(2008/09) Sep 2008

storeberry

tried your method..works wor...at least i get my 2nd side let down faster..normally have to keep on stimulating it till i doze off man..maybe i am doing it the wrong way..haha

storeberry,
i am using a hand-me-down blender but HB says its v old n dirty..so gg to buy a new one. Looking at Philips and Braun brand.
Bigtoes, which model did you buy? The $98 (stainless steel with smaller container) or the $89 (plastic handheld with bigger container)?

bacon&egg
I have not weaned baby D yet so have not tried defrosting the cube. I bought the $98 model.

I am trying to wean D off 100% direct latch (have been doing so since he was born) & did pumping this afternoon, 2 hours after a latch-on feed, only managed a pathetic 100ml! Let-down also very very slow. Decided to mix bottle feeding & direct latch-on even though I'm with D all day as I am afraid he'll be 'addicted' to my breast & refuse bottle in future.

<font color="0077aa">Angeline, I was very sceptical when I saw the posting! But yess.. it really works &amp; I am not so stressed up &amp; demoralised now. Menses is finishing soon, hopefully my supply will be up! Glad that it work for you!

Mei: Tried the twiddling method I posted! Let down is almost immediate!</font>

bacon&amp;eggs: I made my first batch of apple puree with the Braun blender ($98 model with metal) and defrost it today using the microwave. I read from a weaning book that it's ok to do so, just have to make sure that you stir the food after that and make sure the heat is not concentrated at one spot before you feed.

sasa &amp; storeberry: U-like is recommended if you need to buy spare parts cos the parts are easily available. I even thought of buying one just to blend fish/meat and use my Braun just for fruits and vegetables. But I realised that I dun have to buy spare parts now, cos for fruits and vege, just use the stick like metal blades and for meat/fish, can use the separate compartment blender attachment like the U-like blender. I think both are good enough for our needs. I even used my Braun to whisk my eggs for baking! Super good buy for the Braun cos I only paid $89 for the $98 model from Best Denki and used my points to redeem it, so end up paying less than $30. ;)

sarahmay: congrats! looks like your little boy will be sleeping thru soon!

Flu bug: I was down with the flu bug and then now GuniBoy and hubby also down with it! sigh ... I feel so bad cos I brought them misery! My heart ached when I saw GuniBoy having problems breathing at night and he spat out his pacifer cos he can't breathe properly.

<font color="aa00aa">bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - I got the basic Braun model - think it was $49. Best Denki only had that and the other version with the big plastic container which looked quite cumbersome. That came with the whisk and bigger blade for meat which I didn't think I would use, so I ended up with the $49 model with just one blade for pureeing fruits and root veggies.

GuniBabe (gunibabe) - baby K is also having a slight flu. It was watery initially but has since dried up to the sticky type :p Brought him to the Dr but haven't been feeding him the drowsy medication or using the nasal drops. He doesn't seem too bothered by it though.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Xuanting: Haha!! Not excatly kiap the nipple, just gently press / tap the nipple with your palms. And use your palm to tap in clockwise / anti clockwise directions. Sorry, am I confusing you further?</font>

storeberry, sorry, i still mong-char-char... use both palms? how come cannot tap with fingers?

lc, thanks, think i will try the cloves then. i quite like the smell of cloves also.
as for those sticky traps, ya lor, i dun have the guts to dispose also. these few days saw a few in my place, so fed up.

xuanting: well, i like patting once in a while but not after every meal...can't die! agree i feel very motherly when i pat and sing to him:p

lilboymom: mine is also a high need bb. if we dun pat or rock, he will cry the whole house down...I patted him to sleep at my ILs place and carried him in my arms on the way home in the car! my arm hurts!

sarahmay: i forgot what abt the kidneys...maybe u can google to find out more? maybe under 6 mths kidneys cannot process the sodium found in semi-solids adequately?

mei: how is d taking to the bottle? i also want to try to train e to take from the bottle. thus far, he has always rejected the bottle when my dad or hubs tries to feed him. but am concerned that e will not take from the bottle in future, n be addicted to my breasts! how?

gunibabe: hope both of u recover soon! hugs.

STUFFY NOSES: i found this all natural nasal spray that i use w e and i find it really works. no preservatives but can last cos of this special canister device. it's called STERIMAR available from most pharmacies. adults can also use it. i tried it and it was shiok! anw, those bb sleeping in a/c rooms or travelling to cold countries will find this useful.

PUMPING: i haven't pumped in more than a month! have no idea how much i'm yielding or what e is drinking.

LOUDER BB VOICES: Are your bbs' voices getting louder? mine can really squeal!

LET-DOWN: I get this tingling/pulling sensation rather often. When pumping amd not experieincing let-down, do you think it may be due to the pump mouth(? is that what it's called?) touching the breasts? I tried medela pump and didn't get let-down as easily as Avent. I find that the Avent Isis petals on the pump mouth helps massage my breasts, and perhaps contributes to the fast let-down.

<font color="0077aa">Xuanting, tap with fingers cannot achieve the same effect. Palms are better as it mimic baby's suckling. You know like baby's mouth en-cupping the nipple. As what the mummy posted in another forum, she thot twiddling is using fingers but cannot achieve the letdown at all. Why not you try it tmr?

Let-down: Sarah, my letdown is fast only when latching on. Pumping is super slow...</font>

Sarah
I waited till D was really hungry then I gave him the bottle. It contained 125ml of milk &amp; he finished only 95ml. Like you, I also don't know how much he has been drinking all the while as I latch him on direct so not sure if this is his usual amount or that he doesn't want to drink anymore from the bottle. But he didn't fuss after that so I guess it's fine.

Actually I am so lazy to pump since I am with D 24/7 but my mum told me I better bottle feed him at times in case he doesn't want anything but my breast then I'll be in trouble, especially when he gets older. I thought about it &amp; went to read up online &amp; realised that some babies who are 15months want nothing but mummy's breast &amp; it's hard to wean them off at that stage.

I suggest you introduce the bottle to E slowly, perhaps one feed a day &amp; buy those bottles with teats that mimic mummy's nipple so the transition is easier for him. I'm using NUK.

Millie: I got that last year, before Christmas period so there was a promo price I think.

Mei: yes, better train D to drink from bottle now. Told you the horror story about my niece right? now already 26mths old and still wants to suckle to sleep! can die manx!!! pei fu my SIL!

Bigtoes: I think the parents/grandparents are the ones who're bothered about the blocked nose. hehe ... the worse part is my boy refused to let us clean his dried up mucus! he'll smack our hands away and turn his head super fast!!

SarahMay: my boy's crying and scream has always been darn loud to me since day 1! so no diff to me! haha

sarahmay : I have been getting baby E to take the bottle lately cos going back to work... it has not been very successful. I fully latched her on for about 3 weeks recently and she got hooked!! I have tried NUK latex and pigeon so far... not too successful too. My advice is try to feed baby with the bottle once in a while so that they can get used to it. If not can also transition to cup feeding directly when they are older instead of bottle then wean to cup.

Hi Mummies:

<font color="0000ff">BabyCare Festival 2009</font>
S'pore Expo Hall 6B
27 Feb - 1 Mar 2009
Fri &amp; Sat - 11am - 9pm
Sun - 11am - 8pm

Hi, Jasmine

Have you gone for the Babycare? Is it good? Me on leave tomorrow so tot of going to avoid my hubby who will be at home cos he is on night shift.. We have a silent tiff last night
It might be my menses causing me to be irritable..

Recently my ger doesn't really want to drink milk. Her used intake is 150ml for every 3 hrs, now she hardly drink finsih her milk.
Like Yesterday:
1st feeding - 08.30am - 120ml
2nd feeding - 12.00pm - 150ml
3rd feeding - 03.10pm - 70ml
4th feeding - 07.00pm - 70ml
5th feeding - 08.30pm - 70ml
6th feeding - 10.30pm - 150ml

all the way til this morning, 7.30am - she drank 70ml then abt half an hour later she drank another 50ml. I haven't started giving her any ceral yet. is there anything wrong with her.
she seem ok, cos she still know how to play with us.
Anyone can advise me?

Jasmine,

How old is your girl now? Is she teething?

My boy who's 5 mths 2 weeks old is starting to teeth now, and there's a drastic drop in his milk intake too.
Used to drink 240ml every 4 hours. Now the max is only 100ml or 120ml at times.

lc, hope u'll make up soon. *hugs*

jasmine, mine has been like that too. usu drinks at least 150ml but lately, it's been v difficult to get her to finish the 150ml. dunno why either, but i'm guessing it might have something to do with teething? as mine is already on the skinny side, i just insisted on making her finish her milk, which she sometimes oblige.

gunibb, is guniboy feeling better today?

sarahmay, mine likes to squeal like a pig too! i think she likes the sound of it so keeps doing it for fun.

<font color="aa00aa">SarahMay (sarahmay) - yes, baby K does that too. He likes to 'talk' at the top of his voice, and make really shrill squeals. I won't be surprised if he loses his voice one day!

Jasmine Yeo (jasyeo80)- is she drolling more than usual? Or kinda flinches and squirms when you put the bottle into her mouth? Like skinny pig (skinny_pig) mentioned, maybe she is indeed teething and her gums are sore?

Baby feeding set - I didn't manage to find the Pigeon one. Ended up buying a set of 5 BPA-free bowls from Munchkins, and another 10 spoons set with the heat indicator.

SIPPY CUPS - I asked this sometime back on sippy cups. Are any mommies getting this for their babies (to transition from bottles to cups with straws) - mainly for water/diluted juices when they are older?</font>

Skinny_pig / :Bigtoes / xuanting:

she is 5mths n 3 days.

didn't really take notice of her drooling. Before that she already drooling like nobody biz.
she won't fuss abt it, she just bite on the treat but not drinking it. let the milk flow out from her mouth, this casues her neck with milk rashes.

Actually how many month does bb start teething?

Jasmine Yeo, mine is like that now too! but more fierce, she will hit the bottle, push it etc etc.. until it get "fly" away, then she is okie, stuff it into her mouth, she will make noise again.. i don't think mine is teething..

Jasmine,

Most bb start teething around 4mth plus.. So I think she could be teething

Jaymickey,
Yeah!!! My boy will push the bottle of his mouth and hit it. Sometimes if I don hold the bottle tight enough, it will drop on the ground when he pushes away..

bigtoes: i nearly bought the 10 colourful munchkin spoons too. think i'll get the nuby ones after miniflos is used to the Pigeon weaning spoon first. the curve of the munchkin spoons doesnt seem very 'ergonomic' for the 6-mth-old bb's palate, why do u think? they are kinda wide i feel...

hi jaymickey / skinny_pig / Jasmine

bb M oso like tat... he will hold the bottle.. but he dun 1 liao.. he will PUSH it away! and he will put watever he has into his mouth &amp; "bite". if not.. sometimes i carry him upright.. he will "bite" my shoulder until my t-shirt is wet...

Bigtoes: I got GuniBoy a non-spill sippy cup from Nuby so that he gets used to drinking water from it after I feed him cereals or purees. So far, he can drink from it and would hold the 2 side handles but most of the time he prefers to bite the teat! I think the sippy cup is useful to help train them to drink on their own.

GuniBoy lost his voice from crying and screaming at the top of his voice before! very funnie, cos when he was crying, no sound came out and he got a shock on his face when that happens!

xuanting: poor GuniBoy didnt get better ... he suffered diarrhea for 3 times last night and another time this morning so we brought him to the GP again and found out he kena stomach flu! Poor baby! No wonder he refused to drink milk lah! but very thankful he's still so guai, no crankiness, just very stoned! haha ... in fact, hubby was commenting that he kinda prefers the stone boy cos he's like easier to take care of him! haha ... daddy so evil hor. I kept waking up to check on him and see if he poo again etc. End up I feel so tired today and took time off work and work from home. But have to care for my sick son and hubby (caught the flu bug from me)

Jasmine: I think you gal may be teething, but her milk intake is not a drastic drop. When my boy was teething, his milk intake dropped from 150ml every 3 hours to as little as 20ml to 80ml.

<font color="0077aa">Gunibabe: Hope Guniboy is ok now!! Yah, usually mummy will be so tired cos we are the main caregiver to our precious!

I wanted to buy the sippy cup from Nuby last time but OOS. This shall be in my shopping list!

Flos: I have the munchkins spoons. someone gave me hers. I feel its ok for smallberry.

Gunibabe - Mini D had diarrhoea as well for 2 days after the cruise trip we did and the doc prescribed something to "harden" his stools. I fed him twice and it worked!!
I sure hope he feels better soon!

hello everyone!!!

I don't know how you all cope ... I don't seem to find time to log on any more....and I'm always tired these days!

DECREASE IN MILK INTAKE:
Alston is also drinking lesser these days, and sometimes he dun even cry for milk in the day and I have to give him the milk. Even then, he's not interested

MILK SUPPLY
I'm staying at home to take care of Alston these 2 weeks as caregiver is out of town. I realised my MS can't even yield 20ml though i've not latched on or pumped for 3-4 hrs
Very stressed and worried now.

gunibb, did doc say how long it's supposed to last? poor boy, i hope he gets well soon!

i actually got myself a sippy cup during my last trimester, just to re-live my toddler days of drinking in bed. haven't used it in a while but now that u guys mentioned it... :p

lanolin
Yes, I know about the Tommee Tippee bottles but it's ok as D takes to the NUK one well.

I got the Mag Mag cup for D, tried it on him &amp; he seems to enjoy gnawing on it more than drinking from it! Haha..

D's two bottom front teeth as well as the ones on the side are sprouting, can see the white bits on his gums.

Millie: my ger don really cry for milk too. sometime she slept through her feeding, we have to wake up to feed her.

when we feed her, she will pat the milk bottle, turn the bottle, sometime she will push the bottle away.

will go n check with her gums, see whether is she teething.

This few days, she having flu n cough, so when i fed her med, she guai gaui take it, but today maybe she find mummy lied to her, y i take so many days of med, i still haven't recover. so this morning when fed her, she vomit her milk out. Later in the night I fed her med again. she did fuss a bit this time. finally mamage to feed her the med, she vomit all her milk out.

Mei: I'm also eyeing on the Mag Mag cup but thing is SIL is also using that, so scared my son's Mag Mag will be mixed up with her Mag Mag.

Gunibaby: I might get the Nuby sippy cup too. The colours are really attractive.

storeberry: OIC...I like the Pigeon weaning spoons for cereal and juices. I also like the colourful Nuby spoons :p Avent ones are boring.

Yeah! I just got my Peg Perego high chair...sigh, it's not the design I wanted but cos no baby store in SG has ordered the 2009 collection yet, due to the economic slowdown and drop in consumer demand...nevermind, I can't wait for the 2009 collection liao... Will try to fix the wheels this Sat so that I can start feeding the cereal to miniflos...

jasmine

mine oso..today abit out of her usual 120ml..each time only finish 80ml roughly..haiz...hope she get back to her usual self soon..her gum still got no whitish yet though.

jasmine, baby E also drinks not much from the bottle. She woke up a few times for the past two nights... Think that is due to teething too!

jaymickey, is the pigeon weaning set good?

oh... teething will result in lower milk intake ah?

Initially EJ is still ok.. but then.. these past few days.. he only take in 120ml for the morning and nite feed... which is lesser than his 150ml per 4 hourly interval...

and he oso will vomit some of his milk out more often le.... but i have been giving him ridwind on his morning and nite feed....

will teething result in "wind" in the tummy???

Momopanda, i think the weaning set is good, many functions if you need them and the bowl is just abt the right size for their meals.

GuniBabe, i am not sure if J is teething cos apart from a red looking swelling gum, she doesn't have other signs like diahorrea etc. So i shall monitor and see. Cos yesterday, she didn't even want her cereal.. swept the whole bowl onto the floor from the high chair..

Jeraldin, why did you give ridwind day &amp; night? I thought usually is better to give in the 1st feed after shower?

Mei/Gunibb/bigtoes,
I warm the puree straight out from the foodcube, using pigeon food warmer. The water in the warmer always ended up spilling...wonder if i use it in the correct way? Add water into the warmer and place the container in it to warm...anyone has a pigeon foodwarmer to advise?

Sippycups
When do we introduce this? I am introducing 2 solid meals to baconboy now..do i end the meal with water from sippycup?

Hi everyone, are there any infant care centers that provide emergency care? I plan to leave my baby with my MIL when I return to work but there will be occasions where she won't be able to look after my baby. Appreciate any advice, thank you!

It is friday today ... how time flies ...

Flos ,
label the Mag cup lor ...

Peonies,
u can try to ask the infant care centre themselves .. maybe they have ...

mummies i dun give sippy cup to zac till he is one year old ... haha .. he still prefer to drink like us adult .. those open cups .

mummies feeding formula milk,
what brand do you recommend? i want to start my girl on formula gradually. from TBM to PBM+PFM to TFM.
She is 5 months 10days. so should i get the stage 1 or stage2? stage2 is for 6months onwards. but is it ok to keep changing?
puzzled ....

Hi Ladies, how do you keep your bottles after sterilizing them? I bought a bottle drying rack but it seems to defeat the purpose of sterilizing the bottles when I'm leaving them on the rack after that..

peonies
wont it be cheaper to get a nanny paid on the daily basis?coz most CC would want you to put deposit and then pay lumpsums i think...just get a nanny near your place for standby loh...