(2008/09) Sep 2008

Storeberry/Jeraldin,
I dun intend to give potato, brocolli and asparagus till Alston is 8-10 mths cos i read on the internet that they are not suitable for our bb now.

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

Mamyvelle,
I bot the Braun blender which is rather good. It's quite nifty and doesn't splash /spill out.

Swimming suit :
I bot Liferacer swimming suit for Alston at OG yesterday. Wow....it was so crowded. It cost $29.30 after discount.

Any advice on where to buy the neck float ?

Stef,
Would love to join u gals, but too bad i'm working...hope to join u all next round

Jasmine, i think the philip blender can be sold in leading dept store.
For ULIKE, it is only available in CK TANGS and/or Isetan.

I got mine from Isetan and tried to puree it once.. ok leh.. si bei puree and sales promoter told me cannot let the engine run for too long cos beri fast speed something liddat.

And they got give a SOYA BEAN juice extractor lo. Quite fun.. bt haben try tat yet.

Millie

OG having sales now? THe swimming suit at $29.30 after discount is so cheap. yday i went tpy kiddy palace, it is still selling at $60.

i love the philip blender... very easy to wash.. nope it wouldn't spill out but then again the amount of food i use quite small coz i dun freeze the puree...

em.. i saw at robtinson as well but then the blender not entitled to member discount so i just got it from the courts near my place... same price everywhere...

i stopped the potate puree after i read about it on the net.. and i gave carrot to him today... he loves it.. think EJ is a greedy boy.. everything he oso like haha

<font color="aa00aa">Millie (millie22) - I was at OG yesterday as well (went in the late afternoon) - was so crowded, i wanted to turn around &amp; walk right out...but went specially to get a play mat for Kieran, so ended up staying for like 2 hours &amp; buying some stuff (1/2 hour of that was spent queuing at the cashier!)

BLENDER - My vote also goes to Braun.
I bought the $49 hand held version with just the basic blade, and it does all my blending in a jiffy. Less than a minute to puree carrots, sweet potatoes, peas etc...Also pretty easy to wash up.</font>

wowow wow!

so many questions and wishes! thanks mummies..

I wasn't BF anymore... I stopped after 2 months (due to insufficient milk and back to work. I went back to work straight after my bb full-mth), thus I guess it makes it easier to conceive ba..

i had 2 rounds of menses, then now. My LMP was 1st Feb. I missed 2 weeks of menses... Suspected...buy pregnancy kit...and wah la! LOLOL!

But well everyone at home was of course thrilled! My #1 boy gonna be 'ghor ghor' very soon...he 'promoted' very fast hor. haha.

I hope for a girl this time, of course. Would love to doll her up. My maid says place lots lots of baby girl photos... haha, I even already had a girl's name in mind now!

my due date will be in 8 Nov 2009.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Swimsuit</font>
I think the one Mamyvelle is getting is thermal wear isit? whereas the ones that are $20+ - $30+ are juz normal swim suits??

<font color="ff0000">Jeraldin</font>
the price for HT cereals not that cheap in the BP. I managed to get 15% discount the last time I ordered

<font color="ff0000">Lemon</font>
hehe... hope u get a gal this time</font>

rlrenn,
Yes OG was having members sale yest....some of the Liferacer thermal suit was selling $69 (still got further 20% discount). But i grabbed the one which is selling much cheaper ($29.30). OG are having 20% sale these few days. U can go and take a look.

Bigtoes,
I went there my aunt &amp; uncle (&amp; little alston) after work....wow it's so crowded and i only managed to return home at 11+pm. Today so bushed and tired that i keep dozing off at work.

<font color="0077aa">Yah, sasa thanks for helping us to get the cereals!

Millie: Shall read more on that, will prob introduce long beans tmr. Cos now like not much stuffs to puree liao..

Jeraldin: Wow, so delicated mummy!! I bought the cheapo carrefour brand blender today, only $24.90!! LOL!! Shall try it tmr!</font>

haha storeberry ... no lah..
i hope i can persist on.. coz was intending to ease my aunt's "workload" by making puree every morning and bringing it over to her place so she just need to warm that up to feed him during lunch and dinner will be cereal.. but well that's the "plan" whether will eventually crystalize..its another issue.. hahaha

sasa.. wat is the min amount of purchase before you get that 15% discount?? em.. was thinking dun stock up too much cereal since planning to move him to porridge when he is about 7 plus months.... eat cereal very "painful" on pocket hahaha but then cereal is definitely so much more convenient ...

Gathering @ Parkway Swensens on 23rd march monday:
1) stefseansharbabes
2) momoko
3) mamyvelle

hmm.. looks like the response is poor..

momoko, mamyvelle, wanna carry on with the gathering, or postpone it?

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Jeraldin</font>
Above $250 we get 15% discount. Of coz, 1 person alone very difficult to hit this amount de, unless u really buying ALOT ALOT. so usually what we do is org a mini bulk purchase lor.. so everyone enjoys this discount (which I did the last time)
I might be org another one pretty soon, coz my cereals are running low already. U might wanna ride on our orders

And i AgREE!!! Cereals burn a hole in my pocket. Max finishes 1 box every wk

<font color="ff0000">yun</font>
wah.... Jayden so cute leh</font>

kym

Can give me your blog for baby's food? I have it but it gone missing. =(

I bought a philip hand blender at wdl courts last night. $49. Shall try it on weekends.

<font color="aa00aa">Cereal - when are u mommies moving on from plain rice cereal to brown rice/barley/oats cereal? I have been stocking up on HT cereals (4 unopened packets), but not feeding these to Kieran yet cos apparently we have to wait till at least 7 months for brown rice/barley etc?

Kieran has 2 opened packets of Heinz organic rice cereal, and he is taking quite long to finish these though, cos i only use like 1-2 teaspoon per puree feed (2 feeds a day now). The rice cereal is so fine grained, it reminds me of drugs like cocaine!

yun (cutieyunyun) - Jayden is a cutie
I am bringing Kieran for a photo shoot with Sean Lau photography sometime soon as well!</font>

bigtoes, interested with Seal Lau photography as well.. please update me after that, would like to know their service and quality.

Jayden has move to porridge as well, my mum is very diligent to cook porridge for him while Iam a very very lazy mummy..hehehe

Bigtoes,

HT cereal, especially barley or brown rice cereal can be fed to babies above 6 months.
I am feeding my Baby K with brown rice cereal for breakfast and barley cereal during weekends.

Hi yun~ Jayden is sooo cute! Taking photos are more fun when they can sit ya? My mum have advised me that Little A is also graduating to porridge once she finishes her si shen brown rice cereal. The normal HT times cereal I have passed to my mum to help let A finish up as I cant use up 1 box within 30 days(my mum prepares 6 tablespoon of HT cereal for her)! Lazy mummy too.. hehe!!

Sasa, Max is super fast on HT Cereals! I haven open up the barley cereal for A yet.. NO TIME!!! hehe! No time even to feed the bottled purees! Must do it tml already ya!!!

do u grind the rice grain before cooking the porridge or blend using blender after cooking the porridge? **mummy dunno hw to cook porridge leh :p**

for porridge, get this "xin" rice grain from the provision shops in the market. Is for baby's porridge. very soft and small. don't have to blend it again... is abt $2.50 per kg

Thanks for using the baby food blog! I added some nicee and yummy porridge recipes already, can let baby try! Scarlett's tried all, and loves it!

For porridge, i use australian calrose rice.. nice and sticky!

Blackberry.. I had let my boy eat barley cereal since his 6months.. cereal at afternoon and porridge on evening.

Yan.. ya lor.. can sit more fun but still hav to see his mood..
Little J mood is like women reach menopause..

<font color="aa00aa">Porridge - actually, i was thinking of using the rice we are consuming at home. Wonder if it is okie? Not sure if mommies are familiar with it - its by this brand called "Green Max" and is basically just mixed grains - extremely yummy and more nutritious! Can find it in specialty stores and some Cold Storage outlets.</font>

wow haven't been following the thread for so long ever since i went back to work. finally have time to read. so many babies have started on cereals and purees! i am one lazy mummy who have not done anything except giving my ger the instant nestle rice cereal. :p

sasa, can i join the bulk purchase if you are organising one? intend to let my ger try the HT cereals after seeing so many good reviews from the sept mummies.

Lol Yun!! So farnie the way u describe his mood!!! But, they are still soooo young. Is like that one. Usually have to act like a clown to make A giggle. But she will definately smile at you if you have FOOD in ur hand, no need to act like a clown. Haha~!

lemon
CONGRATS!!!!!

Mummies, been reading that some of you are asking where to get calrose rice. What's that?? Never heard of it before.. Hehhehe.. ;p

yun- aiyo Jayden has grown so much..very proportionate.

Little e had his last dose of 5 in 1 and 2nd pneumococal jab today. Running fever now..sigh.

He is 7.5kg and 70.5cm. Underweight. Doc says he must be 8.8kg. So am told to give him cereal in the morning and lunch, then porridge at night. Am such a lazy mum, am gonna ask my parents to come to my rescue. where got time to cook.

Anyways doc says its normal the tbf babies are like that after 6 mths and they may reject formulae milk.

mummies (limay &amp; millie) using braun handheld blender , can let me know wad's the model no?

tired of hand to mash up the food... so tiring...

breadmum : hw old ur boy? my girl went for jab yesterday onli 6.4kg , 65cm 4 more days to 6mths.

Hi Mamyvelle,
Mine is Braun MR 4050 M HC blender, it costs $98. This one is stainless steel, so more ex.
There's another one which is $49 but is plastic.