(2008/09) Sep 2008

Dear breadmum,

I don't think it is an allergy, more like a reaction to the solid he has taken. Perhaps you can try another food- eg: carrot and see if his poo is still brown? At this time, it should still be a yellow or dark yellow color, or green if given avocado because they should still down more milk than solids.

One point or another, when our baby migrates to more solid > milk, our babe's poo will start to turn brownish to dark brownish.

Millie: I would only give my boy teether biscuits when he can truly sit without support (even though he can do that now and got 2 tooth already) and able to swallow without getting choked! it's better to start with cereal first.

Kymkym,

Let say my son drinks 180ml of milk. And if i'm suppose to mix 30ml of milk to his cereal, he will just take 150ml or it will still remain at 180ml with another 30ml of extra FM for his cereal?

hi Kym, my son has cardic issues -> so we cannot increase his milk intake as we worry we will flood his system. so PD wants us to give him solids for weight gain. Thanks..think over the weekend will do 2 solid feeds...am thinking of giving him avocados too

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Mummies who have PM-ed / emailed / posted ur order here</font>
dun worry... ur order has been taken down le. Will send out an email confirmation k

<font color="ff0000">Jo</font>
have not gotten ur additional order yet huh

<font color="ff0000">Springz</font>
Thanks for offering to be my 'transporter'. haha... no tips one leh.. coz i dun earn anything from this BP.. juz joking :p

just to inform, I juz bot a pack of HT from NTUC and expiry date states 2010

<font color="ff0000">Healthy Times</font>
Keep ur orders coming.. we have hit $137 le..

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Jaymickey's House</font>
Last call, anyone from Jurong area going to Jaymickey's place tmr???

I wanna go but need to tompang transport leh...</font>

hi sasa,

i might be able to give u a lift to jaymickey's place if i'm leaving from my home. can i confirm with you tonight?

Hi Sasa,

Check with you, for stage 2 baby jar, how many months is it suitable for?
What is the price for it?
All of it looks so tempting. I'm so afraid that i might just buy everything!

Dear breadmum,

I don't think it is an allergy, more like a reaction to the solid he has taken. Perhaps you can try another food- eg: carrot and see if his poo is still brown? At this time, it should still be a yellow or dark yellow color, or green if given avocado because they should still down more milk than solids.

One point or another, when our baby migrates to more solid > milk, our babe's poo will start to turn brownish to dark brownish.

wingkei

u can try petpet..cheap n good. tink today Shop n save got offer at $23.95 for 2 pkt.

millie

the teething biscuits wait till A can hold 1st..not so fast..wait scare choke on the pieces..start with the cereal...

sasa..i give u my order later 2nite or 2morow? u going? coz tonday alone with 2 princess..no time to look thru the website. u stay jurong west where?

<font color="ff6000">hi lilboymum,

i search for emoticons and upload as attachment here.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Sasa,
after my order, should hit $150 liao.
2136281.gif

Brown Rice Cereal for Baby X 2
Baby Food Jars Stage 1 (1 each)
Butternut Squash
Cabana Banana
Country Apples
Fresh Carrot
Golden Pear
Sweet Peas
Sweet Potato

will pm you my contacts</font>

thanks Kym - the other day i tried apples and the poo seems fine. ok. will try sweet potato next.

Diapers - my fav is Mamy Poko and Fitti 360. pampers nowadays lousy quality, thin and poo can leak type.

wingkei - since your mum bought it, no harm trying .

sasa - oh . ok. but the powder still looks fresh. at most i use it to bake stuff. Its quite a big can though.

skinny pig/ cupcakes - haiz, they all have attitude type. But like one other colleague of mine commented that this recession times, everyone is using this as an excuse to get rid of people. So sometimes mothers like us gets discriminated cause we cannot put in long hours like the swinging singles.

<font color="0077aa">Thanks crayon!! Really hope ss will come back soon! Now really pathetic!

Sasa, Pm-ing you my order!

Am still confused about weaning.. Guess I need to do more research! Haha!</font>

storeberry - read Kym's tips, quite useful. I was also confused but after reading her post, it helped a fair bit.

Goldfish - for how many pax tomorrow? cause hubs + me+ baby. Goldfish i will transfer to you tomorrow.

Jaymickey - hubby also coming along, can?

Sasa, emailed you my orders already.

Diapers
My fave is Mamy Poko &amp; Fitti 360 (all thanks to Gunibabe's recommendation). Another recent fave is Pureen Premium Dry 5. I saw that there was an offer at Giant at $12.90 for 44 pieces, so I bought to try. It's good, surface still feels dry after the diaper is soaked with pee &amp; it doesn't leak. Usual price is $16.50, the offer lasts till 12th Feb.

Baby Fair
Mother &amp; Baby Fair coming up soon at S'pore Expo from 27 Feb to 1 March.

baby fair

any mummy here going? i shd be going to buy pureen stuff &amp; nestle cereals etc..biscuits..

Petpet M

any mummy here using petpet M size? can spare me 1 pcs to see the cutting? coz i not sure whether to get M or L due to my gers biggg thigh...

flos

u going 2morow? i got ntuc XL which i bought for my elder gal..can pass 2 to let u try if u want.

Dear Vanilla,

Sorry if i was tactless.. perhaps you could try to introduce foods like the following early, suitable for your baby's age (which i guess is almost 5 months) - avocado, apricot, prunes, potatos, green beans and peas, broccoli, pumpkin, cauliflower, egg yolk, spinach, watercress, because they are the most power packed foods around!! Actually, try to feed the following before you start meat and fish: got everything planned in- Vit A,B,C,D,E, Zinc, Protein, Iron, Phosphorus, Fatty Acids.

Add olive oil to your purees if you can too

eg:
Avocado- Fatty acids, Vitamin B,
Apricot- Zinc, Vitamin B, C, scarce minerals,
Prunes- Fibre, Vitamin B, C,
Green beans and peas- Phosphorus, Vitamin A, B, scarce minerals, Iron, Protein
Egg Yolk: Vitamin E, B, D Phosphorus, Iron
Broccoli- Vitamin B, A, C, Iron, Calcium,
Spinach, watercress, peas: Zinc, Calcium
Brown Rice: Zinc, Protein
Potato: Vitamin C, B

storeberry, me also clueless about weaning.. dunno wat should start first and also dunno how to make those solid foods.

Hi Mummies,is it necessary to buy those organic veges and fruits for baby ?

Baby fair,
there is another fair : livewell &amp; livewell baby carnival at united square on 14&amp;15Feb

Hi Momopanda, ang mo is a shop selling food,baby stuff and other.I only know 1 shop located at Toa Payoh Lor 4, another 1 located at Ang Mo Kio. Ang MO things cheaper than Ntuc and ShengShiong.

Flos, XL already ? wow! my little boy only wear Fitti M.

LASINOH MILKBAGS

i have a pack of 25 lasinoh milkbags too at $10. Will bring to today's gathering. Anyone interested can get at jaymickey's place. If no one interested, I'll just bring it home! =)

Hello Mummies! Been a silent reader for quite a while again due to a v v v busy CNY! Looks like the current topic is on weaning our little ones...

I've just started giving my son Frisocrem today n he seems to like it. I only gave him abt 1 teaspoon to try. Actually I'm also v confused abt weaning like most of u here.

Kymkym: can I pls seek ur advice here? I only add water to my son's cereal cos Frisocrem alrdy contains milk n it states "DO NOT ADD MILK" on the tin. so do I still gv him his usual milk intake which is 160ml after giving him his cereal which can be abt 100ml? If so, wont he be very full by then? Or do I replace 1 milk feed wz 1 meal of cereal?

PUREE
When shd we start giving them purees? What time of the day shd we gv them? Issit like a snack or issit supposed to replace his milk feed? If baby is alrdy taking cereal, can I still gv him puree on the same day?

OMG, I think I'm really lost.

goldfish - transferred $22.20 to you already. transaction ref : 2107365632 . Get well soon. Its the weather, am also feeling an onset of some sore throat. I hope i'll fight it.

eve - our resident consultant kym will guide us. Don't worry, we are all in this together. Am also lost. LOL.:)

Hi eve,

If your cereal has clear instructions not to add milk, then perhaps milk is already present.

You can refer to my article on signs to look out for if your son is due to wean.. eg: waking up earlier in the middle of the night instead of usual morning

Usually it is best to try new foods at the noon time feed, since you can monitor for allergies if any, usually will show by end of day. (if you find no allergies, can introduce during dinner too)

Well, one reason we wean is because milk is not filling enough for the baby already (the actual reason is to provide protein, iron, etc ), so the cereal is to add onto the usual amt of milk

Up to one year old, milk is still most important, solids are not meant to replace but to supplement the milk intake and let baby try new flavours and tastes

Cereal and puree are food alike, if you find that your baby takes to solids well, sure, you can give puree, or cereal again later in the evening

If baby is full, take his cue, increase or decrease as you need (usually, if he still wants more, he will track your spoon and bowl, but if he is full, he will start getting distracted and look here look there... thats my experience la :p)

I mix cereal and puree sometimes, sometimes give it plain, sometimes puree only, sometimes add milk, sometime don't.. be creative =)

<font color="aa00aa">yan (bbfam) – yah, i hate shopping with men. My dad is quite patient though, think he has been trained for years by my mum - he usually just holds all her stuff and stand outside the shop while she browses! I dont like shopping with hubby cos he doesnt see the need to compare products or browse- he just goes in, grabs the stuff (dont check price or quality), pays and leaves. Even like grocery shopping, he doesnt understand why i need to pick and choose from the various options and how come i end up buying stuff not in my grocery listing!

sasa (sasa_xie) - i am keen on the HT bulk order also, i got mine for $7.30 at Cold Storage. The forum is moving too fast – i missed your link for the order. Can you PM it to me? Thanks!

breadmum (breadmum) – wow, 500ml per pump! That is amazing...Meanwhile, ur colleagues are insensitive! I am lucky that there are quite a number of working mommies in my office, and a few who are still Bfing babies that are >1 year old. We have a nursing room, and each has a specific time schedule, so at least i can pump in peace. Seeing them BF for so long, i am quite encouraged to continue nursing till my son is 1 year old as well...but lets see how. Right now, he is still on TBF and i am hoping he can continue on BM + semi solids and i wont have to open the sample FMs i received. It is a hassle to carry milk home everyday of course, and especially when i need to travel overseas, but i think the benefits outweigh the inconveniences.</font>

breadmum: ya, thank goodness we've kymkym here as our weaning guru
really appreciate her advice.

kymkym: thks! but I'm still confused on when to feed baby milk/cereal...
so do I still gv him his usual milk intake which is 160ml after giving him his cereal which can be abt 100ml? If so, wont he be very full by then? Am i suppose to give him milk immediately after the cereal or wait for abt 1hr later b4 giving him his milk?
sorry for asking so many qns. TIA

hi sasa,

I hav PM u my order too. Tks for arranging. Let me noe the total amt to transfer once cfm on the discount %. Tks.

i hav started the HT brown rice cereals on my girl bout 1 week plus ago. however, she doesnt seem to know how to swallow. she will open her mouth big big when the sppon is near her lip..but will spit out the cereal once inside.. so how do we help our baby who dunno how to swallow?

&amp; another question, how much shld we b feeding nw per feed? one feed per day rite nw correct? if say the size of her feeding spoon is tos pigeon brand (bout 5 cent coin size)

Jaymickey
thanks for inviting us over to your place! the kiddoes enjoy it, cy loves playing hide and seek in your house!

nice meeting all of you guys. though dunno some of the names of mummy i talked to :p

breadmum
CH to En Jie: "eh, i dunno what's those two doing beside me...gosh wait till i tell her papa!!!"

jaymickey... thanks for organising the gathering...

breadmum... i 1 2 c the gathering pic too... can u also add mi in the facebook? [email protected] thanks alot...

kym... u &amp; HB oso took lots of pic... pls share share with us hor... ...

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Breadmum</font>
add mi too

<font color="ff0000">All mummies who were at Jaymickey's House today</font>
didn't managed to talk to all of u today. Hi to those I spoke to. Realli was great fun meeting all of u.

<font color="ff0000">Healthy Times Orders</font>
Paiseh i'm not able to update anyone on their orders coz juz realised hb have not installed Microsoft Office on my comp. There's no way I can compile the orders. Will do so on Mon when I get back to office. But from the looks of it, think we have hit $250 le... yeah!!!!

just took miniflos to the PD for his week 21 checkup. also got instructions from PD on weaning:p

my PD said best to wait till 6 mths then start with semi-solids, but if I'm kiasu, i can still start now
He told me to feed one teaspoon of rice cereal on day 1, two on day 2, three on day 3, progressively during brekkies; continue with the unusual FM intake after the cereal intake. rest of the day still feed him FM. Check for allergies or unsual reactions, incl poo. if ok, then the brand is suitable.

as for the proportion of water vs cereals, he said use commonsense; i.e. no need to measure until so exact one, but play by ear...if i want it more diluted, then add more water to get the ideal consistency lor. it all boils down to how well your bb likes the mixture.

as for organic, freshly ground, or normal cereals, he said it's up to individual parents...whether u r a 'greenie', what is my lifestyle, got $ to spare? a lot of free time to prepare the food? he taught me how to select my meat and fruit/veggies...so funny.

he gave me a NESTLE food chart and told me to start with neutral taste solids like rice cereals first, then move on to add the sweets, then savoury, then bitter &amp; salty &amp; sour...day by day, add one type of taste to the bb's meal until such time the bb is exposed to all types of tastes. each day should hv three diff types of taste, and preferably change to other types of tastes the next... he even said can add a bit of salt!! hmm...the bottomline is, bbs are like us, i.e. cannot eat laksa for breakfast, lunch and dinner, or laksa consecutively for three/four days.

By 9 mths, the bb should eat with the parents, i.e. 3 meals per day, to integrate with our social pattern. can intro some food like eggs, soy, i think.

By 12 mths, FM will become a mere 'snack' like we adults drink a cuppa coffee/tea/milo, rather take it as a MEAL, so once a while, treat him to a milk snack
can start to intro sour stuffs like kiwis, pineapples, oranges...

Beyond 12 mths, bb should start to eat the same things as adults, incl curry, durians, etc. he reminded us that nature designs man to wean off at 6 mths as milk cannot give us the calories, etc that we need to grow. he strongly encouraged me to feed him with whatever WE eat at 12 mths. no need to be so ngeow and strict...

i also asked abt frozen food-cubes, he said bb will be super bored after a short while, and suggested i dun stock up too much of those babycubes! Key is, must give bb variety, like adults' meal would comprise appetizer, main course, dessert, followed by coffee/tea!