(2008/09) Sep 2008

Angeline, yupz I was at the gathering.. came with my hubby and my spongebob baby... your girl really cute, think she was trying to make friends with Sri Leo's niece...

Springz.. what were you wearing? see whether I can recall...

Jaymickey, thanks for opening up your place for the gathering.. really so big.. i'm so envious!!

Btw, just want to ask.. who are the three ladies that I was talking to outside.. one is a malaysian.. one was carrying her daughter in a sling and I was saying that when I put my son in the sling his head looks very uncomfortable and the other lady has a MIM sling and I was asking how to use it... have sort of forgotten their nicks..

Mamyvelle.. i'm using the old type of pampers.. its in an orange packaging.. cheap and good..

sasa, is it too late for me to order the HT?

flos: thanks for these helpful tips. i think i m not tt kiasu so will wait for when e turns 6 mths. hehe.

gunibabe: dunno if u might have repiled to my previous q...but which webby did you order california baby from?

crayonshin: eh, your little sumo quite the flirt eh? the last time held sunray's princess...now little s? tsk tsk...who next? reminds me or georgie porgie! hehehe.

springz: glad to hear the engorgement is off and i hope it stays away. i kena fever before due to engorgement so i empathise!

wow! you mummies and babies sure had fun at the CNY gathering. i'm sooooo envious! okie gotta go cos now being a SAHM without family support is proving rather challenging. hardly have time to breathe!

Sarah yes.. praise God no pain leow! Still managing abt 150ml every 3 hrs but I'm cabbaging and draging the interval to 4 hrs..

Hi Cloud - er I was wearing a black T with grey wide leg skirt-like pants...

just went to buy diapers.. bought Fiti to try out
for price conscious.. Fiti costs $14 for 44 pcs whereas Pet Pet is $13 for 70 pcs.. Have not tried Fiti yet but so far i'm v pleased with Pet Pet
Oh tried on sample Huggies Comfort too but don't like the high cut.. I admit the Huggies Ultra is nice though more pricey...

<font color="0077aa">Springz: That time fitti had discount so I faster grab! Only $10! I used it for nighttime only, day time is petpet also! Cheap &amp; good!

Mei: I also excited in preparing mallberr's food but not sure I can handle or not cos now with cereal also like no time! Gosh!

Sarah: You are back in Macau? Take heart that you have lil e with you &amp; can spend time in his growing up! I really wish to be with smallberry more often!</font>

$10!! should have bought then! I use Pampers at night.. got quite a few packs (listed it as a present during lil S' one month shower haha)

storeberry: yes back since last wed. sniff sniff. i pray i will grow to like macau...i rather detest it right now. i feel super boring as a person and a mum.

fitti: my boy pees a whole lot during the night that fitti doesn't seem to last thru the night for him. either that or he has a sensitive bottom...must have diaper change one. a bit wet also cannot...except when he is super tired. hahaha.

goo.n: i think this is rather good but of cos i tried it when he was much smaller, and prob peeing less.

meie: yah, i need to test the tools out this weekend, boy! btw, i bought another 3-pc sleepsuit from Mothercare!!

sarahmay: miniflos only flipped on the third day of CNY, so his neck isn't that strong yet. wonder if i shd test out the brown cereal?

cloud, why do u say it's 'the old type of pampers'? will it be phased out soon?
ade: were u the one who wanted to pass me the ntuc diaper? i went to Parkway Parade Giant ytd and saw that they too have their own housebrand! how apt! Giant Diapers...for little men! anyway, my hubs refused to try out any other brand apart from Pampers.

Bb getting spoilt - i notice my son is becoming very spoilt. won't sleep unless we pat/rock/cuddle/stroke/serenade to him...urggggh...all becos of MIL and maid!! I had a tough time rocking him to bed from 7pm till 1030pm last nite
The minute i placed him on the bed, he flipped over onto his tumtum and cried!!

flos: my little e has been able to roll over both ways...BUT BUT BUT he has moods. so far, he hasn't rolled from tummy to back for a week when the week before he was doing it ALL the time. wonder why. u know, i thought we only shd start semi-solids when they can sit up. i don't think my e can sit up without support yet, so not sure if i shd feed semi-solids. did your PD say? i forgot to ask my PD and she didn't say either.

BB GETTING SPOILT: in books , they say that by 4 mths can start trying to remove sleeping props bbs have e.g. rocking, nursing to sleep etc. maybe can start training? tell ur MIL and maid what you would like la.i put my foot down on rocking to sleep as well as patting so my parents as well as hubby know what to do if they are helping do the tucking into bed thing. happens rarely, but when they are at home and hear bb bawling or fussing during sleep, they know not to go near bb to carry or pat or rock. hehe.

Skinny Pig,

re: teething and drinking lesser milk
My boy started to have some white trace of teething once he turned 4 months. Now 5 months 1 week, the white trace is only slightly more obvious. And he started drinking lesser milk since the 4th month. I nurse him, so don't know how much he drinks, but think he's drinking lesser than the norm. For the past month,he's drinking lesser, he didn't put on weight!!!

I'm really worried. PD said she's going to review his weight again in a week's time. If still don't gain weight, then have to start semi-solids.

Other than expressing out milk in the 1st month, I've been nursing him direct, so don't know much he drinks. Yesterday, I wanted to express to bottle feed him. Anyway, he refused to drink much from the bottle, and looked for my breast. Also, there wasn't much milk flowing while expressing, though I know there's milk in my breast, so I ended up nursing him. Worrying....

Any mummy experiencing this as well?

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Cloud</font>
Sent you a PM le

<font color="ff0000">Jo (jgwee)</font>, <font color="aa00aa">Storeberry</font> &amp; <font color="119911">Miow</font>
Kindly check your email k. Still awaiting your replies. Thanks</font>

hi all - those whose pictures not in my album, i will not add you hor. cause there has been an outcry of intrusion of privacy especially those who did not make it but want to see pictures.

Seek your understanding and respect for the other mummies.

mamyvelle

can try petpet..i find it not bad.

cloud

haha..at 1 point i scare they will fight coz sri's niece wore her shoe..she v possessive now over her toys..cannot share..depends on her moods oso.

flos

i am the 1 who wanted to give u try the ntuc diapers..hehe

starting on cereals: any mommies experienced baby constant awakenings in the nite at the initial stage of cereal feeding? I juz started on cereals recently but have not cut back on milk intake at all. in fact milk consumption has increase becos i add milk to the cereal, and my baby is now waking up every 1.5 to 2 hours at nite. I dunno if it's becos of the cereal or if it's growth spurt or watever reason.. i'm totally exhausted! I read somewhere tt sometimes the babies can't digest the new food properly esp brown rice.

hi angeline, u using NTUC diaper? how often do u change the diaper? cos i tried using it but my baby ended up with abit of rash. so now i put thick layer of diaper cream &amp; change evry 2 hours. will prob try pet pet next.. pity thou cos i like the NTUC cutting, no marks on the thighs at all..

hi mummies who went to the gathering,

i had uploaded the pics that HB took to my FB. check them out

cupcakes: don't know why i can't add u on FB. i had send u an email. please add me instead k..

angeline: oic!

sarahmay: my PD didn't ask if miniflow could flip or sit upright yet cos he was examined lying on his back inside his clinic. he just gave me the 'LOOK' - "huh? u mean u wanna wean now? OK, I'll tell u more about weaning then :p"

I did tell my MIL not to pat/rock but she likes to snap back at us, "u wanna take over? your son cried and cried so loudly that only by patting would he fall asleep. Dun believe u take over lah!" Well, there is some element of truth in what she says...we had a hard time making him sleep on weekends...not sure if it's cos of the patting, or the inability of sleeping that result in his inconsolable crying...chicken &amp; egg question

cloud ... erm i think u mean me ar? i'm the 1 carrying the black $ white sling.

u came alone with ur girl in the peg pergo stroller rite?

Sarah
It's best to start weaning at 6 months.. after 6 months, baby's iron stores are depleted &amp; we need to give them iron rich/fortified foods. So long as baby can sit up with support, it's ok, no need to sit on their own.

momopanda,
i was trying hard to recall where i seen u before! finally remember that we delivered abt the same time at Mount E. i was in the same lactation class with you! and i think the bathing class.

my girl was born on 3 Sep. its you right?

flos/sarah: i pat mine to sleep cos it really helps her doze off more easily and i also kind of like doing it (feels very motherly la). besides dependency on patting, will it encourage any other negative habits?

digressing a bit:
does anyone know of a surefire way to get rid of lizards? not those sticker-type traps hor, i don't even dare to go hear them!

Flos.. actually I mean Pampers Comfort (orange packaging)..

Angeline, yah I was outside when Sri's niece put on your girl's crocs.. your girl was telling people that she was wearing her shoes.. so funny!
I've always wanted to buy the ntuc diaper.. i like the packaging.. is it good?

mamyvelle.. yes, that's me... do you know who was the other lady.. the one that was carrying a boy, she said that she's a malaysian..

green baby.. ah.. you're the one that weighs only 48kg now.. so envious!

<font color="0077aa">Momopanda, you were there? What were you wearing? I didn't see you!

Greenbaby, I find you very familar after I went home.. Wonder where I have met you before!</font>

mei: i don't think i will delay weaning past 6 mths. just that not intending to start early like now. hehe. i know abt the iron depletion etc. actually i m concerned abt e's weight. doesn't seem as chubby as before.

flos: what do u mean abt the kidneys? sorry me blur.

xuanting: it's the dependency thing. i don't fancy being stuck by his cot several months down still patting. hehe. but personal preference la. if u like it, then by all means go ahead and pat. i rber my mum patting me to sleep when i was in primary sch. hehehe. i started letting e put himself to sleep. he cries like for 5 mins and then sleeps. but must put him down at the right moment i.e. when he is really sleepy.

sleep report: last nite, e slept for two solid blocks thru the nite! 8 pm - 1am , milke for ten mins, then cried for 5 mins, slept till 5.40am, milk. cried for 5 mins and slept from 6am to 9.15am!!!! i hope this signals the start of him sleeping thru more regularly!!! me was so happy, i spent the nite updating my ipod!

FLos
eh i used to pat and rock CY(my fb) to sleep. coz he was a very whinny and high need bb....eh, now at 2 years old, he still needs me to be beside him when he sleeps...

mummies who attended the gathering...
o dear, think we all couldnt figure out whos who!!!

ok im the one with the green/black ergo and another toddler boy in tow...he's the skinny nearly botak boy walking around asking for cakes...

greenbb
o you were the one whos comparing CH's thighs to your daughter's!!!!!

cloud : i was the one with the mim sling!

storeberry : i was wearing a red top with black culottes

green_baby : yes! i remember you now that you mentioned! I was also wondering why you looked so familiar...

lilboymum, are u tall and have braces on too? if yes, then i've missed the chance to admire pretty lil ch in person! i only saw you (if it was you) with the boy toddler – just didn't occur to me that it might be cy!

i was in a green dress with a screaming, wriggly baby in long-sleeved romper and a tall, skinny husband, sitting away from the crowd most times cos my cranky bb was making others cry too! i also wasn't sure who was who, and i think lots of mommies whom i'd met in person/via fb weren't sure who i was too. many of us had our hair cut/coloured/rebonded for cny la, so look quite different. i almost couldn't recognise bbfam!

sarah, congrats! hope e will sleep through again tonight!

hey mommies...
nice talk to alot of you during last weekend gathering... just FYI.. I was wearing red top with jean... same colour code for my hubby and baby! hahaha

haven't got time to log in to forum that often now... super busy with work during office hour coz now i try not to work at home.. so got to try and finish all the stuff... stress~~~

Teething
EJ's first tooth has already cut out from the gum... can feel the sharpness of the tooth actually... and can see the gum next to the teeth is abit swollen and hard.. think will be coming out soon too... My mommy say EJ is like me... start teething around 4 months plus... super fast..

Teething with less milk..
actually i don't realise the difference le... EJ is still drinking 150ml every 3 to 4 hourly depending on whether he sleeps or not... most of the time when he dun sleep... 3 hours will ask for milk le... but total number of feeding per day is 5 times... so work out to be abt 750ml per day...

hey Flos.. we go to the same PD... Ang Poon Liat is a very very experienced PD.. my brother was seeing him since baby up till 17 years old.. and my brother is such a "regular" that the PD can still recognise my dad and grandma when I bought EJ to see him for the 1st time lor...

Actually i think coz you ask abt weaning so he tell you... coz the last time i went to see him.. he asked if EJ still like his milk... and that if he still like.. we can wait till 6 months then start introduing solid food...

Going to bring EJ for his 2nd Penuco jab next sat... wonder how heavy he will be...
i was guessing.. at most only 7kg.. coz he jump so much that we think he used up all his energy lor.. no more to put on weight le.. haha

Jaymickey.. now you see my boy's jumping power ah! haha steady hor... my muscles are coming out liao lor

Flos,
Did you get the spring collection rompers from Mothercare? Saw them last Sat...so cute! Very tempted to buy but resisted..

Mei,
I love those foodcubes...v handy..initially i thot its tough to pop them out of the cube when freezed...turn out to be quite easy. How do you warm up the freezed puree? I am using pigeon food warmer but find it a bit slow to warm up...

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Springz</font>
U've got an email

<font color="ff0000">blender</font>
Has anyone gotten blenders? I was thinking of investing in one since I intend to do my own puree. Oh ya.. den gotta get those baby cubes too. Any recommendations for blenders? My fren suggested the U-like one. Anyone using it? Any comments on it?

What about the Braun one??</font>

cloud,
because i m short. so 48kg is average. all of u r taller mah

storberry,
yah i also find you familiar ... but just cant recall ... memory getting bad ...

lilboymum
yup. my short girl got fat tights! hahah will teach her how to diet next time ...

my girl is down with fever, cough n flu ... be careful mommies. think the bug is spreading ..

xuanting
eh, im the one with braces yes, but im not really tall leh. with the toddler and CH sleeping...haha..she's not very pretty nowadays, but she is still my lil sausage bun lah...kakaka...

<font color="0077aa">Momopanda, guess there were too many people, I cannot recalled!

greenbaby: Yah lo.. we should talk more then we can remember..hmm...

Sasa: Little gastro recommend u-like blender also &amp; think its cheaper than braun one?

Mummies, I have an existing blender than my mum use to blend stuffs but not using it anymore. SHould I invest in another blender or can use the existing one?

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum): CH is still as sweet &amp; pretty as ever!! I love the big cute eyes!!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Mummies, I realised some mummies are facing a slow letdown problem, me included. Think my let down never come at all when I pump! Below is what I have cut &amp; paste from another forum. Very useful tips!

<font size="-1">"First of all, I think the twiddling should replicate sensation of baby suckling, since that is the main difference btw funnel and baby. While the baby encase the nipple with his tongue and palate, we consciously avoid contact of the funnel with our nipples (imagine the friction and the pain!). This is what I did wrong at first, I thought twiddling means using the thumb and fingers on top and below the nipple to twiddle. That didnt work for me at all. What I discover is that you should use your palms facing your chest and gently tap the tips of the nipples in circular manner(this is impt for me to get the letdown sensation).

So here are my steps:-
- Pump as per normal
- After first letdown and flow stops or trickles, stop pumping
- massage breast and then twiddle the nipples at least 10-15 times
- Pump again == > instant letdown
- Can repeat for more letdowns"</font>

For me, my 1st letdown is very slow &amp; not sure whether it will come or not so after pumping for 15mins, I will do the twiddling method. I will gentle-ly tap my nipple with both my palms in circular manner &amp; tap about 70times each. Almost instantly or few seconds later the letdown will come! Try it!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">sasa (sasa_xie) - blenders - I bought the handheld Braun one last week and tried it over the weekend, pureeing an apple. Its quite okie, and easy to wash up.

Who's who at the gathering - too bad we didn't manage a group pix this time! Would be useful to update on the new faces...quite a number of unfamilar faces and too big crowd to really chat properly. Anyway, i was the one in a green sparkly top, baby K was in a maroon CNY romper

green_baby (green_baby) - i am also down to 47kg now...thanks to lack of sleep and nursing - no need to diet
But then again, i think i am the shortest mommy here, so am still just average weight. Want to lose another 3-4kg!

storeberry (storeberry) - hah, i don't even feel the letdown anymore - assumed that it was cos my body has adapted after so many months...previously, i also use to leak profusely on the other side when i am nursing. Now, only feel the letdown when i am more engorged (after 5+ hours of non-pumping or nursing). Fortunately, I am still able to pump about the same about though (150-200ml in 5 minutes), and sufficient for TBF. Btw, i usually press/massage the base of the boobs during pumping - find that it helps hasten the flow.</font>

Storeberry, thanks..errr.. how to twiddle har?? haha.. pai sei pai sei!!

Xuanting

I dun dare to use those lizard traps cos I wun dare to remove it at the end of the day. For liazards, my hubby is the hunter. Once he sees one, it wun stay alive..I think there is no way you can get rid of them unless really kill them. maybe can put cloves pack near the window to prevent them from coming in? I used to put some medicated oil (axe brand) onto cotton pad and place it near the window grill to prevent them from coming in. so far no lizard at my place (finger crossed..)

<font color="0077aa">LC: Twiddling is describe as belows:

"I will gentle-ly tap my nipple with both my palms in circular manner &amp; tap about 70times each. (Like clapping hands but using the inner plam nearer to you wrist to cap your nipple &amp; gentle-ly tap.) Almost instantly or few seconds </font>later the letdown will come! Try it!"

Skinnypig:

"The Let-Down Reflex (Milk Ejection Reflex)

What is the let-down reflex?
When you breast-feed, your baby's sucking stimulates nerves in your nipple. These nerves carry a message to your brain, and a hormone, called oxytocin, is released. Oxytocin flows through your bloodstream to your breasts, where it causes tiny muscle cells around your milk glands to squeeze milk out of the glands and into the milk ducts. This is known as the let-down reflex or the milk ejection reflex. "
}

Hmmm, so when will you know you are having let down?

Sorry ah, even though I have been BF for the past 5 mth plus, I still don know what's let down

To me as long as I got milk can already... ha ha.