understand that English barley is a bit too liang for bb. Alston is coming to 7mths. When can give barley water to him ?

Millie - i give both types. when he was younger like 5 mths, i gave him the chinese barley like pop corn looking. Then recently, i upgraded it to chinese barley mixed with englsih barley. Then yesterday, it was only english barley.
Ayam brand is english barley.

Millie - my boy is 6.5 mths. He will turn 7 mths on the 16th. Its quite safe. I don't add sugar though and i give about 50 ml.

<font color="0077aa">Mummies, I think parsnip taate quite good leh.. But smallberry don't like it wor... Even I mix with carrots today, took quite sometime then finish...</font>

parsnips
oh dear, think i skipped some posts, can someone enlighten me on why so many mummies are feeding parsnips?? it sounds a rather unusual baby food to me.

biting boobs
the mystery has been solved! Jon was teething but also prolly tugging at me cos my milk supply was decreased cos my menses has finally come back! after so long, i'd forgotten what a bother it was...

maid abuse kid video
i think i read in the paper that the video was similar to one that was from KL in 2007? so is it a singapore family or a KL one? but whatever the case, the maid should be jailed and caned.

activities with bb
now i think Jon is sleeping a lot less so it is more tiring looking after him. a lot of time is spent trying to feed him and then clean him up it seems to me
or maybe he doesnt eat as fast or as well as some of the other bbs on this thread. we also take walks in the evening, read books, play with toys. My favourite little trick is something i learnt on Babycenter for my FB. I get a box- anykind will do, i usually use something like the tin kind that CNY pineapple cakes or almond cookies come in- and fill it with things of different textures like pieces of cloth, plastic spoons, little cubes, bits of ribbon, little containers. Anything at all that is new to baby and safe. then i let him explore his "treasure chest" of stuff and change the items whenever i can find new and appropriate stuff. he can play by himself like this for about 20 min at a time. and as he is also into banging containers and things, we do that too

Hi dseptkon,
not sure on the footage...though i am interested to know what happened after the video is made public

but my heart sure aches when i watched it, hope the little girl is fine.

<font size="+1">btw, any mummies staying punggol/ sengkang interested in placing orders for blank/ customised flashcards? i am trying to order above $100 to enjoy free delivery. please pm me if you are intereted</font>

http://www.mylittleones.com.sg/sub_products2.asp?Category_ID=1

so quite today...

Bigtoes, Have you found anybody who can share 1.5 set playyard with you ?
Iam keen... called to Cheng Choon today, still checking the stocks and other people who can share the other 1.5 set with me.

any mummies know where can find good and cheap exersaucer ?? need one to put my boy inside so I can relax a bit.

Hi,Ade and Millie

Yup, our little ones seems to have a lot of energy to exhaust and we will be running around after them soon.. hahaha.. take it as exercise lor..

Hi, desptkon
Oh.. your treasure box seems interesting.. my boy is sick of playing with his giraffe, elephant and rings.. perhaps, will try this reasure box thingy this coming weekend..

Reading books : Mummies who are reading books to your little ones, do you have problem getting their attention? My boy will move on my lap and I am not sure if he is listening or not..

Parsnips : Dun think the neighbourhood ntuc carry this, maybe those NTUC Xtra will have. I bot mine at the supermart in Raffles City. My boy is responsing well to it. Best combined with sweet potatos, I feel.

Sleep : For those who have their babies in IFC, can I check how long do your little ones nap in the centre?

***** Waving to Goldfish ****** : Your baby is in IFC, right? How long does your baby sleep there per nap? Can advise?

LC,

NTUC xtra at Jurong point doesn't carry parsnips too.. I went there a couple of times to find parsnips, couldn't find them.

So far I have seen parsnips at Jason supermarket at Raffles city shopping centre and the japanese Mediya at Liang court

LC,
U got good memory leh! Yah, my bb at IFC. He sleep ard 3 to 4 times.. bt short nap leh.. abt 30 mins to 1hr+ liddat..

Btw, any one of ur bb always haf some rashes ard neck area huh? Mine always on and off one leh... beri fed-up. I try to keep tat area dry liao leh..
:S.

Goldfish, yah, my boy was full of rashes sometimes back, I used wet clotch to clean his neck,chin and face everylittle while and put some powder on.

LC, my boy naps more in IFC than at home! Sometimes, he naps 3 times (30mins - 1hour), sometimes, twice, and sometimes, he can nap for long stretch from 12:30pm-3:30pm. The IFC that i sent to is air-conditioned, so perhaps he sleeps better than at home! At home, he always nap for 15-30mins which is very frustrating sometimes!

Parsnips - I got it from Carrefour at Plaza Sing.

hi goldfish, my bb is currently having the rashes on her neck... initially tried powder it worked... but it seems to come back... tried sebamed and some other prescription creams from the doctor... they worked initially... going to get physiogel from guardian as recommended by one of my colleagues... let u you know the outcome...

hi goldfish

my bb also gets them.. i use calamine lotion. cheap &amp; good
i tried using the baby california calendula cream, but i feel it's less effective &amp; alot more expensive!

some advice needed

does any mummies here have similar conditions as me as below:
after giving birth to my girl (after confinement) I started to have red and itchy rashes on my body (whole body). it looks like "feng mok" and these rashes will come once everyday. after seeing my gynae, she given me cetirizine pills to ease the itch but the rashes won't go away. my gynae has mention that it's due to the hormone changes during birth. does any mummies here experience the same as me? It's already 7 months since i've given birth and i'm still having the rashes
maybe i should consult a skin specialist. any recommendation?

any advice is greatly appreciated. thanks!

hi happyting

what is "feng mok"? and how do the rashes "come once everyday?" do you mean that the rest of the time your skin is clear? could it be an allergy to something you are using if it only comes once a day? if due to hormone changes, the rashes are usually present all the time.

<font color="aa00aa">june (cutieyunyun) - I am already sharing the play yard with someone, but can you PM me with your email addy? There is another mommy who contacted me via email on sharing the play yard. I can connect the 2 of u

On the exercsaucer - if you are keen to rent, the rental company that I am using for some of Kieran's stuff (like his Jumperoo) has some exersaucer - rental is about $40-45 per month. Does add up if your rent for a couple of months (would almost be the same price as the item), but you don't end up with alot of stuff in the storeroom when baby grows out of it, and don't waste money on toys they don't like. Company name is "Rent that toy"

skinny pig (skinny_pig)- the play yard is $140 for 1 set (4 panels), but its kinda small, so most of us are getting 1.5 sets.

<font color="ff0000">Si Shen Brown Rice Powder - has anyone tried this for their babies? This is the one with ginseng &amp; ikan bilis. I have a sample box, but am not sure if i should be feeding Kieran ikan bilis powder (too salty, no?)</font></font>

hi dseptkon

The rashes is like big mosquito bites. many bites lump together like that. it only comes sometimes in the afternoon or at night (recently it's at night). in the morning my skin is clear one. i did not apply any body cream or lotions to my skin at all. i tried not eating any food at all for one day (to test if i am allergy to some food i eat) but the rashes still come.
haiz.... and this happens after my confinement. Gynae only says it should be due to hormones.

Hi, Gold Fish and Rachel

Hahaha.. my memory speed is still at 386 speed as I had described to one of the mummies here.. The teachers at the centre told me that my boy naps only 30minutes of so for abt 3times in the centre (10amplus, 12pm plus and 4pm plus). I find it short cos my boy usually sleeps for 1hour or so, especially for the noon timing.. and the thing is they said my boy not use to the cot (cos also he is sleeping on the mattress on the floor at home most of the time) so they will put him on the mat outside the cot room, and placing him on his tummy instead of his usual side position.. I go "hmmmmm...." and wonder are they doing the right thing to make my boy nap longer.. any comment?

Bigtoes

My boy is curently taking the Si Shan Brown Rice Powder w/ ikan. My mum told me not to give the one w/ ginseng cos it's very heaty.

Happyting

I had rashes during my last few mth of prenancy, got to take medicine to stop the itchness if not cannot sleep. I went to National skin ctr.
U might want to try but better get a refer letter from poly first cos much much cheaper.

Happyting, I also had that.. but as long as I dont touch it, I dont scratch it, it will be fine after about 2 days or so. Sometimes, it comes back again, and I leave it alone, and it's gone in another 2 days.

LC, I feel that cos it's a different environment (by the way, when did you send your child to IFC? Has he gotten used to it?), their sleep habits may kind of change... and teachers at IFC will always trial and error different methods etc.

Intially my boy cat nap so much (15-30mins) every nap time, and sometimes, on the cot, he sleeps only for 5-10mins, so in the end, they tried various methods, like mattress on the floor, sleeping sideways, sleep on tummy, sleep on rocker, etc etc, and found that he sleeps best and longest when on tummy on the floor mattress, and if he stirs a bit, someone must be there to pat him back to sleep. Otherwise, he'll be awake.

So, let the teachers explore different options. You can let them know his sleep pattern and habits at home for their reference.

Woo... more and more infant centers opening!!! And I'm switching my boy to a new center in June/July! Looking forward to that, cos they have more stimulating activites (like painting!!!), and I dont have to make my own puree!! They provide purees for lunch! WOW...

Bigtoes, yah.. that mummy has contacted me as well, anyway, cheong choon is out of stock now. gotta wait for 1-2weeks.

just placed order with cheong choon for the Leapfrog groove and activity station.. cost $185 (while Kiddy palace sell $199). I really need one coz little J is crawling all over the place when Iam doing some chores. need a exersaucer to keep him occupied so I can "fang xin" to leave him alone.

Bad News... just brought my boy to PD for his cough and fever.. and doctor told me he got sensitive nose (just like his DAD) will cough again If he got fever....and he got a high chance to develop ashtma... me very heart pain.
anyway, he is weighed 10.50... drop a bit.

skinny pig, I used the playyard to surround his single mattress for his bedtime.. tik gotta to use for quite a long time.. if u rent...not worth lor

Hi,Rachel

They will trial and error? oh no.. poor boy
He is there since 1 April..

And you are switching to another IFC? I am just wondering whether the centre will actually do activities with the infants who are either not mobile (for those very young ones) and those like mine who is able to sit by himself? The centre said they will have activities like the painting for the babies but till now I only see my boy sitting and playing the toys on his own (pathetic sight
... ).. What is your thought on this?

And, can I know the feeding schedule of your baby when at the centre as reference? Sighz... can sense that I am not very secure with IFC ?

hello LC, yes, they will trial and error, and see which sleep position probably fits your baby best and makes him sleep longer. Teachers at IFC would love to have babies sleeping more, so that they have less to do..

Yes, I'm switching to another IFC, but the center is only opening in June / July, pending for MCYS approval. Currently at this center that my boy is in, I dont see them doing activities. They will just give him so toys to play, play some music, and let him crawl to the gym area.

Initially, I was quite disturbed that there are no activities , no stimulation, and even thought of engaging a nanny instead. But after much consideration, I still would go for IFC even if IFC is only providing basic needs that nanny can do based on various reasons, like a nanny still needs to take time away, to cook for her family while taking care of your child, so your child will still be left alone in the hallway playing on his own. This is only 1 example..

Depending on which IFC your baby is in, I think the ratio plays a major part. Currently, this IFC's ratio is 1:5, and I can see that the teachers are wiped out! There's no time for any reading / painting activities at all.

My feeding schedule is basically every 3 hourly. But cos my boy doesnt take bottle feeding very well (he cannot even finish 50ml on his own), I told them to do more solid food instead of milk feed.

eg:

9am - Oat cereal
12pm - puree only (veg and fruits)
3pm - milk
6pm - milk or white rice cereal (if he doesnt want to drink milk)

Hi Goldfish,

My boy also have rashes recently. I apply physiogel every night after he sleep. The rash seems to get better recently.

Happyting,
I encountered the same thing as you too. My rashes came a week after i gave birth. It only appeared on my legs &amp; hands. As recommended by my gynae, i stopped my confinement &amp; ate normal food. He mentioned that there is a possibility that my body couldn't take the confinement food as it is too heaty. But it doesn't really work coz the rashes kept coming back. I have approached a chinese physician too but he said likewise as confinement is very important for women who gave birth. He said it's due to hormone change &amp; gave me some chinese medicine. I healed completely after that. Only left the scars now, but it's getting better.

Hello! I hope I'm not intruding but I'm hoping to make some mummy friend who's baby is 6mths old cos I have a baby boy born in Sept as well.
Can I join?

i have tried feeding my bb avocado... but it appears that after eating a couple of times, my mummy said she heard my bb having phlegm... another mummy fed babies with avocado and any experience with the babies with phlegm?

thanks...

thanks everyone for the advice on the bb neck rashes! mine is on-off and sometimes will spread to behind the ear liddat! and yes, i tried california calendula cream and it is not effective lo. thot tat is a magic cream! *pui* :p
My PD did comment before my bb got sensitive skin lo, and recommend us to use bathing lotion etc tat is geared towards enzema. Did anyone tried those and the skin condition improves huh?

LC, could it be the IFC too noisy for ur bb to sleep well mah? Can ur bb sleep through in a noisy environment? kekke

JP, welcome to the sept forum!!

Hello....and thanks for nice welcome : )

I gave birth in TMC and my baby boy is born on 23 Sept.

He has started eating semisolid food and his favourite is pumpkin &amp; rice cereal as well as pear &amp; rice cereal. : ) 2 semisolid feed a day and 4 milk feed.
He's being taken care by my maid.

BTW, anyone here experiencing hair loss? I seem to loss quite abit of hair....so scary.

Goldfish..for bathing, I would recommend SEBAMED .. its good. my baby's rashes improved .
but this itchy mummy want to try other brand as well.
so far had used GAIA,SEBAMED,BALNEUM,J&amp;J. soon will try California Baby and Burt's bee product.

Hi Ade,

can u recommend me your chinese physician? can pm me details? thanks so much.

by the way, can i ask how long did it take for you to heal completely?

Hi Happyting,

My chinese physician is in Tampines. Not sure of the exact block,it's near the library. i must go back to check with my MIL 1st. If you live around the area, probably i can discribe to you. It told me less than 2 weeks to heal completely. I will update you again once i got the info from my MIL.

Hi, Rachel

My boy came back today with a small scratch near his nose area.. haha...dun noe wat will be next..the IFC my boy is in has 3 teachers to 7 babies..your boy is not taking a lot of milk ya.. Haven started him on porridge?

Hi, Goldfish

My boy can sleep in noisy place if he is tired.. but he is very "hong xin" in hokkien, want to play though wan to sleep..

RASHES: I would recommend baby califonia bath. My boy has rashes at the neck area and back so i tried the baby wash from baby california plus i tried to keep the area dry and it subsided after a day or 2. as for cream, can try Topicrem.

Hi, Goldfish
U can try this cream Aqueous Cream. It was recommend by the nurse at the polyclinic. It was very cheap, $2 plus, but it can only get it the phamarcy at polyclinic.

Goldfish:
I bought california calendula cream also, but i used the cream while waiting for the cream to be arrived, end up her rashes got it better. n the cream become white elephant at home.

hi Ade,

my mil stay in tampines! maybe u describe the block to me, maybe i can ask her. thanks so much. i wait for your information ya. thanks thanks.

Happyting,

So sorry, i have checked with my MIL &amp; she have lost the card. I don't remember the block number &amp; I can only discribe to you the place. It's at Tamp Ave 7, opposite Tampines Polyclinic and along the stretch of Tampines Regional library. If you cross the cross junction from the polyclinic to the opposite side (where shop &amp; save is), there is a small mini market on the right hand side(beside the playground). It's within the small market block. There is only one medical hall there and the chinese physician is there. You have to take a number and check with them how long to wait. Usually we will take the number 1st and walk around tampines mall. There was once i waited for more than 3 hrs. He is very popular so please prepare to wait for long hours. It's quite easy to find the place &amp; about 5-10mins walk from tampines Mrt. Hope my discription is clear enough. Or is there anyone living around that area, probably can let Happyting know the block number.

thanks ade!

ur direction is clear enough! thanks. really appreciate it. i will go search for it tonight. i really hope my rashes will go away

Happyting,

Don't worry, it will go away. I can understand how you feel. But remember to use lotsa scrub after the rashes have healed. The scrub will fade those scars...=)

Back again after MIA for so long from this website.... My MIL is looking after my baby while I'm working and I'm trying very hard to keep an eye shut, otherwise I wil make myself very miserable.

I saw that my MIL has put my baby's mattress inside a huge box, those boxes that you would put electronic stuff in. She said so that the baby will not fall off the mattress when no one is there to keep an eye on her. I'm so sad to see this, it's like my baby is a pet to be put inside a box... sob.... But I can't do anything about it. I can't even tell my HB about it, as I will just get a scolding from him, he would say his mother knows best. Haiz... And we have put a playpen in her house for my baby.

JP
welcome to the sep thread

happyting
hope your rash gets cured by the TCM.

wingkei
why can't your bb's mattress fit into the playpen? or get another one that fits the playpen. he should not be sleeping in a box, especially one that has stored electronic goods.