(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi MrsSeng,

I'm oso having a hard time "forcing" my boy to finish up his 150ml (usual intake) of milk.. It all started on Saturday.. Its so tiring to "hong3" my dear boy to suck his bottle of milk.

Each feeding session is so stressful and tiring. My hub and me drag to feed him leh.. haha.. need to carry and talk to him.. After all the hassle, the max he can take is 100 to 120ml now..

Hi Tinkerbell
Urs Still can "hong3". My no way, even the usual "hong3" drinking in his yaolan also cannot, will scream n cry loudly till i remove the bottle.
For the time being i add more cereal into his milk.

mrsseng - is your boy on FM or BM?

I have not really started him on cereal yet. only let him have his "food tasting" on the weekends.. only 2 or 3 teaspoon nia.

Btw, have you tried feeding him cereal by spoon feeding? Any reason why you add cereal into his milk (bottle)?

<font color="aa00aa">Mommies - I have a small can of NAN to give away.
Was a sample from the PD from Kieran's 6-in-1 jab, but my son is still on BM. PM me if you want it, pick up would be in Seng Kang or Yishun. Actually, my MIL opened another can as well, and fed Kieran once, so that is also available (if you don't mind it being opened. If not I will throw it out).

Tinkerbell Lim (tinkerbell_lim) - alot of vivid dreams, hence the tossing &amp; turning? Kieran has these as well, and he somehow ends up on tummy time &amp; waking up. Sometimes, he crawls off his mattress and moves quite far before we realise it!</font>

Hi Bigtoes,

hmmm.. dreams.. never thought of this.. =)

ya.. my boy will oso toss and turn and end up on his tummy with his eyes wide open!

What is Kieran's milk intake every 3 hourly?

my boy also on BM now.. i had requested for Enfalac and Similac samples for my boy to try recently.. have not received the samples though...

my boy also tossed and turn at night from 3am till about 6am.. dun know why too.... quite stressful....

it is also a struggle to feed my boy now.. he just refused to drink milk too.. max 100ml.. he used to drink 130ml to 150ml every 3 hourly... sigh....

Re: Cereal (Replacing 1 feed)

How do I know how much cereal (how many tablespoon or teaspoon) to give my boy to replace his 1 milk feed?

He is suppose to be on 150ml per milk feed. So, how do I gauge the amount of cereal to give him for the replacement (1 feed)?

Thanks mummies in advance.

Hi Tinkerball

My boy hv been on FM since he abt 4mth+ because he refused to suckle and reject BM n EBM, even when i mixed it wil FM he also knw.
I will add abt 2-3 scoop of rice n wheat cereal into his FM n he love it, by adding cereal i will not worry too much that he will go hungry when he reduce his intake.
I also spoon feed him cereal.
Today, i cooked porridge w/ corn n dried scallop, he love it.

I know its a silly question to ask but this has been pondering in my mind whenever I go for supermarket shopping...

Is parsnips = white carrot = radish?

How fast does baby develop allergy after consuming food ? Within a day or ???? Alston developed rashes on last Sun. He had eaten nectarine puree tat day, so i'm not sure if tat is the cause. If not, Si Shen powder is the latest thing tat i fed him , but was given to him on Thurs and Fri. Can someone give me advice ?

BTW, i rem reading posts on the type of rice to feed as porridge for bb, but just can't recall it. Is it the Australian or Japanese rice brand ??

yun, i dun heat it. Leave to room temperature and feed. But i only fed her 1 cup cos the next day she got abit phelgm and the day after, slight cough with phelgm. So I have to finish up the remaining 3 cups myself!!

hi Mrs Seng,

My inlaw actually feed my boy FM (1 feed) yesterday and commented that he likes FM. Kinda sad la. cos, make so much effort to pump and pump and now realise he prefer FM over my BM.. sigh..

Gal, did you use slow cooker to cook the porriage? Heard slow cooker kills the nutrients of the ingredients.. wondering if its true..

Mummies, what's the difference between Enfalac and Enfapro?

Skinny pig, it's not a silly question cos I didnt know what a parsnip was! "It is a root vegetable related to the carrot. Parsnips resemble carrots, but are paler than most of them and have a stronger flavor."

Bigtoes,
The del monte Banana according to my MIL is not good for babies. cos it is too "Liang".. and i search online, they said too much bananas will cause constipation.. maybe u can do a search..

Yah, J is 10kg now! Just brought her to the PD yesterday.

Hi Tinkerbell

I used stove cooked, done cooking within an hour.
All u need to do is leave all Ingredients in water abt 1-2 hours to soften them.

After yesterday porridge, my boy milk in taking increased to est 120ml - 150ml, so glad n happy.
Think he just tired of milk n cereal, just need something new to enhance his taste bud.

Today, cooking spinich w/ lean mice meat porridge. Hopes my boy love it.

Any mummies tired cheese porridge?

So it's not white carrot or radish?

Yest I was at Jurong Point NTUC hypermart. I paced up and down, looking around for parsnip but couldn't find one!!!

<font color="aa00aa">Tinkerbell Lim (tinkerbell_lim) - Kieran drinks about 110-120ml of milk every 2+ to 3 hours.

skinny pig (skinny_pig) - google for photos of parsips. They look like ugly skinner white carrots.

Millie (millie22) - So far, Kieran has not gotten any allergic reaction to anything, but i suspect it would be about 4-5 hours later cos that is the time taken for the food to go thru the system (like if u ate something wrong, the stomach ache comes usually about 4+ hours later). Or if he is very allergic, then instant rashes?

Rice as porridge - this should be carlos rice, or some people get the rice specially for baby porridge from markets? Ask ur mom or MIL - they should know. So far, i haven't started on porridge for Kieran yet - am intending to use up his HT barley/oats cereals in place of porridge (bought too many boxes), especially since these have iron added &amp; would be more nutritious.

Jaymickey - hmm.. i have been giving Kieran del monte cos these are the only ones that Cold Storage stock. He had 2/3 of a banana yesterday but didn't have any constipation...guess he is just full of shit! hehe</font>

Millie, rashes can come almost instant kind.. my friend's gal is allegic to milk.. so if she touches any, immediately her face will be patchy red and got Ultraman eyes.. all swell up.. even from ice cream also cannot.. poor gal..

Jaymickey,
I'm wondering if he's allergic to nectarine which i fed him on Sun and his rashes appear a lot tat nite. His appear on his body only...now fading liao.
BTW, wat is the intonation of "xin" rice for bb porridge ?

Porridge
<font color="808080">I started feeding my baby porridge since he was 5 months old, very early as compared to the mummies here.

I was kinda influenced by my mother, plus my boy doesn't like brown rice and cereal.

I'm using "xin mi" too.
If I'm not wrong, "xin mi" is the first harvest of the rice crop.</font>

Cooking Porridge
<font color="808080">1.Cook stock/soaking
- Boil anchovies/conpoy using low-medium heat for 30mins.Filter them away. Concurrently, soak rice in water/stock for 30-45mins.

2. Bring to high heat then reduce to low.
Rice grain will start to burst in abt 30-45mins time.

3a. Fish porridge
Put in sliced threadfin at the last 15mins.
Mash them while stirring.

3b. Vegetable - e.g Broccoli/Spinach
Put in finely chopped veggie at the last 10mins

3b. Carrot/Pumpkin
Steam for 15-20mins, mash, then put into cooked porridge.</font>

mummies, are you all still sterelise the milk bottles &amp; teats daily ?
just heard from a friend that we should stop sterelise the bottles after baby reach 5 or 6 months .. just sterelise them once a week will do. is it true ?

<font color="0077aa">Limay, don't really understand what you meant?
"On your qtn on how much cereal i add, its about 2-3 tablespoon per puree blending (which makes about 3 cubes) = so about 1 tablespoon per cube of 70ml."

You puree the cereal together with the vege puree kept in the cubes? But is 2oz alot for 7mth old?

Yun: Still sterilised everyday cos helper do it. I might stop soon..

Skinnypig: parsnip is not white carrot / radish, the taste is diff. I just bought from cold storage, but very ex! One small one is alr $3!</font>

millie
Jon is allergic to avocadoes and slightly allergic to bananas. the rashes appear immediately around his mouth and chin when i feed and he is cranky after that cos the poor thing prolly doesnt feel well. with bananas, the rashes appear on his upper torso within about half hour of feeding. so it sounds like your baby might be sensitive to the nectarine. if you want, you can wait a week or two and try again like i did to see if the same thing happens.

so a lot of other mummies are plagued by the sudden night wakings too? i thot only me! perhaps it is teething time as well?

feeding- am having a blast with trying out new feeding combi. just started with the porridge and am having more success with that than with the rice cereal
yoghurt- i just bought a huge 1 kg tub of natural yoghurt from carrefour and use it for myself, the dogs and baby! Jon gets his yoghurt with mango, rockmelon or papaya and he slurps it up. am also experimenting with homemade yoghurt...

btw is anyone else feeling that its REALLY HOT these days? its making nap time without aircon very difficult.

storeberry.. actually i am oso giving about 60ml to 70 ml of puree + 2 tbspn of cereal to EJ now... and he finished them all up...

so i guess if zane is feeding well.. should be fine??

hello mummies.... been a long time since I posted... back to work and quite busy....

ade : I was thinking of the same thing! Our little darlings are turning 1 very soon... any ideas for party venues?

TBF to FM : I started Baby E on Nan HA 2 for the afternoon feed. She seems to like it. Maybe can try?

Rabbit : you can check out the info here http://www.changiairport.com/changi/en/airport_guide/departure/safety_n_security/travel_advisory_faq.html#lag

Yun : My PD told me that we dun have to sterilise bottles after 6 months. However, i still sterilise my breastpump equipment.

Baby E dun like porridge... I wonder if it is the texture ? I use normal rice... She likes cereal though. I normally give her 4tbsp HT cereal and pair up with some veg or fruits. maybe i will try the calrose rice kym recommended.

Dseptkon,
Ya i will try nectarine again to see if he's allergic to it.

I read that spinach are suitable for bb from 10-12mths onwards, but it seems that many mummies here are feeding bb spinach already. Just wanna check that we can add spinach in their porridge at 7mths old ??

mommies who are changing formula for baby..

do you all have any problem with that??? EJ doesn't seem to like the stage 2 enfalac milk powder though... he only took 1 oz after his cereal feed in the evening for the past 2 days...

He also seems to not like drinking from the bottle also... think he prefers eating to drinking.. anyone facing same problem ah?

i'm a mom from the Oct 08 thread. My SIL's personal fren's son has got Leukemia and needs B negative blood. Pls help to forward this message on.

Dear Friends,

My friend's little boy, Barney Allan Jeffs, is in need of B negative blood. The blood bank does not have any B negative blood in storage as it is fairly uncommon blood type in Asians. If you are B negative blood type please contact me so we can add your name to a donor list specifically for donation to Barney. The Blood Bank will follow up by contacting you to ask you to come in and donate. If you contact the blood bank directly, they have told us they will give the blood to the next B negative recipient in need.

Barney is 5 years old and he was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia unexpectedly on Tuesday. His only symptoms were that he had been tired and pale during the past week. Today Barney had a bone marrow aspiration test to type his Leukemia and received his first infusion of Platelets and Blood to increase his blood count to an acceptable level so that he can have a central IV line placed tomorrow. The line will allow him to start receiving chemotherapy. As there was no B negative blood available in Singapore this evening, he had to be given B positive blood tonight. This not only increases his chances of a reaction to the blood, but it means he has to have a special injection so that his body won't react to the rhesus positive blood. As you can imagine, each additional injection is torture to a five year old!

Barney's battle with Leukemia will be a long and hard one. The family has been living in Singapore several years and his mom Annie is Irish and his dad David is from New Zealand. They are alone here without family to help them through this, so any support we can give them by trying to get donors is very much appreciated. Please help to forward the request especially around the Caucasian communities in Singapore that are more likely to have people of B negative blood type. The hospital has explained that Barney will require many transfusions of blood and platelets over this initial first week of treatment and in the coming months and a list of at least ten donors will be needed.

Thank you to those who have already started circulating information out. Please do have people continue to contact me if they can donate. We have already had a great initial response of 5 Irish B negative donors tonight but more are needed. Please contact me by phone or email with your name, IC or passport number, contact number and date of birth so I can collate the listing to send to the blood bank.

Sincerely,

Erin
9833-4954
Friend of Annie, David and Barney Jeffs

If you are not B negative, but wish to donate to blood bank you may want to visit www.redcross.org.sg

Drinking from sippy cup

Any mummies out there have problems getting babies to drink from sippy cup?

I have been getting my Baby K to drink from sippy cup (Avent with soft spout) for the past few days but to no avail..

He will just bite on the soft spout and refuse to suck!!!!

How ah?

SAME SAME.... EJ oso dun want to drink from sippy cup... he oso bite and play with it... so i gave up.. let him drink from bottle lor

em.. was thinking of skipping the stage of sippy cup.. just train them to drink straight from the cup when they are older... tt's how my cousins are brought up.. so i guess it should be ok bah

Millie
<font color="808080">I introduced spinach to my boy when he was 6months old.Put only abt 2-3 leaves in his porridge.
He seems to be fine with them...</font>

Jeraldin
<font color="808080">Me!
My boy seems more interested in his porridge than milk! He thinks that he had grown up le la=D

I'm quite frustrated with this issue too.
Have to dangle things in front of him in order for him to suckle. He is 7 month now, and still drink at most 150ml...

For porridge, he will chase and scream at me in his walker when he sees his bowl =D His mouth open really wide when they spoon reaches his mouth.</font>

Sterilising milk bottles
<font color="808080">I'm still sterilising!
Cos I also don't know when to stop =D</font>

Skinny Pig,
Alston doesn't like to drink from sippy cup as well. He will juz bite on the spout and blow the water . My aunt (caregiver) gave up and let him drink fm the milk bottle. Initially i sort of insisted la, but now i dun, cos dun wanna give my aunt too much trouble. I guess nowadays bb are very smart, they will learn to drink from cup sooner or later.

Sterilising milk bottles and pump
I'm still sterilising cos i heard no need to sterilise after 1yr old wor.

millie : i puree the cooked spinach (about 30ml) and feed my baby with cereal. She loves it! But her poop is green though... :p

Porridge : How to make my baby love it? She dislikes it and prefers cereal to porridge. how ah?

sippy cup : i tried mag mag on my baby and she bit on the spout initially. After a few tries, she drank from it. but i think the flow is too fast... she tends to choke on the water after a while. It is ok to transition to cup straight away or use straw. thats what my nephews did too.

bananas : I bought these mini and cute bananas from NTUC, this brand called DOLE. Its $1.50 for a small bunch. ripens quickly and easy to mash!

Skinny Pig,
Ryan doesn't like to drink from sippy cup as well. He will juz bite on the spout and blow the water. Will only suck a few sip only when he in his gd mood.
So nowadays i will spoon feed him water n will add a piece of ice if the weather is very hot, faster this way n he can't reject drinking. It such a diffcult task getting him drink water.

Ryan getting rashes like pimples on his forehead n mouth area, wondering is it due to heat?

Sterilising - same here, I read that after 6 months, you should still sterilise their bottles. Up to age 1, there's no need to sterilise anymore.

Sippy cup - same issue. Will only bite on the spout!

Mummies, there's a promo for Pampers active baby disposbale diapers at Griant. 3 boxes for $60.90 only (usual price $130.20!).

Is pampers active good for night use??

My baby is constipated! 4 days no poo already (some more still on breastmilk leh!). Yesterday he tried so hard, I saw a bit of *$#@ coming out soon, but went back in cos he didnt have strength to push anymore! So poor thing.. Going to bring him to the doc later...

Millie/skinny pig - mine too blow into the sippy cup all the time. when i feed cereal..all the cereal end up mixed with water. Plus i add a bit of gripe water in his water in case he gets constipated.

Rachel - mine when constipated gets angry. quite a worrying expression

I am a sep mummy, new to this thread.

When is the pampers promo until?
Any idea how many pcs for L?

What size are your babies wearing currently?

Rachel,
Did you give ur bb water ? I feed Alston water daily and he's on partial FM and BM. BB needs quite a lot of water to prevent constipation esp now my son is on HT brown rice cereal and partial FM.

Momopanda,
I think the DOLE bananas are "liang" too. I bot the "ang bak chio" at the fruit stall nearby my home. When u start to feed ur bb with porridge ? At 6mths old ? I have yet to start, only on cereal and fruit or veg puree.

my baby wakes up at nite to POO not milk! i wonder why. recently she has been pooing 4 times per day leh. this is especially when i fed her bananas n apples. i wonder do they cause her to be like tat?? tik im going to stop feeding her solid for these two days and see if she poo so much. she used to poo only once or even alternate days. any babies same as mine?

Charlene
My boy currently wearing L size.

rlrenn
That happen to my boy when i start him on solid.
It's ok will bk to npormal in a few day time.