(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="aa00aa">storeberry (storeberry) - on the amt of cereal, yes, i feed one baby cube (70ml) per serving. This has about 1 tablespoon of Heinz organic rice cereal in it, together with root veggies.
I throw the rice cereal into my braun blender container &amp; puree with the root veggie. Most times, Kieran will finish up everything (unless its veggies he dislikes like spinach). He takes 3 baby cubes (2 veggies, 1 fruit) per day, on top of BM.

Porridge - I have not started on porridge. Am using cereal as the porridge substitute. Kieran is still on rice cereal only, but once he is done with this box, I will let him move on to HT barley/brown rice/oats cereal.

Sterilizing - I have 2 sterilizers at home, but never sterilized Kieran's bottles since birth. Just wash and air dry!</font>

Millie: i dun tik she poo so much besides apple n banana. mayb i shld keep these two fruits away and give it to her again in another 1 week n see if still the same reaction.

mrsseng (mrsseng) : does it happen whenever u give ur boy new food?

Hi,Rachel

My boy is still on BM but I do give FM at the last feed at night. I am using Similac but it is bec it is a free sample tin. I dun intend to give FM but seeing got free tin and expiry is still away so just try out. I am intending to give both Similac and Enfa.. I bot the parsnips but it is still sitting in my fridge.. no time cos my boy just started IFC yesterday and have to go check on him at the centre.. And oh ya, the centre started him on porride with meat.. tot just nice cos I already tested most common veg and fruits on my boy..

LC - meaning you will mix feed for similac and Enfa? i thought of doing this :

Cereal mixed with Similac. But if FM feed Enfa. My gal friend whose kid is on total FM is saying any FM added to creal is ok.

Mummies out there, any thoughts?

rlrenn

Only at the beginning when introducing solid food after that ok. but i notice that he tends to poo more when takes more serving of fruits.

mrsseng (mrsseng) : i see.. i start introducing solid abt a month already. initially poo was normal. maybe banana and apple are really the cause. shall leave it aside and give her again another week

Jaymickey - cause i got a 400gm Similac can opened and i don't want to waste it. Plus little e is still on BM, so am gonna wean him to Enfa.

My mum just called to say she intend to slip some soap in his ass as he has not shit for 2 days. aiyo..i heart pain ah. Told her not to but she insist

help help help
Jon must be teething cos he is chewing so hard when he latches on that my breasts/nipples hurt as much as they did in the first month of breastfeeding. anyone got advice? and the naughty boy still refuses the bottle. am at my wits end!!!

Bigtoes... hah ??? u nvr sterelise kieran's bottles since birth ?? alamak, I sterelise little J's bottles since birth until now..
I must stop liao.

Charlene, My boy is wearing size "XL" huggies ultra &amp; huggies pull up pants.

sterilizers

Think i will continue to sterilise bb bottle till she 2yrs old ba , had been doing it since she's born. if not no space for me to put her bottle also.
since already brought the sterilizer den use lor

Dseptkon, try applying some teething gel? Can buy dentinox teething gel from NTUC unity or pharmacy. I read that if baby bites when u latch on, u have to unlatch and tell your baby firmly "NO". Otherwise, I think they will think that it's ok to bite...

I think I'll soon be facing the same problem!! That's one of the reason why I want to intro formula.. But try enfa yesterday, my boy refused to drink! (but anyway, he's still not taking bottle, so not sure if it's the milk, or just the bottle...)

Charlene, babies above 6 months old, no need to cook fruits anymore. Just wash, peel, and puree.

<font color="0077aa">Millie: I am stopping spinach for a while cos smallberry had rashes on his mouth after eating but he was not comfy or cranky. I didn't know it was an allergic reaction cos no spots on body. But after reading desptkon post, smallberry might had a mild reaction to spinach.

Thanks limay for clarifying!

Skinny pig &amp; Jeraldine: smallberry loves his sippy cup &amp; he loves water as well! He will suckle when i give him his cup!

Dseptkon: That's sound painful &amp; I can understand that cos smallberry did that last week!! I did what Rachel's said, give him a firm "NO" and also I beat him on his leg.

Rachel: You still on TBF? Am thinking to continue for at least 1 yr..Still persisting on..

I cooked apples &amp; pear cos I want to make it softer to mash it. Think not a prob...</font>

rachel/ storeberry
Will try the "No" thing and the gel. but the little uncle doesnt seem to like the taste of the gel. i tried some yesterday and after the first taste he clamped his mouth firmly shut and turned away.

storeberry
U want to TBF for a year? wow. that's really admirable... i am becoming all worn out from it
i want my body back!!

Storeberry, yes, I'm still TBF. already feel like quiting but my boy dont take bottle. If I quit now, I'm not sure how he'll drink milk! Already at IFC, his milk consumption is like only 200-300ml for the whole day, and if I still deprive him of latching on at night, I think he'll give up milk totally! Try enfapro that day, he refused to drink too.

Dseptkon, freeze any teething toy that you have and let him bite. Hopefully he wont bite you again..

Yeh, Tampines 1 (the new shopping center) opening next week, and there's a cold storage there! More organic food! Just bought organic carrots, french beans yesterday from NTUC.

Breadmum, putting soap into his ass, he can poo?? Why not just feed him some fruits. Worst, visit a PD..

Rachel Lim, u can try similac. Cos i heard it's sweet. Usually babies will like it.

<font color="aa00aa">Rachel Lim (rac_lim) - wow, ur son is so particular about not using the bottle? Have u started on a sippy cup for him - might take to that better?

As for TBF, i am also still nursing Kieran (TBM and purees). Am intending to continue till he is a year old, but yah - its quite a hassle when I have to travel or when I can't get away during the day to express! Then again, am not looking forward to stopping, cos everyone tells me that the boobs will shrink by at least a cup size and sag!! Argh

yun (cutieyunyun) - yah, have not been sterilizing his bottles since birth, though i have 2 sterilizers sitting in my store room. No ill-effects though, K hasn't gotten diarrhoea or fallen sick since, and hopefully he stays that way.</font>

Bigtoes, yeah, u r rite....I never think of that point.. actually without sterilise, child's immune system will be strong against those bad viruses.

Huh? Sagging and shrinking boobs?

I am still BFing too, but it has been exclusively pumping since I started work in mid Dec 08.

There was once I latched on my Baby K, about 1.5 months back cos I was too lazy to pump out. He was teething back then. Bottom 2 teeth just erupted.
He bite and pulled my nipple real hard

Arrrrghhhhhhh!!! I quickly pushed him away and tears began to roll down cos it was FXXXing painful!!!!!
That was the last time I latched him on liao... whahaaa...

Big toes, yes, started on sippy cup, but he only bites on it!

Yes, sagging and shrinking boobs....
(((

Skinny, when you do exclusive pumping, wont u get block ducts? I dont latch on for days, I seems to get block ducts..

Initially I got blocked ducts everywhere.. But now I don't..
Anyway my milk supply has decreased tremendously. It was about 1000ml a day, and it gradually dropped to about 500ml nowadays.
And i am pumping 2x everyday, sometimes only once during weekend.

skinny pig
your description of your son biting is so farnee! but actually when it happens the last thing you want to do is laugh, right?;P

sagging and shrinking boobs
i think i'll take them over what i have now- painful and sensitive nipples!! i think the kid thinks my boobs are his teether! x_x

sterilising
actually i just realised that i dont sterilise the plates/spoons/cups that J uses nowadays... was i supposed to ??

<font color="aa00aa">Shrinking/saggy boobs - i think its quite common once we stop BFing. Ask the other mommies here? Or else why would there be so many salons like Expressions offering post-natal breast massage and what else! Of cos, there are also the lucky ones with no sagging/shrinkage

Biting - Ouch!!! Think our bits are all desensitized already! i am lucky that Kieran hasn't been biting yet, plus no teeth for now. However, when he is fidgety, he might latch on and want to do clockwise/anti clockwise turns around the bed, and i have to move along with him!</font>

Boobies
<font color="808080">They will shrink &amp; sag for sure.
I'd stop nursing for 2.5months.

However, after 1 month or so, the breasts will become firmer and less saggy.</font>

Blocked Ducts
<font color="808080">I had blocked ducts in the past, it was hellish for me.Super painful.
I tried to remove the milk clot using all possible methods, and u know what? My husband can finally prove himself worthy in this aspect =D
I get him to suck (Cos I can't latch on, I pump exclusively)

If you are Bfing, nurse more!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Pei (peilovecats) - I had blocked ducts before as well - hurts to even lift up the arms or walk (cos of vibration from the steps). Happened twice and ended up with fever. For some reason, pumping doesn't clear the blockage, and on these 2 occasions i had to rush home and nurse and the lumps cleared within one session of nursing. (The miracles of nature that a pump cannot replicate).

Heh, did your hubby drink? BM is not exactly the most appealing to non-babies.

Hi Bigtoes,

Check with you, if your boy is drinking 120ml per session, and u just started him on cereal, how many tablespoon of pain rice cereal did you feed him to replace 1 of his milk feed?

<font color="aa00aa">Tinkerbell Lim (tinkerbell_lim) - on average, he takes 1 baby cube (70ml) per feed. This has about 1 tablespoon of rice cereal added to the root veggie puree. Am not really replacing his milk feed with semi-solids, cos he still wants his milk about 1 hour after the puree, so its more like supplementing his milk feeds.
He hasn't been gaining weight though, cos he is very active &amp; crawling all over the place/pulling up to stand.</font>

<font color="0077aa">despetkon: talking about the teething gel, its was so funny cos smallberry didn't like it when I applied it. He gagged &amp; vomit out his milk, guess it must have taste horrible!

yesss!! I hope to TBF for at least one yr! Its definitely very troublesome &amp; when I cannot find a room in off to express, sometimes I wonder why I subject myself to this... Keke.. But I love the feeling of latching on my son, you know it create such a bond for us...

Dseptkon / Bigtoes,

It was really a horrendous experience for me when he bite my nipple during nursing. I almost threw him out of my window after that... he he.

Limay
<font color="808080">I'm envious of you mummies who can nurse! Very true, babies are the best "block ducts clearer" =D

My hb did drank some, not a lot though. Cos my duct clear immediately after one hard suck.
It hurts like hell. He made a face and forced a smile lol

I drank my breastmilk when Cayden cannot finish sometimes. Was nice but queer at the same time...Can't bear to see the liquid gold go wasted!</font>

This morning, gave my boy some papaya and pear puree with cereal cos his poo poo is kind of hard.. I used abt 80ml of the fruit puree with 3 table spoon of rice cereal and my boy polished it clean
and drank 120ml of milk.. goodness! But sometime I wonder if I am overfeeding him..

Mummies - Can i check what kind of activities do you engage with your little baby when you are with them? and what is their fav activities?

i bought a haenim walker in the end from kiddy palace with a $50 discount. After discount $109.
it has rubber bumper to absorb shock, my mini miow loves it!

gosh! my hubby has just shown me this.
this makes my blood BOIL! how could anyone kick/ stand/ punch a little child!
and this is happening right in a singapore home!
#$%^&amp;!!!!@@##
2317520.gif

for those with helpers at home, please please make sure nothing of this sort happens to your little ones.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=64836

LC (faintz): the amount is ok. I give the same amount for breakfast too, without the fruits though. Fruits are for tea time, except the bananas I gave him yesterday morning.

Fav activity seems to be sitting on playmat and play with his toys. He just needs someone to be with him, very sticky these days. Sometimes I'll put him in his highchair and do flash cards but he gets bored after a while, perhaps because I dun do it daily.

Questions : Fruit purees &amp; instant cereal
<font color="808080">For mummies who are feeding ur babies these:
1.Do u add hot/warm water?
2. Is it ok if you feed ur baby room temperature cereal?

I use warm-hot water to mix the cereal and it cool down very fast. I find that my boy's tummy became very bloated (as in gassy) after each feed. Anyone feel the same?</font>

Jaymickey - ya la. my mum funni la. In the end she did not do it and little e pooed on Friday - A LOT.

He takes fruits daily though. Just checked with PD today, its normal for kids at their age to poo 2 to 3 days and max 5 days. Nothing to worry about. So long they poo. Its because their intestines are still developing.

Pei - your hubby drank your milk? wow. really brave.
I use hot water, cause by the time mix and feed cereal, just nice and warm. Yes their tummy becomes BIG.

GuniBabe - agree, they are very sticky nowadays. Little bit only cry. Today I went fish foot spa with my friends and my hubby called me an hour later to say little e was wailing and he is at lost what to do.

I also put mine on playmat with toys, sing along videos, read books. And do tummy time cause mine has not even turned, altho loves sitting.

miow : the video damn scary lor , can't imagine this kind of thing happen to me. I think i will beat the maid back even worst. can't imagine the pain the little girl is going thru

Activities :-

GuniBabe - Playmat with toys/ Flash cards
Breadmum - Playmat with toys/ Videos/ read books/ tummy time

My boy also ver sticky to me.. Jalet.. and he is becoming less sociable..This morning, he tried parsnips with sweet potatoes.. Then I saw him trying to poo so bring him to the toilet bowl and he managed to squeeze out some hard poo poo after 20minutes plus..

Breakout in cold sweat after watching the video.. Its a horror show
The maid uses so much force to kick the girl that she actually flew a distance!
I wonder what happens after she brought the girl to the room... Goodness... Felt sooooo ANGRY and at the same time sad for the parents.

Pei: I usually add hot water into his cereal as it really cool down very fast.

LC: I find it very tiring to entertain him! Usually, will just let him play with his toys &amp; do flashcards. If not, just on some children VCD to keep him busy. Usually the VCD could only last him 30 mins and he will get bored. But he only get to do flashcards &amp; VCD on weekend coz my MIL don't do it for him on weekdays.

miow: I can't believe that this is happening in SG! What happen to the maid in the end? Was she charged? My heart goes out to the little girl. Think i must show this to my hb coz he intend to get a maid if i'm pregnant with #2. I never really like the idea of outsider taking care of my kids. Probably can convince him to let me become a SAHM.

Btw, any mummies here know how to make ikan bilis powder? Or is there any place selling this? My MIL asked me to buy this for baby porridge. I heard that cannot use normal ikan bilis to grind coz it's too salty for baby. Please help!

My hubby's aunt (caregiver) doesn't want to feed Alston parsnips cos she say it's white carrot and they are "liang"
. I have bought it on last Fri, if wait till this Fri when i take over to look after him, dunno the parsnip will turn rotten or not ??

BTW, can we feed the papaya directly without cooking/steaming/blending the papaya ?

Millie,

Parsnips are not white carrot.. I bought it last fri too, at jason supermarket at raffles city shopping centre.
I fed my Baby K with parsnips on sat, he took it well. But yest when I fed him the 2nd time, he refused to open his mouth... So no choice I mixed it with pumpkin and he finally opened his mouth.

I steamed the parsnips, puree and freeze them.

You can feed papaya to Alston directly. Just mash them will do.

LC,
Alston likes to crawl on the playmat, and of course out of the playmat too. He usually fiddles and bites on his toys on the mat. Otherwise, caregiver or myself will show him flashcards or sing song to him. He juz likes to be entertained and wanna pple to talk to him. Nowadays, caregiver or hubby or myself are juz busy catching hold of him cos he has endless energy, crawling here and there. Normally ends the day by reading him a story book at bedtime.

Skinny Pig,
Are you a hokkien ? My aunt did not know what is parsnip and to her, it's juz a white carrot which is a no no food to bb. Hv u got any idea how to say parsnip in hokkien or Mandarin ??
BTW, why do u need to freeze them ? Is it for other days use ? Aunt cooks the food on a daily basis, so nv freeze them. Frankly speaking, i've never eaten it before, but i tink it's quite tasteless.
Something that i read on the internet. Foods Good to Mix With Parsnips:

Apples
Pears
Carrots
Green Beans
Peas

Hello Millie, if you are afraid that by then the parnips will be rotten, you can prepare now, and freeze them, and feed your child later on. You can keep up to 6 weeks in the freezer.

I've tried parnsips with carrots, doesnt work for my child. But he loves french beans and peas, so maybe I'll try that.

Millie,

I am not a hokkien and I don't know how to pronounce parsnips in chinese too... Initially I thought it's white carrot or radish but other mummies out there told me its different.

It just look like white carrot except that it's skinnier and more expensive. The 2 little parsnips that I bought on fri cost me $5+!!!

Yes, I will puree and freeze them for other days usage.
I don't like the taste either but just wondering why my Baby K can be happily eating the parsnips on 1st day and shut his mouth tight on the 2nd day