(2008/09) Sep 2008

Maid's off day

Hi mummies, can i just chk those of u with maid who got off day, wat time u do u ask them to go out & come back on their off day?

Been so so busy with work lately, i hardly have time to visit this thread anymore... I miss my days of shopping from BPs.. hehheh.. ;p

CNY gathering
I can't attend at d last minute cos Lil Q was not at his best dat day..
I think his tummy doesnt feel too good, so he was throwing tantrums d whole day.. I still havent get used to going out wif just him n me alone, and to make matters worse, im a weekend mummy.. Don't consider myself a good mummy at all...

Sippy cups
Wah.. Some mummies are upgrading to sippy cups for their darls already.. So advanced.. My boy hasn't even started on solids yet.. He's still contented w his milk intake, so his babysitter says no need to rush to wean him as yet.

Bumbo seat
Mummies whose babies cannot fit the bumbo, or not using d bumbo anymore can sell to me cheap?? Think of getting it for my boy, but don't intend to buy a new one. My budget is around $30-40. Thanks!!

li (piggi): my maid requests to leave house at 7am on Sunday, and I request her to get back by 8pm, cos she needs to get ready the stuffs to bring to PILs place the next morning.

I woke up to open door for her cos I dun allow her to take my keys with her. I also came back by 8pm to wait for her. I don't want her to come back to my house to nap and do nothing (cos she is not paid for that day) if she has no where to hangout or dun wanna spend $.

How much do u hv to pay her if she doesn't hv day off? I always release my maid when I'm having dinner/lunch with friends. I just give her $5 to go and buy whatever she wants and go back to the restaurant after 1 hour.

hi, the drinking pattern of my baby gal has gone haywired for past few days... she has been drinking 150ml per 3-4hrly but since last Wednesday she has only been drinking 80-90ml per 3-hrly... dun tink she is teething yet... anyone has the problem??? she keeps pushing the bottle away...

Baby K is almost 10kg and cant seem to carry him long. Even carrying from the ground up seem difficult
How do u all manage to carry your baby

flos,
wow ur maid leave so early? my maid didn equest anything, i was thinking of 9am-9pm, at least can do some hsewk b4 she left.

if no off day got to pay $20 wor. wah u very kind leh still give $5 for her to spend. at most i'll just let her go walk walk but def no extra 'income' for her since i'm aldy payin her salary. hee sound bad of me?

li (piggi): If she is not paid for the day, she deserves to have her free time as early as 6 am!! Anyway, she did mop the entire house, except my bedroom before going off;)

Yeah, I again gave her $5 to make herself scarce when we were having our Vday lunch just now. Made her return in 40min...she 'makan' my $1, cos the Burger King receipt shows $3.85 and she only returned $0.15 change. She said she bought water, but I doubt you can find $1 water in Orchard. She probably got a cup of free ice water from BK or went to the toilet to drink tap water...lol.

mine must pay $30 if no day off. I must force her to take day off cos Iam not going to pay $30 for her to go shopping with us on Sunday. Imagine all three meals must eat with us and better still, get paid and no need to do housework the whole day!

my baby aso had been drinking lesser than her usual amt.. since she is nt teething yet, so my mum suggested to change the teat size cos baby has grown & the teat size hole mayb too small/slow for the baby & they will find it "tedious" to keep sucking & sucking.. thus they will give up in end..

nw.. my baby has gone back to her usual feeding amt..

haha koras... We share the same fate
I dun carry him often, usually just let him play and flip on the bumper mat, and he can play at there for quite a long time.

and I definitely will bring stroller If Iam going out with him, never carry him with sling or carrier (shoulder also can't tahan the weight)

hi any mummies bringing baby for swimming lessons when baby is 6 months?

any recommendations on schools? or just let baby splash around in water?

flos ,
your new maid can get off days already .. hmm .. mine only starting next month and i have not asked her which day .. hmm ..

Kym Kym ,
korea !!!! wow .. holidays again ?? Can Can... Pai Seh too .. keke .. how is the weather there ?

Momopanda ,
someone just post about swimming ....

momopanda

currently for our bbs age tink only marsden or aquaducks..have long waitlist for weekend classes though

oh i see, ok. i was thinking maybe we can organise a small group for private swimming lessons, like for mummies who stay around same area
i read on website that there are some schools that conduct swimming lessons for infants... its cheaper if we have more babies learning together...
just a thought.

chewyring: yep, her contract stipulates that she will get one day-off. she is an old bird here (4 yrs), so she knows her bearings very well...

Flos ,
ic .. no wonder.. i just ask her about the off day and she mentioned next month her bday so she wish to have her off on her birthday to go church ..

chewyring: better let her take cos they need sanity and privacy...mine has a sister in Tampines, so it's good to let the sisters meet.

li (piggi): one more thing to note - mine opened her bag to let me check before she left my house. u might wanna do likewise.

momopanda
ive checked out those schools too! they arent cheap, but it provides the convenience of the coach doing it in your preferred location!...

i did the calculation adn unless you have 6 kids in your class, it's actually more expensive than marsden or aquaducks. for 6bbs, it's the same px as marsden...think aquaducks cheaper though...

Flos, Li: Was pumping and read abt the maid conversation between 2 of you. Flos, why can't you leave your maid at home while you're out having lunch with friends or even on weekends? You can buy some maggi mee at home for her to cook for herself mah..

lil : oic, i will go check out aquaducks then. But i read on this thread that we have to be on waiting list! Maybe we can organise something on our own for east mummies then no need to wait... But I must wait till PD clear Baby E to swim first.. she got sensitive skin and PD advised us not to let her swim till after 6 months.

Chewy:

Ya! Holiday~ hehehe .. Korea is - 6 degrees today!! So superrr cold.. eating a lot of rice, kimchi, and bbq.. and not mentioning sleeping like a bear!! went to gyeongju-do (near the sea province of south korea) today and was walking like 5 hours outside against the blazing wind hahaha~~ teeth clattering!!

Going back to work:

*Sob* Starting work first thing on tuesday! *Sob~~* Apprehensive how I will be time managing.. and I am sure going to miss my little baby!! .. Must make it a point to read a story to her every evening.. feed her milk every morning and shower her before i leave for work.. bring her swimming every saturday.. ahhh.. i wish we had 36 hours a day!!

Aquaducks/ Marsden:

Count me in for the sept mummies swimming class if we can get 6 pax!

Maids / MIL looking after baby:

Can i get a show of hands, mummies who puts their babies in the care of their maids / MIL entirely? We are still in the midst of house reno, so have yet engage my nanny in.. looking at things.. probaby will be mid march before we can officially move... so this period will have to let my MIL/ maid take care of my girl =(((((...

Kym /momopanda - count me in for swimming lessons. believe we can engage a swimming instructor at my place. i can ask the instructors this coming sat.

Kym - i leave mine with my mum, but be prepared of differences in handling the kid. my hubby and my mum had their 1st tiff last week.

Momopanda, count me in if there is gonna be a private class for the east side babies

Kym, showering her, feeding her before u go to work, unless u have a flexible working hours, if not, is near impossible. I wake up at 7.30am these days, i can only manage to shower her and HB feed her milk before we have to rush out of the house. Sometimes J didn't even want to get out of bed, so only can feed her and leave the showering to my mum..

hi everyone, hope all is fine. mia as i was busy trying to adjust to work.

hi jaymickey, kymkym,
In order to feed bb, bath her,express before going to work and sterilse the bottles etc, I have to wakeup at 6 am daily and get hubby help...but we are often late for work

But it is really a great feeling to spend these little time with her, but feeling v tired due to lack of sleep.

As for maid/mil, can only let u know when my maid comes in during march..been putting her at nanny and so far quite ok except the logistics. All I can say is that once you leave bb in the care of others, really quite frustrating and need to "switch" off. At times, I can get so tired after a day work and cannot be bothered with little details.

Rabbit, totally agree, i am tired.. but that 5 - 10 mins of showering for her is fun and nice.. every morning when she sees me drove off, she also look like "where is mummy going? why never bring me?"

Sometimes i wish i have 48 hours and a longer weekend to spend with her..

Jackmickey: yes i agree 100% with you.

i know i can't be a full time mum, but many times i wish that i can have a job that allows me to spend more time with her. but the job market is quite bad at the moment so can't ask for more.
i always wish that i have more than 24 hours a day..there are so many things to do and so little time.

Rabbit, EXACTLY!!

But having to look after her over the weekend can exhaust me more than working life.. but i just like that kind of feeling with her by my side all the time..

Yes, this is how I feel too. Very exhausting over the weekend especially if you need to bring work home and yet like to have her by my side all the time. Why woman is like that? My hubby says we shd learn to let go as parenthood is a long process..

<font color="0077aa">Jaymickey &amp; rabbit: Yess!! I often wish I have more time to spend with my baby!! Its such a blessing when I look at him!</font>

actually for me its really hard.. we leave the house at 650am even without bathing baby.

And though she is awake from 530am, both hubby and I don't have the energy to play with her. We wake up at about 615am to prepare for work. So we bring her to in-laws, reach at about 720am and play with her for about 15-20min (which is very short) before we need to leave at 740am.

When we come back, it is usually near 8pm, which is near her sleeping time so I try not to play/ read books to stimulate her. Shrugs. By the time finish dinner/ wash up/ pack up/ travel home, we usually sleep near midnight...

What I do is I take my remaining 1 month of ML flexibly, once/ twice a week like today. So I play with her when she is awake and do work when she is sleeping. Also on weekends, we put her to sleep with us for naps and at night (usually she sleeps on her own). I also bath her on sat, sun and mondays.

My comfort is yesterday when strangers carried her she actually leaned to me wanting me to carry her instead.. at least still recognise me!

<font color="aa00aa">Lack of time with baby - Can definitely identify with the mommies here! Wish the weekends were longer..we leave baby K at my MILs during weekdays and pick him up at nite, and i miss him terribly when i am at work ...even now, when I have been back to work for more than a month already.

Think its especially fun now cos our babies are at the stage when they cry less, laugh more, and are alot more fun and interactive to be around (but very tiring).

spring.. envy that you can have tt kind of work arrangement which is not possible for me...

but i'll try to reach home by 7pm everyday so i can still play with him... feed him his last milk feed and wash him down before i put him to sleep...

we don't really bother much abt simulation before sleep time coz of the already limited time we have with him but thankfully he can still sleep very well even if he has been laughing and jumping alot just before he sleep...

can try taking him for a walk + breakfast on weekend... great bonding time for family....

Isn't it such a blessing when your little ones look you in the eyes (locked, nothing else matters) and smile....

it is difficult to play with bb as she is already v tired by the time we bring her back from nanny. She will get really cranky

BB still does not recognise me...really worried that she will not remember me when i come back from overseas business trips once I start to travel. It's a conflict trying to balance work and personal life.

We are also starting to bring her to botanic gardens every Sat/Sun for family bonding.

Unfortuately I stay in the West..but the swimming class looks really interesting.

Springz, i think they will know who is mummy cos hb left baby J on our bed and i was sitting on her mat doing stuffs.. then when i peep at her, she saw me she will smile at me.. and after which she will keep looking at the same direction hoping that i will look up at her and she will smile back.. so funny and cute..

I have so much to do, update this update that, do scrapbooking until i had to give up some of my sleep just to finish them all.

I havent even apply for her passport yet and i am going for a short getaway this weekend with my colleagues.. so baby J is gonna be with Daddy this weekend.. i am beginning to worry if he can cope without me around..

me too, i wake up at 5am in order to feed, bathe baby and ourselves. then by the time we do everything its 6.30am and we have to set off. Every morning, its really tough saying goodbye to baby whose face just say "you going off again, tonight i shall see you but when i get my feed since you come home so late"

then in the evening, when you pick baby up, its like wow - he has grown. Every evening, its just time to pat him to sleep. I really miss my ML days and am like springz, trying to take 1 or 2 days on and off ( 1 mth flexi ML) whenever my boss allows to just spend time with him.

Have not posted since i started work. Last nite, baby M has a slight fever 37.8 degree. so worried... feed him the medicine that the PD gave me last time and put on the cooling pad for him. Today he still having the mild fever...

i am at work now and very worried. He suppose to go for sixth month injection tomorrow, now i think i will still go to the PD for this fever instead...

Springz / Rabbit / Jeraldin / Bigtoes / etc et ...

I feel the same - totally. I am feeling like I have permanent jetlag - both tired and loss of memory!!! I look forward to weekends when I can carry him a little more and play with him but on the other hand, I no longer recover through the weekend - in fact I turn up at work feeling even more tired! We have naps when he naps.

Springz - do you still wake up in the middle of the night to pump? I don't know how you do it....

Bigtoes - I miss my boy too! Did you put a big picture of your boy at your desk?

Rabbit - hello ... I went for a 4 day trip to China 2 weeks ago. My boy didn't want to look at me at the beginning when I first reached home (it was late at night though) ... u need to brace urself and try to make it up by being more hands-on during the weekend. I don't know what's the right / wrong way ... but that's what I did. He's better now.....until my next trip that is!

Kymkym - can't nanny to go your IL's place? Also, where will swimming lessons be? I am interested too!!

Lanolin, I used to nap whenever she naps. but these days, her nap time is the only free time i have to do up her stuffs, so i just give up on napping.. I am feeling SO SO tired now..

i just called up kindermusik. i wanted to see what they have for a 6mths old baby.. right now, all their classes are with baby min 10mths old.. and they need 12 babies of the same age to start another class. so if u are interested, can probably give them a call and be on waitlist first.

Didn't post for a long time....

There is a baby swim class at The Pines and Laguna Country Club on weekdays by a female instructor. She charges $25 per lesson (45 mins), excluding guest fees and other charges at the clubs. Alternatively, she can go to your pool for lessons. My FB took lessons from her at about 8 months old 2 years back.

<font color="aa00aa">lanolin (lanolin) -heh, i don't have one but FIVE photos of baby K staring at me at my desk! I have a photo printer at home, so i intend to update and change these regularly cos they grow up so fast! Its amazing how scrawny and ugly he looked during his earlier days compared to now (though as parents, we never saw our kids as being ugly at that stage).

Baby toy rental - I have a good website to recommend if anyone is looking
- the company is called "Rent That Toy". I contacted them on Sat evening, and the lady came by to drop off the Jumperoo last evening. Very efficient!

breadmum (breadmum)- wow 5am! Thats is really early. I wake up at 6.30am, and even then, there are days that i cannot drag myself out of bed, and end up calling office to say I am working from home (if i have no meetings on that day).</font>

Bigtoes - ya. and i reach office by 7.30am cause my mum's place is in Jurong. I really feel tired as am also still expressing my milk as well, so am also up at night pumping.
But my body has gotten used to the timing already.

hi lanolin,

thanks for sharing with me. can understand how you feel. i always doze off anywhere and anytime..wake up often during nite n bb used to wakeup at 5 plus (these few days 6 plus).

the problem is my job requires frequent travel. hb says he will install webcam so that bb can see me when i am overseas. i wonder if it is going to help. All the mummies tell me that our bb will eventually be closer to mummy when they grow up.

i have my bb photo as my mobile phone wall paper so that i can always see her.

hi Jaymickey, i have the same problem as you.

Hi breadmum - 5am?!?!?!?! wow...how much sleep do you get per day? It must be tough on you!

Limay - I also thought that my D was cute but looking back at his photos, he was actually not so cute. HAHAHA.... I should get one of those photo printers. What brand do you have?

:D

Jaymickey - I take some Vit B to boost my energy. Wonder if I should take some essence of chicken when my energy is very low. Last week, I work till 11pm for 2 days and nearly peng san on Friday! I actually felt giddy!!!!

jojobar - did u feed him paracetomal? My boy is sick too ... given anti-bi but not sure if I want him to take it.

breadmum - u r so dedicated and very zhai!!!

rabbit - the travel part is not easy. Who is taking care of your baby?

lanolin - wat to do..SuperMummies - we all are. LOL.

Truly, am really sleep deprived, but because my little angel wakes up at that time and plays, so we are all kept awake, so hubby and i decided that since he is awake and refuses to drink milk nor sleep, we'll clean him up and set off early. Like hubby said, when you just look at him growing, you won't feel so tired afterall.

A&amp;A: hmm, dun really trust the maid alone at home I guess...besides, she can help us carry groceries, in addition to her core duties, i.e. to coax and feed baby!!

jojbar: mine went up to 37.4 but went down after my MIL fed him with lingyang...

breadmum: i'm also sleep deprived...I woke up like 5 times last nite...my bb is starting to flip when he is asleep. I cannot sleep well cos i need to check that he is not facing down. Anyone of your bbs sleeping on tummies automatically, even if u'd placed him on his back when u tuck him to bed?

lanolin: i'm so exhausted as well...my DH is going away for a week or two next week! I need to drop and pick up bb and maid daily, and worse I need to park the car at my DH's office, which is like one MRT stop away from my office, meaning I need to wake up earlier so that I can reach office on time! knackered!