(2008/09) Sep 2008

Breadmum, my boy also got constipation when he is on Similac. In the end, i switch to NAN. Does the yoghurt help in his constipation? Heard that banana also helps in constipation. Can also try massaging his stomach in clockwise position too.

Biscuit: I gave my boy Gerber sweet potato biscuits, as well as pigeon biscuit. He love it to bits. I only give him when we are out, something to keep him busy while we have our meals. I have also bought HT teething biscuits, but have yet to let him try yet. Heard from my sis that Heinz biscuits are on the hard side, my niece ate till very fustrated. In the end, i din buy that.

Flos,
I oso bot Australian avocado for Alston before, but he dun really fancy it. My hubby's aunt (caregiver) says the almost black colour skin type (rough surface) tastes better which i think i agree too. I always order avocado snow at Taka basement food hall and i see they are using these .

Yoplait Yogurt- Found it at NTUC Finest @ Bukit Timah Shopping Centre. Fed Little A the vanilla one and she LOVE it! Cutiegal, its indicated there its from 6 months can feed le.

Heinz teething rusk- My dd dun like it. Its really hard and tasteless..

Mrsseng, I did my dd's since she turned 1 month old. For bb passport nowadays is by themself one. No more joining to mummy's passport..

So far, Alston has tried sweet potato, green peas, carrots, avocado, apple, pear, nectarine and papaya . Tink he likes apple, pear and nectarine. Aunt will cook him pumpkin puree today. Hope he likes it.

Yan,
The Australian avocado was really bitter on the 2nd day i bot it. But tastes quite good after putting aside for a few days . I think the Australian avocado is a different kind of avocado, not the one that i've tried last time.

<font color="0077aa">Some teething biscuits will get choke it seem. Cos my nephew took some &amp; kena choked (I think its heinz) so am careful this time round, so might not give teething biscuits as yet.. My boy can get choke on cereal as well.. hmm..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Pei (peilovecats) - think there are a couple of babies here between 10-11kg. Meanwhile, Kieran's weight gain seems to have taped down - he has been stuck at the 8.8-8.9kg range the last 2 weeks. Think its cos he has been alot more active, crawling all over the place &amp; pulling himself up to stand. He is losing his chubby cheeks

Meanwhile, looks like eveyone is getting more adventurous with weaning! I haven't started on yogurt yet - will leave that till he is 7+ months. Meanwhile, K has tried the Aussie avacadoes (with banana) over the weekend and he loves them
The avacadoes on their own are quite tasteless though. On how to see if these are ripe - don't need to wait till they turn brown (would be overripe by then) - just as long as the skin is soft to touch, then the flesh should be ripe.

Mommies - are u babies cutting back on milk by alot, now that they are on puree? I am feeding Kieran about 3 baby cubes (70ml each) a day (2 veggies/root veggies with rice cereal, 1 fruit dessert), but he still needs his milk to feel full. Don't think he is cutting back at all, or at most, maybe 100ml less per day compared to pre-weaning days.

Kym - letlet is growing up to be a beauty
Looks like she has alot more hair!</font>

are ur babies getting lesser n lesser afternoon nap?? my gal din really nap the last two days. each time only nap less than 1hr or even less than 30mins. yday even worst, the total nap time is only 1hr. she used to nap 2-3hrs per nap and will always nap twice but nt for the last two days.

btw the Australian avocado is it organic?

hi skinny pig

baby K is better than my R. She only nap ONCE lor. less than 30mins yday. Wonder why the change. I cant do my things when she is not napping.
tik i hv to set a sleeping schedule for her liao. :p

<font color="aa00aa">rlrenn (rlrenn) - Like with most veggies &amp; fruits, there are 2 versions for the avacadoes, organic and non-organic.

Btw, i think its normal that our babies are alot more active during the day now. Kieran has not been sleeping much for the longest time. During my maternity, he could still sleep for a total of up to 3 hours a day, but ever since he was about 4 months, we are lucky if he gets 1.5 hours (usually power naps of 30min each time). He seems to get by with just 11-12 hours of sleep per 24 hours (think the recommended is 16-17 for babies this age?)</font>

Hi rlrenn, skinny pig,

also notice my little one's nap schedule has changed.
recently,he wake up around 10.30-11am in the morning, and 1st nap at 2pm (abt 1-1.30hrs) and sleep again at 6pm (30mins)
he used to nap twice in the afternoon and one in the evening.

noticed he is hooked by the Barney purple dino.. can sit and watch the program for 30mins...
is it fine for them to watch TV at this young age ?

Bigtoes (limay) : yes, i also heard that it is recommended for them to sleep 16hrs per 24hrs. She sleeps thru from 10pm til 7am now which i tik i shld be lucky enough le. Mayb i shld juz let her be coz after her 7am morning feed, she will nap for another 1hr til 9+. Then the rest of the day will be just power naps. But hor, poor mummy cant do alot of things if she is not napping. Im a SAHM doing freelance. hehe.. but still i hope to establish a napping time for her.

sometimes i really feel exhausted from all the housechores, work and taking care of baby.. sorry juz to vent abit. was too frustrated these few days and i tik i need a break!

yun (cutieyunyun) : i also let my gal watch tv. no choice leh. need to keep her occupied while i do my work. but i also limit to 30mins - 45mins per day.

<font color="0077aa">Limay: 70ml of babycubes each time + cereal (how many tablespoons) + milk = alot right?? I feed smallberry with 1oz vege + 5tablespoon cereals with about 110ml milk.... But recently I think due to teething, he is drinking lesser milk, most of the time cannot finish...

Smallberry weight went down about 200g, should I be concern?</font>

Storeberry, talking abt wasting milk, i think i wasted as much as what she has taken over the weekend. Don't know what's wrong with J. Just never want to finish her milk. Don't like porridge.. like don't need to eat. But she is alright this morning at my mum's place.

Banana, mummies don't feed too much banana, it will cause constipation and according to my MIL, babies cannot take the del monte's from the supermarket. Need to get those shorty banana from the markets.

Meanwhile, I tried to weight J in the airport on sat. she is 10.1kg!!!! No wonder my arms are aching badly.

Little E just poop...i attribute it to the papaya i fed him yesterday afternoon. Poor thing, i saw him struggling this morning as well. At lest now he won't look like he is struggling. Will let him rest a few days before i change FM to see how he reacts.

yup,little E also waste milk when he is teething. I see 2 little white ones that is in his lower jaw appearing. But now he is back to normal except for his constipation, which just cleared up.

Agree with Jaymickey - older folks say not to feed banana esp the del monte one. too "liang".

Medela agent

Hi mummies, anyone noe where's the medela agent in spore or their contact no?i heard it's at toh guan rd, bu not sure the exact add.
something wrong w my pump &amp; need to get some spare parts too.

i oso feed EJ with about 70ml of baby cubes plus 3 tbsp of baby cereal.. he used to be satisfied after the last mouth.. but now he seem to want more...

so perhaps will increase his baby cereal...

but i always mix 2 scoop of FM into his cereal so in effect he is still taking 150ml of milk each feed...

thankfully EJ hasn't experience constipation yet.. but i do make it a habit to go to the toilet with him in the morning after his early morning feed... so maybe he is used to poo-ing everyday...

<font color="aa00aa">rlrenn (rlrenn) - put ur daugther to bed earlier at nite? Kieran used to go to bed at 10pm+ as well, but we moved it fwd to 9pm for the nites that we aren't out late. He sleeps from 9pm-7am (plus/minus half hour), and naps about 30minX3 times during the day. At least have longer nite sleep to compensate?

storeberry (storeberry) - smallberry most prob lost weight cos he is alot more active now? Even K is getting less chubby (at least for his cheeks). On your qtn on how much cereal i add, its about 2-3 tablespoon per puree blending (which makes about 3 cubes) = so about 1 tablespoon per cube of 70ml. On top of the 3 cubes per day, he drinks about 700-800ml of BM as well.

Jaymickey (jaymickey) - wow 10+kg?? Btw, i have been feeding Kieran del monte puree with his avacado!! No constipation though. Isn't bananas suppose to help with bowel movements? He is still pooing 2-3 times a day (major doo doo type), but sometimes on alternate days.

li (piggi) - I went to the Medela repair centre at Toh Guan some months back.
ADDRESS:
J &amp; E Baby and Mothercare Products Pte Ltd No. 81 Toh Guan Road East # 03-01 Secom Centre Singapore 608606, Tel. 6562 3008
They will repair on the spot if its something simple. They also stock some baby items (i bought my freezable gel from them).

<font color="ff0000">HAENIM PLAY YARD:
Want to get 1.5 sets from Cheong Choon to make the space bigger &amp; accomodate a single bed mattress. Is any mommy here interested in sharing with me (3 sets between the 2 of us). Cost is $140 per set. PM me pls
Thanks!</font></font>

Eh... I'm not sure if i'm kiasu, but any mummies out there start planning &amp; thought of the location to hold your baby's 1st birthday? I seriously have no idea where to hold so was hoping some of you could give some suggestion. Time really flies... In another 5 months time, our little one will be a year old. I can still remember vividly on the day that i gave birth to my boy!

Ade, how about hort park?

bigtoes, u got pm! infact i just went cheong choon today. btw the playyard is oss till mid/end april.

luckily i bought one play pen instead of 2, mini miow can only tahan staying in the play pen for 20min before shouting out for attention.

<font size="+1"><font color="0077aa">any mummies can recommend which brand of walkers is good?</font></font>

Wow, seems like all our babies are thriving well with weaning! I've also started on threadfin fish porridge with R, she loves it!

Dunno if anyone has seen/share this thread, just wanna share with mummies here. It sends a srong reminder to us tt we must treasure our loved ones and count our blessings everyday with our healthy and happy babies...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/2194462.html?1186630110

I hugged R and cried after watching the photos on the mother's blog and the funeral video..

Hello LC, I've tried parsnips! Very difficult to find. The 1st time I tried, my boy refused to take. Even when I mixed it with carrot, he still refused to eat. 2nd time, I mixed it with sweet potato, and he takes it!

Can't remember which mummy trying to intro formula at this age who had been breastfed all the while.. Can let me know which forumla you tried? I'm thinking of whether I should switch to formula...

Jasmine- normally i will chop up the leaf
Baby K keep waking up to turn even at night

what should i do

by the way how do mummy out there train their baby to sleep thur the night. as mine stil wakes up 3-4 hrs for milk

<font color="aa00aa">Tinkerbell Lim (tinkerbell_lim) - i don't really keep track of his feeding times, but he consumes about 700+ml of milk per day and 3 baby cubes (70+ml each). The feed are spaced out at about 2-3 hours internal. And yes, he has his final feed at about 8.45pm (100ml), then goes to bed from 9pm-6+am.

He usually wakes up once of twice during the nite. Last nite was at 12+, then he slept all the way thru to 6.30am. Am not entirely sure if he wakes up from hunger, but i usually just nurse him to sleep (fastest way)! Have to stop somehow though, cos once he has teeth, it would start rotting! At this age, babies should be capable of sleeping through and not be woken up from hunger already.</font>

Jas,

I bought it at the baby fair last mth.. i threw away the packaging.. so really don't remember the brand of the float.. perhaps you can search for canopy swimming float

HI Bigtoes,

Thanks for your reply.
As I oso make it a point to let my boy sleep around 9pm but gotta dream feed him at 11pm or 12pm.

He is still waking up thou. Not sure why oso. He would normally eh... eh.. and keeps tossing and turning from 2am to 6am with his eyes CLOSED.. when we tried to feed him (milk) he will push away. sigh.. Both hub and me are so tired leh.. then he will continue to sleep peacefully from 6am onwards till 7 plus when its time for us to leave the house. Wondering what is the cause for the tossing and turning..

koras,

I am facing the same problem as you. My boy will keep tossing and turning from 2am to 6am.. sometimes feed his milk he is not interested.

I am currently weaning him. started 1 feed FM daily this week. Am so looking forward to stop my pumping session now.. (sounds bad I know.. but am a lazy mummy la)

Hello Tinkerbell, can I know which formula you've chosen? Do you use follow on formula (for 6 months &amp; above)?

And how is your child taking to the formula? Does he reject cos of different taste?

Koras,Tinkerbell
Me to facing the same problem these few days, my boy will toss n turn but not for milk.
Wondering is it he play too much during the day that cause him to restless.

Something not very right with him these two days, my boy not ibterested in his milk. He only drink est. abt 90ml per feeding normally he drank up till 180ml, quite worry.
Haizzzzzzz no ideal wat to do.
Anyone facing the same problem?

Kym
<font color="808080">Scarlett has a beautiful sweet smile =)</font>

Limay
<font color="808080">Cayden is very active too! He can't crawl yet, but he is running all over the house, touching EVERYTHING, shrieking at the same time in his walker! Sometimes chase him until I'm v tired lol</font>

Miow
<font color="808080">My boy is currently using Babylove.
Very durable and stable.
However, u will have to "install" sponge to prevent ur bb from hurting his/her tummy when he/she bumps too hard onto the wall/furniture.</font>
-----------------------------------------

Napping
<font color="808080">My boy doesn't nap long now too.

He naps about 3 times a day ranging from 30mins - 2.5 hours. Average is abt 45mins per nap.

If we are out, worse.
He will "kaypoh" until he's very very very tired...Nap time will be at most 30mins...</font>